Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 Nissan Altima shows multiple problem trends, continuing the poor reputation of the 2013 Altima, prompting us to give it our "beware of this clunker" badge.

Owners are complaining about a whining noise from the power steering pump and a concerning amount vibration and even transmission failure related to the CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission).

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,183 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Nissan Altima seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #70

Jan 102015

Altima

  • 26,345 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have not been notified of this recall! I come across it on my ms news now app, had I not been on this app I may have never known and for this I am very concerned for my safety and that of my niece. I take my niece to school everyday and I have noticed many times that my airbag light stays lit that it's off, I called my Nissan North dealership in jackson ms and I was informed that it was fixed and obviously it's not because it is still on!

- Ridgeland, MS, USA

problem #69

May 022016

Altima

  • miles
2014 Nissan Altima. Consumer writes in regards to airbag light stays on while traveling and dealerships refusal to repair/replace hood latch assembly that's stated in recall notice 16V-029. The dealer claimed the hood latch had already been replaced.

- Castleton, NY, USA

problem #68

May 162016

Altima

  • 63,000 miles
Two complaints: One: The airbag warning light on the instrument panel intermittently and randomly comes on while driving. When taken to the dealer, they said the plug under the drivers seat was loose. They "fixed it". this problem has occurred 3 times since I bought the car new and is currently doing it again, but it is now out of warranty because of mileage and they are going to charge me to fix a problem that should never happen, yet has reoccurred regularly since new. Two: When depressing the brake pedal and near a complete stop, the pedal becomes "soft" for about a half second, the car stops decelerating for that half second then continues to stop normally, thereafter. Each time I mention this at a service interval at the dealer, they say they will look into it. Nothing is noted on my invoice and nothing is mentioned when the car is picked up. It is unsettling and it causes the car to stop several feet further than if this didn't happen.

- Rising Fawn, GA, USA

problem #67

Jun 192014

Altima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Re recall 14V-138. Took vehicle in on 6-19-2014. Reprogram of passenger side air bag sensor was performed by dealership service dept. Did not fix. Sensor deactivation light coming on again. Why is deactivation even a feature? needs removed/replaced so that air bag will deploy in collision whether seat is occupied or empty!

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #66

Feb 122016

Altima

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owned a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the vehicle was involved in a rear end collision while idling. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was towed to salvage yard where it was deemed destroyed. A police report was filed. There were two injuries that required medical attention. The contact and passenger suffered neck and back pain that required therapy. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The vehicle was involved in NHTSA campaign number: 14V138000 (air bags). The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Sandy Hook, MS, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #65

Mar 152015

Altima

  • 4,500 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that when the ignition was turned to the on position, the passenger side air bag warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the computer system needed to be updated. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V681000 (air bags). The failure mileage was approximately 4,500. Updated 04/22/16

- Brusly, LA, USA

problem #64

May 102015

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. While operating the vehicle with a passenger seated in the front passenger seat, the air bag sensor light remained illuminated. This indicated that the air bag system was turned off. The contact indicated that the failure was intermittent. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 500. Updated 04/07/16 the consumer stated the air bag light has been on since the vehicle was purchased. Updated 04/21/16.

- Brooklny, OH, USA

problem #63

Dec 012013

Altima

  • 1,000 miles
Had random passenger airbag remain on when passenger was sitting in seat - met all weight requirements. This never happened continually but was problematic enough to bring in to dealer. They could not find anything wrong. Brought in several times, still no fix. Nissan recalled this problem in April 2015, had fix done to vehicle. Within a week airbag light stayed on with passenger in seat. This issue continues yet talking with Nissan they believe that since the dealer can't find any error codes showing what the problem is they will not fix it. Nissan will not put this under NHTSA campaign number: 15V681000 as it does not fit their criteria. I believe any passenger sitting in that seat is not safe. Vehicle is running passenger comes in and sits in seat, passenger airbag light stays on. Passenger is 160#. if I turn vehicle off and restart the airbag light usually does stay off. But not sure of the safety at that point - is airbag really on? this is continual since buying the vehicle in 2013, fix in spring of 2015 did not fix OCS for my vehicle.

- Chisago City, MN, USA

problem #62

Oct 012015

Altima

  • 33,000 miles
The passenger airbag sensor is not properly sensing the weight. The "airbag off" light is on when an adult over the weight limit sits in the seat. Plus, a child under the weight limit, the "airbag off" light is off. In short, the passenger airbag sensor is not properly detecting the correct weight of the passenger.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #61

Mar 102015

Altima

  • 3,377 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while parked, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was serviced under the NHTSA campaign number: 15V681000 (air bags) but the remedy failed to repair the vehicle. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred intermittently. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 3,377.

- Vincetown, NJ, USA

problem #60

Jul 242015

Altima

  • 17 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall- my 18 year old daughter was in a severe car wreck with side impact and rollover X 3. she had an injury to the left side of her face where the side impact airbags nor the curtain airbags came out. I have been working with Nissan consumers affairs since Aug 9, 2015 with a [xxx] but so far the issue is still in process. My daughter had a ct scan because of the swelling of her left face and the physician asked did the airbags come out to protect the side of her face and I said no and he stated to file a complaint with Nissan and to get a lawyer. I bought the car brand new from action Nissan in nashville tn. She was ran off the road and hit a side pole and flipped over 2 or more times according to a witness. Picture will be attached. All 4 kids survived. Thank you jesus!!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)...updated 12/22/15....updated 12/30/15

- Cane Ridge, TN, USA

problem #59

Apr 252015

Altima

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owned a 2014 Nissan Altima. While driving approximately 25 mph through an intersection, another vehicle crashed into the contact's vehicle head-on. The air bags did not deploy on the driver and passenger side. The driver sustained a fractured sternum, abdominal bruising, and vertebral bodies cervical fractures. The front passenger sustained lacerations to the face and eye and neck and back injuries. Both required medical attention. A police report was filed. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was destroyed. According to vehicle service records, the air bags were repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V138000 (air bags). The approximate failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 1/4/2015 updated 02/05/16

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #58

Jan 012015

Altima

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the front passenger side air bag failed. The air bag light indicated that the air bag was off while the seat was occupied. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The dealer replaced the front passenger seat frame, and the air bag sensor was replaced; however, the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000.

- Pottstown, PA, USA

problem #57

Jun 152015

Altima

  • 22,355 miles
The vehicle has had recurring problems with the passenger air bag light coming on while the vehicle is in motion and with an occupant in the passenger seat. This has occurred on both city streets and interstate highways. The vehicle was brought in due to a recall on the restraint system on May 9, 2014. Previous to this there were no observable problems. On June 12, 2014 the vehicle was brought into the dealership because I began to have a problem with the air bag light coming on when a passenger was in the front seat while driving. Nissan detected a problem and replaced the airbag detection sensor. The problem soon became evident again (many times I drive the vehicle while alone, so problem isn't always evident.) on Jan 30, 2015 I brought the vehicle into Nissan dealership with the same problem. Again, they detected codes regarding the passenger occupant sensors and they said they replaced the sensor. Five days later the problem showed up while we were on a lengthy trip. I brought the vehicle in again on April 9. they stated that no codes showed up and suggested it probably would be ok. However on several occasions the problem showed up again, I brought it back to the dealership, each time they stated that they did a computer scan and no codes showed up. I had taken videos on 3 occasions showing the vehicle in motion and showing a passenger in the front seat and showing the airbag light on indicating the airbag was not in operation. I offered, even asked if they would watch but they declined. They said that everything was functional. They further told me that the primary means of restraint was the seatbelt. I asked if they would check to see if the sensor was positioned properly, however they refused, saying that Nissan would not authorize any other work to be done unless the computer showed a problem. I am left not knowing of my vehicle is safe.

- Coon Rapids, MN, USA

problem #56

Sep 292015

Altima

  • 16,000 miles
Air bags did deploy in this in vehicle after being hit head-on and then from the rear. The car is a total loss. The driver (my duugter's head hit the windsheild)

- Fairport, NY, USA

problem #55

Sep 282015

Altima

  • 42,854 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact noticed a ribbon hanging out of the passenger side air bag. In addition, the seat belt indicator remained illuminated after a passenger exited the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 42,854.

- Grey Court, SC, USA

problem #54

Sep 142015

Altima

  • 31,500 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that when the front passenger seat was occupied, the air bag off warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system). The failure mileage was 31,500.

- San Marcos, TX, USA

problem #53

Sep 052015

Altima

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. When starting the vehicle, the front passenger side air bag warning indicator turned off when a passenger occupied the seat. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag system needed to be reset. The air bag was replaced with a new sensor but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000.

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #52

Sep 012015

Altima

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the vehicle was rear ended by another vehicle. The contact's vehicle was pushed into the preceding vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact suffered neck and back injuries that required medical attention. The other driver also sustained neck and back injuries. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 10,000.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #51

Feb 102015

Altima

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V138000 (air bags, electrical system). However, the contact stated that when an adult passenger was seated in the front passengers side seat, the air bag warning light illuminated indicating that the front passenger side air bag was deactivated. The failure recurred on several occasions when an adult passenger sat in the front passengers side seat. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 49,000.

- Seal Beach, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?