Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,058 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 20 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #60

Apr 222008

Accord

  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rear brake failure after less then 25,000 miles.

- Ridgefield Park, NJ, USA

problem #59

Apr 202009

Accord

  • 41,000 miles
My brakes on 2008 Honda Accord are worn to the metal. All my driving is highway miles, 130 per day to work and back, all highway, no stop and go. Gas mileage was not what it should be prior to brakes wearing down. Now that brakepads are worn down gas mileage is better than sticker on car when purchased. Seems like the calipers are squeezing the living life out of the brake pads, wearing them out. Bad caliper design. And I'm a girl and can figure this out.

- Jetersville, VA, USA

problem #58

Apr 182009

Accord

  • 31,000 miles
Brake noise cause for me to take to the dealer. The dealer advised we needed new rear brakes. This car has 31,000 miles.

- Newark, OH, USA

problem #57

Apr 172009

Accord

  • 19,897 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my car into the dealership regarding a strange noise to find out that my rear brakes and rotors had to be replaced. This totally took me by surprise since my car only has 19,897 miles and only has had the car for 16 months. When I stated to the service tech that "seems very early to be replacing rear brakes" he stated that on this model that is what they are seeing since this model car is heavier. I think this is a ridiculous statement and Honda needs to really make some changes. I also stated I had a 2005 Accord and never had as much problems than I have had with this vehicle. I will not be keeping this vehicle and dropping more and more money into a vehicle that for years has been stated to be a reliable car.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #56

Apr 072009

Accord 6-cyl

  • 15,560 miles
After 15,000 miles of majority highway miles the oem rear brakes on my 2008 Honda Accord ex-L 4 door V6 were completely worn out. The brakes were worn only on the inside pad. The outside pad looked almost brand new. Honda informed me that this is normal wear and tear, but I have never seen rear brakes fail after 150000 miles on any vehicle before. The original cost for repair would have been $190, but the service manager admitted there is a problem with the pad and let me walk for only $70. The parts were replaced, but I know that they are going to go out just as quick. They told me that there is a flaw in the design and that Honda is addressing the problem, but also said it is normal wear and tear.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #55

Mar 272009

Accord

  • 13,865 miles
Rear brake pads needed replacement after 13,000 miles on 2008 Honda Accord LX P. no change in driving habits. Previous owner of Honda Accord( 2005) and did not have pads replaced during ownership/lease. Replaced parts at my own expense and was told by dealership and Honda customer service is not a defect and not a safety issue. Old part is available.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #54

Apr 012009

Accord

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. While taking the vehicle in for service, the contact noticed that the brakes were wearing down too quickly. The dealer stated that the parts on the vehicle were faulty. The contact feels this is a safety issue because the brake failure could lead to a crash. The current and failure mileages were 20,000.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #53

Mar 272009

Accord

  • 14,000 miles
Rear brakes that need to replaced at 14,000 miles. 9 month old Honda 2008 Accord. This is the 4 door V6 version. I have lodged a complaint with Honda America. I have never had to replace rear brake at less than 50,000 miles and rear disc brakes should never have to be replaced before the front brakes.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #52

Mar 282009

Accord

  • 17,430 miles
Rear brakes that need to replaced at 17,430 miles. 13 month old Honda 2008 Accord.

- Elmwood Park, NJ, USA

problem #51

Mar 252009

Accord

  • 26,647 miles
2008 Honda Accord- purchased in Dec 2007. Vehicle has 26,647 mi. Experiencing premature brake wear on passenger side rear. Notified national Honda customer service. They gave me case number-N012009-03-2501439- are aware of the many complaints and "potential" brake issue but are not doing anything about it at this time. Warranty applies- which means there is no warranty for this repair. Will keep my complaint on file. Absolutely no reason for brakes to be worn with this low mileage which is mostly highway miles.

- Whitefield, ME, USA

problem #50

Oct 012008

Accord

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. When the brake pedal was depressed at any speed, the brakes made a very loud grinding noise. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that the rear brakes were worn prematurely. The brake pads and rotors were replaced, but the failure recurred 20,000 miles and six months later. The vehicle is currently in the shop having the brake pads and rotors replaced again. The contact believes that a recall should be issued. The failure mileage was 18,000 and current mileage was 38,000.

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #49

Jan 202009

Accord

  • 22,000 miles
You have many complaints about premature wear out of 2008 Honda Accord rear brakes. Here is one more. My rear brakes are completely worn out after 8 mos and 25000 miles of highway driving. Front brakes are fine. Dealer and regional rep say nothing is wrong and say this is normal. I was even told that highway driving wears out rear brakes first. That is an untrue statement. In over 45 years of car ownership of dozens of cars, many with rear disc brakes, I have never replaced rear brakes before fronts. This is a safety problem. It is a tragedy waiting to happen. About a month before this defect was found by an independent shop, the car was returned to the dealer with a complaint about a scraping sound - dealer said nothing is wrong with the car and did not inspect brakes. There is deception going on here and corrective action is needed right away, before people are killed. I could supply more details. I suggest your Agency contact me for an interview. I have a formal background in quality and safety. I have managed a contract for dot and a joint Venture between raytheon and Ford. I have replaced the rear pads at my own expense - not at a Honda dealer. There are not yet after market parts available so the pads were replaced with the same Honda junk that came with the car. Few drivers expect brakes to wear so early, and have no reason to have brakes checked. There are thousands of 2008 Accord running around with bad brakes in all likelihood. Please act quickly.

- Acton, MA, USA

problem #48

Oct 302007

Accord

  • 412 miles
I purchased my 2008 Honda Accord on 10/16/07. At 412 (10/30/07) miles I had severe brake squeal that only occurred under light to medium braking. I took the car into the dealership and was informed that the rear rotors were glazed over (as if the parking brake was on - which we do not use). They machined the rotors and replaced the pads. At 1441 (11/30/07) the rear brake squeal was back. The dealership then replaced the rotors and scuffed the pads (per Honda's direction). Again at 2332 (1/22/08) I took it in for brake squeal. They informed me that the squeal was not load enough to determine where it was and that they did not have a fix even if they could find it. They told me to continue to drive the car until it got louder. I continued to drive the car and it continued to squeal with every braking attempt. At 16589 (2/20/09) I took the car in again to see if they had a fix. At that time I was told that the rear brakes were worn down to the metal (only the inner pads on both sides), the rotors were gouged and the dust boots had melted off allowing dirt to get into the pistons and leak brake fluid. This was not detected during my normal tire rotations. They replaced the pads, rotors and calipers and told me that the problem would be back (diagnosed by the dealership as premature rear brake failure). Four days after I got the car back the squeal was also back. Our car is typically driven by my wife with our 15 month old son in it. I am worried that since the squeal is always there that the detection level for this failure is very low. I consider this a major safety issue with this car and am worried about my wife and son along with all the other people complaining about this issue on carcomplaints.com. This is the number one complaint with all cars manufactured (new and old) in the last 90 days. Please thoroughly investigate this safety issue on the 2008-2009 Honda Accord. If you have any questions or need more information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #47

Mar 182009

Accord

  • 15,000 miles
Rear brake pads prematurely wear out every 15,000 miles.

- Foothill Ranch, CA, USA

problem #46

Mar 032009

Accord

  • 7,000 miles
When I am going at least 35mph or above and apply firm pressure to the brakes my car makes a rattling noise. It now occurs everyday when I drive the vehicle. I went to the dealership and they put new rotors on the vehicle at about 7,000 miles.

- Lumberton, NC, USA

problem #45

Dec 012008

Accord

  • 100 miles
Car purchased 11/21/08. On or about 12/10/08, brakes began to make a loud, squeaking, squealing noise, and began to fade, esp. Going around corners, uphill, and on parking garage surfaces. I am very concerned about them fading and having to release and re-brake from any speed. They are loud, getting louder, persistently loud and fading and very often, braking inadequately from all speeds ! car has been in 4 times to dealer and dealers records will indicate that they supposedly repaired and finally replaced parts. I spoke to american Honda ( manufacturer's main office) on March 12, 2009 and was told incredibly, that they did not know how to fix the problem, would not do anything further to try to fix the problem, were not interested in having the area representative see the car in person, and had no replacement, recall or buyback program for this problem!!! I feel very unsafe and upset in this car!

- Cranston , RI, USA

problem #44

Mar 132009

Accord

  • 20,244 miles
I have a 2008 Honda Accord, purchased new in August of 2008. It has 20244 miles. The rear brakes are failing need new pads and the rotors need to be turned. It appears to be a common problem. This is exceedingly early and I think that it is a design or manufacturer's defect.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #43

Mar 042009

Accord

  • 28,000 miles
I have a 2008 Honda Accord with 28,000 miles on it. With such low mileage, I had to replace to rear brake pads. The dealer tried to tell me it was my driving, which I knew it wasn't. I found an internet site that lists complaints, and just from the one website, there were 85 complaints about premature rear brake pad failure on this car. It is a known Honda defect! I called american Honda and they said the company was working on a "fix" but had no other information. I will continue to monitor Honda.com for updates. This is a Honda issue that they need to take ownership of, and I expect to be repaid for my expenses. Hopefully my dealership will do something for me, but I won't hold my breath. I'm not sure if I checked the correct box "service brakes, air" because I've never heard them referred to as that, but this complain is about my rear brakes. Thank you.

- Deerfield Beach, FL, USA

problem #42

Dec 282008

Accord

  • 30,000 miles
Abnormal rear brake wear. Rear brakes wore out at 30,000 miles.

- Old Town, FL, USA

problem #41

Jan 252009

Accord

  • 21,000 miles
My rear brakes were replaced today after only 21K of wear ( worn down to the metal indicators). I was handed the line just like everyone else who's had this problem that since Honda changed over to 4 wheel disc brakes the rear brake pads are thinner and therefore wear faster (my front brakes hat 50% left!). I don't buy it. Why would Honda, a manufacturer whose name is synonymous with "quality, " make such an error in judgment. I have never in my life had to replace rear brakes before fronts. I'd never heard of such a thing until now. I'm glad I'm not the only person with this problem, however, I don't believe that Honda cares enough to do anything about it.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?