If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2010 Honda Accord has a solid reputation (so far), with one very significant flaw: uncomfortable seats.

Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight.

The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

7.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$150.00
Average Mileage:
31,163 miles
Total Complaints:
29 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (15 reports)
  2. Honda replacing engine (6 reports)
  3. replace engine or take car back (6 reports)
  4. pistons and rings replaced (1 reports)
  5. switched to Castrol 5-20 full synthetic (1 reports)
2010 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Feb 042014

Accord EX 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It has been determined thorugh official Honda oil consumption test that my car is burning in excess of 1/2 quart per 1,000 miles. Although Honda coorporate had agreed this is an issue they are saying "even though this is a known issue with the 2008 - 2012 Honda Accords they are unwilling to pay for repairs due to the fact the car is outside it Warranty ( and at the time of the issue only exceeded it by 6000) miles. In reviewing the claim action suit it appears that only V6 engines are covered, when the issue is effecting both V6 and V4 engines. Can you explain to my why this is and are there any more venues to resolution before I take this to the local news and ask that they report into this. I live in Raleigh, NC and it is obvious the Honda Accord is a VERY popular car in this area and I sure the news would love to check into this expose Crowne Honda of SouthPoint, one of the largest Honda dealers in the area.

Thank you.

- , Durham, NC, USA

problem #28

Aug 012010

Accord 4DR 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3 miles

click to see larger images

excessive oil consumption excessive oil consumption excessive oil consumption

Very disappointed. This is not the Honda Motor Co I have known for many years. Verrry high oil consumption, caused other issues to be in separate complaint. For some reason unknown the oil consumption is now almost acceptable using full synthetic but the damage has been done to all OEM plugs. I now carry a spare set of plugs and required tools. Also now carry a scanner to read the codes. Mine is P0303. Fouled plug.

Update from Aug 30, 2014: I have a plan now to get the expected 200k miles from this vehicle. If someone comes up with any improvement to the plan,please advise.

1. Do not take to Honda dealer unless a personal friend. ( they would not tell you the full extent of the problem)

  1. Immediately switch to full synthetic ( Castrol 5-20 others may work but i know this oil does) for reduced oil consumption. During same service, replace ALL six plugs. I could only find them at O'Reilly, NGK 7751 Iridium @ $15ea.

    3. Every other oil change , replace the three rear plugs. I have a pic to share showing drastic difference in oil fouling from rear 3 plugs to front 3 plugs. Every 4th oil change replace all plugs. Do not torque plugs down excessive as you will be changing plugs frequently. This could be a hint on the design issue, I don't know. Maybe oil is pooling in the rear head and not front, leaking into valve seals?. The synthetic oil probably drains down to crankcase easier from it's flow characteristic. I'm guessing.

    So thats it. I changed my own plugs and cleared the P0303 code. Best Regards vonStuka

    Update from Aug 30, 2014: Mileage correction for this vehicle complaint. The correct mileage is 52,200 miles. The rough idle started around 5k miles ago. I do not get to drive this one unless there is a problem. Its my wife car and I was looking at the trip meter adding a zero. Correct mileage today is 52,200.

    The oil consumption issue I'm afraid has been in place since driving off the dealer's lot. Regards vonStuka

- , Spring, Texas, USA

problem #27

Jun 092014

Accord LX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,672 miles

I was told that because I had a 4 cylinder that this wasn't the same problem as the 6 cylinder issue but that they wanted me to come in every 1000 miles to verify that this is the same excessive oil consumption problem the 6 cyl are having. So I guess it is now up to me to do my part and I will update results as I go along.

- , Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #26

Jul 012013

Accord LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my Accord in for the 4th time since August 2013. I'm currently set up for an oil consumption test. I lost 1.75 quarts of oil since my last oil change and was told that is less than 1 quart per 1,000 miles. On the next consumption test, I was down almost 3 quarts and even though I was above the Honda standard, the car was no longer under warranty and the repair would not be covered.

Service rep. maintained Honda is that 1 quart per 1,000 miles is normal. I bought a Honda because of its reputation of being dependable. I no longer feel I am driving a dependable car if I'm having to pull over on the highway to have to top of the oil in a 2010 model year car.

- , Lanoka Harbor, NJ, USA

problem #25

Oct 202010

Accord LX-P 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles

I normally change my oil every 3,000 to 4,000 miles, even though Honda states 7500miles. I was on the road took my car in for an oil change at Wal-Mart. They advised me there was no oil showing on the dipstick. I had to sign a paper relieving them of any responsibility in the event the engine failed. We called our local Honda Dealer when we got back in town. They did an oil consumption test In fact they did several oil consumption tests and it was always within the National Transportation standards. A quart of oil every 1000 miles has been the norm for this car. This was my third Honda Accord so I knew this was not normal. I am very disappointed that Honda knew they had a problem. I was at Honda dealer today to pick up my 2013 Accord. The service manager was still denying that a quart of oil every 1000 miles is excessive.

- , Burlington, KY, USA

problem #24

Sep 062013

Accord EX-L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles

click to see larger images

excessive oil consumption excessive oil consumption

I have a 2010 Accord EX-L with a 4 cylinder engine. I have been dealing with excessive oil consumption for the last 5-6 months. I brought the car in about 6,000 miles after the previous oil change because the car was running rougher than usual, and the check oil light would randomly come on and off. My husband checked the oil and it was bone dry (would not register any oil on the dipstick). Honda told me they would put me on an oil consumption test, and to come back after 1,000 and have them check the level. Well, they overfilled the oil tank when changing the oil, so of course when I brought it back in after 1,000 miles, they said it was well within the normal range and said there was no problem. Here it is about 4,000 after they checked it, and again my oil is almost gone. There should be no way that a car that is less than 4 years old with 61,000 miles on it should be burning through 4 quarts of oil in 5,000 miles. I will be bringing it in to Honda again today to see what they will do for me. I will update when I hear back. I fully intend on making a big stink not only with my local Honda dealer, but with Honda corporate and on social media if this is not resolved to my satisfaction.

Update from Mar 25, 2014: Went back to the local Honda dealer yesterday when the oil was reading below the bottom dot of the dip stick (which was about 3,300 miles after it was topped off by the dealer in January 2014).

The service writer "conveniently" has no record in the computer of me bringing in my car in January, and blamed me for the lack of oil because he claimed I was overdue for an oil change. Funny how I have brought the car in two other times before then complaining of the same issue.

They changed what oil was left and put me on yet another oil consumption test. I am to drive it for another 1,000 miles and bring it in to be checked. I will be doing my own documentation with photos.

I did blast Honda on Facebook and Twitter after that. No response on Facebook, but someone in customer service did respond to my tweet, asking me to message them with my VIN, name, and phone number, and that someone will be calling me back by 3/27 (it's 3/25 today). Not holding my breath on that.

I will update again if I hear from Honda Customer Service or after my first 1,000 miles of the consumption test. Ridiculous that we are being forced to jump through a million hoops to prove that we have a KNOWN issue.

Update from Jun 26, 2014: FINALLY, after 3 failed oil consumption tests with the dealer (and almost a year of hassle), Honda Corporate has agreed to replace the pistons and rings at their cost, and are providing a 12 month or 12,000 mile warranty on their work. I brought my Accord in this morning for the repairs. After my car had been at the dealer for an hour or so, I get a call from them stating that the timing chain is covered in sludge (as well as the rest of the inside of the engine) and that it needed to be replaced. Gee, I wonder why it was covered in sludge? Maybe because oil has been leaking into the engine for who knows how long?? I was told that Honda Corporate would not cover the replacement of the timing chain and I'm on the hook for replacing it ($176 plus tax). At this point I am so sick of dealing with this that I will probably just pay it (although my husband is pushing me to fight them on it). I will update if there are any new developments.

- , Social Circle, GA, USA

problem #23

Nov 042013

Accord EX-L 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Honda of America knows there is a problem with the V-6 using huge amounts of oil.Went on a 800 mile trip and the emissions light came on. I pulled over in a small town and paid $6.99 for 10-30 oil. It took 4qts to get it up to a decent level. I found a Autozone and had them check with a diagnostics machine. It came up internal leakage on cylinder 2 & 3. The guy said I would drive slower and check oil every hour or so.

We made it home and I took the car to Meyer Honda in Ofallon Illinois. In the meantime the light went out. Honda said since Autozone checked and cleared codes they couldn't do anything. But there is a recall to replace the rings on V-6 engines with certain codes. I said I should have let the engine expire from lack of oil,because I know they won't fix the problem until trouble codes appear.

Even though the company is aware of the problem Honda of America is trying to wait out the warranty's so they don't have to re-ring thousands of cars. Don't try and diagnose your oil usage problem, just get it into a dealer THEY KNOW THERE IS A RECALL BUT THEY ARE TRYING TO KEEP IT QUIET..

- , Alton, IL, USA

problem #22

Oct 162013

Accord

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

Honda Service Bulletin 13-078 for 2008-12 Honda Accord V6 A/T was released on 9OCT13. They will be fixing my car on Tuesday and I'll let everyone know if it resolves my problem!

- , Nashville, TN, USA

problem #21

May 152013

Accord EXL 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Similar to others with vcm. first had excessive oil consumption with fouling of spark plug, @ ~30K mi.fixed that and did new computer program, then @ 70K had to replace small engine block. I paid 5% of the estimated $6,000 cost. . Now at 100K, so far, no new problem

- , Boston, MA, USA

problem #20

Nov 132012

Accord 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,116 miles

The dealership tries to put you off and not fix the problem. I'm still battling with the dealership

- , Houston, TX, USA

problem #19

Jul 222013

Accord EX-L 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,670 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

THE FOLLOWING IS THE HISTORY BEING PROVIDED TO HONDA AMERICA:

This summary shows the 16 times I had to bring my car in for routine and unplanned service throughout the 3 yrs and 5 mos I have owned this 2010 Accord; purchased brand new The number above each paragraph represents the visit. I have included the mileage, date and place of service.

Purchased new on 2/2010.

(1) [8,243] (9/20/10) [Honda-Annapolis] - Check engine light came on (steady yellow), car was still performing well, took in to have it diagnosed. I was told that tests were done and codes were cleared. Oil was changed, tires rotated, no charges were made except for the cost of the oil change, regular maintenance. [Some of the codes retrieved – P3400, P3497]

(2) [16,687] (4/9/11) [Honda-Annapolis] - Steady, check engine light came on, car was still performing well, took it in to have diagnosed. I was told there was nothing out of the ordinary. Oil was changed and all fluids were topped off. [Some of the codes retrieved – P3400, P3497]

(3) [25,362] (10/28/11) [Honda-Annapolis] - Car was significantly pulling to the left when driving, took car in for alignment check, oil and regular mx. Alignment was out and was charged $74.95 to correct problem (odd that a brand new car with 25,362 miles would need an alignment adjustment). Changed oil, rotated tires, replaced air filter, interior micro filter, and inspected and adjusted drive belts. I was charged $344.78 for this service.

(4) [29,797] (2/10/12) [Honda-Annapolis] - Steady check engine light was on. I was told that it was a faulty oil pressure switch, part was ordered and replaced. [Codes found – P3400]

(5) [31,550] (3/20/12) [Price-Dover] - During a drive from home to Dover, DE, car started to run very rough, sputtering, revving low and high with a flashing check engine light. Luckily, this occurred ¼ block from a Honda dealer off the highway and a managed to drive the vehicle directly to the service department of Price Honda in Dover. Mechanic explained that oil was 1 qt low, and that he replaced 3 spark plugs (#3, #2, #1). He also performed a multi-point inspection and all was good, no charge for all the warranty work. [Codes – P0303, P3400, P3497]

(6) [33,798] (5/25/12) [KI Shell] - Had the oil and oil filter changed before a long trip .

(7) [40,993] (11/2/12) [Price-Dover] - Noticed while driving that the ECO light has not been coming on. I called and was advised that I should bring the car in. I took it to Price Honda in Dover because they were the last to perform service on the vehicle. I was told that there was no oil on the dipstick, but my “Oil Life” gauge in the vehicle was 30%. 7,000 miles with the Oil Life indicating 30% should not use all the oil in the car. I was told that there was still over 2 qts of oil in the Accord even though the dipstick is shows none. Multi-point service was performed and oil/filter was replaced, cost of the service was $155.74. [Codes – P3400, P3497]

(8) [47,915] (2/16/13) [Honda-Annapolis] - Steady check engine light was on. Took car into Honda-Annapolis, was told that the vehicle would need: Induction and valve cleaned, flush and replace hydraulic brake fluid, and oil because there was no oil on dipstick. Again, 7000 miles and no oil on the dipstick is “normal”…..Oil Life again at 30%. I had all of these mx items performed and total cost for this was $387.82. [Codes – P3400, P3497,

(9) [50,394] (3/23/13) [Honda-Annapolis] - Vehicle was pulling to left, so I brought in to have alignment checked. Charged $84.19 for 4-wheel alignment.

(10) [53,131] (5/03/13) [Honda-Annapolis] - Flashing check engine light came on and vehicle was noticeably running rough. Also, vehicle was still pulling to the left. They found that the car was 2.5 qts low on oil. I asked if this was strange given that the oil was changed about 5,000 miles before. I was told that this was within parameters. They added oil and the steering was realigned.

(11) [55,101] (5/31/13) [Honda-Annapolis] - Vehicle started to run very rough, sputtering, revving high and low, sounding like it was misfiring. I brought the car back to Honda-Annapolis and was told the car was 2 qts low on oil. I was again told that this was within parameters (2 qts after 2,000 miles) and that an oil consumption test would be performed. Come back in 1000 miles to recheck.

(12) [56,263] (6/13/13) [Honda-Annapolis] - Started car at home and flashing check engine light came on, car was sputtering. Checking the dipstick, there was no oil registering. I could not get a hold of any service technician at Honda at 7am and could not get a return phone call. I had important business to attend to that day so like an idiot, I thought putting 1.5 qts of oil and driving the car to the dealer so they can check the engine would be a common sense activity. I was told that by adding oil, I negated the oil consumption test. The dealer found that the oil level was still ½ qt low and they performed a multi-point inspection. Changed the oil and charged $572.09 to remove and replace brake pads and machine rear rotors. I later found out that machine grinding the rotors is an unnecessary procedure given the cost of new rotors, but that’s not indicative of the manufacturer. A new oil consumption test would have to be performed.

(13) [57,972] (6/26/13) [Honda-Annapolis] - On highway, check engine light started to flash followed shortly after with the car sputtering and running really rough. I pulled over and shut the engine. Subsequent starts of the engine revealed that the problem of the engine running rough was still present, so I had the car towed to Honda-Annapolis. Mr Owens told me that the #3 spark plug was fouled out and they replaced the spark plug. I was also told that the oil level was “ok”. [Codes – P0303]

(14) [58,566] (7/3/13) [Colonial Honda-Richmond] - On highway outside of Richmond, VA on vacation, the car exhibited the same problem as the week prior, check engine light flashing, sputtering, running extremely rough. Pulled over and had the vehicle towed to the nearest Honda dealer, Colonial Honda. I was told the oil level was 1 qt low and the #3 spark plug has fouled out. They replaced the fouled spark plug and I was reassured that the car would make the short drive home, so I cut the vacation short to drive straight home. [Codes – P0303]

(15) [58,760] (7/5/13) [Honda-Annapolis] - Michael Owens checked the car and I was advised that the technicians had switched coil pack #2 with coil pack #3 to verify what is exactly causing the problem with the spark plug fouling. If the spark plug fouls again and it is the #2 plug, then the problem will lie in the coil pack. If the spark plug fouls out and it is the #3 plug, then the problem will be somewhere in the #3 cylinder. Oil was checked and I was told to bring in when any problem arose.

(16) [59,669] (7/16/13) [Honda-Annapolis] - Car started to sputter and run rough with the yellow engine light flashing on the way to work in the morning. I managed to turn the car around on the highway and brought the car to the dealer. After waiting 3 hours, I was told that more testing needed to be accomplished and that I will be called later in the day. I was told that a loaner vehicle is not this dealership’s policy to be given out!? I arranged to be picked up.

(7/17/13) [Honda-Annapolis] - I received a call around 5:45 pm informing me that the engine is in serious need of repair. Parts were ordered and I was told they would be replacing the “short block”, not sure exactly how much of the engine this will entail.

(7/18/13) [Honda-Annapolis] - I went in the garage and the mechanic showed me the engine. I was able to see and feel that the #3 cylinder was badly scorched and the #2 cylinder was scorched as well. I was told that the cylinder walls would normally be smooth, for obvious reasons, but there were significant perpendicular grooves in the #3 cylinder and grooves in the #2 cylinder. I was told that the grooves were probably due to a defect, which got progressively worse. Also, oil escaped through the grooves and was fouling out the spark plugs and contributed to the high oil consumption rate my car has been experiencing since 30,000 miles.

(7/22/2013) [Honda-Annapolis] - I called and was notified that the short block and parts arrived today and that they were going to start to “drop the short block” in my vehicle.

(7/23/2013) [Honda-Annapolis] – I was called by dealer stating that the short block would be installed today and that he will call me once the tests were completed so I can pick up.

I am in contact with Honda America to see about Honda picking up the tab for a $2,100 extended warranty to cover the "new engine" because after replacement, the new engine does not have a warranty.

Update from Aug 21, 2013: Honda replaced my engine but will not extend the warranty past 60K for the "new" engine. That's great considering I have 330 miles to go before I go over 60K. I paid for an extended warranty through the dealer and Honda America will not reimburse me the $2100. I called and worked with Honda America and a case worker named Sarah Frank and her supervisor, Jennifer P. To make a long story even longer, these case workers read my ordeal and find nothing wrong with all of my visits, time lost, etc., they do feel “sorry” that I had to experience them, but nothing Honda deems extraneous enough to warrant compensation beyond a Honda “Loyalty Card.” They will not provide me anything in writing (letter, e-mail) stating what I discussed with them and nothing about their review of my complaint and their judgment. All they can provide me is a “verbal” acknowledgment of what they have done. Heck, the supervisor wouldn’t even give me her full name?! Their company policy does not allow them to give full names, phone numbers, e-mails, or even letters--basically anything that leaves some sort of proof of what they are doing. So that’s it folks, Honda Customer Service at it’s best. All I can do is identify the fact that their customer service is ridiculous for a company which prides itself on a superior product……hope your Honda does not have a problem.

- , Stevensville, MD, USA

problem #18

May 022011

Accord EXL V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

At less than 30000miles I replaced the brake pads, that sucked. Now I have an oil consumption problem. Apparently Honda says it's normal to burn 1 qt of oil every 1000miles, I say NO. WTF I bought this car because of Honda's good name. Well it's JUNK to me, and the fact that they just keep sweeping this problem under the rug pisses me off even more. Time to man up Honda, just like Toyota did with there rust issues.

Update from May 23, 2013 BIG news, after numerous complaints Honda called me to tell me they are giving me a new engine. Well I wish I wasn't so harsh with my first complaint. Guess the squeaky wheel gets the motor. Thanks Honda.

- , Woodbury, CT, USA

problem #17

Aug 102011

Accord EX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,894 miles

I have to say that I love the car. It's comfortable, quick, handles, gets out of its own way when you step on the gas. It ABSOLUTELY SUCKS ON OIL CONSUMPTION!!!!!! I have brought it to the dealer several times and they keep telling me they need to complete an oil consumption study. B.S.!!!!! The first time I brought it in, the service manager gave me some excuse about it was initial cutting oil that was used up before the first oil change. This has been going on since mid 2010. I had my son (a mechanic) and my local service station mechanic look at the car. The only conclusive thing that we know, is it burns oil, like a fish breaths water. At least once a month, I have to put at least 2 quarts of oil in. This past week, it was 3 full quarts. I finally looked on-line about this and found that obviously, HONDA has been lying through their tailpipe to me all along. Now that I know this has been something that Honda has known about for years, I think I will take the car back for an oil change and demand a new, 2013, replacement vehicle. I have better odds of winning the power ball lottery than getting a new car. Perhaps it's time to buy American again. If anyone knows how I sign up for this so called class action lawsuit, please post the info.

- , Verona, NJ, USA

problem #16

Aug 152012

Accord Exvl V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles

We love the car!!! Wife drove it to see our kids in Phoenix, she had oil the changed at a dealer in Tempe. 7500 miles then. I flew out to drive her home and my son asked if I checked the oil before we left. The car told me 40% left on the change but the stick was bone dry? Took it back to Tempe early Saturday morning before we left and they were shocked that it was 2 qts low? Even wrote my VIN number down. I drove home with no problems. Took it to the dealer I bought it from and had the oil changed again as soon as I got home. I use synthetic. My wife was driving home after 3,000 miles and it started chugging and the check engine light came on. I pulled the stick out and it was bone dry again? I put 2 gts of oil in in and drove it to the dealer. They replaced the software and two fouled plugs and wanted the 1,000 mile consumption test. My wife refused the test and we feel the long term damage has been done already. I had planned to drive this car till I died but I think the car died first. We are waiting to hear from a Honda Corporate rep, its been a week and no call yet? My wife refused to drive the car off the dealers lot so its been sitting there for a week with no phone calls or answers for us? I've had two other Accords I've driven over 250,000 miles and never had this oil issue? I saved for 14 yrs to buy this car to retire with, Never dreamed Honda's famed reliabilty could fall this far. I wanted a NEW new car not a used new car?

- , Pekin, IL, USA

problem #15

Jan 312012

Accord EXL 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,095 miles

7/7/12 - I just returned from the Honda dealership's service department after being on an oil consumption monitoring program. Being that it is Saturday, I will not hear any news till next week from Honda. The car currently has 36,286 miles on it. I have been aware that the Honda Accord may have oil consumption issues for a few months now, but was not sure how widespread this problem is until I started researching this issue today. Honda's official position with me is that it is "normal" for the Accord to use 1 - 1 1/2 quarts of oil between oil changes. Of course, I believe this to be a ridiculous position as I have never had any of the Toyotas I have owned even come close to using this much oil (even after 100,000 miles!)

I bought the car in July 2010 which was my first new car in 11 years - and my first Honda. The %OILLIFE feature on the dash was emphasized during the sale as the indicator for when the oil needs to be changed. (This illuminates at 15% oil life.) I changed the oil for the first time at 4,370 miles (60% oil life indicated), and after that next two oil changes occurred at the 15% oil life indication (8,326 and 8,409 miles respectively). I was never made aware that from the service department that my oil was low during any of these changes, so I have no basis to say that it was.

On 1/31/12, I returned to the Honda service department to check on rumors of recalls on the Honda Accords. I was told that my vehicle had no recalls. In the process of checking the oil at the dealership, the service department informed me that no oil was on the dip stick. Unaware of the oil consumption issue, I left the dealership after some discussion that the car is not leaking oil and am not seeing visible evidence of exhaust vapors. I left there convinced that the dealership did not fill the car up with oil the last time they changed they serviced it.

On 4/21/12, I returned to the Honda service department after checking the oil at home and seeing no oil visible on the dip stick. I added 1 1/2 quarts before returning to the dealership. The service department informed me of the Service Bulletin, and applied "the fix" to the car after I mentioned that I did have a check engine light come on but disappear the same day a month or so earlier. This is when I first became aware of an "oil consumption issue" with the Accord, and I began my own consumption monitoring at home.

I returned when I noticed a significant oil change and had a consultation with the service manager. The dealership placed my vehicle on an oil consumption monitoring program at 31,226 miles. I returned today at 36,286 miles and shared my personal monitoring oil consumption tracking information. I noticed that a significant drop in oil occurred on two occasions. The correlation with these two events is having traveled on the interstate long distances. I used the cruise control, and the cylinder management system was active for most of the trip.

Update from Jul 23, 2012: 7/23/12 - I heard back from the Honda dealership on 7/16/12 and they offered to replace the short block of my engine at Honda's expense. I dropped the car off for repair today and expect it back in 4-5 days. Yes, they did provide a rental vehicle after realizing a 4-5 day repair time vs 1-2 day repair time I was initially told. Right now, I am very satisfied with this dealership's response and feel like I've gotten good customer service, but I'm still disappointed with Honda in general for trying to convince me that the oil consumption was "normal". Still, I like the car and holding final judgement until the "new" engine demonstrates that it doesn't consume oil.

- , McDonough, GA, USA

problem #14

Apr 292012

Accord ES 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,033 miles

Bought a 2010 Honda Accord with only 5K miles on it, at the time of purchase the oil had been freshly changed. Yesterday at 8K miles I notice the oil on the dip stick barely registered slightly above the low end of the dip stick. Took the vehicle to the dealership who have promptly put the vehicle on a oil consumption test, where the dealership checks the oil every 1,000 miles to see how much has been consumed.

After dealing with an annoying service rep for a few minutes I was finally able to talk to a service specialist and mentioned the software update that Honda has thrown out as a resolution. Right of the bat the service specialist said the software update is not going to do much and that the eventual resolution will be opening up the engine and replacing valves .etc. I'm wondering if I should go down this route with Honda or not, considering my factory warranty expires in October, part of me just wants to trade her in and get something else.

- , Spring, TX, USA

problem #13

Oct 012011

Accord ES V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

Add me to list of frustrated Honda customer and to the list of NEVER buying another piece of trash (Honda). i am experiencing the same oil consumption problems that i see many others are. i purchased this Accord new and only discovered the oil problem from one of the service technicians. after seeing it for myself. i also was put on an oil watch program. as the oil continued to be consumed, i was told this was within the Honda guidelines. i have owned many cars and this has never been the case. there should be some type of class action suit filed against Honda!!!!!

- , Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #12

Aug 312011

Accord EX-L 4cy

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

Just on schedule, my Accord is beginning to make its whispering noise in the engine. I'm set up on an oil consumption test (already had the software update that was SUPPOSED to fix the issue per the service guy in August) and I went back in October and early December for oil checks/changes. This time I am making sure the mechanic takes the car for a drive with me before the oil is changed so he can hear how awful my engine sounds. I can only imagine what its doing to my engine. I am so unhappy with Honda. Mostly because they won't own up to the fact there is a significant issue...I figured I'd be a loyal Honda owner my whole life and my kids would drive a Honda. Shame, shame!

- , Scottdale, PA, USA

problem #11

Aug 212011

Accord EX-L 4cy

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

My Accord began making a wisping sort of noise when I'd accelerate every now and then. 3 months prior, I had it in for an oil change at a local store and was told my oil had been low. I change my oil every 5,000-7,000 miles. My oil lamp light flickered on and off, so I scheduled an appointment with Honda the following day. My oil was low again so they set me up for an oil consumption test. They also told me they preformed a software update that would correct the oil consumption issue.

I asked the service representative if it was normal to burn oil and he said absolutely not (as many of my co-workers, friends and family agreed to as well). I took my car back in to be tested 2,000 miles later and was told it was fine. Another 3,500 miles later I'm back to low oil, lamp light flickering and wisping noise. I go back in tomorrow for oil change.

After researching online, I imagine I'll be told that burning that much oil over 5,500 is normal according to Honda. I've shared this with those around me and mostly everyone is in agreement-- no car should be losing oil between changes, let alone a 2010 HONDA!! This is my 2cd Accord and chose Honda because I've always been told they are dependable. I was willing to pay more towards a Honda car payment because I commute 90 miles a day for work. I will not buy another Honda if this is not fixed or replaced. The thought of having engine problems down the road sickens me as does the sight of the oil lamp light flickering on at 5:30am on my way into work! And I don't appreciate the inconvenience of having to go out of my way to the Honda dealer to be checked for my oil consumption test. Obviously this is a known issue so Honda should own up and do what is right if they want to continue to depend on brand loyalty as one of their main selling points.

Update from Feb 3, 2012: I took my Accord in for the 4th time since late August 2011. I was told the clattering noise I was here was the engine starved for oil. I'm currently set up for an oil consumption test. I lost 2 quarts of oil since late November (around 4,500 miles) and was told that is about 1/3 a quart per 1,000 miles. Service rep. maintained Honda (and industry standard) is that 1 quart per 1,000 miles is normal. I was happy with my experience with the service department. They listened to my concerns and I could tell he related with me to what I was saying. At this point, I feel like all I can do is continue to go in and have them document the consumption in case a class action suit does come out of this down the road. I bought a Honda because of its reputation of being dependable. I had an '06 Accord that I loved and never had issues with. I plan to contact corporate so I can be on record with them. I was told to pull over when I begin hearing that clattering noise and top off the oil. I no longer feel I am driving a dependable car if I'm having to pull over on the highway to have to top of the oil in a 2010 model year car.

- , Scottdale, PA, USA

problem #10

Jun 302011

Accord Crosstour /V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,946 miles

Nice should have come here last year. Bought the 2010 Accord Crosstour - nice car except when engine light came on twice now while the oil life was still around 50%

They wanted to check oil consumption after the last oil change - when light came on and NO OIL registered on the dip stick. An oil life still said 50%

Well, after 1200 miles supposedly - because I was not able to see it and was not smart enough to check before hand - dip stick register full

BUT the kind service rep saw the notice dated June 11, 2011 regarding excessive oil consumption, MIL indicator on and oil life not registering a problem and they did the software update to the VCM computer.

Came straight home checked and saw the MANY complaints regarding this problem. Really going to frost my wife who talked me into Hondas - Maybe a Ford? Chevy looks nice - For sure you can forget that FIT I was looking at

- , Crol Stream, IL, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?