Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,058 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 11 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #240

Jan 152010


  • 20,000 miles


Premature wearing of rear brake pads in 2008 Honda Accord - happened to me at 20,000 miles, with others it has happened with less mileage. Safety concern - risk of brake failure had to replace pads at my own cost - should be covered and problem corrected by Honda due to design flaw and safety issue!

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #239

Jan 152008


  • 35,900 miles
Rear brakes were replaced by the factory after only 9,000 miles. This problem has repeatedly occurred with the vehicle in question, and is a safety hazard.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #238

Feb 102009


  • 29,000 miles
Premature rear brake wear out on 2008 Honda Accord. Occurs on most 08 Accord at 15,000 to 30,000 miles. Consequence: Some people would not replace because it would be totally unexpected to have the wear at low mileages. Accidents have resulted.

- Tumacacori, AZ, USA

problem #237

Jan 122010


  • 20,000 miles


2008 Honda Accord premature wear rear brake linings internet shows hundreds of complaints occurred when Honda went to disc instead of shoes - fortunately no incident happened.

- Portland, CT, USA

problem #236

Jan 012010


  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. During a routine tire rotation he was advised to have the rear brakes replaced since they were worn out prematurely. The manufacturer was notified and stated that they would take no liability for the repairs. The dealer stated that a technical service bulletin is dated January 10, 2010 for the exact failure. No repairs were made to date. The current and failure mileages were under 25,000.

- Maple Grove, MN, USA

problem #235

Jan 102010


  • 21,500 miles
I have encountered premature rear brake pad wear after 21500 miles on a 2008 Honda Accord V6 ex-L sedan. I purchased replacement pads for the front brakes, but was totally shocked when I found the front brake pads showing little to no wear. A quick check of the rear pads revealed the brakes completely worn down! we have never left the parking brake on the car, when in motion. I am 44 years old and have never witnessed a car wearing its rear pads before the front ones and especially when the fronts look new. Also, I am wondering how this excessive brake wear has been affecting our gas mileage, as we have yet to achieve Honda's mpg ratings even when running with cruise control on only 4 cylinders (eco mode one V6 ex-L). There are hundreds of complaints against Honda for the 08-09 Accord rear braking system and Honda and their dealerships are blaming the owners for improper driving habits. Girard gibbs llp and co-counsel filed a class action lawsuit in September 2009 against Honda, related to the rear braking systems in the 2008-2009 Honda Accord vehicles. The class action lawsuit against Honda seeks certification of a nationwide class on behalf of owners and leasees of 2008-2009 Honda Accord vehicles. The case is pending in the United States district court for the central district of California before judge morrow. Also, apparently Honda of America has been aware of this issue as the new safety design that comes standard with the car (vehicle stability assist, traction control, anti-lock, etc) has had an unanticipated affect on the life of the rear brake pads. At this point Honda should be issuing a recall on all 2008-2009 Accord to correct this issue.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #234

Jan 052010


  • 28,500 miles


Premature failure of rear brakes on 2008 Honda Accord ex.

- Sedalia, CO, USA

problem #233

Jun 092008


  • 17,870 miles
My step daughter bought 2008 Honda Accord, brand new. At 17,870 miles we had to replace the rear brakes( 06/09/08). At 34,648 miles ( 02/05/09) the rear brakes had to be replaced again. Now, at 53,575 miles, 01/05/10, the rear brakes have to be replaced for the third time. I took the vehicle back to the dealer where the vehicle was bought from and was told that american Honda knew of the problem but it was a wear issues and the replacement would be at our cost. I contacted american Honda and a case file was opened. On 01/04/10, I spoke with jay pasquin, case manager and he stated he would look into this problem. I haven't heard back from him as of 01/06/10. Now the vehicle shakes when the brakes are applied.

- West Columbia, SC, USA

problem #232

Jan 052010


  • 24,300 miles
I purchased a brand new 08 Honda Accord ex-L in March 08. Around 10K miles I started noticing during light braking the brakes would squeak. I figured the pads were just braking in and that the brake dust was causing the noise. After washing and waxing my Accord I inspected and checked the brake calibers, pads and shims to see what caused the noise. I noticed that the rear brake pads had little to no pad remaining. I replaced the rear brake pads with less than 13K miles. I paid it no mind because I'm a mechanic, but now I'm concerned. I currently have 24K miles on it and again I'm experiencing the same brake squeaking noise. I have purchased eight Honda, three new and five used. I currently have four with over 850K miles on them total. Throughout my Honda mania, I have never experienced such a Honda deficiency. Today, I have read comments and complaints against Honda dealerships and Honda America. I'm totally over taken by this and can only assume Honda will do the right thing soon and continue to provide premium products and services.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #231

Jan 042010


  • 22,000 miles
The rear brakes on my 2008 Honda Accord have worn prematurely. It was necessary to replace the brake pads at 22,000 miles.

- Owings Mills, MD, USA

problem #230

Aug 152009


  • 19,000 miles


I purchased an 08 Honda Accord in jan08. In Aug 09 (7 months later) I was told by Honda during an oil change that the rear brakes needed replaced. The car only had 19K miles on it. Honda refused to cover the cost even though the car was 7 months old and stated that it was not covered under warranty. I paid $205 to have the rear brakes replaced. In May 09 (9 months later), I took my vehicle to Honda for an oil change and was informed that the rear brakes needed replaced. At this time, the vehicle had 39K total miles, which was only 20K miles since the last time I had brakes put on the vehicle the first time. I once again paid $215 to Honda for the repair. I questioned Honda about this issue and was informed that it related to driver habits and the fact that I lived in a congested area. I informed them that this was the only vehicle that I have replaced rear brakes on every 20K miles. I advised that the 2006 Honda Accord that I traded in with 94K miles had brakes replaced once, which was at the 80K mark. I also advised them that this was a commuter car and that I have had the same commute for 4 years, so the problem was not related to me or the congestion. Immediately after driving the car away from the dealership after my second brake repair, I noticed that the steering wheel vibrated when applying the brakes and the car did not stop as quickly as it should. I took the vehicle back in to have it inspected by Honda and was told that the brakes looked fine. However, the problem has continued. I am now at 59,000 miles and noticing that the car is making squealing noises when applying the brakes. Therefore, this will be the 3rd time I am replacing brakes on a new car. Honda will not own up to this safety hazard. I investigated trading it in, but was told by Honda that the 09 & 10 models have them same part number. This problem will only continue to grow. Unfortunately, someone will end up getting hurt before Honda takes action.

- Spotsylvania, VA, USA

problem #229

Dec 232009


  • 25,872 miles
Rear brake pads prematurely worn out at 25,000 miles in 2008 Honda Accord and have to be replaced by the dealer. Upon inspection, both of the inner pads are totally worn out, whereas the outer pads are ok (within normal wear & tear). This problem, if not corrected in time, will lead to failure of the rear brake system and present a safety issue since most owners (myself included) would not expect it to fail that early under normal use.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #228

Dec 292009


  • 9,000 miles
On March 25, 2009, I purchased a brand new 2008 Honda Accord. Over the past few months, I've noticed brake noise smells, which I was sure couldn't possible be coming from my car because it was too new. When I went for my 5000 mile service check, the technician told me the brakes were showing some sign of wear, but were ok for now. I planned on having them checked again during the next oil change. On 12/29/09 when leaving work, my brakes did not stop my car on command as it usually does. I was going no more than 5 miles an hour when I stopped for oncoming traffic. I felt a dragging or scraping which told me it was time to get the brakes checked real soon. That evening, my son went on a grocery run for me. On his way home, he tried to stop for a stop sign, with the brake pedal to the floor, the car did not stop and rammed into a tree. My 9 month old Accord is now totaled due the failing brakes. Is Honda going to compensate me for this?

- Hampton, GA, USA

problem #227

Dec 282009


  • 17,693 miles
Took my 2008 Honda Accord in for an oil change and was told that my rear brake pads needed to be replaced and that the disc/drums needed to be resurfaced. My car has only 17693 miles! I was shocked. I have been told that Honda has a replacement part - 43022-TA0-A51and this is the one that was put in my car. Honda split the cost. If Honda has a replacement part for the defective one, then they should pay for the whole thing. I do not believe that I should pay anything. There are Honda owners on the road unaware that they are driving with defective rear brakes.

- West Roxbury, MA, USA

problem #226

Aug 102008


  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. While exiting a ramp he heard a loud squealing noise during brake application. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on five separate occasions for identical failures. The technician was unable to determine the cause of failure. The vehicle has not been repaired. The failure mileage was 500. The current mileage was 20,000.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #225

Dec 222009


  • 21,400 miles
Brakes on a 2008 Accord coupe wore out in the rear much earlier than expected. I found them to need replacing at 21,400 miles. Brake pads were worn down and needed replaced. They are too small for the size and weight of this vehicle. This is a safety hazard that is being ignored by Honda.

- Chadds Ford, PW, USA

problem #224

Dec 242009


  • 20,850 miles
Premature wear of brake system. Original brakes lasted almost 10,000 miles, (Feb 09). (Dec 09)need new brakes again at a little less than 21,000. This certainly seems as a design flaw. Other vehicles I have owned, including a Honda, had brakes replaced at around 30,000 miles.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #223

Dec 232009


  • 21,000 miles
Premature brake wear om 08 Honda Accord sedan.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #222

Nov 152009


  • 30,000 miles
My Honda Accord coupe (2008) rear brake pads wear out about every 15,000 miles as it starts to make the noise from the sensors. My car is approximately 32,000 miles, 1 1/2 years old, and have changed the rear brake pads twice in contrast to the front brake pads that have never been changed. I am the only driver of the car and usually drive on highways. I complained about this on the dealer as this is very unusual. They said that Honda engineers were investigating as they have been noticing a very large amount of customers with cars having this kind of issue every 15K to 20K miles. They also specified that if a recall was to be done they will refund my money. The interest thing about this is that when you hit the brakes the car has a tendency to lean to the front which would make you think that the car uses front brakes the most rather than the back ones. By opening this complain I will like raise awareness and if possible an investigation as my believe is this is not normal. Each replacement will be approximately between 100 to 150 dollars.

- Trujillo Alto, PR, USA

problem #221

Dec 182009


  • 30,000 miles
My rear brakes on my 2008 Honda Accord are prematurely worn at 30K miles. The dealer says that the brakes are not covered by the warrant.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?