Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 Nissan Altima shows multiple problem trends, continuing the poor reputation of the 2013 Altima, prompting us to give it our "beware of this clunker" badge.

Owners are complaining about a whining noise from the power steering pump and a concerning amount vibration and even transmission failure related to the CVT (Continuously Variable Transmission).

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
16 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,183 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Nissan Altima seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #90

Nov 032016

Altima

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Nissan issued recall on the passenger side airbag sensor that disengages the airbag when a grown adult is seated in the passenger seat. My car was recalled and "supposedly" fixed, but two separate incidences have occurred where the passenger airbag light indicating the airbag is off when a person is seated there has occurred. The issue was not resolved fully with Nissan's warranty fix and Nissan is looking into my car further on how to fix the issue. I have researched the issue and many other instances of this issue occurring after the so called "fix" performed by Nissan. Link below: www.carcomplaints.com/Nissan/Altima/2014/seat_belts_air_bags/air_bags.shtml this is a consumer safety issue with not having a properly functioning airbag.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #89

Jul 222016

Altima

  • 29,630 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag on/off indicator illuminated for the passenger seat while driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they could not diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 29,630.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #88

Sep 212016

Altima

  • 54,000 miles
Have had 2 factory recalls for pass. Side airbag not being activated with pass. In the seat. Still having the same problem sometimes. The dealer stated I would be charged if they cannot duplicate the problem. This has been a safety issue for the past 2 years. Thank goodness we have not been in a accident that needed the use of the pass. Airbag when it was deactivated.

- Whitesboro, NY, USA

problem #87

Sep 292016

Altima

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated after the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 16V244000 (air bags). The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed; however, the mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 55,000.

- Searsmont, ME, USA

problem #86

Sep 222016

Altima

  • 70,000 miles
My 2014 Nissan Altima drivers side airbag light has come on for the fourth time since new. (todays date 09/26/2016) the first two times, Nissan reset it and conveniently didn't make a record of it in the repair history while it was in warranty. I took it in a few weeks ago because the light was on again, they said it was a loose connection under the seat caused by a box of kleenex, which I think is not true. Last week the light came back on again with nothing under the seat. This time, they said I need a new airbag at a cost of $1100, claiming I never brought it in for the drivers side and that I have to pay for it because my car now has 70K miles on it, never-mind it is only 2 years old. My main concern is that this clear and obvious defect causes a significant risk to the occupants because it prevents any of the airbags from deploying in an accident. I cannot afford to spend over $1000 on a part that should never go bad on a car that is only 2 years old. Fyi: The vehicle was in motion when the airbag light came on every time and every time it came on there was nobody in the back seat, nor was the seat being adjusted or was anything interfering with the plug, as Nissan tries to claim.

- Rising Fawn, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #85

Apr 262015

Altima

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owned a 2014 Nissan Altima. While driving at any speed, both sides of the contact's vehicle were struck when another vehicle ran a stop sign. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. There were two injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #84

Mar 032014

Altima

  • 989 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Randomly this occurs, when sitting in the front passenger seat the air bag sign for that seat will say off. On our last trip we left a stop and entered the highway but the light stayed on indicating the air bag was not activated. We had to drive like that until we could safely stop. We then turned off the ignition and started the car again, and this time the air bag off light did not stay lit. We have had the vehicle at the dealer 6 times for this problem. Because they can not duplicate the problem when the car is there the only thing they say they can do is a zero point reset on OCS system. That has not stopped this issue from reoccurring. We have phoned bergstrom of oshkosh 5 days this week, they do not return our call. The last diagnosis states electrical, however, tony the service advisor told us the last time we were their that they don't want to throw money at the car it could be a sensor, electrical, the air bag system or the seat. Because they cannot replicate the problem when we are there they do not know what to fix, so choose to do nothing. The recall on the car was done 5/26/16. However we continue to have this problem. The service advisor has repeatedly said it is because the passenger is not sitting on the seat correctly, however the last time it occurred the passenger was sitting in the same position when the air bag was off as she was when the ignition was turned off and restarted correcting the problem. Our warranty will run out soon. We phoned Nissan and they will only go by what there auto tech at bergstrom tells them, so no help there either. I have copies of invoices from when the car was taken in for this problem.

- Malone, WI, USA

problem #83

Aug 222016

Altima

  • miles
The contact owned a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the vehicle was involved in a crash. The contact did not recall the details of the crash. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The driver sustained neck injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed and destroyed. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Norton, OH, USA

problem #82

Aug 222016

Altima

  • 19,000 miles
My Altima was under recall for the air bag light on dash. Had it to the dealer twice and the light stays on when someone is in passemger seat. And we're driving

- Greenlawn, NY, USA

problem #81

Jun 142016

Altima

  • miles
There was recall on this vehicle NHTSA recall 16V-244. It was about the OCS. Vehicle was taken to crest Nissan of frisco 6600 state hwy 121, frisco, tx 75034 on 14 June 2016. According to the invoice given to me by the dealer the OCS unit was reprogrammed. On 9 Aug 16 I took the vehicle back to the same dealer because the supplemental air bag warning light remains on continuously. But the customer service agent at crest Nissan of frisco told me that there is nothing wrong with it, this light is supposed to stay on unless the passenger seat is occupied by an adult. Owner's manual on page 1-57 clearly mentions that " if the supplemental air bag warning light remains on after approximately 7 seconds, under this condition, the front air bag, side air bag and curtain air bag or pretensioner systems may not operate properly". the dealer has not only failed to rectify the problem but also lied to me about this technical and a potentially hazardous problem. It could mean that the front air bag, side air bag, curtain air bag and/or pretensioner systems will not operate in an accident.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #80

Jul 272016

Altima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since I have had my 2014 Nissan Altima it has faced several major issues such has two transmissions replacements, now the ac compressor, then the car display screen turned completely pink, and other numerous issues that have already been documented in your system. Please refer back to my previous complaints that I have submitted, my service records for the dealership, and so forth for documentation purposes. I truly believe that a car with only 7 miles on it when purchased should not have any of theses issues unless it was manufactured poorly. I am so fed up with dealing with the dealership and run arounds from the corporation that I may have to take legal action if this issue is not resolved in a timely manner.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #79

Jul 212016

Altima

  • 14,000 miles
I brought my car to royal palm Nissan for a recall on the hood latch and told them to check the OCS light that went on intermittently even though there was a passenger seated. This was before the recall notice. I received the OCS recall and went to coral 'springs Nissan. I returned a week later because the light remained on for 17 minutes a few days later while driving with an adult passenger. I was told it could not be checked because the light was not on then. If the light goes on intermittently, then my passenger is not safe in case of an accident as the airbag will not deploy. What can be done?

- Coconut Creek, FL, USA

problem #78

Jul 202016

Altima

  • 79,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. After the dealer repaired the vehicle per an air bag recall on June 28, 2016, the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on July 20, 2016 to reset the warning light, but the dealer refused without payment. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 79,000. Updated 09/29/16

- Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #77

Jul 212016

Altima

  • 66,000 miles
I am contacting you over repeated issues with my 2014 Nissan Altima sl. This is my second complaint filed to NHTSA for this vehicle's airbag. As you are aware, a recall was issued and has been performed on my vehicle. My issue is that the passenger seat won't arm the airbag if my wife sits in the seat. I have multiple videos of this issue. My most recent visit to my Nissan dealer resulted in them stating they couldn't fix anything as they couldn't pull an error code. The very next day, the issue happened again with my wife in the passenger seat and again I recorded it. I opened a complaint with Nissan corporate. After a frustrating phone call this evening, and a lot of ambitious double talk on Nissan's part, the Nissan representative said that the issue was that my wife was too lite. My wife weighs between 103 and 108 pounds as she fluctuates a bit. She stands 5 foot 3 inches tall. The Nissan representative, delisa said that Nissan doesn't recommend anyone under 4 feet 9 inches or less than 120 lbs in the passenger seat. This was never told to me two years ago when I was looking at purchasing the car, or through any of the 6-8 service tickets I have opened regarding this issue with multiple different fixes attempted. ( I can get the exact number as soon as my dealer provides the requested information.) I would have never bought the car knowing my wife couldn't ride in the front passenger seat. I asked for this in writing from the Nissan representative but she said she could not provide that. She said it was only for their internal records. I pressed her on the fact that they were saying my wife couldn't sit in the front seat. Her reply was that she didn't say that, only that Nissan doesn't recommend someone less than 120 pounds in the passenger seat. Is it possible to be contacted by the NHTSA to clarify what Nissan is saying and if it is accurate?

- Amelia, VA, USA

problem #76

Apr 212014

Altima

  • 500 miles
"passenger air bags off" light is "on" while driving, at any speed, with an adult in front passenger seat. The problem first occurred when the vehicle was less that a week old. It continues to occur about once a month. I have had the car at the dealer many times. The problem cannot be duplicated at the dealer, therefore no repairs have been made. On June 15, 2016 the vehicle was taken to the dealer in response to recall #16V244000. No help! the problem has occurred twice since then. The problem: Always occurs during an engine start. Never while driving. It seems to be part of the initialization process. May correct itself at any time. It may last for a half a mile or 50 miles. Cannot be corrected by the passenger standing or bouncing can always be corrected by pulling off the road and stopping then restarting the engine. I have a lots of cell phone photos showing vehicle speed, "passenger air bag off" indication and an adult passenger in the passenger seat. These photos are dated.

- La Grange, TX, USA

problem #75

Jan 092016

Altima

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V244000 (air bags), 16V029000 (latches/locks/linkages), and 15V116000 (latches/locks/linkages). The parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distributions disconnect.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #74

Mar 282016

Altima

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V244000 (air bags) and 16V029000 (latches/locks/linkages). The dealer was unable to supply the parts within a reasonable time frame. The dealer indicated that they would follow up and call the contact within three days, but the contact received no follow up call and was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #73

Jun 012016

Altima

  • 54,354 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the front passenger side air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V244000 (air bags); however, the dealer advised that the part was not available for repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 54,354.

- Hapeville, GA, USA

problem #72

Jun 172016

Altima

  • 11,092 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Altima. After the vehicle was started, the passenger side air bag off warning light illuminated while the seat was occupied. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 16V244000 (air bags); however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer on several different occasions where the OCS sensor was replaced and reprogrammed. In addition, other unknown repairs were performed, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 11,092.

- Galax, VA, USA

problem #71

Jun 222016

Altima

  • miles
I just had a recall performed on my car for the passenger air bag sensor. Now, the air bag warning light stays on all the time when the front passenger seat is empty. This creates a dangerous situation while driving at night because it interferes with peripheral vision because the light is so bright. I complained to my dealer, but they say there is no fix for it. So what do I do, not drive my car at night ? they told me that the recall was ordered by the NHTSA.

- Morgantown, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?