10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,840 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu Maxx steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chevrolet Malibu Maxx:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chevrolet Malibu Maxx Owner Comments (Page 7 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #99

Jul 052011

Malibu Maxx

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Malibu maxx has lost power steering. Weeks prior the steering to the left is loose and steering to the right is tight. Mechanic cannot find an issue. Found over 40 complaints in online car blogs of the same issue. Several had replaced steering column only to find the issue occurred again.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #98

Mar 302011

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • miles
My power steering on my 2004 Malibu maxx locks up at random times, throws the car to the left, I was getting the battery light and a ding when this would happen. I had the serpentine belt changed in March 2011 then the tensioner in June 2011. I was told that this would cure the problem, as these components are linked to the alternator and the power steering pump/motor. This problem is still happening, however now, I do not get the battery light, just a ding when the steering locks and the car veers to the left.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #97

Apr 212011

Malibu Maxx

  • 71,000 miles
Driving through a residential district the check power steering message flashed on the dashboard and then the power steering just stopped functioning. Car was very hard to maneuver and steer. Once restarted, power steering resumed. Since that incident, the power steering failed once again while car was in park on 6/20/2011. Then once car was restarted the power steering reset itself. Very very dangerous!!!

- Reseda, CA, USA

problem #96

Apr 212011

Malibu Maxx

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving through a residential district the check power steering message flashed on the dashboard and then the power steering just stopped functioning. Car was very hard to maneuver and steer. Once restarted, power steering resumed. Since that incident, the power steering failed once again while car was in park on 6/20/2011. Then once car was restarted the power steering reset itself. Very very dangerous!!!

- Reseda, CA, USA

problem #95

Apr 212011

Malibu Maxx

  • 71,000 miles
Driving through a residential district the check power steering message flashed on the dashboard and then the power steering just stopped functioning. Car was very hard to maneuver and steer. Once restarted, power steering resumed. Since that incident, the power steering failed once again while car was in park on 6/20/2011. Then once car was restarted the power steering reset itself. Very very dangerous!!!

- Reseda, CA, USA

problem #94

Jun 072011

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
I own a 2004 Malibu maxx, imy power steering goes out constantly, while driving at a speed of 30 mph or 60 mph.I recently was on the highway with my children and it went out while I was making a turn and I almost went off the road.scared me and my kids to death....something has to be done about this....I have read too many stories about the same problems with various people..does someone have to loose their life to get a recall on this or what!!!!!!!!

- Crowley, LA, USA

problem #93

May 232011

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • 142,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Malibu maxx steering failure. Vehicle purchased in September 2009. Sporadic difficulty with power steering going out, has increased to a daily occurrence. When accelerating into a turn, must hold onto steering wheel tightly and lean heavily into turn to navigate sufficiently to avoid collision with other vehicles/objects/pedestrians. Problem also occurs on highway, changing lanes, and when navigating exit ramp when there is a curve. Have had steering wheel cleaned and greased, but problem still exists. The column clicks during the turn if the power steering has failed. I see there has been no recall for this failure, and am looking for recommendation for repair, as my research has found little to remedy. A older senior friend with the same vehicle had difficulty navigating a turn in effingham nh a couple months ago, and went off the road, resulting in total loss of vehicle and fortunately, minimal injury to the driver.

- North Providence, RI, USA

problem #92

May 182011

Malibu Maxx

  • 65,000 miles
My Malibu maxx power steering light comes on while driver intermittently. I had the steering column replaced in 2008 for another issue. I know some day the steering will fail at a most critical time. Please investigate this and other steering column problems continue to occur. I can not buy another Chevy with this kind of workmanship. Not looking good for the bailout repayment promise.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #91

Mar 032011

Malibu Maxx

  • 149,000 miles
I have a 2004 Malibu maxx and I was driving on the freeway and lost my power steering in the vehicle while exiting on a ramp that turned 360 degrees... I suddenly had to fight with all my might to keep the car on the road and nearly crashed. I've been researching this issue and it is a highly known issue on the internet. If I turn off the car and restart it moments later it will work for a while then fail again unexpectedly... dangerous!!! very dangerous! I'm in the process of contacting a GM service department for a fix... but please help the tens of thousands of drivers on the road who are unsuspecting of this known issue.

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #90

Dec 152009

Malibu Maxx

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Malibu max. The contact was driving 30 mph when the power steering assist malfunctioned as the steering wheel became tightened. The power steering warning light was illuminated just before the failure and the contact stated that the vehicle became extremely difficult to control. The failure was experienced a minimum of three times and the vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was informed that the power steering sensor failed and would need repairing. The vehicle was not repaired. There were no recalls for the vehicle. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Stevens Point, WI, USA

problem #89

Feb 252011

Malibu Maxx

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. The contact was driving 35 mph when the power steering failed. The steering wheel became firm and the vehicle was uncontrollable. The engine was shut off and when restarted, the power steering was reset and the vehicle resumed normal operation. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was contacted in regards to the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 03/24/11 updated 04/07/11

- Watertown, NY, USA

problem #88

Jan 232011

Malibu Maxx

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. While driving 5 mph, the power steering locked up suddenly. The engine was turned off, restarted and the steering reset itself. The contact planned to have the vehicle inspected by an authorized dealer. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- New City, NY, USA

problem #87

Jan 202011

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • 169,000 miles
Power steering column is about to fail for the third time. First time at 45,000 miles, second time at 83,000, now at 169,000.

- Freeland, MI, USA

problem #86

Oct 182010

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • 151,000 miles
In a turn at higher speeds, the steering wheel becomes stiff, hard to turn, and the bell alarm goes off.

- Rio Vista, CA, USA

problem #85

Aug 282009

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • miles
I own a 2004 Chevrolet Malibu maxx. The power steering in the vehicle goes out while the car is in motion. When power steering goes out, I have to stop the vehicle where I am and turn the car off and restart the vehicle to get power steering to come back on. Also the left turn signal light continues to go out. I have replaced the light several times and it continues to blow after a day. The turn signal being out makes it hard for me to turn when at stop signs. Other drivers don't know I am turning and try to drive while I am making a turn.

- Phenix City, AL, USA

problem #84

Dec 092010

Malibu Maxx

  • 107,350 miles
Steering column failure, lack of control over vehicle.

- Columbia, CT, USA

problem #83

Oct 132010

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Loss of power steering. Was leaving a parking lot and pulling out onto street when power steering stopped working. Steering wheel then abruptly felt seized for a moment causing me to go straight into opposite lane. Then was able to regain control however steering with great difficulty to nearest dealer. When at dealer asked about recall or bulletin. Dealer said there was none, however they offered a fifty /fifty split to repair. Strange if they didn't think it was a defect. Refused service and contacted manufacture, they said my vehicle didn't qualify for "special recall". my car was an 04 "special recall" is for 05, I asked for an exception stating that it is the same part, they refused. One month later my car is totaled and it no longer has power steering.

- Willoughby, OH, USA

problem #82

Nov 152010

Malibu Maxx

  • miles
My 2004 chevorlet Malibu maxx has had repeated failure of the electronic power steering. The power steering has failed at both low and high rates of speed. The power steering assist goes out and makes the vehicle nearly impossible to steer.

- Pittsboro, NC, USA

problem #81

Nov 172010

Malibu Maxx

  • 71,388 miles
I was driving on highway at 35mph and I changed lanes. Upon steering to the right, the steering wheel locked up completely and a noise like the ding an open door makes sounded twice. I was able to make it to the side of the road. I turned off the car while I tried to catch my breath from being frightened. When I restarted the car everything was fine. I decided to drive through the parking lot making turns to see if it would happen again and it didn't. I am just very lucky that traffic was light today and I wasn't hit!

- South Beach, OR, USA

problem #80

Nov 102009

Malibu Maxx 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Getting "power steering error" intermittently since last one year. The error message goes away at restart, but comes back again later. This is serious matter as it could mean loss of power to the steering and may result in a crash. Please investigate it and have it recalled before some one gets killed.

- Akron, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?