Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Honda Accord suffers from transmission failure. It's not a huge widesperad problem like in prior years, but definitely still something to consider.

The transmission begins slipping & eventually has to be replaced, typically soon after 90,000 miles & with a repair cost of over $2,000.

Transmission failure problems have been a huge problem for the Accord & several other Honda models all through the early 2000s model years. Honda eventually extended the transmission warranty to 93 months/109k miles for the 2000-2001 Accords as a class action lawsuit settlement, but owners of other Accord model years with transmission problems are out of luck.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
26 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
25 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,444 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #100

Jul 302015

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000. MA 10/19/15 updated 11/05/15.

- West Babylon, NY, USA

problem #99

Jan 152015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 99,500 miles
When I start the engine the air bag light on the dash board comes on and stays on and does not go out. Please help !! thank you.

- E, Setauket, NY, USA

problem #98

May 142015

Accord

  • 78,056 miles
The SRS light came on without an accident. I had the fault code read before bringing the car to Honda. The fault code was a bad sensor only. Honda replaced the sensor and the SRS control unit as well. With low mileage on the car I called Honda Motors customer service. They looked into the issue and determined the repairs were needed and they could not help in any way. Repairs cost $750.01

- Smithtown, NY, USA

problem #97

May 272015

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V370000 (air bags) and 15V320000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fort Wright, KY, USA

problem #96

Jul 012015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2005 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle airbags malfunction during accident. The consumer stated only the passenger air bag deployed. The vehicle was totaled. MA 10/25/15

- Alsea, OR, USA

problem #95

Mar 152015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V370000 (air bags) and 15V320000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Austell, GA, USA

problem #94

Jul 142015

Accord

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure recurred intermittently. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V320000 (air bags) and 15V370000 (air bags); however, the parts were not available to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000.

- San Pedro, CA, USA

problem #93

Jul 012015

Accord

  • miles
2005 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to replacement airbags not available to complete airbag recall notice. The consumer stated it has been a year since the announcement of the air bag recall and she still has not received a recall notice, even though her VIN was included. The consumer finally received a recall notice. However, the parts were not available. Updated 08/101/15

- Elmira, NY, USA

problem #92

Apr 082015

Accord

  • miles
I received the first recall notice from Honda for airbag inflator problem in April 2015. I promptly called a dealer to set up service for the recall, but they said they had to get the parts in. I called again after two weeks and still no parts. I just received another recall notice from Honda for the same problem, but have not received a call back from the dealer to do the service. It has now been three months. Why would Honda send out the recall and not have the parts for the dealers to replace?

- Jamul, CA, USA

problem #91

Apr 142015

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 151,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. While driving 5 mph, the vehicle was involved in a crash and the passenger side air bag deployed even though no one was sitting in the seat. The contact did not specify if there were any injuries sustained or if a police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was confirmed that the air bag deployed prematurely and the passenger seat headliner, air bag, and seat cover needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 151,000. Updated 7/13/15 the consumer stated the air should not have deployed under such low speed. Updated 08/13/15

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #90

Apr 072015

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to airbag recall parts unavailable and seeks reimbursement. An independent shop replaced the air bag.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #89

May 012015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
I received the safety recall notice from Honda to regard airbag recall on April 2015. I was calling to make appointment for replace airbag in 2 of Honda dealer ( Honda of downtown los angeles & Honda world orange county)on early April 2015. I gave my car information. They told me part was not ready yet. So they said will call later as soon ready to airbag part. But never ever reply or call again from those Honda dealer this moment. I am really consider about safety issue. The Honda suppose ready to recall service before recall announce to driver. I am really disappoint about Honda service. So I would like to file from you. Thank you.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #88

Jun 202014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #87

Apr 062015

Accord

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. While driving 50 mph over a pothole, the driver's side air bag deployed inadvertently. There were no injuries. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 112,000.

- Dalton, OH, USA

problem #86

Apr 072015

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available. While driving at an unknown speed over a pothole, the air bag deployed. The contact received minor injuries, but there was no accident. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue, but gave no timeframe for when the part would become available. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Dalton, OH, USA

problem #85

Apr 022015

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V353000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 05/11/15 updated 05/14/15

- Hunnington Beach, CA, USA

problem #84

Mar 022015

Accord

  • miles
2005 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to information for airbag replacements.

- Bethel, CT, USA

problem #83

Mar 132015

Accord

  • 162,000 miles
Driving South on I 81 at approximately mm 167.3. heard a very loud noise, thought I might have had a blow out. There was a burning smell so I thought my car was on fire and I pulled off on the left hand side of the interstate. No flat, nothing burning, no damage to car. Got back in my car and realized passenger side airbags from front to back had deployed, that is what I was smelling but at the time I did not realize my airbags had deployed. I was alone but there is a child car seat in my backseat and if one of my grandchildren had been in the car seat or a passenger in the front seat they could have been badly injured. My car is currently at the Honda dealership and they have provided me a loaner vehicle at no cost to me. They did call this morning to verify that I had not ran over anything or hit anything. There is not damage to my vehicle. The Honda dealership told me they would give me a call once they figured this all out. I am now waiting to see what the outcome will be.

- Lexington, VA, USA

problem #82

Feb 112015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 148,802 miles
SRS light stays on all the time.

- Los Angeles , CA, USA

problem #81

Mar 052015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 90,124 miles
Honda replaced the takata drivers side airbag on my 2005 Honda Accord in January 2015 under the takata airbag recall. However, Honda will not replace the takata passenger side airbag in my car. I do not live in a high humidity state. I am very concerned about this decision by Honda not to replace the passenger side airbag as there are news reports of injury to a passenger from a takata passenger side air bag in 2013. NHTSA needs to order Honda to replace the takata passenger side air bag on affected Honda cars before someone else is injured.

- Edison, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?