Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,189 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments

problem #11

Apr 142016


  • 140,500 miles


Takata recall as part of the airbag think my car is one of the recalls Honda garage in greenfield mass. Could not tell me. Also brought my car today to have it test drive because feel like the front in has problems with noise an vibration feeling they test drove it said looked at it in the garage an told me it looked fine I just dont feel like it drives like it did before just want to send this as back up because if it brakes or ends up back in want to make it known an worried about the airbags.

- Charlemont, MA, USA

problem #10

Jul 012014


  • 60,000 miles
The Honda Accord 2008 model started to clunk heavily in the front suspension when the weather was hot, anything above 85 degrees. When the front end was lifted or weather cooled, the sound went away. Steering became sloppy and felt unsafe. This summer when weather was very hot, the clunk became very loud and metal scraping on metal was apparent, especially on start, stop and any bumps. Honda issued a service bulletin dated Sep. 17, 2013, bulletin 12-082 that describes this problem and attributes it to ball joints that become unlubricated in high ambient temperatures. Of course metal on metal contact without lubrication in the ball joint quickly destroys the ball joint, affects steering adversely, fatigues the metal and could lead to breakage. I attempted to have Honda North America pay for the repair of this part that they acknowledge is defective in their service bulletin 12-082, but they were not willing to pay for the complete repair. I had new ball joints put on and it steers well and clunking is gone. Was not willing to let it go on longer and risk breakage at detriment to myself and family. This is a part that should be recalled/repaired at Honda's expense and poses a safety risk.

- Helena, MT, USA

problem #9

Jul 192015


  • 46,000 miles
I purchased new tires about a year ago. Tires had less than 30,000 on them. Back tires still had 90% tread but getting a vibration. Took car to the body shop and was told that the rear end of my vehicle was badly out of alignment.. I could see it with my naked eyes. The problem is that the rear tires can not be aligned. There is no way to adjust the camber on the back tires, so no matter what you will always have vibration and alway unevenly where your tires. Only way I can see to fix this, is to install adjustable cambers, but if this is a desig flaw and Honda already acknowledged it with a service bulletin addressing there Honda civics, then why should I have to pay for the fix. I am totally disgusted with Honda.

- Cranston, RI, USA

problem #8

Oct 292014


  • 96,000 miles


I purchased this vehicle in February 2015 and the issues which I have face are: Poor(worn) struts, axle(output shaft) seal leak, vtc actuator which the dealer does not want to honor the warranty defect, and poor motor mounts. In addition, the struts caused one of the tires to pop due to a bump on the tire, and the passenger front tire had to be replaced because of the bump on the tire which again is due to the struts being bad.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #7

Mar 122015


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the steering wheel was not aligned properly and failed to control the vehicle properly. The contact stated that the steering wheel and the wheels were not aligned adjacent. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the struts needed to be replaced and the wheels needed to be aligned. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred multiple times. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Baltimore , MD, USA

problem #6

Jul 122011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 53,096 miles
My wife and I purchased a 2008 Honda Accord (certified pre-owned) January 06, 2010. The mileage was 46,399. The Honda dealer said the brakes were new. (certified pre-owned) we had to replace the brakes July 2011 at 53,096 miles. (6697 miles later) August 2012 we had to replace brakes rotors and calipers 68007 miles. At this time we were advised of a defect in the braking system by just brakes.. we contacted Honda and they said since we were not the original owners and we did not take action sooner (prior 2010?) we would not be reimbursed for these repairs. (Honda settles lawsuit over this matter??) we also had to replace the tires in August 2012 as well. Since the repair of the brakes and calipers we have not had any issues and the gas mileage increased. We have spent hundreds of dollars trying to fix a problem that Honda has known about. A "certified pre-owned" Honda should qualify for the reimbursement that Honda has offered, even though we were not the original owners. Since we did not know about the "problem" until after 2010 (after the purchase of the vehicle) we could not had acted in time. It is my understanding there was a "safety bulletin" about this issue" if there was, why didn't Honda/dealer notify us of this issue? or shouldn't they have fixed this issue before selling the Honda as a "certified pre-owned" vehicle" I received a letter from Honda yesterday about a defect (control arm) in the 2006, 2007 & 2008 Honda civic and reimbursement available for this law suit. I would like Honda to remedy the situation on my 2008 Honda Accord.

- Granbury, TX, USA

problem #5

Dec 192011


  • 25,200 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop for routine maintenance. The technician detected that the front passenger side sway bar link was fractured. The vehicle was then taken to an authorized dealer for repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 25,200.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #4

Jun 092008

Accord 6-cyl

  • 50 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated when driving at approximately 60 mph, there were unusual vibrations and the vehicle would abnormally veer toward the right. The dealer rotated the tires but the vehicle then began to veer toward the left. The dealer realigned the front suspension but to no avail. In addition, the brakes would sporadically squeal when depressed. The dealer was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The dealer replaced the rotors twice but the failure persisted. The vehicle was not further repaired. The failure persisted. The failure mileage was 50 and the current mileage was 24,800. On July 26, 2010, the check engine light, vsa and an exclamation warning lights illuminated on the dashboard. The vehicle began idling erratically and the vehicle kept wanting to cut as the consumer approached traffic lights. Upon inspection of the vehicle, it was determined there was a problem with the cylinder. The spark plugs and cylinder were replaced. Updated 08/10/10

- Indian Head, MD, USA

problem #3

Nov 012008


  • miles
I to have a 08 Accord exl 4 cyl and so far I have a list of things wrong with the car. 1. the famous vibration 2. terrible fuel mileage 3.lights flashing to the extent that people are high beaming me [that's fun] 4. drivers seat jerks and moves real slow 5. wind noise on R/H front of car 6. hard starting in cold weather 7. gear shift rattles 8. R/H front door rattles 9. a banging in the trunk over moderate bumps or railroad tracks [there is nothing in there] 10. Squeaking and sometimes grinding brakes 11. Right front shock bangs at times 12. When you push the accelerator about one third of the way the car bogs until about 3 thousand RPM's then doubles and triples in power.

- Thunderbay, 00, USA

problem #2

Oct 102008


  • 8,200 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. While driving 65 mph, the steering wheel began to vibrate heavily and shake. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer, but they have been unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. They have rotated the tires and also replaced them; however, the failure still persists. She took the vehicle to Michelin ntb and, after a test drive, they stated that the failure could stem from the suspension or transmission. Michelin could not determine the cause of the failure as well. The contact believes that a crash could occur because she is unable to control the steering at high speeds. The failure mileage was 8,200 and current mileage was 8,300. Updated 11/25/08. Updated 11/25/08.

- Griffin , GA, USA

problem #1

Jan 152008

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. Typically, when driving between 60-70 mph, the steering wheel vibrates. The failure occurs every time the vehicle is driven; however, it will begin before reaching 60 mph on occasion. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer 6 or 7 times for this failure. The dealer was able to duplicate, but not correct the failure. The current mileage was 6,200 and failure mileage was 30. Updated 07/29/08 updated 08/01/08

- Tipp City, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?