Print this page

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,735 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Malibu:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Malibu Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #60

Feb 282018

Malibu

  • 106,650 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I was driving on a city street getting read to pick up my sibiling from schooli received a notification on the radio display that said power steering off then it was very difficult to turn my wheel and almost got in an accident. This happened nearby an elementary school. The power steering went off right when I was about to make a turn. Also, the air bag for the drivers side has consistently been going off for the past couple of months and I receive alerts through the radio display.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #59

Jan 082018

Malibu

  • miles
At 6:00 a.M January 11 2018 I arrived at work. I was waiting on a parking space to become available. When one became available I started my car and it immediately said power steering across my radio screen. As I tried to moved into the parking space my steering wheel was very hard to turn. Also the service air bag light came on as well.

- Pickens, MS, USA

problem #58

Dec 182017

Malibu

  • 98,000 miles
The air bag is going off and I looked it up and they want lots of money for this problem and it happens in so many Malibu's of this year and even more years. IżM just worried it's a safety hazard when IżM driving myself and girlfriend or anyone else for that matter. What if the sensor is bad and it doesnżT deploy if needed

- Tracys Landing, MD, USA

problem #57

Nov 162004

Malibu

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light stays on passage and driver side

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #56

Jun 272017

Malibu

  • 190,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 55 mph, the contact lost control of the steering wheel and the front driver side tire experienced a blow out. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was pinned between two trees. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a tow yard. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 190,000. Updated 09/01/17

- Rockford, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #55

Jun 192017

Malibu

  • 98,000 miles
Passenger side air bag warning light and sound goes off while car is in motion

- Hooks, TX, USA

problem #54

May 052017

Malibu

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag lite or ABS lite go on, intermittent. Noticed at start up. Stationary.cause unknown to me. Suspect BCM connector as in recall #14V252000.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #53

Mar 202017

Malibu

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag needed to be replaced. No further information was available on the specifics of the locations of the air bags that needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was not available.

- Caldeses, NC, USA

problem #52

Jan 242017

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 226,000 miles
This is issue has been happening since late December and has progressively gotten worse! while driving (whether on highway at 60+ mph or in town doing under 40mph), power steering will go out multiple times; along with fuel gage will consistently show empty. Also while driving the airbag indication light will go from airbag on to air bag off several times. The only thing that remedies the power steering going out is to turn the car off and then back on, sometimes more than once.

- Olney, IL, USA

problem #51

Jun 052014

Malibu

  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). Prior to receipt of the recall, the contact experienced a failure. While driving approximately 40 mph, the ignition shut down without warning and the vehicle crashed into a pole. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed. There was one injury that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to a mechanic who diagnosed that the ignition was faulty. The vehicle was repaired by a mechanic; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 137,000.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #50

Feb 222015

Malibu

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1 year ago I was driving and I got hit in the side. For some reason the airbags didn't deploy and I got hit pretty hard because the driver driver side doors were not able to open. I drove home with and they said that it was fixable although it didn't look like it. Its fixed now but ive always had my suspicion that it is part of the recall. It was moving, on a street, about to turn when she hit me. I did not brake.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #49

May 252015

Malibu

  • 90,000 miles
Airbag light up on dashboard on driver side every time I start the car and stays on. Showed to dealer and asking for $120 just to check, and said could go up to $1200 if it need to repair. Any recall on this airbag?

- Sylmar, CA, USA

problem #48

Sep 082013

Malibu 4-cyl

  • 123,798 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently. The brake pedal was depressed, but failed to slow down the vehicle. The contacts son lost control of the vehicle and crashed through a steel gate and also into a tree. The driver air bag failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The contact sustained brain injuries, a lacerated liver, and loss of eyesight in the left eye. The contact required extensive medical attention. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 123,798. The vehicle was destroyed. Updated 06/23/16.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #47

Feb 052014

Malibu

  • 125,000 miles
My airbag light kept coming on and off for about 10 months when I first bought it from the Chevy dealer and now it just stayes on all the time my info center says service airbag soon the Chevy mechanic says my airbags might not deploy if I get into an accident and also I read online metal fragments can come flying out causeing severe injury or death this is a serious safety issue the cost of repair is so high $700 for the part not including labor this is a defective airbag problem that needs to be recalled for the safety of all drivers and passengers

- Groton, CT, USA

problem #46

Aug 212015

Malibu

  • 111,210 miles
I called GM 800-222-1020 to report the airbag on my 2007 Chevy Malibu airbag keeps coming on an off on 8/22/15 I called the 1st time no one called me I called on 8/25/15 and I called today 8/31/15. I was told that I needed to pay for the diagnoses...I dont think that is fair why would the air bags on a car go out"???" I was told on the phone that I did not have to pay now the story changes. I fear for my life driving this car, knowing that if I crash I could die. Also I dont think I got alllll the recalls fixed in my car. Please help. I keep on getting the run arounds.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #45

Jul 012007

Malibu

  • 17,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle July 2007. It was a used vehicle. From the first day of purchase the words "passenger air bag needs service" show up on the screen.

- Jackson, OH, USA

problem #44

Jul 012015

Malibu

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. After the vehicle was started, the service air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 141,000.

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #43

Mar 132013

Malibu

  • 98,000 miles
Airbag indicator comes

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #42

Feb 012012

Malibu

  • 113,044 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. While attempting to start the vehicle, the service air bag warning was displayed across the message board. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 113,044.

- Parker, CO, USA

problem #41

May 062015

Malibu

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owned a 2007 Chevrolet Malibu. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, a vehicle crashed into the contact's vehicle causing the contact to coast into a ditch. The air bags did not deploy. The contact sustained shoulder and right leg injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 200,000.

- Sunflower , MS, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?