If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Honda Accord has a solid reputation (so far), with one very significant flaw: uncomfortable seats.

Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight.

The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,405 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Honda Accord steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Honda Accord Owner Comments

problem #19

Mar 012013

Accord

  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I noticed my steering was getting hard to turn. I checked the power steering fluid and it was low. I added fluid. As time continued the steering problem got worst. Whie driving the steering was good, but I had to use manual power while getting out of parking spaces, or when having to turn while vehicle was stopped.I expalined the problem to my local Honda service technician and he told me I added too much fluid and it should go away after a while. It got worst and I took it back after a few months. He then told me that the fluid wentt down to the cv boot and the steering rack; the quoted cost for repair was $1350. By this time my car was out of warranty. After asking the new dealership for cost relief from Honda, they reduced the cost to $500, and I finally got the steering problem repaired on 08/11/14.

- Waldorf , MD, USA

problem #18

Jun 252014

Accord

  • 31,333 miles
My complaint is about safety negligence, on the corporate site for Honda and I quote states "your safety is our priority". I took my car to get checked for a knocking noise and was told ball joints recommended to be replaced. I asked if it was safe to drive and was told yes by service advisor. After being charge for apparently tighten rods. Apparently the certified technicians neglect safety of the customer and also have attitudes towards customers was told this when brought car in and I quote "so you know more than the Honda engineers". the front left wheel of my car came off (where the noise was coming from) after taking it to the dealer and being charged for tighten rods. Now dealer is blaming me for the wheel coming of when I was told that the car was safe to drive. My complaint resolution should be Honda techs/dealer should be held liable for their safety neglect and should repair the damages that have cost me to my vehicle which I have work hard for.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #17

Nov 282013

Accord

  • 32,500 miles
When cruising on the highway, the steering wheel develops a vibration. Also, when the car is idle, it vibrates almost like a cylinder is missing a spark. Only have 34000 miles on this car and its giving me these issues that they say "can't be fixed".

- Pooler, GA, USA

problem #16

Aug 102013

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my Honda in for a scheduled oil change and tire rotation at the local Honda dealership. I told him about a winding noise in my front end and a strange substance on my tire rims. After having the car a few hours they called me stating that my power steering rack was completely gone in me car and that it would have to be replaced. My car has 10,992 miles on it. I can only imagine what would have happened if I was highway driving at 70 miles an hour.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #15

Oct 282012

Accord

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the steering wheel began to shake. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis and the contact was informed that the driver's side tire would need to be replaced and the rest of the tires would need to be rotated. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The vehicle was returned to the dealer three times but the dealer was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was notified but offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 5,000.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #14

Dec 052012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
About 2000 miles after buying the car I noticed a shake in the steering wheel. We took it too the dealership for a rotate and balance. When we got it back I still felt the shake. We took it back again and they balanced them again (so they say) and still has a shake. I am a mechanic and have been for 12 years, so I took it to the shop and balanced them myself, and it still has a shake. It seems to happen between 60 and 75.

- Madison , MS, USA

problem #13

Sep 232012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 20 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

From day of purchase brand new, vehicle vibrates (shimmies) at speeds beginning at about 58 mph and upward. The vibration is felt in the steering wheel, and the wheel can be seen visibly vibrating. Passenger can sense the vibration from sitting in the passenger seat. After four attempts to correct the problem, dealer has failed. The dealer performed a wheel balance and replaced the tires. However, the problem continued. Honda acknowledged the vibration existed, but returned the vehicle to the consumer. According to engineer from Honda, a radial force balance was performed on the vehicle and an index of all four tires was done, as well as fine tuned the balance and wheel alignment and adjusted the steering rack pre-load. The engineer stated the vehicle had improved by 90%, as the vibration no longer existed; only road feel. The consumer stated the vibration, is still present and even worse than before. Updated 04/01/13

- New Providence, NJ, USA

problem #12

Dec 012011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 600 miles
Since I purchased this car, the engine vibrates, power steering makes noise (and the pump was replaced by dealer), now it also vibrates when riding (wheel) and brakes make a "clamping" noise that Honda assures me is normal. At 7K miles, the brakes were "adjusted". the car is now 14.5K miles and still vibrates in idle and when riding. I have filed a lemon law claim with the state of Florida already, though Honda is working on proving I am wrong. Do I just get rid of the car" is this car safe" lemon law arbitration case #[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #11

Sep 142012

Accord

  • 90 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while traveling 65 mph, the steering wheel began to shake violently. The vehicle was driven to the dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the issue. The failure mileage was 90 and the current mileage was 1400.

- Johnstown, OH, USA

problem #10

Aug 172012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 7,536 miles
I purchased a 2012 Honda Accord V6 ex-L in Dec. 2011. I noticed a steering shimmy/vibration and an escalating grinding noise in August 2012. I originally test drove this vehicle thoroughly when I purchased it and never noticed this problem until August 2012. The Honda dealership technician isolated the noise to a failed left front wheel bearing. They replaced the bearing and grinding noise has gone away but continue to have shimmy/vibration at 55 -75 mph and is most noticeable/amplified between 60 - 70 mph. Since then I have taken the vehicle back and Honda technician verified that the tires were balanced correctly. I test drove the vehicle with the technician and he confirmed that there is a vibration/ shimmy of the steering wheel. The Honda dealer technician than drove another vehicle in their lot that was the same year, make and model with 500 miles on it and it did the same thing. He said it could be the road. I said not every road or highway where speed limits are above 55 mph will do this to a vehicle. He said that if more complaints are filed their may be a recall but there was nothing else he could do at this point and if he heard anything in regards to a recall he would let me know. The technician looked at my rims for any curb damage which there is none and I informed him that I haven't hit any curbs. I was going to go back to the Honda dealership to complain about this constant problem but thought I would research on-line to see if there is any other 2012 Honda Accord owners having this problems and there is so I see no needed to make and waited trip to Honda dealership. Since I drive 60 miles round trip to work five days a week this is getting to be very irritating and now the lower part of my arms have developed tingling/numbness sensation after driving for these long periods of times.

- Rowlett, TX, USA

problem #9

Aug 312012

Accord

  • 120 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving approximately 60 mph the contact noticed a shimmy in the steering wheel and vibration throughout the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing three different times. The technicians were unable to diagnose the failure. The technicians balanced the tires and replaced the tires but the failure continued. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 120.

- Jupitar , FL, USA

problem #8

Apr 192012

Accord

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph the steering wheel started to shake and vibrated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on multiple occasions where the dealer decided to aligned, balance and finally replaced all four tires. The remedy failed to repaired the problem every single time they attempted to repaired it. The failure mileage was 8,000.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #7

Jun 272012

Accord

  • 4,400 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the steering wheel began to shake and pull to the right abnormally. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer for a diagnostic test. The dealer stated that the wheels needed to be balanced and aligned. After the dealer balanced the tires and performed a wheel alignment, the steering wheel continued to shake and pull to the right. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer where the dealer then stated that the vehicle was designed to shake when driving at higher speeds. The manufacturer was contacted and a regional manager also stated that the vehicle was designed to shake when driving at higher speeds and that servicing the vehicle was unnecessary. The contact later took the vehicle to an authorized dealer for another diagnostic test in which the contact was advised that the tires were out of balance. The failure mileage was 4,400.

- Muscle Shoals, AL, USA

problem #6

Aug 312012

Accord

  • 30 miles
Brand new Honda Accord coupe 2012 ex-L with steering wheel vibration noticed on the interstate while driving home at the speed of 60+.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #5

Aug 062012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 3,276 miles
I noticed noise, wheel vibrations and steering problems. The Honda service department said that I had a bad wheel bearing on the left side and replaced it. After I received the car back from the shop, I noticed the car was pulling to the left, wheel vibrations, loose steering wheel and making noise. The car did not shift between gears properly and fluctuated between rpms randomly (even when at idle). I took it back to the Honda service department. This time they reset the computer in the car and performed idle relearn procedure; adjusted the toe on all four wheels. They also found that the rear rotors were out of round and "machine rear brake rotors" but reused the brake pads. I do not feel safe in this vehicle. I have scheduled another service appointment for 8/28. However, I am still having the idle RPM, shifting problems, wheel vibration issues, steering problems, noise issues as well as several other problems. This manufacture should be forced to issue a recall.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #4

Jul 122012

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,394 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the steering wheel vibrated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who balanced the tires and resurfaced the brake rotors. The failure recurred also when attempting to brake. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and stated that the vibrations were a normal characteristic of the 2012 model Accord. The current mileage was 11,895. The failure mileage was 10,394. Updated 09/26/12 the consumer stated the VIN on the vehicle is not the same as the VIN on the signed lease agreement. Updated 09/27/2012

- Mebane, NC, USA

problem #3

Jul 102012

Accord

  • 10,123 miles
I am into my first year of leasing this new vehicle. I have brought it to the dealer for repairs 3 times. It has been confirmed by the dealer/shop that the vehicle has a "definite shimmy" shaking of steering wheel at highway speed. ( 60-65 ). they have done all the necessary steps to repair this problem and nothing has worked. I have called Honda mfg and filed a report as well. I was told by the mfg, they would look into this problem. I was also told by a Honda rep. That it may be a "characteristic" of some Accord. I feel as a consumer this would be unsafe to drive. I don not feel safe driving this vehicle. Also, the A/C has been worked on 3 times as well, and still not working properly. Why can't the dealer authorize a replacement when it has been confirmed" why would the dealer even let me leave lot knowing it has a definite problem? shouldn't safety come first for all"

- Mebane, NC, USA

problem #2

Jul 052012

Accord 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 65 mph, the contact noticed shaking in the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The technician balanced the front tires but the failure continued. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer three more times. The technician balanced all four tires and replaced the front driver's tire. The last time the vehicle was taken in the technician stated that he would replace all four tires. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 35. Updated 09/21/12 updated 09/27/2012

- North Kingsville, OH, USA

problem #1

Feb 032012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 739 miles
I have purchased a new 2012 Honda Accord SE model with VIN [xxx] on January 19th 2012. I purchased my vehicle from riverside Honda through foothill federal credit union. Ever since, I have been experiencing nothing but nightmares. I have followed the recommended manufacturer's break in period format step by step. Three days after the purchased, I drove the vehicle on the fwy and noticed a weir, uncommon and rather disturbing shimmy on the steering wheel between 65 to 75 mph. My vehicle is unsafe and unfit to be driven on freeways. I needed your help desperately to prevent a catastrophic event. The safety of my family, community and public are at risk. I have acted and proceeded as indicated. I have brought this shimmy issue to the Honda dealers. I have brought this shimmy issue to american Honda. I have driven the vehicle with a Honda adviser and a field rep. In both cases, the shimmy has being identified, noticed and established. Yet, noting has been done to correct the problem. An identical vehicle was driven with the american Honda filed rep. No shimmy was identified, proving Honda wrong. The american Honda field rep that test drove my vehicle stated that he was going to help me. He stated that sometimes cars have been found to have the wrong tires installed. He was to check for recalls, bulletins and what the engineers from Honda will advise him on my case. He offered to care of the paper work. I trusted him. He was going to send me a copy of what we have discussed together. The field rep made one statement verbally to me and wrote a totally different scenario on the paperwork. I have being lied to, mislead, and deceived as a consumer and as a human being. I am asking in the most humble way for assistance. American Honda must take responsibilities for the defective vehicle they have built. It is their duty and social responsibility. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Altadena, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?