Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,537 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

Jun 092014


  • 56,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated while driving at various speeds, the vehicle would make a loud noise intermittently when shifting gears. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that a bearing or a race was defective. The vehicle had not been repaired. The contact was made aware of recall NHTSA campaign id number 11V39500 (power, train). However, the VIN was not included on the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 56,000.

- Satin Island , NY, USA

problem #14

Oct 162011

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
When starting Honda for the first time during the day or after it has sit for a while, it makes a noise or rough start up. I have done some research and found out what the issues is, it is vtc actuator. I have read numerous complaints about this issue. If I had known at the time that this was going to be an issue I would not have purchased this vehicle. But the sales man knew when to start the car away from us, didn't find out till the day after the purchase. We bought it used. The part is a bit pricey and Honda should be responsible for this charge, since it is not the first car that has had this issue. It seems to be a bad year for the Accord. I would like this to be fixed.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #13

May 182014


  • 79,300 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle; however, it would not shift into gear. The vehicle was towed to the dealer but they have not diagnosed the failure. NHTSA recall campaign number 11V395000(power train ) was related to the failure; however, dealer stated that the defect was not related to the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 79,300.

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #12

Mar 192014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 62,450 miles


8/11:certified pre-owned purchased from Honda dealer at 35787 mi oil changes: 3/15/2012: 41659mi; 9/6/2012: 48687mi 7/1/13: 54340mi-oil pressure warning light and rattling noise appears;vehicle immediately taken to Suburban Honda dealer (farmington hills, mi);no diagnostic codes given. Only explanation was the oil level was too low and the noise disappeared when oil was filled. No explanation for suspected leak/excessive consumption despite last oil change being just 6000mi back 3/18/14:oil pressure warning light flashes once and car was not started until I made an appointment with Suburban Honda on 3/20/2013 3/20/14: 62450 mi- within 0.25mi of my way to dealer, the oil pressure light flashes in the middle of a signal intersection and engine fails amidst heavy traffic thereby, compromising my safety. On 1st notice(7/13), dealer completely neglected my concerns for oil leak/malfunction which led to massive engine damage (estimate $8000). Negligence led to engine failure on road causing massive compromise to my safety. Death could have been imminent if my car stalled on a freeway. Honda has a design flaw resulting in excessive oil consumption noted by multiple did not recommend an oil consumption test despite oil levels reaching critical levels within 6000mi of previous oil change.I was informed Accord consumes 1 quart of oil/ 1000mi and since my mileage was beyond Honda limits, I'm to be held responsible. Dealer mentioned that ¿¿apology¿ is what they can offer and that ¿¿no cost will be on dealer since it is not their responsibility¿. official rep of american Honda stated that this is purely a maintenance issue and that they do not possess ownership of dealer and have nothing to say reg irresponsibility of the official Honda dealer. Honda's design flaw&irresponsible dealers neglecting this issue could result in severe bodily injury or death.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #11

Oct 162013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 56,892 miles
When I start my car (usually when it is off for 4~6 hours) it will make a screech noise. But if it has been off for less than that, then the car does not make the noise. I've taken the vehicle in today at the dealership and they said that the cause was the vtc actuator. The dealership is asking for an $800 charge to fix this. My car is now out of warranty. As of right now I understand that there is no recall from Honda for this. I have done a google search on 2008 Honda Accord vtc actuator recall and have found that a lot of other people has the same issue as I do.

- Vienna , VA, USA

problem #10

Nov 252013


  • 74,280 miles
I have the 2008 Honda Accord with the 4cyl engine and drive approximately 8 miles per day. Within the last few months I have noticed significant oil loss in between oil changes. Approximately 3-4 quarts needs to be added in between oil changes. There is not a leak to be found and I am not blowing smoke out of the tailpipe. Upon additional research, I've found that multiple other owners of the exact same make and model vehicle are having this same issue. I've taken the vehicle to a local shop to have it looked at, but still don't have a resolve. Honda just recently lost a class action suit regarding the V6 models, but still won't admit to the issue with the 4cyl model. I have had estimates anywhere from $500 on up to a complete engine overhaul, which is far more than I can afford. Honda needs to take responsibility for this and fix the problem. I've owned many other Honda's and this is the first I've ever seen do something like this. Please help! thank you

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #9

Oct 012013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles


For the 2nd time since 2008, I've had to replace the sparkplugs due to PCM issues. The engine light will come on and gives an error code of P0303. Unfortunately you can only go to Honda to have the computer updated, and they will try to sell additional services. Today they refused to update my computer stating the only way to fix was to replace all the sparkplugs despite the service bulletin stating otherwise. Despite this being a manufacturer issue Honda has forced car owners to pay for this repair with no true fix existing.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #8

Mar 012013


  • 35,000 miles
Intermittent sudden uncontrolled acceleration. When merging into highway traffic or passing, vehicle continuously accelerates even when no braking; revs go up to 5000 and stays there even when stomping on brakes in attempt to slow the vehicle down. Only way to stop the sudden acceleration is to put car in neutral. Due to intermittent nature of problem, dealer could not fix during warranty period. Scheduled dealer appointment twice in 2011 and 2013, both times problem could not be duplicated.

- Hilo, HI, USA

problem #7

Jan 162013


  • 74,000 miles
When driving the vehicle (2008 Accord) in morning, I noticed a small rattle on inclines. Later there was a rattle when starting the car that has gotten progressively worse. I am hearing it constantly now and very loud.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #6

Apr 292013


  • 40,000 miles
The vtc ( variable timing control ) actuator on our 2008 Honda Accord sedan 4 door model was found to be defective and required immediate replacement by the Honda dealership. The 4 cylinder engine is exhibiting high oil consumption and poor gas mileage. Odometer reading is approximately 40,000 miles.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #5

Dec 222012


  • 100,000 miles


My vehicle was in park. When I tried to put it in drive, it would not move. I inserted a key beside the gear shift to release the gear shift. My vsa light, along with the ! warning light came on. When I looked in my car manual, it instructed me to take it to the Honda dealership immediately. I took it to the Honda dealership and they called american Honda but could not figure out what was wrong with the car. The gear shift now locks at least once a day and is getting harder to release. It also makes a clicking noise. I went back to the Honda dealership and waited 3 1/2 hours for them correct the problem. They again called american Honda and their only recommendation is for me to pay $1200 to buy a new part. The Honda dealership charged me $200 for their time. I was sent away with no repair to my car. I called american Honda and explained that I am worried about my safety. The vsa light along with the ! warning light says in the manual "vsa systemmalfunction. Vehicle has normal driving ability, but does not have vsa traction and stability enhancement; see dealer as soon as possible". I have went through 3 sets of tires this year and I think it is because of this issue. Honda has already recalled the vsa in the 2005 Honda Pilot. In their recall statement, "during a vsa system malfunction, the amount of brake force applied could exceed the driver's intended input. Unexpected brake activation could increase the risk of a crash." I am very disappointed that Honda is not concerned about my personal safety even though they know their is an issue with their vsa system. I am very concerned about my safety and the safety of the passengers that ride in my car.

- Carthage, NC, USA

problem #4

Aug 282012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The car did not want to move after it was put in gear. When the car did move it was very hesitant and would not pick up speed at first, then would gradually pick up speed. The car is back at the dealership and first they said it was transmission sensor, then said it was the computer, after replacing that the car begin a rough idle.

- Brunson, SC, USA

problem #3

Dec 012011


  • 123,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that that vehicle was included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 11V395000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that they would not repair the vehicle because it was not in warranty. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 123,000.

- Trenton, NJ, USA

problem #2

Nov 032010

Accord 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Above start date and mileage are estimates as this seems to have always been an issue. The engine sputters when accelerating through the first few gears. This is noticeable around the 20-35 mile per hour range, but may occur before or after that speed. It seems dangerous if acceleration is needed when the car will not respond. I have looked up Honda service bulletins and it seems there a re a few that "might" fit the issue. One is related to an oil "leak" another to oil "consumption" as well as one related to engine "low power". I believe the oil issue exists regardless as I am checking it now and discovered it is always low. There are a couple of others that may or may not apply as it is hard to determine the exact problem and service bulletin. The vehicle has been to the dealer for this issue only for the dealer to not be able to determine the cause or identify the problem while at the shop. Early on while under warranty the vehicle was brought back to the dealer for this issue and some spark plugs were replaced. If I remember correctly they said there was a problem with the spark plugs. The issue has always remained even after the replacement of some spark plugs. They may not have replaced all of them and thus the issue at hand? I will have to ask the dealer for a service history if they have it since I may not have all the records. The car will go back again for this issue after writing this. I'm hoping for a positive outcome where it will not cost me a fortune as the car is now out of warranty but was brought in for this while it was covered.

- Oak Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #1

Sep 142009


  • 9,600 miles
September 14, 2008 and also about 8-10 days before that date I experienced a get up and go while my foot was on the brake. The engine rpms climbed and I had I all could do to stand on the brake. I was in traffic and on a slight uphill grade (4-6%) in both cases. The car was creeping forward inspite of my efforts to brake as hard as I could. I was able to get the car into neutral before the light change. The car acted normally after that. My latest experience perhaps 100 miles later was much more dramatic. In this case the engine race was more violent and the car shuttered as I stood on the brakes. I believe the wheels were spinning and I was creeping uphill. I looked down to see if my foot was squarely on the brake as didn't want my foot to slip. My right foot was squarely on mid pedal. I do not drive with both feet. I have never had an accident and am very safety conscience. This time I again was able to get the car into neutral. I did see the engine RPM near 5000 when I went into neutral. I engine was quiet and when the light changed I returned home with no problems. I left the car outside, fearing an incident in my garage. What would have happened on wet pavement or snow" I promptly contacted my Honda dealer. After two days they have yet to reproduce this problem. They appear to have no answer. This is a low mileage car of less than 10,000 miles. I have had no problems with this car nor any of the others brought there. This is a great dealer. My family owns also owns Honda based on our excellent past history. >>> in summary: I no longer have any faith in this car's safety. Why does such a dangerous fault have to be demonstrated by the dealer? do I have to have an accident before they will replace a sensor or some computer chip" until this safety malfunction is corrected I can no longer enjoy the car I paid for.

- Prospect, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?