Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

7.9

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$419.00
Average Mileage:
59,937 miles
Total Complaints:
98 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (50 reports)
  2. dealer wants to do a consumption test first (18 reports)
  3. Honda said burning 1 quart of oil every 1600 miles is normal (7 reports)
  4. reprogram computer software (6 reports)
  5. replace pistons and rings (5 reports)
  6. i was told by several mechanics its rings or valve gasket (3 reports)
2009 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #98

Feb 292016

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The problem started occurring 3 days about. I noticed my red oil light flash on and off whenever I hit the brakes but since it was quick I thought maybe it was something wrong with the sensor. After 2 days, I noticed my engine making a separate noise (like a buzz saw) before it kicks into gear. Something was definitely wrong. After a quick google search- I read the issues on here and it was like someone took the words out of my mouth -- either that or they were driving my car. I check my oil stick and yep- sure enough even with 30% oil life- I barely had any oil (checking 3x- only the tip of the dipstick showed oil). My husband had to add 3 quarts. My car is still occasionally flashing the oil sign when I brake and I still hear the noise when I accelerate.

I am meticulous about oil changes and car maintenance since I drive around my toddler son so this is really a big concern. Plus it sucks because I just finished paying off my car. I have everything done at a Honda dealership since I know the warranty issue is always a big sticking point so this is aggravating. I am going to take it to my local dealership and pretty much just show them the screen shot what other people have reported.

- , Houston, TX, USA

problem #97

Aug 202015

Accord LX-P 2.4L L4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles

I have a 2009 Honda Accord LX-P, 2.4L L4 with 95k on it. I am having to change the engine oil before riding 3k(15 to 20 days before the recommended date) each time after the change. If I don't change it, the vehicle make a strange sound, as if some engine parts are rattling, while driving at 25-30 mph. Changing the engine oil solves the problem. It usually happens when I cold start and hit the road.

- , Houghton, MI, USA

problem #96

Jan 192016

Accord EX-L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,885 miles

The oil light started coming on prior to service, and the dealer said that there should not be low oil in between servicing. He stated that when he checked the oil, the level was good and there were no problems, so he reset the sensor. He stated that the sensor was wrong. Regardless, I was provided with the results of a multi-point inspection and oil change, and had to pay $39.07 for the oil change. This was on 1/19 at 50,885 miles.

It is now 3/31, and the oil light has come on again. I went to Autozone and purchased 5 quarts of oil. It took 2.5 quarts to get the oil back up to where it should be. It is now at about 55,000 miles.

- , Rio Rancho, USA

problem #95

Feb 012016

Accord EX-L 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I looks like the 4-cyl Honda Accord engines also have an oil consumption problem. I was told by the dealership that I should bring the car in every 1,000 miles to check the oil. No excessive use at 1,000 miles but by my check the oil was almost a quart low at 2,000 miles. The dealership said it was only a half quart low. I checked the oil level when I returned home and the oil level was now full??? The service manager gave me a BS answer about a computer adjustment that would have the spark plug burn the excess oil. I also have a 2015 Pilot. I hope the Pilot engine is not headed for trouble. I have always been pro Honda but I may have to take a 180 degree turn if Honda decides to ignore our problems. It looks like a piston ring problem to me.

- , Winston Salem, NC, USA

problem #94

Sep 012015

Accord 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,000 miles

Our 2009 Honda accord is burning oil. We had the dealer do the 3 time check and they said it burned "just under one quart" every 1000 miles so we did not qualify for repairs. What a joke.

We own three Honda vehicles and are very disappointed with Honda in their handling of this issue. They keep telling us it is normal for a car to burn oil. I have read there was a class action suit on this issue for 6 cylinder accords. Any one have news on 4 cylinder accords and plans for a class action suit?

- , Grand Forks, ND, USA

problem #93

Jul 102013

Accord 2.0L 4 cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 98,578 miles

I just read about excessive oil consumption on your site today 10-27-2015. I received a recall with a warranty extension from Honda about 3 weeks ago. The extension is up to 125,000 miles. I have well over 146,000 miles. Honda issued a TSB about this in 2011 and I was never notified. Now they tell me they are only going to help if they do as a good will measure. I have an oil test with the local dealer now.

Update from Jan 27, 2016: Oil test showed excessive usage. With 151,000 miles on my car as of 1/27/2016 Honda is doing the repairs under a Goodwill. My local dealer did have the parts in time for my departure to Texas but the local dealer here is handling it. It costs $400 under the deal for a $2,000 repair. They gave me a Courtesy Car to use while the repairs are taking place. I should have the car back by 1/28/2016.

- , Stevens Point, WI, USA

problem #92

Sep 092015

Accord CS 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have owned my Honda Accord Coupe since 2009. I really love the care. I am religious about oil changes and maintenance and run synthetics to insure the best engine performance and life.

Between my last oil change and the recent one this month I noticed a funny rattle and grinding noise. I also occasionally saw the check engine oil like come on and then immediately go off mostly at stops. I did a few checks and when I pulled the dip stick I was surprised that I had no oil on it at all. I put the car on a flat surface and let it settle for a while and checked again, still no oil on the dip stick. I thought, maybe they last change there was a leak or something. So I added two quarts and it came up enough to register on the lower dot.

I took it in for its oil change and I mentioned this to my dealer I have service all my vehicles. He had it checked prior to the change and it was down a quart. So my Honda had lost 3 quarts of oil in all over the 3-4 K interval of my change. I did some research online and found the information about the excessive oil consumption.

I had decided I was really disappointed and felt my only solution was to get rid of the car before it really went south. I had planned to keep it for another 5 years or so, that's why I bought a Honda in the first place. I figure reliable and trouble free with excellent long lasting engines. I was really happy when I got the letter in the mail about the recall and warranty extension, but felt let down again when the dealer said Honda's rules required the engine to use 1 quart in 1000 miles. I looked at the dealer in shock and told him I have 5 more vehicles and non of them use a quart between oil changes of 3-4 K, why is 1 quart in 1000 miles being used as the mark. Got an apology and a restatement that it was Honda's rules. I seriously think they are skirting the recall and trying to dodge their obligation for building a faulty product. My feeling is if they tell me I just have to keep adding oil, I will sell the car and take Honda off my reliable car list. Truly disappointing, I just hope I get satisfaction, if not, I will never buy a Honda again and never recommend one either.

Update from Sep 22, 2015: I just checked my Honda on the Honda site and it says I have no recalls for my vehicle, but I have a letter. Why are they not recognizing the issue as related to my vehicle on there sight? Are they running a second secret database to tell everyone.

- , Junction City, KS, USA

problem #91

Oct 202015

Accord LX 2.7L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,529 miles

well, I feel very disappointed with Honda. I bought this car and after two months now I have this issue with the oil consumption. If they designed this stupid car with their incompetent engineers, they shouldn't put this car in the market for selling. But; as we know we live in a corrupted world. I'm sure they know about this problem, and they want us to waste more money in reparations. Why we should pay to fix this problem? oh also; they try to sell you warranty which is obsolete. Before sell us a piece of sh*t, lets know first what's the problem with the car plz. because you are wasting our time and money. Here's a link where we can fill a serious complaint.

https://www.usa.gov/consumer-complaints#item-35997

- , Elizabeth, NJ, USA

problem #90

May 012013

Accord 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

Honda has made a choice not to honor the warranty that came with the vehicle and is stalling lying and suggesting that a quart of oil per one thousand miles is acceptable. I called Honda, a a man named Chris assured me that they would fix the problem. When I called the dealer to set up an appointment to fix it they tell me it must be tested for oil consumption again. There has been a class action lawsuit concerning over 15,000,000 vehicles they know are flawed that they settled but this suit does not include four cylinders.The vehicle I purchased has the same problem and would never pass an emissions test yet they tell me at the dealership this is OK.

I should have bought a Ford.Then none of this would be such a shock.The days of Honda being dependable and professional and doing the right thing are long gone.

- , Montevallo, AL, USA

problem #89

Oct 012015

Accord EXL 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

OIL SUCKER !

Car used 3 quarts of oil in 700 miles. Took to Valley Honda in PA they said do an oil consumption test drove the car 800 miles took back because oil was low. They check told me to let car sit for 15 min. before I check oil . Really nice go cross country and every time sit for 15 min to check oil. Now have 500 miles on it and cant see oil on the stick again . I am told if its fixed they fix rings. What about all the other parts not getting oil ? Timing chain, cam shaft ,crank and bearings? All will wear . The big problem is oil light never comes on to let you know it is low . You hear the motor rattle then you know its low. I have been down a couple times 3 or more quarts and the light never came on . Don't buy one of these or other Honda with this engine YOU WILL BE SORRY !

- , Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #88

Nov 062015

Accord LX L4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Honda essentially refuses to own up to the issues with its excessive oil consumption and the likely demise that the engine will wear prematurely due to heat and friction....they figure you'll just get a different car...it could last until you are finished making payments...lol...roll the dice and wait and see. Is it possible to buy a car without a warranty for a lower cost because these companies are selling an invisible warranty.

I have had the oil consumption test at the stealer when it had fewer miles on it. They admit that the Honda is using oil...but the amount (quart every 1000) is quite subjective...if their mechanic tells us that a quart per month is normal...how car you argue that? My daughters Oldsmobile Alero didn't use oil with 150k miles on it.

I recently spoke to Melbourne Honda in Florida, and the service manager said that he has never taken action on a complaint regarding the oil consumption and that he has personally never seen a car fail the oil consumption test. I feel like he is playing jedi mind tricks...waving his hand in front of my face and telling me that there is nothing to see here. In other words...he said "don't bother with another oil consumption test." So I guess I'M CRAZY for wanting my car to last. I also want to mention that the Honda service manager had beady prison eyes.

As a consumer....I feel lied to and cheated by Honda. So basically, if the air-bag doesn't deploy and permanently disfigure your face with shrapnel, then the engine will lock up and leave you with a $4k repair.

I guess all car companies have issues occasionally, I'm just upset that it seems like I am always the one with the lemon.

- , Chicago, IL, USA

problem #87

Oct 222015

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,260 miles

Honda needs to fix it. Never logged comment at dealership service when questioned oil consumption years ago. was just out of warranty (even though consumed at outset of purchase). Initial information given by salesman said oil change not needed until odometer read said a certain %. Oil light came on when it was at 80%.

Now the 'consumption test' is burning oil out my ears. This NOT NORMAL.

- , Appleton, WI, USA

problem #86

Aug 012009

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

Consumed oil right from the outset of vehicle purchase. Should have been insistent with taking care of the problem at that point. Some times have to add two quarts between oil changes. NEVER had a car that consumed oil. Now, with the recall notice, it adds more frustration going back to the dealer and seemingly nothing happens after two visits.

- , Appleton, WI, USA

problem #85

Sep 102013

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,300 miles

I identified this problem with Honda in mid 2010 before the 100,000 mile mark. I had it officially documented at 119k and was told that since there wasn't any official word from cooperate that I could repair myself until something was official. An oil consumption test was done and I was told it the car lost oil within spec...whatever that meant .....and that Honda (per the consumer information book) recommended to check your oil every time you get gas and add oil as needed.

The alternative was to go to the high mileage oil and get "regular" oil changes. Since then I've the high mileage oil has not help and I have resulted in adding oil weekly to prevent engine trouble. Now it's 3 years later I just got notification that their is an issue. HONDA is claiming that my car is out of the 125K range and has denied my claim although multiple documented complaint exist from 2010 with the dealer.

As a third time Honda owner I'm not confident in Honda's quality program. It's really disappointing that Honda is not doing the right thing and standing by its product. It would be interesting to know if the model passed all testing protocol was during production and how may cars from 2008-2010 are under 125k miles.

- , Houston, TX, USA

problem #84

Aug 182015

Accord 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I wish I'd read all of these complaints before buying my Honda Accord! I'm experiencing excessive oil consumption, the oil pressure light flashing on/off at 50%, and a loud grinding noise when accelerating when the oil life is at 50% also. It seems that the oil burns much faster when it's on 50% too!

I've taken my car to 3 different places to find out what the grinding noise was and none of them could figure it out. It wasn't until today when the car started making the grinding noise much more frequently - pretty much every time I accelerated, my oil light started flashing, that I finally figured it out. I got the oil changed (just a few drops of oil in it!!! And, the oil life was 50%!!!) and amazingly the grinding noise stopped. I googled oil consumption on 09 Accord and boom! - here's numerous people complaining of the same thing!

I bought my Accord, thinking I would drive it forever because of Honda's reputation but never again! I'm trading it for something other than a Honda, for sure! And will tell anyone that's thinking of buying one to just not waste their money and time! Who needs to constantly check and add oil? It's ridiculous! Very disappointed in Honda!!!

- , Mont, AL, USA

problem #83

Jul 022015

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,321 miles

This is the worst car I have ever had to deal with in my life. The oil consumption issue is a real pain in the ass. The car constantly leaks oil on my driveway or parking space. I have to refill the oil again after an oil change and before next one. This vehicle is using twice as much oil between oil changes. I took it to the dealer and they could not do anything because the car did not have any oil in it. They had to refill the engine with oil before they could begin troubleshooting the problem. Then, they told me a consumption test needs to be done and to do this I have to drive the car and check my oil every 500 miles or so. I asked the dealer has a recall been issued for this problem? She says, "NO not on the 2009, but there is a recall on the 2008 model year"

I have figured out that it uses/loses/leaks oil twice as fast because when the oil life indicator at 45%-50% check engine light flashes on and off or stays on due to the low oil pressure.

Upon vehicle is ignition a loud grinding noise, like metal or the chain in the engine are grinding together because of no lubrication.

In closing, THIS CAR AIN'T SH*T!!!!

P.S. the brakes suck too!

- , Op, AL, USA

problem #82

Mar 032015

Accord 4 cyld

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

I get my oil changed on regular basis, every 3000-5000 miles, I recently took my car in for the oil change at the end of May, but before I did I checked the oil and it was down 2 quarts of oil which was very strange. Then took it in and asked that the car be looked over for oil leaks either into the engine or ?????? The dealer stated nothing wrong with the car no leaks. I still thought it strange for a Honda. So I took it to a private garage and they thought it strange as well. Suggested that I check the oil level weekly, I got the oil changed on May 27th 2015 and have been checking the oil weekly. On June 30th I had to add a quart of oil. I have not come close to putting 3000-5000 mile on this car. Something is not right. I went on line to read about the 2009 Honda Accord and found others with the same issues and that a class action suit has been filed against Honda for this problem. When will Honda admit to the issue and do the right thing by their customers. I really like the Accord but I am stuck with the car. Unlike Honda I would not be able to pass this issue on to a follow consumer knowing the issue exits with the car. Honda doesn't seem to care.

They want to continue to blame the consumer and driving habits.... Passing the buck to save the buck in their pocket,. If Honda made a mistake they should have enough class to stand up and admit it. Take care of the consumers that trusted in them to buy there product. Doesn't say much about the higher ups in the Honda Corporation. If it weren't for people like myself they wouldn't be in business and enjoying the rewards. NOT TO MENTION THEY HAVE VERY POOR TRAINED CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS,

- , Oak Creek, WI, USA

problem #81

Feb 192015

Accord ES 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,488 miles

Just reporting excessive oil consumption. Received a letter from Honda saying the warranty on the engine was extended to 8 years/200,000 km. It's useless for me since the car is 6 years old and 86,000 km. What if I wanted to keep my cars 10 years? Fraud.

- , Laval, QC, Canada

problem #80

May 012014

Accord LX 2.4i-Vtc4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

It is to the point I have to check the oil no less then every 2 weeks. There are no leaks and it isn't burning oil.

- , Toms River, USA

problem #79

Jan 012015

Accord EX-L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

Ack!

I bought a Honda bc I thought it would effing last!

Now I have engine probs and it's paid off?

I've done all necessary maintenance, dammit.

Pissed if I'm screwed w/ a POS engine

- , Fairview Park, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?