CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

7.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$416.00
Average Mileage:
67,626 miles
Total Complaints:
122 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (68 reports)
  2. dealer wants to do a consumption test first (21 reports)
  3. Honda said burning 1 quart of oil every 1600 miles is normal (8 reports)
  4. reprogram computer software (6 reports)
  5. replace pistons and rings (5 reports)
  6. i was told by several mechanics its rings or valve gasket (3 reports)
2009 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #122

May 032017

Accord LX-P 2.4L L4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 Honda Accord with 107k miles which consumes excessive engine oil. I did oil consumption test in a Honda service center. After the test was completed, they told me a quarter of oil consumption every 1000 miles is normal. They suggested me, I should regularly check the oil level and if needed add more engine oil.

- , Houghton, MI, USA

problem #121

Jan 132016

Accord EX-L 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

Called dealer after spark plugs needing premature replacement. Told to do oil consumption test. Burned 1 quart for each 2000 miles and told it did not qualify for warranty. 1 year later, spark plugs needing replacing again. Called Honda, was told that they would have done full repair a year ago if I had taken it in instead of calling, now vehicle is 4 months out of the 8 YEAR extended warranty due to the lawsuit acknowledging the problem!!! Called Honda Corporate and was told there is nothing they can do now. Will not ever be buying a Honda again and will not recommend them. Wife and I were both loyal to Honda. The handling of this issue has be anything but professional and not expected from Honda. All I expect is for them to stand behind their product and help loyal customer who are plagued by the oil burning engine.

- , Rossville, US

problem #120

Mar 012017

Accord LXS 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

no any color of smoke at exhaust or smell, but every 700-800 miles the dipstick is at half.

- , Orland Park, US

problem #119

Mar 212017

Accord EX-L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,072 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Known problem with Honda V-6 Engines . I believe there has been a class action suit regarding this problem.

- , Long Valley, NJ, US

problem #118

Jan 122016

Accord EX 2.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 101,000 miles

I've owned my 2009 for a little over 4 years now and it is at around 107,00 miles. A little over a year ago, I started to notice excessive oil consumption. I change my own oil to save money and to make sure it's done correctly. I use synthetic Mobil 1 with the recommended weight. It seemed odd to me that it would be low 2-3 quarts over a span of a few thousand miles but never had the time to look into it and being I have limited knowledge of how car's engines work, thought maybe it had something to do with the fact that it was a manual transmission (I've only driven sticks my entire life and have had other cars burn oil too, so I supposed this was the common denominator, which obviously I was wrong about. They all just had ring problems, I now know).

Anyways, I decided to look into it today after talking to a friend about it, and found this site and others, where it was clear there is a very clear and known issue here with the 4 cylinders, not just the V6. Called my local Honda dealership and service technician informed me that there was a standing bulletin to have my computer software updated, and then proceeded to tell me that I would then need to do an oil consumption test through them but not before them having do an oil change on it. Which I do understand because they need to ensure the proper oil levels and trusted Honda parts are used, but if this is part of diagnosing the excessive oil consumption problem, I should not be charged. However, they said I'd need to pay $39.50 for it. While this is not a lot of money in the grand scheme of things, it's the principle that I shouldn't have to pay for this, and likely other extras as well (I refer back to this later).

I proceeded to call American Honda to see if I could get more information, and after giving them my VIN, they said my 2009 was purchased in November 2008, meaning that I am past the 8 year extended warranty and so Honda will not cover anything. I'm all for following and understanding rigid rules, but a few months difference between November 2016 and today, February 2017, didn't make this problem more or less of a real thing.

Part of my issue here also is that the Honda service technician didn't look into when my vehicle was purchased after giving him my VIN, so I would have brought my car in, they would have updated the computer software, then did an oil change (costing me $39.50), and then initiated the oil consumption test, which I would have had to pay for out of pocket once they discovered to do their due diligence and find it was actually no longer covered by the warranty period. So regardless, it's a lose-lose for me. Either I would have paid a few hundred dollars total for them to "officially" tell me it is consuming oil too quickly (which I already know) and then live with the problem because it's not covered anymore, or I would have to pay several thousand dollars to replace the pistons and rings in order to fix this problem. I admit it's my own fault that I didn't look into this a year ago when I first noticed the problems, but again, if Honda knows this is their fault and have submitted a bulletin (which really should be a recall/lawsuit like the V6 models), a few months shouldn't matter.

Honda, please fix this problem because it's yours to own. This is my first Honda and expected nothing but reliability, but having to constantly add oil to an 8 year old HONDA car barely over 100k is unacceptable like I used to do on a 20 year old Mazda 626 with over 200k miles, who's rings were also going bad.

- , Okemos, US

problem #117

Aug 012016

Accord LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles

I was never notified about the class action lawsuit settled by Honda regarding excessive oil consumption so I may be out of luck. I bought my Accord in 2008 and I understand they extended the warranty to 8 years with no mileage limit. I may have missed the time window but will try. I don't drive that much but it burns about a quart every 1000 miles. I have maintained the car in excellent condition and have performed all the maintenance indicated on the maintenance minder without fail.

- , Houston, TX, USA

problem #116

Jan 172017

Accord EX-L 3.5L V6 Mpi Sohc 24v

  • Manual transmission
  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We purchased the car from a Nissan dealer in August, 2016. While preparing for a road trip we checked all fluids and realized that the car was 2 1/2 quarts low on oil and there was less than 2,000 miles on the vehicle since last oil change. We filled it and took it into the dealer we purchase it from who said keep an eye on it. We are now constantly replacing the oil and the dealer we purchased it from said we had to contact Honda.

I contacted Honda and they said the VIN # I provided was not covered by the class action lawsuit, although the web page indicates that it applies to all 2009 Honda Accords with this particular engine. They indicated that I would have to have to pay and have the problem diagnosed by a Honda dealer and then maybe a good will gesture would be granted to us. However, they do not have to repair the car because it is outside the original warranty.

- , Ashford, CT, USA

problem #115

Oct 052016

Accord EX 4 cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 94,000 miles

IF HONDA IS AWARE OF THIS OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEM WHY DON'T THEY JUST FIX MY CAR INSTEAD OF ASKING ME TO COME BACK EVERY 1,000 MILES

THEY'RE JUST JERKING ME AROUND

- , Lutherville, MD, USA

problem #114

Dec 012016

Accord 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

We have noticed the excessive oil consumption for about two years. We took it to a Honda dealership and they ran a test, but did nothing about it. It seems to be the same problem that the six-cylinder records have had

- , Haddon Twp, NJ, USA

problem #113

Dec 072016

Accord EX-L 3.5V6 Pzev

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

I have owned Hondas since 1984 but never had an oil consumption problem. A quart in 1200 miles is ridiculous.

- , Hoover, AL, USA

problem #112

Jul 012016

Accord ES 2.4L 6 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2009 Honda Accord was purchased by our local Honda dealer off the lot brand new. Vehicle has always a good vehicle and no serious problems. It was in a minor crash and had some of the frame readjusted. Recently, (within 6 months) I have noticed the vehicle consuming more oil than usual. Sometime the car will be so low on oil it will make a large rattling noise and I have to stop to put more oil in. I followed up with Honda to see what I could do with the extended warranty notice I received in the mail regarding the vehicle. The extended warranty stated that the piston rings may be sticking more than usual and the vehicle could be consuming more oil than normal. The warranty stated it was good for up to 8 years from the purchase or 125,000 miles, whichever came first. At the time the Honda was at 134,000 miles. Honda told me to take it to my local Honda dealer and ask how to start the process on the piston rings. The local dealer stated they needed to start with an oil consumption test with an oil change, then I would have to come back after 1,000 miles for them to track the oil. I brought the vehicle in and was dealt with more bad news. The local dealer stated that I could not start the oil consumption test until I fixed two other oil leaks the vehicle currently has. I was told the vehicle has a valve gasket leak which also needed a valve adjustment as well as a crank seal leak. The local dealer quoted me that the valve gasket would cost $225, the valve adjustment would be $325, and the crank seal leak would be $245. Everywhere I have heard otherwise the cost of these fixes would be much more than I was quoted. After receiving this news I called Honda again to create a claim. I still have not been able to speak to my case representative on the problem. My concern is that the sticking piston rings could have lead to the two other leaks my vehicle is having. I feel as though Honda needs to cover the costs to fix this problem seeing as though the piston rings are an ongoing issue.

- , Casco, ME, USA

problem #111

Nov 252016

Accord EX-L 2.4L 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

Well I started my car one day, and drove off to school. Noticed every time I accelerated I noticed as soon as the rpm his 3000 it started giving this wining sound. At first I thought it was nothing then I started noticing it every time I drove. I didn't know what the problem was, everything seemed fine, it is a clean engine and I always repaired it every time something happens. I took it to my friend's shop and he put some oil in engine, he also noticed the sound so we both did our research and discovered that this is a common thing with Hondas. I eventually filled up my oil and now I can still feel it burn and the oil consumption is way out of hand. In less than a week the oil percentage went down 10 percent. I seriously don't know what to do. I'm a college student and have no money to fix this honestly, this is seriously unacceptable.

- , Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #110

May 092016

Accord EXL 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Post having the Honda dealership repairs (4 spark plug replacement and computer replacement), the vehicle continues to have the oil consumption issue. I believe it is getting worse. I must add a quart of oil every 1500 miles! To add insult to injury, I have only used synthetic oil for my oil changes, which needless to say, costs more to use. I have maintained the car well and primarily use the vehicle to drive, mostly highway, to and from work (18 miles one way). Our family auto history has primarily been Honda/Acura vehicles, however, this may change.

- , Great Neck, NY, USA

problem #109

Mar 282013

Accord EX-L 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,549 miles

My Honda Accord has used oil excessively since I first bought it. There has been a lawsuit for the V-6 for the same thing and nothing has been done about the 3.2L. It is the same exact problem !!!! Help !

Update from Nov 9, 2016: It is a 2009 Honda Accord EX-L 2.4Liter, 4 cylinder 5 speed automatic

- , Franklin, NC, USA

problem #108

Oct 012016

Accord EX 4-Cyl, PZEV, i-VTEC, 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,500 miles

My 2009 Honda Accord EX (60k miles) 4 cylinder engine has begun to consume a lot of oil. There are no visible leaks, or smoke emissions. There is a considerable amount of sooty residue on the tailpipe tip. I recently had to replace 2.5 quarts of oil after 1600 miles following an oil change when the low oil warning light came on suddenly.

The engine started consuming oil at around >40k miles, but was negligible and only required about a one pint top-off after about 2000 miles, then it slowly became more thirsty. The engine now pings while driving uphill, despite being at the proper oil level and using a quality gasoline of the required octane. Stepping up an octane level has not eliminated the pinging.

(My car is used primarily for pleasure driving with about 7500 miles logged annually, and does not tow trailers.)

I have made an appointment with my local Honda dealer to have the vehicle inspected for leaks and an oil consumption test. When I asked the service rep what Honda considers to be an acceptable loss of oil between oil changes, his response was "one quart every 1000 miles". So, if I need to change my oil every 4-5000 miles, that would require 4 to 5 quarts extra top-off between oil changes?? That is "NORMAL"?

I would like to see Honda advertise the need for such "normal" maintenance in their brochures, and see how their sales do afterwards.

Once I get the results of my consumption test, I will follow up with this posting.

Update from Dec 23, 2016: On 12/08/2016, the Accord was returned to VIP Honda of North Plainfield, NJ where the technician determined that the oil consumption was excessive, burning 2 quarts of oil in 1126 miles driven. I then made an appointment to make the prescribed repairs as per Honda bulletin 12-087.

The Accord was then returned to the dealer on 12/20/16 for the needed repairs, and was provided a dealer loaner car for the duration of the repair. I was notified on 12/22/16that while the repair was being performed, the timing chain was found to be stretched beyond specifications due to insufficient lubrication and was to be included in the repairs at no expense. Unfortunately, the vehicle will be stuck in the shop over Christmas weekend due to a back-ordered part, said to become available on 12/26/16. Once I have the Accord back, I will update this post.

Update from Dec 29, 2016: 12/29/2016 I finally received my car back from the dealer, and all is well. My car drove like new without any hint of prior problems. The service included new pistons, rings, timing chain, related tension-er, pulleys and hardware, all at NO charge. Honda certainly stepped up and took care of my repair courteously and professionally. Thank-you VIP Honda!

Update from Jan 26, 2017: 01/26/2017 So far so good after a 500+ mile round trip, the engine ran like new, without any oil consumed. (Fingers crossed for longevity).

- , Mountainside, NJ, USA

problem #107

May 162016

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,309 miles

ALL OF A SUDDEN THE CAR STARTED BURNING A QUART OF OIL EVERY 1000 MILES. IT DIDN'T BURN A QUART IN 3000 MILES BEFORE THAT. I HAD THE TESTS DONE AT HONDA AND I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS NORMAL FOR THE CAR ACCORDING TO A COURT RULING. IF IT GETS WORSE THAN LET THEM KNOW.

- , Bronx, NY, USA

problem #106

Sep 212016

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,101 miles

This is the second time this has happened as the first was June 21st. I went to Firestone because my car would not turn over well and figured it was the battery. They asked if I wanted anything else done and I said no as they are not my Honda mechanic. When I came to pick up my car with new battery they told me the oil stick was dry! I then took it to my Honda mechanic because the last time I was there in June it happened and I drove out paying $900.000 (included maintenance). So when this happened again I thought OMG my mechanic did not fix this. So I dropped it off and this wonderful company Googled the problem and found there was a recall. I am losing oil and didn't know it. I am a woman...I don't go and open the hood, check the stick and put oil in the engine. But I am going to have to learn until this gets fixed...Yes, it is a pain!

- , San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #105

Jun 212016

Accord EX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,912 miles

My engine light came on. I took to mechanic and they found no oil on stick. They did $900.00 worth of work and an oil change. This happened again in September and will process another complaint for this one.

- , San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #104

Dec 152015

Accord LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

honda lies, cheats and steals at every turn. first they say this is unusual. then they say normal oil consumption is i quart every thousand miles, then every 1600 miles. I had a service contract and they never told me about the problem. the service contract is a very neat tool for them because they never will tell you about problems.

One should never use a dealer's service contract because they will not tell you about the products problems thusly avoiding liabilities.

- , Valencia, CA, USA

problem #103

Sep 102015

Accord LX 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles

Annoying - consume .75 every 1,000 miles - dealer says that normal - Honda rep was not help. I have owned five Honda's over the years - this is the last.

- , Highland, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?