Print this page

7.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,750
Average Mileage:
28,150 miles
Total Complaints:
18 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replaced 4 pistons (7 reports)
  2. new engine (4 reports)
  3. replace piston (4 reports)
  4. not sure (3 reports)
2017 Chevrolet Cruze engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Chevrolet Cruze:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2017 Chevrolet Cruze Owner Comments

problem #18

Aug 052020

Cruze LS 1.4L With Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I submitted a complaint prior regarding the 2017 Cruze we purchased used in April 2018. Brought to the shop in November 2019 because of cracked piston #1 that was replaced under warranty.

Having to put in separate complaints per incident, this new complaint involves the same issue - cracked piston(s). The car is back in the shop. Brought it in August 5 at 36k miles. There were no warning lights, etc. that came on as I see from other complaints that people saw come on in their vehicle.

Waiting on repair work to be completed while fortunately still under warranty. This issue now has happened twice that WE KNOW OF in this used car.

- Marianne V., Chandler, US

problem #17

Nov 042019

Cruze LS 1.4L With Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,289 miles

Bought a used 2017 Cruze in April of 2018. Good gas mileage. At 31k miles, had to bring to the shop and found out cracked piston #1. There were no light indicators of a problem, but it did shake in rough idle when in gear. Took several months for repair. May have to put another complaint in separately, but FYI, had to bring the car in again last week (beginning of August) at 36k miles, and they said it was cracked piston!! Don't know when the issue will be taken care of. It is still under warranty, for now...but if this crap happens again, it may be on our own dime!! This is outrageous. Any suggestions on how to see about what GM can do to rectify this type of what appears to be a common occurrence (after reading other complaints)? P.S. The 2016 Malibu cars also had this problem I just found out.

- Marianne V., Chandler, US

problem #16

Feb 282020

Cruze LT 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,000 miles

I started accelerating onto the highway with my 2017 Cruze and immediately lost power and "service stability control" warning came on. I limped home under loss of power. The shop said the electrode on the spark plug was gone. Upon further investigation, the piston was cracked. All miles i put on are highway. On star vehicle status can confirm no hard accelerations. I am very disappointed with Chevy and this issue and will rethink future Chevy purchases.

- azcruze, FOND DU LAC, US

problem #15

Mar 212019

Cruze LT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,360 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving and all of a sudden my car started to shake. when I would accelerate it was ok. When I would slow down it would start shaking. Took it in and the dealership had it from 2/4/2019-3/21/2019, According to the Lemon Law in Oregon for new cars it should have been replaced. I learned my lesson.

- Amanda O., Denver, CO, US

problem #14

Jun 182019

Cruze Premium 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,020 miles

Last week just out of the blue the engine started shaking. We had no CEL's but it was apparent that there was an issue. We have taken it in and are currently waiting for the exact cause but was told that we lacked the required update to prevent which is likely a cracked piston. I was assured it would be repaired swiftly and correctly however I am now worried about the future. Why was I not notified of the potential issue and needed software update. And what is being done to assure this issue is corrected as it seems this is a common issue. I have always been a mopar fan but chose to go with with a chevrolet due to fit and finish. Its very discouraging, I would prefer a new motor but stuck with what is going to be a rebuilt one. Looks like this will be the first and last Chevrolet I purchase.

- bigtymin209, Stockton, US

problem #13

Jun 142019

Cruze 1.4L

  • Manual transmission
  • 49,836 miles

Purchased a 2017 Cruze in Jan 2017.

First failure was slave cylinder. Dealer fixed

No problem no complaints covered under powertrain. That was Dec 2018. Now Cracked piston #4 Dealer replaced all 4 pistons under warranty no complaints all good. My question is... What the hell is going on at a design and fabrication level? Cost cutting? Cutting corners? These are two major failures under 60,000 miles. If I can't get any answers from somebody that knows what's being done to correct this problem, a Honda or Toyota may be in my future. C'mon Chevy.. You got an opportunity to keep a customer loyal since 1997...Maybe throw me a bone? Free oil changes for a year? If I'm just left in the lurch here I may switch over to the dreaded competition....Your move GM.

- Dan M., Covington, KY, US

problem #12

Apr 222019

Cruze LS 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Need anyone who has had engine cracked and under warranty. GM is saying it's from NO oil. I had no warming no smoke car showed stabilitrack service after died and when I try to restart. Please help any advice lawyer etc...

- Christine V., Justice, IL, US

problem #11

Jan 022019

Cruze LS 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,997 miles

I have had a 2017 Chevy Cruze since February of 2017. The piston cracked at 33000 miles around December of 2017. This shouldn't be happening to a new car but it was fixed by warranty. Well now I'm at 69000 miles and engine light comes. I take it to Chevy dealership and they say your engine is misfiring. They wanna charge me $3500 to once again replace all pistons. I'm hoping that Chevy will do the right thing and replace motor even tho its not under warranty. If your pistons cracked once don't be surprised if happens again. Has anyone had the 2017 Chevy Cruze have piston failure twice?

- Cameo M., Phoenix, US

problem #10

Aug 312018

Cruze LT 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,900 miles

Engine started to misfire, stabilitrac came on, service engine light came on, towed to dealer, had a cracked piston #1 cylinder. Dealer installed complete new motor assy and updated software that had a issue. Dealer service advisor was awesome. Very satisfied with all that was done.(I am a licensed master auto and truck mechanic with Journeyman card, now retired)

- camarossbob, Clarkston, US

problem #9

Aug 022018

Cruze LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

This is not my first new car, but is my first Chevrolet. What I can't imagine is that a 2017 with 25,000 miles is at the dealer with pistons problems. The problem started on 8/2 getting out work with the service stabilitrak message and the check engine light. The car started trembling and hardly accelerating at traffic lights. Next day I took it to the dealer. As I was getting to the dealer I definitely made an entrance with the all the white smoke coming out of the car. 5 days later I still don't have my car. I had to call multiple times to find out what was going on. At least apparently it's cover under the insurance.

- krystalpr27, Pico Rivera, US

problem #8

Jul 142018

Cruze Hatchback 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Called Chevy and they refuse to replace engine or replace all pistons, unless they show signs of cracks. They know all about the issues.

- Mark C., Wheaton, US

problem #7

Jul 042018

Cruze LT V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,456 miles

Engine light came on today. Will go to Autozone tomorrow to find out the code. Then back to dealer.

Update from Jul 22, 2018: after going to auto zone and getting codes... I precededed to pop hood and when dealership did my oil change they never plugged the plug back in on top after changing air filter. I called I explain and they apologize and was going to speak to the person. I would of been leary of bringing it back to them for something so simple and might have gotten charged for something else. So my soloution is fixed.

- Nanci P., Pomona, NY, US

problem #6

May 232018

Cruze 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,935 miles

Car sputtered and Service Stabilitrak light came on. Check Engine light came on. Took it in and they had to replace all the pistons!

Car was in the shop from May 23, 2018 - June 4, 2018.

- lejean, El Cajon, US

problem #5

May 122018

Cruze LT 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

I purchased my Cruze a 10k with a rebuilt title due to airbags deploying. Right at 15k my car started sputtering and stalling while trying to pull onto the highway, "service stabilitrak" light came on, then shortly after check engine light with a cylinder one misfire. Due to the rebuilt title Chevy will not cover the problem and wants to charge me $3500 for 4 new piston install, even thought this is a very common problem.

- kbowling, Bethel, US

problem #4

Mar 272018

Cruze LT 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles

Beyond ridiculous to have a new car and already have such a big problem with it. 2 broken pistons at 20000 miles...

- Dustin M., Bennett, CO, US

problem #3

Dec 072017

Cruze LS 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,700 miles

I purchased this 2017 Chevy Cruze the end of April (brand new) and feel as if I should not have any issues at all. I took the car in due to it jerking and not wanting to go and they informed me it was a cracked piston at 17,700 miles.

- Nicole R., Leslie, US

problem #2

Nov 032017

Cruze 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,200 miles

Cracked piston with 4,200 mi. The dealer was great had to put in a new engine. Sounds like it's a common thing in these motors. Got the car for my son and luckily he was on a side street when it broke down. Probably last Chevy car I'll ever get.

- Duke S., Toledo, US

problem #1

Mar 012017

Cruze 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles

I took my car in after having issues with it and then saying the Stabilitrak needs service. So I took it in the next morning, it has been over a week and today I find out that there is a cracked piston(seems like this happens a lot). This car is 5 months old and I shouldn't be having these issues and it seems like the Dealership isn't any better. They have given me the run around for over a week. I can't work without my car and I'm so upset! I'm not even sure what my next step is UGH

- Marlene V., Seagoville, TX, US

Not what you are looking for?