Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2006 Nissan Altima has a trend of engine problems, both in our data & definitely in the NHTSA's complaint data as well.

Excessive oil consumption is the main problem reported by owners. Nissan did a recall back in 2006 for oil consumption due to bad piston rings, but many owners report to us that the recall didn't fix the problem.

The dealer only had to check the oil consumption rate. Typically 1 qt per 1,000 miles is "acceptable" per OEM standards ... that's a lot of oil!


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,924 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Altima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #55

Sep 112008


  • 46,800 miles


Recall id# 6827 on certain passenger vehicles equipped with a 2.5L engine, the crankshaft position sensor can overheat causing a brief interruption in the signal output from the sensor. If the interruption in the signal from the crankshaft position sensor is so brief that the electronic control module (ECM) logic does not have time to diagnose the condition, the engine may stop running without warning while the vehicle is driven at a low speed increasing the risk of a crash. Dealers will reprogram the ECM free of charge. Certain my 2006 Altima which have been previously remedied under recall campaign 06V223 (Nissan R0606) are not included in this recall since the reprogramming for 06V223 also included this reprogramming. The recall began on December 31, 2007. Had ECM reprogrammed and my crankshaft position sensor is still overheating. Nissan should replace the sensor if the reprogramming does not work.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #54

Jul 092008


  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. While idling in traffic, the engine warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was able to be restarted. Several days later, the battery warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled again. The dealer stated that the crank shaft position sensor overheated. The manufacturer confirmed that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). The contact would be responsible for the repair costs. The vehicle is currently being repaired. The failure and updated 09/18/08.

- Lexington, MS, USA

problem #53

May 022008


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. While driving 35 mph, the instrument panel lights illuminated. Prior to the illumination, the vehicle shook, jerked, and stalled. The failure occurs the most when at a stop or approaching a stop. The contact must pull off the road and make several attempts to restart the vehicle after the stalling occurs. The dealer identified the cause of the failure as the crankshaft sensor as noted in NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). The current and failure mileages were unavailable.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #52

Apr 192008

Altima 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles


Engine shut off going between 60-70 mph while attempting to pass 18 wheeler on 3 lane interstate 35. Had headlight replaced 4 days before incident and was advised about a recall, choose to have the recall work done at that time also. Service advisor claimed that the recall had nothing to do with the malfunction, said they had trouble getting the car started and noted something about the RPM's, said they test drove the car and it hasn't stalled. Said they know it has a problem but they haven't been able to replicate it. Today is 04-30-08, the car has been at the dealership since 04-19-08. Service advisor stopped calling on 04-24-07. Have complained to Nissan Consumer Affairs who finally returned my call today stating that they talked to the dealership 3 times total and they claim that nothing is wrong with the car, that they test drove it 90 miles and cleared something from the air intake. The dealership never told me this story and stopped calling me on 04-24-07. When I asked the Consumer Affairs lady if she would load up her kids in the car and go down the interstate during heavy traffic? she hesitated and said yes she would.

- San Marcos, TX, USA

problem #51

Apr 252008

(reported on)


  • miles
2006 Nissan Altima with a engine recall. Consumer would like reimbursement for the recall repair work. Consumer states that there has been work done to fix the engine and would like reimbursement due to the recall. The dealer reprogrammed the ECM.

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #50

May 252007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. On May 25, 2008, while approaching a stop sign, the vehicle stalled. There was no steering power or braking ability. In order to avoid crashing into another vehicle, the contact pulled into a nearby alley and clipped the front end of a parked vehicle. The vehicle did not stop until it crashed into a pole. She called the police and her insurance agent to report the crash, and a police report was filed. The vehicle sustained $9,000 worth of damages. The vehicle was towed to a tow lot for five days because the service center at the dealer was closed for the holiday. Once the vehicle was towed to the dealer the following Tuesday, they kept it for 32 days. In April of 2008, the contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the recall repair, but they stated that the repairs had previously been performed. The following day, the check engine light illuminated. The dealer stated that they would have to rescan the engine computer at the cost of $119. The failure mileage was 3,000 and current mileage was 24,000.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #49

Mar 292008

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,425 miles


I had a 2003 Nissan Altima that stalled on I95 (3) times before it was correctly diagnosed as a crank sensor issue and became a major recall for Nissan. In July 2006 I leased another Nissan Altima after the engine was completed damaged on my 2003 Altima due to another recall regarding oil consumption issues. I inquired a few months ago at a routine service visit if my current 2006 Nissan was part of the "crank sensor" recall that was recently issued and told it was. I had never received any notification in the mail from either Nissan or the dealer, this recall I was told was corrected during my visit. On Saturday March 29,2008 I was driving on I95 in the third lane at approx 65-70 mph and the car stalled without any warning. I was able to coast across 3 lanes and get half in the breakdown lane at which time I departed the car got to a safe area out of harm's way of traffic and contacted the state troopers for assistance. They came and stayed with me until the tow truck arrived and towed me to the car dealership. I was given a rental car since the car was not able to start again without stalling was contacted on Monday March 31, 2008 by the dealer to let me know the car started normally they had drove it for several miles and no problem. The comment made was they will drive again on Tuesday and if no issues they can't explain what happened. Since I already had a similar experience with my 2003 Altima and same car dealer I'm confident this problem will reoccur again and this time once again endanger my life and others on the road with me at the time of the incident. Please assist me in getting their attention for myself and others regarding this life threatening issue. I'm sure I'm not the only vehicle with this problem, since my 2003 issue turned into a major recall for approx 650,000 vehicles.

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #48

Jun 272006

Altima 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 9,286 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. On one occasion, when the vehicle was placed in reverse, it rolled forward to the sidewalk. On two occasions, when the vehicle was placed in reverse, it rolled forward towards the sidewalk. The contact used both the foot brake and the emergency brake to finally stop the vehicle. The vehicle was never taken to the dealer. On twelve occasions, when the floor clutch was pressed, it became stuck. She had to manually work the clutch back to its normal position. On three occasions, when driving between 1-20 mph, the engine would shut off. On two occasions, while the vehicle was idling, the engine shut off. On four occasions, the vehicle restarted on its own. On one occasion, she had to call roadside assistance for a jump start. The vehicle sustained damage to the front bumper from rolling forward into the sidewalk. In January of 2008, the contact received a letter from Nissan concerning her vehicle not having ABS; however, the information she received when the vehicle was purchased stated that it did have ABS. The powertrain was unknown. The current mileage was 28,650 and failure mileage was 9,286.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #47

Apr 122007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact saw an alert on the television in January of 2008 that the 2002-2006 Nissan Altima's have a defect with the electronic control module. The dealer stated that they could not locate any failure. On March 20, 2008, the contact received a recall notice for this same failure. She is concerned about the length of time it took to be informed of NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling). There had been no failure to date. The VIN and powertrain were unknown. The current mileage was 11,700.

- New High Park, NY, USA

problem #46

Oct 202007

Altima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 10 mph, when the vehicle idled between 750 to 1000 and the brakes are engaged, there was a noise present in the engine. The dealer replaced the motor mount; however, the failure occurred immediately after it was repaired. The dealer stated that the part may need time to adjust. An appointment was rescheduled to diagnose the failure on January 7, 2008. The dealer stated that they would not have any idea what to look for. The failure mileage was 32000 and the current mileage was 43000.

- Rochester , MN, USA

problem #45

Dec 022007


  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles


I purchased a brand new 2006 Nissan Altima on January 10th 2007 it only had 30 miles on it, I loved the car had minor problems with noise etc, had the oil changed on time through the dealer I never received any notice about the recall" a car pulled out in front of my car so my front end hit the side of his car and my car instantly caught on fire? the police/fire dept can not figure out why it caught on fire because my car was traveling the speed limit which was 35 mph? they think something was wrong with my car and that I should look into a recall or defect on the vehicle I wished I had known about the oil recall because maybe this is why my car caught on fire it is a total loss I have no car and now am fighting with the insurance companies to get a new car I do not want a Nissan Altima and this car was my wish car I really liked the Altima"

- San Mateo, CA, USA

problem #44

Oct 012007

Altima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought a Nissan 2006 Altima and I was told that the motor was a recall but had been replaced when I purchased the auto, since then 1 yr later I had another recall to replace the motor again. The headliner has been replaced and it still has a spot where I believe it is leaking. My pickup as in the motor isn't working properly when I put my foot on the gas it takes time for it to move. I have taken it in on a regular basis for oil changes, rotation of tires etc. I am very dissatisfied with the motor of this vehicle. Please help.

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #43

Nov 292007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought a 2006 Nissan Altima in November of 2005. I have now had this vehicle for 2 years. I just came across 2 recalls online by accident. I was never notified of these recalls and they both appear to be very serious. 1- (#06V223000) from June 2006 involving "engine and engine cooling" that lists excessive oil consumption and possibly engine fire and 2- (06V0046000) from Feb. 2006 involving rear suspension and possibly a cracked bracket. I have had to add plenty of oil since buying this car, but cannot believe I was never notified about a serious and potentially dangerous safety hazard as this, not to mention the damage it must have already caused to the engine!! what do I do now and what can be done to this obvious terrible shady dealership and unforgivable manufacturer??

- Woodbridge, NJ, USA

problem #42

Sep 172006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. He stated that the vehicle burns oil excessively. The dealer stated that there the vehicle passed oil consumption and compression tests. There is a recall for the engine (NHTSA campaign # 06V223000) however, the dealer refused to make any repairs because the vehicle passed the test. The failure mileage was 1,500 and the current mileage was 16,837. The consumer provided multiple repair invoices for vehicle and a copy of the recall notice. Updated 08/30/07

- Independence, KS, USA

problem #41

Aug 012007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
Car shakes when idles as if it will turn off, but only sporadically. This started at 24,000 miles. Check engine light comes on throwing various codes. Dealer has put on new gas cap, gas seal, fuel pump, fuel canister and air flow regulator. Car still shaking, check engine light on again and after 11 times in the we go again to the shop so they can check the code, put in on vacuum, drive it around and then tell me again it's all fixed. I am in a never ending loop of being inconvenienced with an unreliable brand new car. Dealer won't buy car guarantee a fix. I just pray after my warranty is over, I can still get it fixed.

- Lyons, GA, USA

problem #40

Feb 232007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,938 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. On December 18, 2006, the contact received recall notice # 06V223000 (engine and engine cooling). He has taken his vehicle to Nissan seven to eight times, but the vehicle is still leaking oil every 500 miles. Nissan's corporate office stated that this is a minor issue and would contact him within 48 hours. The dealer reprogrammed the ECM twice and stated that this was normal and happens constantly. Nissan has yet to contact him or offer any assistance. The contact has all of the repair work orders. The current mileage is 6,800 and failure mileage was 4,938. The consumer stated that original recall work was performed without satisfaction by northbay Nissan. The current dealer has referred the consumer back to original sales dealer vallejo Nissan for further testing. Updated 06/14/07

- San Rafael, CA, USA

problem #39

Mar 012007


  • 12,334 miles
2006 Nissan Altima customer received recall letter and has been unable to get car fix and can't let the car sit and pay car note and insurance* the consumer stated a new engine was installed in the vehicle due to a recall. Three weeks later, the vehicle went into limp mode and the speed decreased. The vehicle was towed and the consumer was later informed that the vehicle needed a new transmission. The consumer returned the vehicle back to the dealer and upon inspection they stated the wiring harness was unplugged.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #38

Jan 012007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Recommended fix for the 2006 nissam Altima potential engine fire is to update the electronic contol module which will ensure the engine will go into limp mode in the event the oil levle drops to an unacceptable level. If the car goes in limp mode the engine rpms will not exceed 1800 rpms, this restriction will prevent the car from traveling more than 25 mph. If the vehicle goes into limp mode while traveling on a highway, the driver and passengers are put into a dangerous situation. Why is it acceptable for a car manufacturer to propose and institure a fix to a vehicle that compromises personal safety, and what recourse does the consumer have related to the proposed corrective action?

- Huntingdon Valley, PA, USA

problem #37

Mar 012007


  • miles
2006 Nissan Altima. Consumer is seeking reimbursement for an extended warranty she purchased. Contacts vehicle was included in a recall for engine fire in which Nissan provided an extended warranty for precautionary measures.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #36

Sep 252006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact purchased the vehicle at a stop sale event due to recall # 06V-223000. The dealer stated that the vehicle must have already been remedied in order to be for sale on the lot. The vehicle consumed large quantities of oil from the date of purchase until present. The contact received an owner notification letter from Nissan North America on December 12, 2006, that stated that the vehicle was remedied at 33,000 miles. The oil pressure test associated with the recall remedy allegedly showed no need to replace the engine. Harte Nissan offered to replace the engine. The current mileage was 53000.

- Bloomingburg , NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?