Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2006 Nissan Altima has a trend of engine problems, both in our data & definitely in the NHTSA's complaint data as well.

Excessive oil consumption is the main problem reported by owners. Nissan did a recall back in 2006 for oil consumption due to bad piston rings, but many owners report to us that the recall didn't fix the problem.

The dealer only had to check the oil consumption rate. Typically 1 qt per 1,000 miles is "acceptable" per OEM standards ... that's a lot of oil!


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,834 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Altima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Jun 082011

Altima 4-cyl

  • 89,000 miles


2006 Nissan Altima caught on fire, June 8, 2011. My son was driving from work to home on the highway and orange sparks was coming from underneath the car, so he pulled over on the median. When he proceeded to lift up the hood of the car, black smoke and flames were coming from the hood and he and other drivers called 911. According to the fire department, oil and other fluids were coming from the car down the highway on fire. My son is ok, but I can not get any help with this car. I have a burned car sitting in my driveway and can not drive it everything underneath the hood is melted. I still owe on this car. Need help! I only had the car for 8 months.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #37

May 032011

Altima 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
There was a recall id#06V223000 for 2006 Nissan Altima for oil consumption. My car is experiencing the same problem as the above mentioned recall id. Describes. According to Nissan Consumer Affairs, "that all recalls and service campaign info is vehicle indentification number specific, depending on the mfg date and the plant where the vehicle was assembled. Therefore not all models are subject to the same recalls" their saying my car dose not fall under that recall.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #36

Feb 082011

Altima 4-cyl

  • 98,377 miles
On several occasions my car as suddenly cutoff, while driving!!!! luckily, nobody was ever physically hurt. Mentally and emotionally it scared the crap out of several people, including myself. While on the expressway I've started to notice my car automatically slowing down after a certain speed, without me even touching the brakes. For awhile I stopped getting on the expressway, in fear of my car completely stopping with cars driving behind me at a faster pace. Also, at 55 + miles/hr my tires start to wobble and there's a scrubbing noise with the wobble sometimes. It feels like my back tires are about to fall off. I've bought 3 sets of tires already, and tomorrow will be my 4th set. This is ridiculous and very unsafe!!!!! please help me, thanks.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #35

Mar 172011


  • 89,994 miles


2006 Altima-sluggish performance-had to put 2 quarts of oil in car today-just had oil change two weeks ago. While driving up a slope car starts to jerks hard-pulled off road-cut the car off-took several tries before car would start. It has been doing this for the past two days...

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #34

Sep 142010

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
While driving on interstate 580 in emeryville California in evening rush hour traffic my car began to jerk rapidly and then stopped while in traffic, the service engine light came on, after 5 attempts the car started. This happened numerous times while traveling to work on highway 50 and also while driving on surface streets. This makes me nervous and fearful when driving this vehicle and finally after the stopping multiple times on the interstate and at red lights, I took the car in for a diagnostic test and was advised my crankshaft sensor needed to be replaced and there was a recall per Nissan America for this known issue. I took the car in and was advised my VIN# was part of the recall but the damaged crankshaft sensor would not be replaced, only a reset of the ECM. I was advised that the ECM would not be reset due to the service engine light is on due to the faulty crankshaft sensor. I was also charged for a diagnostic test which basically confirmed the problem that service department was already aware of per the VIN#. there are thousands of complaints regarding the 2006 Nissan Altima and a the faulty crankshaft sensor which can cause the vehicle to stop. I am scared to drive on the interstate due to fear that the car will stop and cause a pileup and or even death. I have contacted Nissan America @1 800 647 7261 and they are not cooperative. They are aware of this issue however will not replace the defective crankshaft sensor. Since this is a known issue then I strongly feel that Nissan should take responsibility and replace the defective part. Customers should not fear for their lives when driving and should not have to pay to repair a known defect. I am considering taking legal action against Nissan since they failed to take responsibility and resolve my issue.

- Rancho Cordova, CA, USA

problem #33

Oct 182010

Altima 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
We bought our 06 Nissan Altima in 08 and had some trouble soon after with the car not starting on the first or second try. We contacted the dealer ship and they said that the steering wheel was locking and we should forcibly turn the wheel to turn on the car. Still had problems so we took our car to a local repair shop and they told us it was the battery. The new battery helped with the starting issue for a couple of months. Then we notice that the engine oil levels would be low after only 1,000 miles. We took the car to our local repair shop and they said just keep adding oil. Then a week ago we took the car in to get the oil changed and they said we had no oil in the engine at all. We took the car to the dealership and they said that the piston rings were shot and our oil was mixing with the coolant. We called Nissan to see if they could help us with the cost of a replacement engine that the dealership said we would need very soon. Nissan said they would call us back in a couple of days with their answer. They called us back within 25 minutes to tell us they would not help us even though this is a known problem with 06 Nissan Altima.

- Perrysburg, OH, USA

problem #32

Sep 092010


  • 54,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. While traveling 15mph the contact noticed that the vehicle had suddenly shut off without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealership where the contact was informed that the recall 06V223000 engine and engine cooling did not apply to his vehicle. There were no prior warnings and the vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 54000.

- Portsmouth, VA, USA

problem #31

Jan 252009


  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. While driving less than 70 mph with the cruise control activated, the vehicle hesitated and the cruise control became inoperable. The check engine warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel and the vehicle felt as if it were losing power intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a mechanic and the contact was informed that the crankshaft sensor needed to be repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 07V527000 (engine and engine cooling), although the failures were identical. The failure and current mileages were less than 56,000.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #30

May 012008


  • 60,000 miles
Subject crank position sensor. Subject car 2006 Nissan Altima 2.5. recall was received about the same time the car started dying while driving. When traveling at low speeds the engine will die causing a very dangerous situation when the car looses power and power steering stalling in the middle of the road. When traveling at freeway speeds the engine shuts off, the car looses power for approximately 3 seconds then violently jerks regaining power. Nissan dealer has stated that this is an ECM problem and that a reprogram will fix this problem. I took the car into the dealer and the reprogram of the ECM was completed. Now the car dies more frequently and now it takes considerable cranking to start the car when warm. Approximately 2 min. To restart. Nissan has tried to "band aid" a faulty crank position sensor with an ECM reprogram that is not working. The car abruptly dying is a very dangerous situation and can easily lead to uncalled for injuries and deaths stemming from this faulty sensor. I agree that the upgraded ECM program should read both the cam position sensor and crank position sensor in tandem as a redundant feature but if the problem is with a leaky sensor or a bad solder joint in the sensor, the sensor should be replaced under a recall.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #29

Oct 202007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,791 miles
On 10/22/06 I purchased a 2006 Nissan Altima in va. It has a remanufactored engine and only had 35 miles. I had the oil changed at 3,400 miles and moved back to ga. I received a recall notice PB023 QR25 alt-ser MY06 ntb06-082 in May 2007. I took it to the nearest Nissan dealership and everything checked out and they changed the oil (odo 7,473). I had the oil changed on 9/1/2007 (odo 11,885). On 10/20/07, driving on an interstate suddenly there was smoke coming from everywhere and the engine died. Thought it was going to go up in flames. It smell as if the engine was burning. (odo 13,791). It was towed to the nearest Nissan dealership. They said the it threw a rod and there is a hole the size of a fist in the engine. The engine will be replaced. This will be the second engine in this veh. I would like a new vehicle replacement or be refunded in full. I have no confidence in the vehicle and fear it will catch fire. I am scared to drive it! I was assured when purchased that the engine problems have been resolved and were no longer an issue and the dealership would stand behind the engine 100%.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #28

Apr 102006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,400 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The engine failed at 6,000 miles and had to be replaced. There is a safety recall for the engine (recall#06V046000). The contact stated that a new engine was installed into the vehicle. The failure mileage was 6,000 and the current mileage was 14,000.

- Plantation , FL, USA

problem #27

Jan 272007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,500 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima, and the current mileage was 7,200. The engine was replaced at 3,500 miles. The vehicle hesitated and was sluggish intermittently. The vehicle was diagnosed four times by the dealer. There were no warning indicators and the dealer has stated that they could not diagnose the failure. The failure mileage was 3500.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #26

Mar 012007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,500 miles
- the contact called regarding a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that since she purchased the vehicle it had been burning excessive amounts of oil. The failure mileage was approximately 5500. The contact received recall 06V223000 for the same failure. The contact stated that a sensor was changed, but the vehicle continued to consume excessive amounts of oil. According to the recall if the failure continued the manufacturer would replace the engine. The dealer advised the contact that the oil consumption was considered normal per Nissan specs and will not replace the engine. The contact stated that there were no warning indicators to indicate the oilwas low. The current mileage was 7500.

- Swedesboro, NJ, USA

problem #25

Dec 282005

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
- the contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima, he received recall notice 06V223000 to replace the engine. The contact refuse to authorize the dealer to replace the engine. The contact is requesting a refund and has filed a complaint with Consumer Affairs. Consumer Affairs stated they would call him in 24 hours and he hasn't received a call. The dealer is requesting the contact to schedule appointment to have the engine replaced; however, the contact refused. The current mileage on the vehicle is 19,000. The vehicle was purchased on December 28, 2005. There have been no failures to date.

- Ardsley , NY, USA

problem #24

Jun 202006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,500 miles
- the contact has a 2006 Nissan Altima, which he leased on May 29, 2006. The vehicle had excessive oil consumption since shortly after he leased the vehicle. The contact has been trying to learn when Nissan knew that this was a safety hazard, and why he was not informed before leasing this vehicle. Nissan has agreed to replace the engine free of charge, but will not tell the contact when they knew of recall 06V223000 prior to his leasing the vehicle. Since September the contact has been to the dealer at least twice to have oil replaced.

- Smithtown, NY, USA

problem #23

Dec 182006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was recently contacted via phone that my Nissan Altima may be part of a national recall from Nissan motors usa. [how come I did not receive any mail notification"] I brought my car in November/ 2006. Thus, I called and brought my car to the nearest Nissan dealer [wondries Nissan]. the service manager assured me that the service department would run a series of test and it shouldn't take longer than a day to finish. As a result I brought my car in on a Monday morning, and guess what" it's still there. It's been three days. End of the first day, he told me it's a huge recall and a lot of test needs to be run. [he couldn't told me that during the time I brought it in so Nissan can give me rental car for my trouble.] since the timing was bad, I couldn't get a rental car. At the end of the second day, the service manager said the testing was done successfully, but when they tried to reprogram the ECM it is not working. [again, it's toward the end of the day, I could not make it in time to get a rental car] now, it's the 3rd day, and they said they will call me back to give me an update as soon as they find out what is the status of my vehicle. Who knows what they will tell me next. I am concern for myself and other consumers who had brought their car in for the recall engine inspection. I am pretty sure they promise every 2006 Nissan owner that it would take a day to accomplish the test, but it's been 3 long inconvenient days for me as a Nissan owner. Wondries Nissan is not too attentive to my concerns and my daily work schedule. I hope someone from NHTSA can look into this matter and check why it would take them more than 2 days to perform tests on their [claimed] national recall. I appreciate the work NHTSA is doing for automobile owners nationwide. Sincerely, leslie yang.

- Rosemead, CA, USA

problem #22

Nov 192006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
- the contact called Nissan motors to inform them that passer by said car was on fire. He then heard a loud explosion and noticed smoke behind him. Nissan said that the vehicle is safe and had a recall on the engine. When he asked to have the engine replaced, the dealer declined to do so. The dealer advised contact to change and check oil every 700 miles. The dealer offered the contact an extended 100,000 mile warranty. The contact bought a new car to avoid having to perform maintenance on a vehicle so often. Nissan maintains that the vehicle was safe. Brunton motors Nissan diagnosed the vehicle and informed him the oil was fine. A short time later he received a recall letter. The contact asked if the dealer can force him to retrieve the vehicle, which is presently at the dealership. The contact received a call late 12/18/06 that the vehicle has been repaired and waiting pick-up. Per the recall if the oil gets low in the vehicle it can catch on fire.

- Horseheads, NY, USA

problem #21

Nov 012006


  • miles
2006 Altima has excessive oil consumption problems. Two weeks after the vehicle was purchased the consumer was notified that her vehicle's engine was identified as having an excessive oil consumption. The consumer was recently informed that Nissan would have to replace the engine. The consumer request reimbursement of money paid and would like to terminate the lease agreement.

- Smithtown, NY, USA

problem #20

Jun 012006

Altima 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
2006 2.5 Altima special edition has squeaking brakes 2 months after purchased. Car had 4,000 miles and brakes are squeaking. Nissan has not repaired or replaced the high oil consumption engine recall since receiving recall notification in June 2006. Nissan has even taken the recall off the website however has acknowledged it because there are cars on the lot with replaced engines. There is a problem with the oil consumption and it needs to be repaired immediately. Engine oil is very essential to the car and should not be viewed as a minor recall. I was told the piston rings are defected and should have the engine replaced. Have yet to have Nissan honor this request.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #19

Aug 012006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,700 miles
: the contact stated there was an oil consumption problem with the vehicle that required constant oil level checks and additions. The manufacturer was aware and endeavoring to solve the problem and had sent two separate updates about the ongoing investigation to find a solution.

- Plains, PA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?