Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 3
Average Mileage:
43,186 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Aug 112014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 5 mph, the vehicle accelerated and the air bags deployed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The mechanic was unable to locate a failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000. Updated 10/24/2014 updated 4/17/15

- Foley, AL, USA

problem #20

Jul 022014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
While driving the check engine light and vsa light came on, the car started to slow down stepped on gas pedal no response, no power, and could not go over 20 mph. Took car to my repair shop, they told me that it is a glitch in the accelerator pedal sensor. Once they cleared the code from the computer the car ran fine, they told me it could happen again, and they would have to replace the sensor.

- Havertown, PA, USA

problem #19

Oct 032013

Accord

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving 5 mph and depressing the brakes, the vehicle erroneously accelerated and crashed into a wall. There were no injuries. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 77,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Richmond, CA, USA

problem #18

Jan 092011

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

From the driver's statement to the police on the day of the accident (from the police report): I was trying to park my car there were some cars in front and back but there was a lot of space. All of a sudden my car jumped and rushed and suddenly go fast. It went forward at a fast speed. I didn't see anyone else because I was trying to keep the car in the street and [not] going into any other cars. I had crossed the street down, I don't know what cross street. At the cross street my car hit another car.? from a witness statement to the police (from the police report): I observed a... sedan coming from the North squealing its tires, racing past us spreading smoke. The woman behind the wheel appeared agitated and was attempting to get around the sedan to her left? she passed the car at... and appeared to pick up speed. From another witness statement to the police (from the police report): While there, he heard the sound of tires screeching North on his location. He immediately looked behind him and observed that V1 was approaching southbound... creating a cloud of grey smoke due to its front tires spinning. From another witness statement to the police (from the police report) the tire of the vehicle was smoking and left skid marks on the road.

- Cabin John, MD, USA

problem #17

Oct 272012

Accord

  • 134,000 miles
I've experienced many issues with my brakes since my car hit 99,000 miles. I have to replace the brakes every 20,000 miles and now I had an incident where my car would not stop. The engine seemed to just go dead and I could not accelerate the car. I had just gotten off the freeway. The car did not want to stop when I was approaching the red light and would not accelerate. It would only go 5 mph. I pulled off the street, stopped the car and turned it off. I started it again and it went back to normal but I immediately drove to the Honda dealership and they said I have 5 or more sensors that are failing, including the throttle. They said it was unsafe for me to drive and the car is still there. Said it will cost at least $1300 to fix and that may not fix it. I tried to report previous braking issues to american Honda in December 2011 and they dismissed my complaint. Told me I needed to deal with the dealership. Originally, I thought the dealership didn't fix the brakes and just charged me for a service they didn't perform. Now, it seems as though it's a manufacturer defect, which is what I was told today.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #16

Mar 122012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 102,000 miles
I filled up my car at the hess station on route 112 in coram, long island, New York. I put my car, slowly in reverse and the car took off like it had a mind of it's own. I stepped on the brake, but nothing happened and the car continued to speed up in reverse- with my foot on the brake - heading towards a van with a baby in it in a car seat. I quickly put the car in forward, and with my foot still on the brake, the car flew across the parking lot of the gas station, crossed two lanes of traffic, crashed into the woods. I steered away from a telephone pole I was definitely going to hit and, when I went into the woods the air bag went off and covered my face. I then went back across two lanes of traffic again, with the airbag over my face, and crashed into the curb in front of the hess station when I reported the accident to my insurance company, the hartford, I asked them to check out the speed sensor-. my insurance company said they would not be able to check out the speed sensor. I then called Honda customer service and told them of the incident. They informed me that, unless they received a request from the hartford, they would not check out the speed sensor. I then called the hartford and requested that they call Honda to have the car inspected by Honda themselves. Hartford told me that they would not pay to have Honda inspect the vehicle - they were just going to have their adjuster look at the car and told me they were not going to look at the speed sensor at all. So, basically, no one is willing to do anything and I almost killed a baby in a car seat and myself this seems ludicrous to me that no one is even willing to check this defect out. I sincerely hope that you can help me with this very difficult situation.

- Center Moriches, NY, USA

problem #15

Aug 192011

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Upon having the secondary shaft bearing recall completed my car started to drive very sluggish. Upon acceleration the car is very slow to accelerate and feels like it's dragging and staying in one gear too long. When finally I get to desired speed the car will slightly jerk as if it is trying to switch gears and will sometimes decelerate in speed. I have to constantly accelerate to keep car going up to speed and sometimes have to press gas pedal to floor to get up to speed. Car makes a humming sound on and off when trying to get up to speed. Dealership ran all checks and could not find any failures. I hope Honda investigates this issue. My car was running very smoothly before I took it in for recall and now it runs very rough. Very disappointing!!!

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #14

Mar 252011

Accord

  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Accord. The contact stated that when accelerating from a complete stop, the vehicle would exhibit a loud humming noise and would hesitate to accelerate. The vehicle would then jerk and begin to drive normally. The failure would recur every time the vehicle was brought to a stop. The engine warning light would illuminate on the instrument panel intermittently. The dealer diagnosed that the throttle pedal would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 109,000 and the current mileage was 114,000.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #13

Sep 212011

Accord

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the cruise control was activated at an unknown speed and while traveling uphill, the vehicle unexpectedly lunged forward. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who attempted to repair the vehicle numerous times but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not further repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000 and the current mileage was 145,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Grayson, KY, USA

problem #12

Aug 242010

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2006 Honda Accord suddenly accelerated straight into bushes. She hit the brake hard but it still continued to accelerate going through the bushes, all the while as she had her foot on the brake. * bf the consumer also hit another vehicle.

- New Tripoli, PA, USA

problem #11

Nov 162010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 45,073 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Honda Accord. While driving 25 mph, the engine began surging up and down although the contact's foot was on the brake pedal. The contact pulled over and turned the engine off. The vehicle was towed to a repair shop where the contact was informed that the throttle actuator control system idle position was defective; the mechanic reset the computer. The dealer and the manufacturer were notified. The failure mileage was 45,073. Updated 02/09/11 the dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. Updated 02/28/11

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #10

Sep 162010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 33,255 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Accord. While driving 5 mph, the contact depressed the brakes and they would not respond. The vehicle did not stop or decline in speed as the vehicle crashed into another vehicle. There were no injuries. The vehicle sustained moderate front end damages. The dealer performed a diagnostic but was unable to duplicate or locate a failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 33,255. Updated 01/11/2011 updated 04/12/11

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 092010

Accord

  • 23,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I own a Honda Accord 4 door 2006, [xxx] the vehicle had a sudden unintended acceleration and I crashed against a pillar support post of a building. Severe damage to to the car minor injuries to myself the only person in the car, driver.

- Miami Lakes, FL, USA

problem #8

Jan 232008

Accord

  • 23,387 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda Accord. The contact was driving approximately 2 mph into a parking space when the vehicle unexpectedly accelerated twice. When the brake pedal was depressed with force the acceleration continued to occur. The emergency brake was engaged and the vehicle proceeded to a complete stop. The vehicle was able to resume normal operation. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was unable to duplicate or locate a failure code. The technician recommended that the battery be replaced. The failure mileage was 23,387. The current mileage was 41,800.

- North Bend , OH, USA

problem #7

Feb 082010

Accord

  • miles
Pulsating brakes problem on Honda Accord 2006. I have replaced the front brake rotors twice in the last 4 months and I still have the nagging pulsating brake problem on my 2006 Honda Accord LX-SE model. The car has around 65,500 miles on it. The car behaves hysterically when brakes are applied at speeds above 45 mph. The dealer simply dismisses the problem as non-existent.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #6

May 072008

Accord

  • 31,000 miles
Acceleration with uncommanded cruise control.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #5

Jul 062007

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,500 miles
"vehicle was involved in 2 accidents osevere damage to right side owas rear-ended while stopped and in park ?when vehicle was returned owithin 1st day or so, when rolling to a stop and applying the brakes, the car was trying to accelerate rather than stop. Constant strong pressure on the brakes was required to stop the car; after going again, the car unstuck from acceleration mode ¿I do not know if the vehicle was cold or warm for this incident ¿this event occurred within 3-4 minutes of starting the car oa few weeks later the exact same thing happened again ¿this time the car had been driven for 30 minutes and parked for about 3 hours ¿this ?event? occurred within 3-4 minutes of starting the car owe took the car back to the body shop and they had it checked out by poway Honda. No problems were identified and no problem codes were found oa month or so went by without incident othe exact same thing happened again, though with a different driver, on 8/15 this time the car was warm and the ?event" occurred near the end of the trip.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #4

May 082007

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was driving in the right lane of an express way and exiting onto the exit ramp. My 2006 Honda Accord was accelerating, so I pressed the brake pedal to slow down to no avail. The engine continued to rev at an accelerated rate, so I continued to pump and pump the brake pedal, but the car was not stopping and still continued going forward. Within seconds I was at the top of the ramp?where I quickly observed 3 rows of cars (on the left side) waiting at the red light. At that point, I realized that the car would not stop and I did not want to hit any of the cars waiting at the red light"so I directed the car straight ahead and beyond the 3 rows of waiting cars to avoid hitting them?and hoping I would hit a pole to stop the car. The next thing I remember I awoke, the front windshield was shattered, I had shattered glass on my body, the air bags had already deflated, and someone was yelling to open my door. This, I could not do?and I just sat there. Then someone jammed the door open?and I was pulled out to a waiting ambulance. Other cars were hit and there were serious injuries. Honda: Why did this happen? what happened to the brakes?to make them malfunction when I kept pressing the brake pedal continually" we are currently trying to find the cause.

- Grosse Pointe Shores, MI, USA

problem #3

Oct 042006

Accord

  • miles
When various pressure is applied to the brakes the rpms increase and the car surges forward. This is a random occurrence that has happened about 5 or 6 times since I had the car new in September 2006.

- Erie, PA, USA

problem #2

Sep 292006

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,200 miles
: the contact stated on several occasions while stopped at a stop light or stop sign, the vehicle accelerated on its own. The vehicle was put in the neutral position to keep it from surging forward. The dealership was aware and could not duplicate the problem. Updated 10/31/2006 -

- San Diego, CA, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?