If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

7.9

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$98.00
Average Mileage:
50,261 miles
Total Complaints:
61 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (37 reports)
  2. dealer wants to do a consumption test first (9 reports)
  3. reprogram computer software (5 reports)
  4. replace pistons and rings (3 reports)
  5. i was told by several mechanics its rings or valve gasket (2 reports)
  6. Honda said burning 1 quart of oil every 1600 miles is normal (1 reports)
2009 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #61

Sep 012011

Accord LXP 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2009 LXP Honda Accord new for my son to take to collage so I didn't drive the car for a about 1 month after he bought, but when I did drive it, it had about 500 miles on it, noticed the Rotors were warped. The car would shake real bad when applying the brakes. I took it back to the Honda garage and they agreed but said that Honda will never admit there is problem so we can"t put new rotors on it but we can turn the rotors. I refused to let them do it and insisted they put four new rotors on. They refused! So being a Machinist I took all four rotors off the car and checked them and they were warped real bad so I bought four new rotors and put them on myself.

My next complaint came in 2011 when my son called me and said the oil light came on (22,000 miles) so I had him add oil. From there I started keeping a close eye on the oil consumption. The end result is that it consistently burns a quart of oil every 1600 miles. I have always had the oil changed every 5000 miles. Honda"s comment was that is acceptable oil consumption and would do nothing about it. What a joke! Not only am I a Machinist but I have also worked on vehicles for the last 35 years and have never seen anything like this.

My next complaint is that the actuator (check valve) that allows the oil into the timing chain housing is allowing the oil to drain back out when the car is shut off so when you start the car it makes a god awful rattling noise for about 4 seconds when you start it. This started around 45000 miles. Honda garage wanted $600 to fix it it. I told them Honda needs to warranty it, they again that Honda will never admit that it"s a problem.

I never got it fixed.

I am not in impressed with Honda and will never buy another Honda or will I ever recommend a Honda to anyone.

- , Pittston, Maine, USA

problem #60

Dec 052012

Accord EX 2.4L Vtec 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

I have had several oil consumption tests. I was encouraged by the Lisle Superstore Dealership to keep bringing it in every 1,000 miles to "top it off with oil." The dealer stated that the oil consumption was within Honda's acceptable oil consumption. I have never heard of having to get the oil checked every thousand miles. My older cars could have oil changes every 3-4 thousand miles. Honda is making the consumer the scapegoat, and I am very angry about this. It was recommended that I purchase a Honda, but obviously it has not been a good experience, and I will not purchase another Honda again and will tell everyone I know of my issues if they do not get resolved. No one wants to do anything for me, and now my car is almost out of warranty, after a year and a half of dealing with this problem. I am a conscientious vehicle owner, and I feel I am getting screwed by Honda and by the Lisle, IL Honda Dealership!

- , West Chicago, IL, USA

problem #59

Nov 192013

Accord LX-P 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,500 miles

I have seen online about complaints about excessive oil consumption and have had same results, one quarter quart oil used every 500 miles.

Update from Jun 14, 2014: did oil consumption test with Honda dealer 2x finally they admitted a problem-had pistons and rings replaced at dealers cost-they also advised me that drive belt was worn and needed replacement and that trans oil was dirty and should be replaced I agreed to pay for those two minor issues as I was elated that finally they would take care of the excessive oil problem at no cost to me-was I paying for some repairs I didn't need- I did not even flinch

- , Hauppauge, New York, USA

problem #58

Jun 282013

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,635 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car continues to use excessive amount of oil, which Honda says is within normal. Must add oil every 1,000 miles.

All plugs were replaced early.

- , Luray, VA, USA

problem #57

Mar 202013

Accord EX-L 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

My 2009 Honda Accord began using oil at about 78,000 miles. The 1st time it happened it was 2 1/2 quarts low. There was no oil on the dipstick. I thought that the place I have change the oil just did not put enough oil in. The next time the oil maintenece light came on at about 3000, I checked the oil and again it was 2 quarts low. The next oil change at Jiffy Lube the mechanic said he used to work for a Honda dealership and said he replaced alot of 4cyl engines. I called the Honda dealership where I bought it and they said He has never heard of this problem. He said burning 1 quart of oil every 1000 miles is acceptable. They wanted be to bring it in for an oil comsumption test that I would have to pay for. This is the last Honda I will ever buy.

- , Harpers Ferry, WV, USA

problem #56

Feb 222014

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

My 2009 Honda Accord at 70,000 miles has a blown engine. It was involved in a minimal front end fender bender and after that incident the vehicle would not start. Called State Farm, they towed the vehicel to a body shop for repairs where it sat for almost 3 weeks while they tried to figure out why the vehcle wouldn't start. Finally they stated that the engine was blown and there was only sludge left for oil and there were no cracks or leaks found anywhere so we would be responsible for a new engine. No oil lights were ever on prior to the vehicle not starting. The oil had just been changed 3 months prior. State Farm won't cover it and after contacting American Honda, they said it would be $800 to tear down the engine and figure out if was their fault. But other than that they were not helpful at all. VERY DISAPPOINTED AS I HAVE OWNED HONDAS FOR 20+ YEARS AND HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM. Honda needs to step up and take care of their garbage.

- , Willowbrook, IL, USA

problem #55

Feb 282014

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2009 Honda Accord Coupe LX coupe// 4 Cylinder In August of 2012.. Thinking it would be a good investment... I kept my oil in check every month and realized the oil wasn't even touching the stick recently... Had to add about 2 quarts last night just so I could get to the dealership. Now doing an oil consumption test every 500 miles at the dealership.. I would have never thought I'd be having such serious problems with such a new car.. Another thing to add is I hear a grinding sound on start up when it's about 30 degrees outside. Family is never buying from Honda again.. This should not be a consumer problem and it's not right Honda kept it soo low key. Not how to run a business....

- , Flowery Branch, GA, USA

problem #54

Mar 112014

Accord EXL 3.5 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,285 miles

Bought used 2009 Accord EXL with 43,300 miles in Oct. 2013 & noticed oil dip stick only had a drop of dirty oil on the tip at 37,159 miles after oil/filter change by dealer according to CarFax report. Topped off with 2 qts & drove until Jan 27 (45,728 mi on odometer & "Oil Life indicator at 10%). Changed oil/filter and oil down 1/2 qt on Mar 11 w'/ 46,582 miles...Oil Life= 100%. That's 854 miles on half a quart. My '99 4 cyl Accord EX with 192,000 didn't use that much in 3,500 miles.

I'm wondering what to do...keep it & hope it doesn't die along the road somewhere or sell it? Please don't insult me by saying it's "normal" a computer adjustment will fix it.I've never even had an old clunker go through that much oil in my 68 years of driving. Maybe it's "normal" for a poorly designed engine but NOT to the average auto engine in the last half century

Any honest mechanics out there with an idea of how to keep this car on the road? It's beautiful car that doesn't deserve such a crappy engine! TheHandyman said that! Don't even think of the snide remarks...I"ve heard them all before!

- , Suches, GA, USA

problem #53

Jan 312014

Accord EX V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles

I bought this car in October 2013 with 77000 miles on it.I just happen to be going down an incline on the way to work when my oil icon flashed just for a moment.I have learned the hard way that this is not to be ignored.I checked my oil dip stick that evening. BONE DRY.I tossed in a quart, and brought it to the dealer later on that week.I had mentioned that I have had the car for only 4000 miles and that to have a car lose this much oil is not a god thing.Of course they found nothing wrong, did an oil change, and said to come back in a 1000 miles.That will next week,the fact that they never mentioned any oil consumption problems,law suits, etc. suggests to me that I'm probably just pissing in the wind and they will say that this is what happens when you buy a car this used.If this proves to be the case, I will be an ex Honda Accord owner.

- , lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #52

Jul 192013

Accord LX-P 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

Oil changed in April 2013 at Pep Boys. July 2013 engine makes funny sound on acceleration and oil light comes on. Tech says car has no oil in it. Filled up. No charge. October 2013 same problem. Took to Honda dealer. They performed oil change and checked for leaks allegedly. (No documentation on ticket.) February 17, 2014 checked oil because engine making funny sound again. Level does not measure on dipstick. Added three quarts myself to bring level to full.

- , Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #51

Feb 262014

Accord EX-L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Three years ago when this 4cylinder accord had about 25000 miles on it, we started hearing loud metal grinding noises when the car was started after the car sat parked for several hours. Honda replaced the VTC actuator but it still kept making those scary expensive metal grinding sounds upon engine start up. At this same time, we noticed the car had been consuming oil at a rate of about half a quart per 1000 miles and almost immediately after an oil change, the oil would easily be sludge black dirty after only about 150 miles. We reported this to honda and now over the next three years, we were doing the stupid oil consumption test. I normally do all my cars maintanences myself but now I was compelled to pay the stealer ships to do these oil changes for me. To my dismay, I paid the Honda dealer near me to do an oil change in 11/2013 and as soon as I got home, I checked the oil and it was dirty. I peeked at the oil filter, it was not changed. Basically, they made me pay for a service that they never did. It was a Saturday and I picked up the car at closing time so there was no time for me to return it. Anyway, going back to the engine abnormal oil consumption issue, my 2/26/2014 oil consumption test by the dealer indicated that my car had consumed over 2 quarts of oil over a 1000 mile time period. By now I had been purchasing large quantities of Mobil1 synthetic 5 quart jugs periodically. Every time I fill up with gas, I must pop the hood and add oil in my work suit sometimes like a fool in a 2 year old Honda accord; embarrassing! As I write this, my car has been at the dealership since 3/4/2014 and I am told that they will be performing a piston ring replacement under warranty but they obviously want to make money of me by making me pay to have the timing chain and tensioner replaced at 70,000 miles. Sucks! let's see what happens from here. How come the courts in these class action law suits never award the plaintiffs for emotional duress and wasted time consumed troubleshooting their brand new cars and for the years of torture that Honda dealerships has placed on it's customers. I used to be an avid fan of Honda products, now I am their enemy. I will look to Toyota, Subaru and maybe Hyundai for my next vehicles.

Update from Mar 6, 2014: I wish that I had found this Honda Bulletin on the internet or on this site sooner.

I had just picked up my car today from the dealership. Under the well hidden Honda Service Bulletin 12-087, my car was repaired today. They replaced the 4L engines piston and it's rings and replaced several major gaskets. When I brought the car in several days ago, I was told that they would not repair my car without making me do my timing chain and tensioner pre-100,000 miles. I found out later that this was false. Anyway, I paid for the chain because I am sick of this car and all it's problems by now. Here's that bulletin, hopefully it helps you folks with 4 cylinder Accords.

http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CCcQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fhonda-tech.com%2Fattachment.php%3Fattachmentid%3D337148%26d%3D1379687646&ei=jjcZU8qkIsLY2AWN-YDIBw&usg=AFQjCNEi9bTNZ1NVeWvJU7Nl5zej-28TJA&sig2=uVMOYj5Y-fXZJXGDuiCBWw

- , Port Jefferson Station, NY, USA

problem #50

Oct 302008

Accord EX-L 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 0 miles

While driving to work one morning, the oil light came on while cornering. I'm an engineer, so yes I am just a bit anal, but I never used to check oil in cars between 3000 mile oil changes (which I do myself). This was based on my experience with the many cars my wife and I have owned in the past 25 years (including a 1979 Plymouth Fire Arrow that I owned from '89 to '91). So obviously I was more than surprised to see no oil on the dipstick (less than 3000 miles on the car).

I now get to check the oil essentially with every fill up and add 1/3 qt. Honda performed a recall (service bulletin 11-049) to change the timing during cold starts to prevent deposits from forming on the piston rings. It was their slight admission that there was a problem, but why would I have oil consumption problems so early on? My guess is that the design was intentionally skewed towards looser rings in order to boost gas mileage, but that is nothing but a SWAG (scientific wild a$$ guess). A coworker informed me that Honda would perform an oil consumption test and if you were burning more than 1 qt of oil every 1000 miles, they would cover the issue under warranty. So that is exactly what I did. Honda performs an oil change, sends me on my way and says see you in 1000 miles. I get to 300 miles and decide to check the level. To my surprise I've got too much oil in the sump! They apparently decided to give me an extra 1/2 qt or so of oil during the oil change.

The next day I march right back to the dealer and explain the situation. They are forced to drain the oil and refill. My 1000 mile clock has just been reset. This time I verify the level as soon as I get home. Things are looking good this time. I monitor the consumption as the miles accumulate. By the time I reach 1100 miles (missed 1000 due to the holidays) I'm a quart low. Things are looking good to have this issue worked. I bring the car in and am told the car only took 1/2 quart. I mentioned that I had looked at the oil the previous night and it was a quart low. He simply shrugged his shoulders and said "It only took a half a quart." Deflated and beaten (next time I'll stay in the garage and witness the filling!) I head home.

Now remember that I am an engineer. First thing I do when I get home is (wait for it . . . . ) - check the oil! And guess what didn't reach the top level indicator - yup, you guessed it - the oil level. It was probably two-thirds of the way up (now I wished I had the mechanic who overfilled again!). How inept can the service techs be??? Now I get to live with the prospect of adding 1/3 qt of oil at every fill up or maybe looking to see if I can find another 1979 Plymouth Fire Arrow. I bet that will burn less oil!

- , Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #49

Jul 012013

Accord V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,500 miles

Bought this Honda under the perception of HONDA QUALITY. This is the third significant issue being brought to light. One major complaint I have is the fact the dealership is not forth coming about issues. I mentioned that on previous oil changes I was adding oil between changes (done religiously). Not sure how they can look you in the eye with a poker face and not mention the possibility of a problem.

Anyway after seeing how they handled the brake suit and the other issues I decided to Google. Low and behold I discover a class action suit for oil consumption that Expires 4/10/14. I called the dealer and am now going to take in after 1000 miles to document usage.

- , Timonium, MD, USA

problem #48

Dec 062013

Accord V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Mint condition 2009 Honda Accord that has been certified by Honda burns 1.5 quarts of oil every 1500 miles. My wife and I just had our first little girl and I fear they will end up on the side of the road stranded in frigid cold conditions. Honda needs to save its loyal customers that have continued to buy their brand, by going above and beyond to help remedy this problem.

- , Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #47

Oct 222013

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

My maint record is perfect. Sudden onset ticking noises in engine had me concerned. Twice now, oil was so low not showing on stick. And no check oil lite showed. Service was not due either time. Had mech check for leaks and no evidence.

- , Graham, WA, USA

problem #46

Feb 092011

Accord 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 134,000 miles

Honda and Toyota are notorious for not admitting there problems and shortcomings.

Every Honda dealer I've spoke with give you a song and dance on you didn't buy the car here or how they never heard of anyone else having this problem.

it's simple STOP buying there products!! they never admit to problems until people get killed or lawyers get involed. My car burns close to a quart every 3000 miles. That's all highway driving the dealers know there's a problem but they want to stick it to the consumer.

Several mechanics have told me its rings or valve seals and the engine burns the oil !!!!

But Honda COULD NOT figure this out and its a common problem with these vehicles

- , Southold, N.Y, USA

problem #45

Sep 152013

Accord EX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Honda dealer never notify me of excessive oil consumption. I have a 2009 Accord EX and I had oil filter and oil replaced prior to a trip from San Francisco, CA to Jonesboro, AR. When I arrived at Jonesboro the car engine sounded weird so I took it to a Sears Automotive Center to have the oil replaced and checked. While I was waiting for the car the customer service guy said he wanted to talk about the car. He said there was no oil, the mechanic pulled the stick and there was no oil. I could not believe it. He could not service the car for liability issues and told me to go to the nearest auto part store and buy some oil then return in a couple of days. I bought 4 quaters of oil. Car never indicated oil issues. Now I am worried the engine might be damaged.

- , Pacifica, CA, USA

problem #44

May 072012

Accord EXL

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

In May 2012, I was traveling on a work related trip and my engine started making noises every so often. It was not a constant noise, but I would hear it every so often. I finally took my car to the dealership and they told me there was not enough oil in the engine to touch the dip stick. So of course they replace my oil. I specifically ask the guy....where did the oil go.....of course he looked at me like he had no clue. I always go by the mileage they post on my windshield to get my oil change. I probably had 1500 mile to go to get to their mileage.

Anyway. I came back for my next oil change.....same situation.....oil was low.....they had no answer for it again......still playing clueless. The guy told me to drive my car for 600 miles and bring it back. I did that and it was low again. For the past year ....it has been the same thing .

I just recently took my car to the dealership to have my oil change...my engine was making a noise as well.....again my oil was low. Again, I ask the guy....where is the oil going. He couldn't tell me anything.....My car has 79,000 mile on it right now...I purchase the extended warranty when I bought my car. It has been problems since day 1. I know the dealership knows what is going on with my car.....I just want it fixed .....I should not have to put oil in my car or check the oil in my car every month.....

- , Anniston, AL, USA

problem #43

May 012012

Accord EXL

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles

I bought this car about a year and 5 months ago and the oil consumption is horrible. I took it to honda because I had a noise when I was Turning the car on in the morning. abs they had to change the vtec actuator. Honda did pick up the cost and I was told that the car had about 4 quarts of oil missing, mind you I still had 200 miles left until I had to change my oil and the mechanic tells me that I was over mileage. so I turned the turn the key and showed him he was wrong. then they show me the my valves and tell me that I could have and engine problem soon because the car is running on little to no oil. so I explained to him that I change oil religiously that I always keep and eye on the percentage it shows me. then he tells me that they don't go by that, that the call that the your f*cked light because once it's on your done and that they did what they could and its gonna be 5 grand for a new motor once mine goes bad. I did some research and it tells me that honda covers motor and trans up to 60k and I'm only at 53 going on 54 so what should I do I'm so let down right now and I'm still paying for the car I just don't have warranty to cover any repairs .

- , Passaic, NJ, USA

problem #42

May 022012

Accord LX V4

  • Manual transmission
  • 98,000 miles

I CONSTANTLY HAVE TO ADD OIL BETWEEN OIL CHANGES OFTEN BETWEEN 5-7 QUARTS OR 2 QUARTS /MONTH. I'M CONCERNED THERE WILL EVENTUALLY BE INTERNAL ENGINE ISSUES AND SEAL PROBLEMS. WHAT IS OUR RECOURSE. I SEE THERE IS A CLASS ACTION SUIT FILED BUT NOT SURE HOW TO REPORT THIS ISSUE.

- , Colchester, CT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?