Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 Nissan Altima shows multiple problem trends, continuing the poor reputation of the 2013 Altima, prompting us to give it our "beware of this clunker" badge.

Owners are complaining about a whining noise from the power steering pump and a concerning amount vibration and even transmission failure related to the CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission).

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,888 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Nissan Altima drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #47

Aug 302016

Altima

  • 69,240 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had problems shifting car into gear (from reverse to drive) and my vehicle has horrible acceleration. Once it was going it would go, but stop to starting was very dangerous and I have an infant! my car has been in the shop for 2 weeks a mechanic and now dealership and I am still not in my vehicle! Nissan needs to inform consumers of faulty cvt transmissions.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #46

Aug 292016

Altima

  • 63,417 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. While attempting to park at 3 mph, the vehicle shut off without warning. The contact shifted into park and restarted the vehicle. The vehicle started, but quickly shut off. The vehicle started normally the third time; however, it shut off again when approaching a stop at low speed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred five more times. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 63,417.

- Sevierville, TN, USA

problem #45

Sep 072016

Altima

  • 48,900 miles
While driving vehicle with my toddler in car, I came to stop light, the car shuttered forward and then shut off. Restarted car and when placed in gear, car immediately shut off again. Waited for 25 seconds and restarted car to drive home. Next day, car continued same behavior more often however it took longer and longer to get the car to remain on and I had to put car in neutral every time I stopped. Took car to dealer and the car would not produce any diagnostic codes. The car shut off when the tech attempted to get on the highway on the first test drive. They allowed the car to cool and attempted a second test drive but were unable to get out of the parking lot. The car has approximately 48,900 miles, purchased with brand new in 2014 and I was told that the transmission needs to be replaced.

- Fairburn, GA, USA

problem #44

Aug 252016

Altima

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this vehicle brand new from the dealership on 12/31/13. This vehicle is 2 years old and has approximately 75,000 miles on it. It has had a minimum of 2 recalls on it since I had it. I would drive the car nearly all day (no more than 50 miles per day) and suddenly once I approached a stop sign at a very busy intersection and was about to cross it, the car engine shut down. I could hear the radio. Note: My toddler child was with me. I attempted to start the vehicle several times but as soon as I put it in the drive gear, it would shut off again. I had to sit to the stop sign with traffic approaching for nearly 10 minutes before the car would allow me to start and put it in gear to drive it home. When I took it to the dealership for a diagnostic test, they could not give me a full diagnosis as they stated that the vehicle had to be cooled. I had no way home as I live outside of the dealership's shuttle radius and was offered a rental car but I had to pay for it. I had no choice but to trust that I would make it back home with it. I did make it home but it shut off in the yard. I had it towed a few days later to the dealership for further testing and it was revealed to me that the transmission had to be replaced. I am bothered by this because this is a brand new vehicle with less than 100,000 miles and is 2 years old. Also, this could have been a safety hazard for me and my child as it could have shut down in the middle of the intersection in which we were crossing.

- Lewiston, NC, USA

problem #43

Aug 102016

Altima

  • 39,851 miles
I parked the car on a slight incline, placed the shifter in park and stepped on the emergency brake. I exited the vehicle, left the driver door open. I opened the left rear door, removed my dog and closed the door. I looked up just in time as I was struck by the open front door of my car, knocked to the ground and it rolled over my leg. It rolled for approximately 30 feet and struck a tree.

- Fort Myers, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #42

Aug 022016

Altima 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle jerked violently, lost power, and shut off completely without warning. The vehicle was restarted and driven to a mechanic. It was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000......updated 10/13/16 the consumer stated the vehicle lost power in the middle of traffic. The consumer was able to restart the vehicle and soon afterwards, it begin to jerk and shake violently. The consumer was only able to go a certain speed, even with the accelerator pressed all the way to the floor. The vehicle shut off, as soon as the consumer pulled into the parking lot. The dealer determined the air compressor and transmission needed to be replaced. Updated 10/18/16.

- Daingerfield, TX, USA

problem #41

Jul 182016

Altima

  • 31,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dealership found right front axle coming out of transmission. Retainer bracket loose. R&R axle and bracket. Could have been a very serious problem or accident and we are lucky this problem was found before something happened.. is there recall on axles?. I'm not sure this car is safe to drive

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #40

Jan 122014

Altima

  • 300 miles
When I first purchased the vehicle there was a slight jerking, and pulling when going 0-20 mph, I would inform the dealership when I would go in for oil changes and services, due to this being intermittent they would not troubleshoot, now at 25000 miles it is persistently jerking and pulling.

- Hyattsville, MD, USA

problem #39

Jun 132016

Altima

  • 60,000 miles
Extremely hesitant transmission up shifting when pulling out from stop light, stop sign etc. Occurs in city or highway travel. Vehicle has less than 65K miles. No engine warning lights are activated.

- Lafollette, TN, USA

problem #38

Apr 242016

Altima 4-cyl

  • 66,689 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. While driving 5 mph, the vehicle lost power without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 16,886. Updated 07/12/16 updated 07/26/16.

- Lumber City, GA, USA

problem #37

Apr 042016

Altima

  • 18,246 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I experienced a grinding, shaking noise at 2.0 RPM. The vehicle was taken in for service and I was informed that the transmission had to be replaced. The transmission was replaced and that was when all of my troubles began. The vehicle would hesitate and jerk while driving at low speeds. There was now a vibration at 1.5 RPM. I took the vehicle back to the dealership and was advised that a belt was loose. The vehicle was returned to me and it still was not driving smoothly and now the entire gear console was loose. The vehicle would not move from either drive or reverse upon starting, even when the gear shift was moved. It would take two tries each time to get the car to move from park. The vehicle went back into the dealership where the gear console was adjusted. However, the dealership could not replicate the issue - vehicle not moving when gear placed in reverse or drive. This weekend (4/30/16) I drove the vehicle in Virginia and had to navigate several high elevations while on the I-81 highway. The car was sluggish at best, dragging and the gears would not change. The car was racing loudly trying to keep up with the speed, RPM was up at 3.5 and the car was at 50 mles; speed limit was 70. Once I cleared the hill the rpms leveled out to 1.5 and the car held the 70 mph speed. Note the vehicle was not performing this way before the "new transmission" was installed. I did have the grinding and racing noise at 2.0 RPM, but no hesitation, jerking or any difficulties in higher elevations. That leads me to conclude that there is something else wrong with this vehicle other than the transmission. I have also lodged a complaint with Nissan Consumer Affairs whom I am awaiting a response from on my complaint. The vehicle now has 18,694 miles and was purchased in August of 2014.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #36

Jan 012016

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated vehicle shifted erratically. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed an electronic adjustment. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000....updated 06/30/16 the dealer informed the consumer, there was a software fix. Updated 07/11/16.

- Brooksville, FL, USA

problem #35

Jan 302016

Altima

  • 55,000 miles
Hello, I bought Nissan Altima 2014 in Nov 2013 from Nissan faulker jenkintown, pa and around July-Aug 2014, I had issue with the car and while I was driving the car suddenly decelerated itself while my foot was on gas pedal, I had to tow it to Nissan faulker in jenkintown, pa, they said nothing is wrong and asked me to pick my car, again on Jan 30th, 2016 while I was driving on I680 from sacramento to san jose, the car started de-accelerating on its own from 65mph to 5mph and I had to pull it on shoulder and luckily no car was on way and had to tow it to Nissan dealer, my car is around 55K miles and now I am afraid after this my car would be out of warranty and I have to shed lot of money for repair in near future of no fault of mine.

- Rancho Cordova, CA, USA

problem #34

Jan 142016

Altima

  • 25,000 miles
Purchased vehicle brand new in December 2013. Total transmission failure at 25,000 miles. Was driving on pa turnpike. Car was not accelerating when depressing gas pedal. Was able to get off an exit. Car towed to dealership. Was informed it needed a new transmission.

- Dallas, PA, USA

problem #33

Jan 172015

Altima

  • miles
I have to much throbble whit my carr hard to start I have more one monthy the not rrunig

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #32

Oct 172013

Altima

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. While driving 15 mph, the vehicle jerked. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed, but the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000.

- Bella Vista, AR, USA

problem #31

Oct 282015

Altima

  • 61,000 miles
I purchased a used 2014 Nissan Altima the end of April 2015 from enterprise car sales. I was told they did such a thorough inspection of all of their vehicles that the car was in great condition. In October 2015, with approximately, 61,000 miles on the Nissan, it started randomly hesitating. I would push the gas pedal but the car would not accelerate. I took it to the Nissan dealership and they could not find a problem. A few days later, I was pulling out from an intersection and I pressed the gas pedal and the car would not move!! I barely made it home. I took it back to the dealership and was told it needed a new transmission, $3400 and that the power train warranty had just expired at 60,000 miles. I called Nissan North America Consumer Affairs and filed a claim to see if they would cover a new transmission. After about 5 or 6 days, I received a call back and was told no, they would not cover or help pay for a new transmission. I asked if they were aware of all of the problems with these cvt transmissions, the rep said they had problems on previous year and model vehicles but not on the 2014(s). Obviously, there are still problems!!! a 2014 vehicle should not need a new transmission!!!

- Rockingham, NC, USA

problem #30

Oct 242015

Altima

  • 48,800 miles
Full transmission failure at 48,000 miles.

- Dublin, CA, USA

problem #29

Oct 102015

Altima

  • 70,000 miles
I recently purchased a 2014 Nissan Altima S with 48,000 miles on it. After driving it for four months I recently started having an issue. At first I thought it was bad gas because the car started jerking and acting like it was not getting gas. I purchased the stuff for fuel that you use to increase the octane in the tank and filled up the tank. The car drove ok for a day or two, then it started with the following. When I depressed on the accelerator at a stop light, it would take about 30 seconds to pull off. At that time the light came on and I looked at the owners manual and it stated it was a fuel emission issue. Fill the tank with high octane gas and the light should go out in a few trips. The issue continued to get worse as I was driving sat, 10/10/15. I went from pulling off slowly, to when I depressed the accelerator it wouldn't go at all until I kept putting the car in park, then drive, then park, then drive many times until it decided to drive. At that point I decided to take the car home cause the issue was getting worse. Only I never made it home the car suddenly decided it would not go more than 35 in the middle of traffic. I was an accident waiting to happen. In the middle of driving it just slowed down immediately and made this loud whining noise. Had I not been in an area where I could pull over immediately my 72 year mother and I would have been toast.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #28

Jun 122014

Altima

  • 12,608 miles
I purchased a brand new 2014 Nissan Altima sv from baker Nissan North in houston, Texas (19630 northwest fwy, houston, tx 77065 (281) 890-5656). My transmission has failed twice (replaced the first time and now having to be replaced again) and I have been getting the run around from the dealership. This issue should not be occurring with a brand new vehicle. Then to top it off I have been a loyal customer and have purchased a total of four cars from this dealership now. I filed a Consumer Affairs report with Nissan corporation and have yet to hear something. I also called the dealership again to speak with someone in charge such as the general manager and they informed me to contact the consumers affairs department with Nissan corporation. They said they have a chain of command to follow and that would be my best bet of getting the situation resolved. I would like this situation to be investigated and justice. I do not spend my hard earned money to have a car that is not operating properly and could put my life and others in danger. It comes down to the fact that this car is a lemon and I should be given brand new transportation or the dealership should purchase the car and pay off the loan and let me take my business elsewhere....... I also have copies of my maintenance records for documentation purposes.....thank you in advance for your time and effort. I look forward to hearing from you soon...updated 11/05/15 the consumer also stated the ac was blowing out hot air, then cool air and the steering wheel was hard to turn. Updated 11/25/15.

- Cypress, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?