Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2009 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,441 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 5 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #75

May 282010


  • 17,502 miles


I was coming out of my driveway. I hit my brakes and my car would not stop. I hit a parked car across the street.

- Roseland, NJ, USA

problem #74

Sep 092008


  • 21,323 miles
Upon leasing a 2009 Honda Accord I noticed an audible squeaking sound emitted by both rear brakes. This sound is clearly heard when brakes are applied and vehicle's speed is below 25 miles per hour. I returned to dealer and was reassured that this was normal for new brakes on Honda Accord and that over time the sound would stop. At this point, the car was at less than 1,000 miles. I currently have 22,000 miles on the car and I was informed that the rear brakes are worn to 2 mms. Similarly front brakes are prematurely worn and are measured at 6 mms. After researching the issue online I have found thousands of other customers who are experiencing an identical problem with the 2008-2009 Honda Accord braking system. Honda is offering a replacement of rear brakes, but cannot guarantee whether this will solve the issue.

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #73

May 202009


  • miles
Premature brake wear.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #72

May 262010


  • 20,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. Upon taking the vehicle in for routine service, the contact was informed that his rear brakes needed to be replaced. The contact stated that the vehicle had been experiencing recurring brake issues since the purchase. The vehicle experienced increased stopping distance and also wobbled when the brakes were applied. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure and current mileages were approximately 20,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #71

May 072010


  • 20,500 miles
My fiance' purchased a 2009 Honda Accord ex 4 door sedan. She complained about a month ago that she started hearing a high pitched squeal coming from the rear. She had about 19K miles on it so I was bewildered what it could be saying it can't be brakes so it must be a bearing problem. I took it to the dealer, where he reported I needed brakes. He said "Honda admits they might have an engineering problem with the brakes with premature failure, but won't admit it." Service rep stated that the pads especially in the rear are far too small to handle the weight of the car so they wear especially faster than other vehicles. He stated they did a modification by adding a steel sensor so the owner knows when they are getting low. He wouldn't admit that before the modification, there were no sensors on the brakes people would be metal to metal and not know it because of the extremely low miles of wear. Online reports put brake failures for this model starting from 2008 anywhere from 14K to 21K. See your own site here: question is: In acknowledgement of Toyota's current safety issues, when are you going to call Honda front and center to address their cavalier attitude to this issue" Honda's catatonic movement addressing this issue implies they are more concerned with revenue for repairs than safety for it's owners. This is going on now for 2 model years! when I left the dealer, I still heard a squeal when I hit the brakes. I went back and took the technician who did the brakes for a test drive. He said I needed the front's replaced too. That is over $400 for brakes and the car is only 1 year old. Once again, Honda is more concerned over repair revenue than passenger safety. How many people have died from brake failure in late model Honda" fyi: There was another woman waiting in the dealer lounge with me... her 2009 Accord had 19K miles and she was told she needed brakes on all 4 wheels.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #70

May 032010


  • 11,813 miles
2009 Honda Accord sedan. Purchased on 11/6/2009. Car was out of alignment when picked up. 1/27/2010 6336 miles resurfaced front rotors and balanced tires due to severe vibration. 2/5/2010 6897 miles resurfaced rear rotors and road force balanced all tires. 3/24/2010 10380 miles resurfaced rear rotors and road force balanced all tires. 4/28/2010 11813 miles replaced rear brake pads, resurfaced rear rotors. Mounted and balanced 4 new tires due to continued vibration. Car remains in shop trying to correct vibration.

- Mount Gilead, OH, USA

problem #69

Apr 242010


  • miles


Complete rear disc brake failure on a Honda Accord 2009 with approximately 20,000 miles. Replaced rotors and brake pads by a Firestone repair shop, as dealer was not open on a Saturday. In the 2 days time we heard a noise coming from the rear of the car, the noise increased by about 300%. brakes were down to the metal. Front brakes were fine. We kept the parts and are reporting to a Honda dealer in danbury, ct. This sat. May 1, 2010.

- Bethel, CT, USA

problem #68

Apr 152009


  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving at speeds of 55 mph and applying the brake, she could smell a burning odor and the vehicle was making an unusual noise. She confirmed the brake pedal would periodically stick to the floor board. The vehicle had been to the dealer twice for the failure. The dealer replaced the brakes on both occasions. The failure persisted. The approximate failure mileage was 300 and the approximate current mileage was 35,000.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #67

Mar 202010


  • 19,203 miles
Premature brake wear on 2009 Honda Accord V6. Brakes have squealed every time vehicle is driven (since about 5K miles). On 3/20/10 after routine service, I was told vehicle needed rear brakes (disks) at 19,203 K miles. I subsequently did checking on and it appears this is not an isolated incident. Also, I visited an Acura dealer's service center to see if the Acura tsx had similar issues - it does.

- Lanham, MD, USA

problem #66

Jan 152009


  • 300 miles
Brakes on front have been replace 2 times by turning rotors twice and second time pads replaced the fear is now there is a weakness in the rotors and they could fail during a panic stop, also there is a whine in power steering which Honda of America admits to but claim they do not have a fix for, they say it is not a safety issue but have do they know that the power steering could cease working at any time since that the whining is not the normal sound of the Accord up to late 08 and all the 09 Accord 4 cyl.

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #65

Mar 072010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 18,200 miles


2009 Honda Accord ex-L 4 cyl. Rear brakes worn at 18,000 miles.

- Elmont, NY, USA

problem #64

Jan 092010


  • 24,000 miles
Purchased 2009 Honda Accord in Oct. 2008. At around 15K miles, the brakes staring squeaking and making loud noise in the rear brakes. I thought it was something loose back there and kept driving. Then around 24K miles the noise came back and was unbearable. Took to dealership complained brakes wore out too quickly. Said it was normal wear and tear and I had to replace brake pads and resurface rotors. Paid $130, dealer gave free pads, but made me pay to resurface rotors. Told me the front brakes will have to be replaced soon cause car shakes when braking, rotors need immediate resurfacing. If I didn't take in asap, this could of cause an accident due to me being out of town when problems starting to occur.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #63

Jan 212010


  • 12,901 miles
I own a 2009 Honda Accord. It was purchased around October 2008. On January 21, 2010, it was taken to our local Honda dealer due to squealing brakes. The dealer reported that the rear brakes were worn and the pads needed to be replaced even though there is only 12,901 miles of use on the car. According to the dealer, this has been a common problem with 2008 and 2009 model Accord because the rear brakes were reduced in size even though more of the car's braking power was shifted to the rear axle. The dealer stated that many recent Honda Accord were needing rear brake pads replaced within one year and in as few as 7000 miles of use. As a "goodwill" gesture, the dealer agreed to replace the brakes for free. I then contacted Honda's corporate customer service center in torrance California and was informed that Honda is aware of this issue, but does not consider it a safety matter and has not issued a service bulletin regarding this issue. I believe the matter is a safety issue as few drivers would assume that their rear brakes might need to be replaced annually or after as few as 10,000 miles of use or less. By way of comparison, my 2004 Honda Accord has over 92,000 miles and the brakes are still original. I urge the NHTSA to investigate this issue promptly before a driver hits the brakes in a Honda Accord and discovers little or no brake power due to the unexpectedly few miles such brakes work before needing to be replaced.

- Lafayette, CA, USA

problem #62

Sep 292008

Accord 6-cyl

  • 0 miles
Brakes squeal loudly on 2009 Honda Accord coupe (V6) since purchased new in September 2008. All four brake pads have been replaced and all four rotors have been shaved twice with no effect. Rear brakes are also wearing out prematurely, new pads are almost gone with less than 14,000 miles on car. Was told by the dealer service garage that Honda is aware of the problem but they instructed dealer not to do any more repairs on the car. That was in 2008 and all through 2009 and no repair is in sight. Because of the constant squealing sound, there is absolutely no way to tell when brakes are worn out and they are clearly wearing out prematurely. This seems to me that this would have to constitute a safety issue.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #61

Dec 222009


  • 10,603 miles
Brakes on 2009 Honda Accord started periodic vibration at 5,000 miles. At 10,600 miles the rear pads were completely worn out and braking on a steep hill was compromised. An online search indicated that there are numerous complaints about the brakes on this auto.

- Rolling Hills Estates, CA, USA

problem #60

Jan 152009


  • 26,000 miles
Rear inner brakes wore out at 26,000 miles. The brakes should not wear out this fast. Most of the miles put on the car were highway miles. There is a defect in the brake system for this car. I am afraid this defect could cause the brakes to fail in the rear. Honda knows there is a defect but doesn't recall the car and fix the problem.

- Greenfield, IN, USA

problem #59

Dec 152009


  • 32,000 miles
Rear brake pads needed to be replaced after less than a year.

- Maple Shade, NJ, USA

problem #58

Jan 152009


  • 16,000 miles
I was hearing grinding noises from my front and rear brakes on my 2009 Honda Accord LX 4 door sedan. The Honda dealer reported that my rear brake pads were worn down to the sensor level and would need to be replaced. My Honda has 16,000 miles and I am the only owner and driver. When I inquired that for brake pads to wear down this fast, the Honda dealer did not respond. After further investigation on google, it appears that this is a defect in the quality and craftmanship of the brake pads and Honda or the dealer is not willing to accept or acknowledge this defect.

- Englewood, CO, USA

problem #57

Feb 022010


  • 4,000 miles
I purchased a 2009 Honda Accord within the past few months. I was looking into a problem with another vehicle of mine and stumbled across an issue many if not all 08' and 09' Accord owners are facing. Countless consumers report defects with the rear brakes. Mostly that they need to be replaced every 12,000 miles. Dealerships are telling the consumer this is the normal wear period for the rear brakes. This of course is not true, the front brakes are the ones that usually go first at around 50,000 depending on driving, conditions, etc. I learned Honda is using soft small organic pads. Furthermore I've learned of the dealerships unwillingness to cover the cost of the pads and labor from state to state. There is a serious design flaw regarding the brake system. My Accord currently has only 4,000 miles on it. Though I have not yet experienced the problem everyone else has, I know it is coming. It may seem odd for someone to report a problem that has not happened yet, however the need to be proactive regarding this matter will no doubt save lives. As a police officer in Texas, I see the grim reality of what happens when vehicles are driven beyond their means or when the vital systems of these vehicles are defective. If these pads can't handle "normal wear and tear" they certainly will not be able to provide adequate stopping power during a harmful event. We all care about safety and our families welfare. Please look into this matter. Our safety should never be compromised over the gain or loss of a dollar. Lets fix this now, not after a major incident. Someone should not have to die before we decide something should be done about a problem that existed all along. Thank you.

- Kyle, TX, USA

problem #56

Feb 012010


  • 16,000 miles
2009 Honda Accord there are serious brake noise problems and premature brake wear issues on these cars.

- League City, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?