10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,758 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 BMW 330 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 BMW 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 BMW 330 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #69

Jan 202018

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag trouble cod light on the dash driving car on street and highway

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #68

Jul 272017

330

  • 199,227 miles
"takata recall" I've received confirmation my vehicle is one of the vehicle apart of the takata recall. I'm a single father of a 13 yr old son. Knowing the danger my son has been in all of this time has shaken my core comfort zone to dust. I'm now in the process to correct this bad airbag currently in my vehicle. My son's future has been placed in rusk and that will not be left unchecked by means available. I was hit with my son in the car and the bad airbag didn't deploy, thank god!

- Sea Tac, WA, USA

problem #67

Apr 262016

330

  • 75,000 miles
Takata recall first I should say that this is not a complaint about an incident. This is a complaint about the failure of BMW to provide a timely replacement for the thirteen (13) year old driver's side airbag in my 2004 BMW 330I, which has spent all of its life in a high absolute humidity location (houston, Texas). I first contacted BMW on April, 26, 2016 regarding the takata airbag recall on my 2004 BMW 330I. They first offered to perform an interim repair or an alternate provided vehicle. However, the insurance company informed me that the replacement vehicle would not be covered under my current policy. I followed up again on July 15, 2016, and BMW informed me that interim repairs were no longer being offered because final repair parts would be available shortly. They said I would receive a notice in the mail letting me know when I could take my vehicle in to my local BMW center for repair. I have verified that my address and contact info is correct with both BMW and the repair center in houston, Texas. Houston, Texas is a high absolute humidity area and this car is 13 years old with the original airbag still installed. I drive this car every day to and from work in high traffic areas inside the city of houston. I believe BMW has had ample time to procure a replacement airbag, and I have called them and wasted several hours of my personal time on this still unresolved issue. In short I believe BMW is stalling with the replacement of older model year airbag replacements, because they believe these vehicles are "end of life" and there is little incentive for BMW to fix them. However, this vehicle has low mileage for its age: Eighty thousand (80,000) miles, and the lack of an airbag replacement will diminish the resale value or make it much more difficult to sell.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #66

Jun 272014

330

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 BMW 330I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V318000 (air bags), 14V428000 (air bags), and 11V438000 (air bags). The parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hanalei, HI, USA

problem #65

Jan 102017

330

  • miles
1-10-2017 approx. 5:15pm. Driving home on I-80 freeway, rainy weather, 5pm traffic, so I was driving less than 55mph, there is some rough road but not really any potholes. I drove over the bad road and the driver curtain and door airbags deployed there was never any impact but the road did shake the car. There is no damage to the car that from the road. I drive the same route home in our other car daily and it never sets the air bag off or anyone else driving that extremely busy freeway.

- Carmichael, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #64

Jul 152014

330

  • miles
Takata recall NHTSA recall number:15V318 NHTSA recall number: 14V428

- Kelseyville, CA, USA

problem #63

Jul 012015

330 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall I received a letter dated July 2015 concerning the recall of the driver's side air bag. I called my local BMW on 11/24/15 and they said they put my name on the list and would call me when the replacement came in. I called again on 4/14/16 and [xxx] said she would check to make sure my name is on the list and would call me back when the parts arrived. It's been a year and a half and I have not received a call back. This is so concerning to me as this car is my main mode of transportation and I am so afraid I will have a front end collision resulting in death or dismemberment. If that should happen I or my estate will most certainly sue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #62

Oct 132016

330

  • miles
Takata recall I received a air bag recall notice from BMW in June 2015 and another recall notice in September 2016.over a year + I have been calling South bay BMW in torrance ca. And they keep on telling me they do not have the parts yet. Can you please help me..

- Hermosa Beach, CA, USA

problem #61

Aug 012016

330

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 BMW 330I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the contact could not get the recall remedied due to lack of communication from the dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #60

Sep 292016

330

  • 112,000 miles
Takata recall. This complaint is due to the slow response of nalley BMW in Decatur Georgia to replace my airbag. I received my recall letter and immediately called the BMW dealer on Sept 7th. I was told that parts were ordered and I would be called when they arrived. By Sept 16th I had heard nothing and called again. Nalley said they had no record of my having ordered parts. I was transferred to the parts department where no one answered the phone. So I called BMW national customer relations. They said they would contact the dealer and have them get in touch with me directly. Nothing happened, so today visited the dealer personally to get the parts ordered. I was told it would take an additional two weeks to receive parts. This is unacceptible. My recall letter from BMW clearly states "we have the necessary parts to complete this recall, " "please contact your authorized BMW center immediately to schedule an appointment to have this important free recall performed as soon as possible, " and "...metal fragments striking the driver or other passengers potentially resulting in serious injury or death." BMW has built cars with shrapnel grenades instead of airbags and now they don't care about fixing it. BMW should not E allowed to sell another vehicle in the us until they have completed all of these critical recalls.

- Decatur, GA, USA

problem #59

Aug 312016

330 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 BMW 330ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/13/16 updated 03/09/17.

- Manhattan Beach, CA, USA

problem #58

Aug 292016

330

  • miles
Takata recall-I've been going round and round with BMW usa and hendrick motors in charlotte, nc since Dec. 2015 trying to get info on when they are going to fix my death trap. I just learned today on this site that my car is priority 1 in high humidity area which charlotte certainly is. Plus the air bag lights have been on since Dec and reported to them and this is the low profile sport model car that is a bumpy ride. I was told in Jan by BMW that an interim bag was sent to NJ specifically for my car, but hendrick clams they no nothing about it., they have my info and every time I call to see when they will have parts for the recall I get the same insppid blow off, we don't know anything but we'll call you as soon as we do.I just received a letter from BMW saying the parts are ready to call and make appt to replace and hendrick says they don't have yet they are on order should be 2 weeks but they cannot confirm the date, no one knows or has any info what so ever so don't bother us any more. I guarantee that priority had been given to any car that was on their lot for resale!

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #57

Aug 292015

330

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 BMW 330ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #56

Aug 242016

330

  • miles
Takata recall repair parts still not available...original notification date July 2015. I have not been involved in an accident...merely want the recall program implemented on my vehicle.

- Weaverville, NC, USA

problem #55

May 272015

330

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 BMW 330xi. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Scottsville, NY, USA

problem #54

Aug 042014

330

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 BMW 330ci. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V428000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Virgina Beach, VA, USA

problem #53

Jul 012015

330

  • miles
I have been waiting for nearly one year for the recalled driver's airbag to be replaced. The dealership states that parts are not available. The news has reported that 70% of other manufacturer's vehicles with the same recall have been repaired. How much longer am I required to wait?

- Hot Springs Village, AR, USA

problem #52

Jun 052015

330 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 BMW 330I. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V318000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.... updated 08/23/16 updated 09/08/16.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #51

Jul 202016

330

  • 147,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 BMW 330ci. While making a left turn at a traffic light, the contact's vehicle was involved in a crash with an oncoming vehicle. The contact stated that the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent facility. The contact sustained injuries to the upper body that did not require medical attention. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V318000 (air bags) and 14V428000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 147,000.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #50

Jul 012015

330

  • miles
Takata recall - notified July 2015 - a year ago - about driver's side airbag, still no parts available and I live in one of the most humid states in the South. It is irresponsible and ridiculous that we have to wait over a year for part replacements that if ruptured, could cause serious injury or death. BMW North America website states: Remedy available but global imports atlanta is reporting they still do not have any replacement drivers side airbags.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?