Notes: The 2015 Chrysler 200 carries the torch of "never buy the 1st year of a new vehicle generation" with pride.

The 2015 model year is the first year of the Chrysler 200's 2nd generation. It has been plagued by problems from the start. Transmission failure at extremely low mileage, many recalls, problems stalling while driving... the list goes on. Maybe Chrysler should have stuck with the 1st generation.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,242 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 18)

problem #343

Mar 082018


  • 56,000 miles


On Thursday 03/8/2018 and Saturday 03/10/2018 we started our vehicle without incident and traveled less than 1/4 of a mile down our street when a warning alarm sounded and the dash board read something like, "pull over and place vehicle in park in order to start." When we tried to start (key-less car) it would not start right way and made an almost grinding sound. After about 30 seconds to a minute, eventually it started. I do see 2 recalls for this vehicle which describe the vehicle stalling without warning but when I place my VIN in the search it does not identify any recalls on this vehicle. The recall numbers I believe may relevant to our vehicle is Chrysler's R24 and S55.

- Catonsville, MD, USA

problem #342

Jan 012018


  • miles

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #341

Mar 032018


  • 69,000 miles
My car has stalled while driving, while almost immediately losing ability to steer the car. I repeatedly would have to put the car in park and try to restart the car in order to get the car home. As well as having a airbag light that comes on when every I over bumpy roads.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #340

Apr 122016


  • 509 miles


The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving between 20-40 mph, the vehicle shifted erratically and was difficult to shift between first and second gear. The vehicle was taken to landmark auto outlet (2350 prairie crossing dr, springfield, il 62711, (217) 793-6050) to be diagnosed, but the mechanic was unable to retrieve a fault code. The mechanic provided a software update to the tcm. The contact stated that the failure recurred and the vehicle was presently at the dealer for additional diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 509.

- Williamsville, IL, USA

problem #339

Feb 052018


  • 48,000 miles
Car was purchased used 8/1/17 for my daughter going to college. Car would not start on weekend test drive, they replaced the battery. I did get dealer to fix 3 open recalls. Sept 2017 my daughter was driving at college and car broke down while at a light, would not start.. got towed to dealer and it started. The dealer found an open code to replace fuse panel and completed fix. Dec 23 2017, car died while driving, however started 5 minutes later. Jan 2018, car would not start - jumped and it started. 1 hour later would not start or respond to jump. Towed back to dealer and next day when they got to it started right up. Feb 6 2018, car died while daughter driving it at 35-40 mph, she managed to get to the shoulder. After 10 minutes the car started and she took it to the dealer. They found a code to replace the PCM. Feb 18 2018 the car would not start. This car has had several recalls and now I will not let my daughter drive this car as her campus is 2.5 hours away and in the mountains - could not imagine what would happen if she was driving over the mountains and the car died. It is sitting in my driveway as I try to work with the dealer to buy back this car. Chrysler should be ashamed, this is obviously a known issue yet they can't fix it and are putting peoples lives at risk. I do not have the ability to attach service records at this time but I do have them.

- Moseley, VA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #338

Nov 232017


  • 37,000 miles
S55 recall concern: I feel completely unsafe in this vehicle!! I bought the vehicle in October 2017 starting in late November early December 2017 the vehicle started shutting off by itself when I am driving it shifts to neutral by itself and completely dies. It happens randomly when I am braking or accelerating. This happens at least every 3-6 miles I drive and I have to drive alot working an hour away. This is very scary especially when you are turning in the middle of an intersection and it just stops. Sometimes it gives warnings by lighting up random lights like slippery road, the check engine light, and sputters so I can anticipate it since it happens all the time!!! I am being told that it is because the vehicle is due for an oil change even though I am not over, I use full synthetic done by the dealership, and this is a safety feature for the vehicle but to me this is no safety feature if anything it is a death trap waiting to happen. I have had this vehicle less than 6 months and I am afraid to ride around with my child in it not knowing what will happen. In fact I go out of my way to go around intersections or dangerous expressways because I am afraid it will stop with her in the car. Please help!

- Buford, GA, USA

problem #337

Jan 252018


  • 32,000 miles


The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 20 mph and accelerating from a stop light, the rpms revved highly, but the vehicle barely moved. The contact stated that the vehicle felt as if it jumped into gear and made the tires screech. The following day, while driving 30 mph, the vehicle automatically shifted into neutral when the accelerator pedal was depressed. When the contact pulled the vehicle over, turned if off, and restarted it, the vehicle was able to shift into drive. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence. The dealer was contacted (russ darrow Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge of West bend, 3210 w Washington St, West bend, wi 53095) where it was determined that no recalls were associated with the vehicle. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,000.

- Campbell Sport, WI, USA

problem #336

Jan 012017


  • 10,000 miles
The vehicle will trigger transmission error. Will not disengage from park. The motor surges when downshifting causing a dangerous increase is speed. The vehicle will not start due to transmission error. Taken to dealer three times for software update. Does not resolve the problem.

- Jordanville, NY, USA

problem #335

Jan 272018


  • miles
The makes a rattling noise when it start for some reason, I donżT know if it normal and while IżM driving and trying to accelerate it makes that noise to. It makes the noise every day.

- Fort Pierce, FL, USA

problem #334

Jan 202018


  • 53,000 miles
Since day one of purchasing this vehicle, I have felt a lurch when I press the gas for acceleration. When pressing the gas, the vehicle will hesitate, then jump into motion. When going in low speeds it feels as if I have been rear ended. When I took this vehicle to the Chrysler dealership, the service technician told me its just a glitch in this car.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #333

Jan 082018


  • 40,000 miles


The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While attempting to shift the vehicle to the drive position, the gear became stuck in the neutral position without warning. The vehicle was unable to shut off due to the defect. The vehicle was taken to bayshore Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram (5225 interstate 10 East, baytown, tx 77521), but the failure was not diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The local dealer informed the contact that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000.

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #332

Oct 192017


  • 45,438 miles
My 2015 Chrysler 200 2.4L 45K would not shift from parking to drive, but sometimes it drives in reverse...

- New Cumberland, PA, USA

problem #331

Dec 012015


  • miles
Vehicle in motion has unexpected shifting to neutral, jumps into gear when accelerating and decelerating. Vehicle wiring to airbags is damaged with no accident. Car power randomly powers off in motion. These issues have been ongoing for about 2 years now since I got the vehicle.

- Fort Gordon, GA, USA

problem #330

Dec 012017


  • 25 miles
Car stalling out while driving. Stalled 4 times 12/10/17 then was driving rough, as I was going down the street the red lighting bolt came on along with the check engine light, parking light, traction control light. Went to the gas station to put gas in, started car and the car would not go into drive. It took around 8-10 minutes to get the car to go into drive. There was all kinds of warnings going across the screen saying electrical malfunction service immediately and transmission malfunction service immediately. So I take the car in and the tcm is needing replaced and the engine may need replaced. This is not ok for a 2015 car to have this many problems.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #329

Oct 232017


  • 18,000 miles
In late August 2017 I purchased this vehicle, within 60 days an alarm light came on and sounded off. I took the car into the service dept, and was told an adjustment was made and the car would be fine. A few days later the same thing happened, this time I was told the car needed a transmission; a 4 was put in the car instead of a 2 and it would be 6 months to a year before the part would be available, because there was a back order on this particular item. Due to manufacturing, this is a wide spread issue and there is no recall, the cars are being repaired as they are brought in. I was also told to continue driving the car I should not have any other problems other than the car may stall. Well, the gears are starting to slip and it takes a couple seconds to get in gear when pulling off from an idle position, along with that the alarms are still going off. The issue that the car could just cut off in the middle of driving is unnerving by itself. I no longer feel like I have a safe vehicle to drive. I can't continue putting myself at risk. The car is still under the full warranty.

- Beachwood, OH, USA

problem #328

May 292017


  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 45 mph, the service transmission warning indicator illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to garden city Jeep Chrysler Dodge Ram (283 N franklin St, hempstead, NY 11550, (516) 336-4712) to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the mechanic was unable to retrieve a fault code or duplicate the failure. Additionally, on several occasions while attempting to make a 3-point turn, the vehicle was shifted into reverse but failed to respond. The contact turned the vehicle off and back on, and the vehicle operated as intended. The contact stated that the failure recurred five to six times. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was informed of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #327

Dec 022017


  • 46,000 miles
The car wouldn't start and then it disabled itself. Finally able to get it started, it's started flashing through out the dash about the key-fob, replaced the batteries, that didn't fix it. Then it started appearing to be neutral while driving, the engine malfunction light came on, but there was no code. Restarted the car, mil off. Didn't drive for several days, had a difficult time trying to start the car, the car didn't want to reverse. Wouldn't go over 32 mph. Turned off restarted was able to go 50 mph. The mil was on, was able to a diagnostic reading - see attached. My dash is lite up like christmas. It is flashing transmission errors and parking brake errors. Why wasn't I notified the recall for this vehicle? I took car to the dealership the week of thanksgiving as this first stated 11/24/2017

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #326

Dec 012017


  • 21,000 miles
Transition will slip on takeoff and will allow the car to roll forward on a hill when placed in park.

- Keystone Heights, FL, USA

problem #325

Nov 292017


  • 26,000 miles
On November 29, 2017 at approximately 5:15 pm, was driving approximately 25mph in traffic on a two lane. I hit the brake to stop, no brakes, and I hit the person in front of me. After hitting them, I bounced off and continued to move with no brakes. My airbags did not deploy and I sustained injuries to me chest, neck, head and back. I was able to steer the car in the right side lane and eventually was able to steer into a parking lot; still with no brakes. I looked down to pull up the emergency brake and saw the shifter in neutral. I then put the shifter in park and the car finally stopped. I do not yet have the police report. I did not receive a ticket, but was taken by ambulance to the hospital.

- Bridgeton, NJ, USA

problem #324

Oct 102017


  • 45,000 miles
9-speed automatic transmission shifts extremely hard in gears 1-5. also lunges on downshifts. Software updates and new valve body have not fixed the problem. Dealer now states nothing else can be done since no check engine data can be found.

- St Cloud, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?