2011 Dodge Durango electrical problems: TIPM going bad, vehicle won't start or hard to start

TIPM Going Bad, Vehicle Won't Start Or Hard To Start

2011 Dodge Durango (Page 1 of 7)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Dodge dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: The third generation Durango is plagued by a defective TIPM, particularily in the 2011 and 2012 model years.

TIPM, which stands for Totally Integrated Power Modules, is responsible for controlling and distributing power to all the vehicle’s electrical functions. So when your TIPM goes haywire, bad things start happening. Things like your water pump can stop working, your engine can stall out and your airbags can randomly deploy.

8.2

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,250
Average Mileage:
56,550 miles
Total Complaints:
123 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace the TIPM (58 reports)
  2. not sure (42 reports)
  3. replace TIPM (13 reports)
  4. external bypass chrysler star case #s1308000399 (5 reports)
  5. recalled (2 reports)
  6. replace TIPM, headlight power module, and fuel pump module (1 reports)
2011 Dodge Durango electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Durango:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Durango Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #123

Mar 262018

Durango Crew V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This was the 2nd time I was driving when all the electronics started to malfunction. I then lost power steering and brakes before the vehicle started to die. This time I was lucky enough to be on a side street and was able to coast to a stop before the vehicle died. I was left stranded on the side of the road because of this damn car, yet again!!!

- chavemann10, Bellville, US

problem #122

Sep 212017

Durango Crew 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,700 miles

I have a 2011 Dodge Durango. In September 2013, all warning lights came in and went to the dealers. They could not find the cause, and after about two weeks, they replaced the TIPM. I paid for it. Then TIPM was recalled and Dodge returned to me that money.

On September 21, 2017, all the warning lights came back and took the car to the dealer. Again, they could not find the cause, and after about two weeks, the TIPM was broken and replaced. However, they said that the power steering pump had failed and had to be replaced. I received my car back on October 11, 2017. Of course I paid all the expenses.

If the steering pump fails, do I also need to replace the TIPM and the steering pump? Or did TIPM break down and replace the steering pump? Or did your technician replace TIPM because he could not find the cause?

At first you had to replace the TIPM, but after the replacement your technician said that the steering pump should also be replaced. I did not understand it at the time, but now I think the technician replaced the TIPM because he could not find the cause. Then I had to pay me all the expenses. What happened unfortunately to me?

Update from May 16, 2018: I changed TIPM again

On September 21, 2017, all the warning lights came back and took the car to the dealer. Again, they could not find the cause, and after about two weeks, the tipm was broken and replaced. However, they said that the power steering pump had failed and had to be replaced. I received my car back on October 11, 2017. Of course I paid

If the steering pump fails, do I also need to replace the tipm and the steering pump? Or did tipm break down and replace the steering pump? Or did your technician replace tipm because he could not find the cause?

- Ji K., Harbor City, ca, US

problem #121

Aug 112017

Durango Crew 5.7

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,000 miles

Dealership gave me run around. Said wiring needed to be fixed. Replaced Fuel Pump Relay and vehicle started. Now two days later, back to the same issue of not starting along with no electrical power anywhere.

Update from May 23, 2018: Fuel Pump Relay finally working. Now at 110,000 there is an overcharging issue. Vehicle shut off due to battery overheating. Two new batteries have been damaged and three alternators trying to diagnose the issue. Conclusion comes back to the TPIM being faulty, causing an overcharging issue.

- Leonard K., Baytown, TX, US

problem #120

Jun 012017

Durango LX 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For the passed couple of months, I would go to start my car and it would turn over and turn over and turn over, but it wouldn't start. Eventually it would. We thought maybe it was the battery since it was the original from year of the car. That was 200 bucks. Then last week when I was trying to get to a dr's appointment, I noticed my battery light on. I'd stop at a light and it would start sputtering...made it home to grab my paperwork for the appointment, go back out, and my car is dead. Alternator DEAD. Replaced the alternator last Wednesday, and my car ran great for about a week. Went to go out for lunch today...car is doing the turn over and turn over and turn over thing again...ugh. I think it is the TIPM sensor now. MONEY PIT of a vehicle lately!!!!

- dmogden14, Indianapolis, US

problem #119

Jan 122017

Durango Citadel V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles

SCARY, UPSETTING, UNRELIABLE, UNDEPENDABLE...Car acted POSSESSED 95% of the time, all of sudden it would just go crazy, DASH LIGHTS GOING CRAZY, CONSTANTLY BEEPING AT ME, WIPERS GOING OFF THE WHOLE TIME, automatic start not working, or car would start then turn off right away. Finally after having it in the shop 3 times and getting the car back, IT BROKE DOWN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE AND WOULDNT EVEN START. ITS NOW SITTING AT A CHRYSLER SHOP AND IM DRIVING MY 4 LOANER CAR. Just got this car 12/17/2016!!!!!!!!!

- Cindy F., Dubuque, IA, US

problem #118

Jul 272016

Durango Cintadel 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles

My Durango had every available warning light on and the front wiper wouldn't shut off. The dealer told me my TIPM went bad. So it was replaced and I paid $741. A day later had the same issue. Taking my Durango back tomorrow for more testing.

- Marcelo C., Huntingdon Valley, PA, USA

problem #117

Jul 152016

Durango V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I started having issues on 7/15/2016. Front wipers wouldn't shut off, unable to use high beam, turning signals etc. My car at the dealer and they think it's TIPM (go figure!). I understand if TIPM is replaced in 2016, Crysler may not reimburse it. They knew about this faulty TIPM. They should replace it at No Cost! Why do innocent consumers have to pay for their errors? This is a safety issue as well.

- snucky, Hazel Crest, IL, USA

problem #116

Oct 012015

Durango

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,000 miles

Fuel pump relay recall fixed the engine stalling problem. Still having other electrical problems though

- Sara B., Jamestown, ND, USA

problem #115

Jan 032015

Durango Express 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles

My 2011 Dodge Durango have a pain in the ass issue with the Totally Integrated Power Module (TIPM) going out causing the vehicle not to start, stalling fuel pump, and random alarm/horn going off. Luckily our Durango would not start in our driveway but other customers have been stranded hundreds of mile away from home. The repair costs can range from $1000 to $1400. Chrysler/Dodge refuses to do a recall on this known issue thats has effected thousands of customer, the dealer is refusing to help and at this moment im beyond pissed´╗┐ because i have no money to fix this f*cking problem.

- Diego P., Fayetteville, USA

problem #114

Nov 012014

Durango Citadel Hemi V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

Only after approximately 52k miles, our well cared for '11 Durango Citadel began to act completely possessed when trying to start the vehicle. It first began only during cold winter mornings and has slowly progressed. Whenever I try to start the vehicle with the remote, it fully starts and then shuts off a few seconds later. When we try to start the vehicle manually the problem gets even worse--the vehicle seems "stuck" in the cranking mode and never fully turns over. After 30 minutes of this repeated action, the vehicle will finally turn over and start completely...but then....the electrical displays goes crazy and all standard functions such as all display functions, sensors, & rear view camera shut off or go completely haywire. The displays often show that the emergency break is on (it's not) and flash repeatedly. The seats and mirrors also begin to have a mind of their own. On occasion lately when I have been in a pinch and must drive somewhere, this problem also causes the engine to accelerate & rev. Luckily I have been super cautious, but this just feels very very dangerous. There are currently no recalls to address this per our local dodge dealership & the faulty part I need to replace is on BACKORDER!! Thank you, Dodge for endangering my family! Next time, I'll be sure to purchase from a different brand.

- Holly V., El Reno, OK, USA

problem #113

Jul 222015

Durango LX 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just received my vehicle back on July 21, 2015 after it being at the dealership for the repair of the Fuel Pump Relay recall. My vehicle started up with no problem when I left the dealership and all warning lights on my vehicle were turned off.

I drove my vehicle for less than 24 hours before it started acting up again and would not start. I was stranded at a shopping center until I was able to get a ride back to work and schedule for the tow truck to pick up my vehicle and return it to the dealership.

It is very inconvenient that Chrysler does not offer some type of rental car or courtesy car while their customers are having to go through repairs and issues for the vehicle which clearly has electrical issues. The fact that the fuel pump relay was repaired under the recall should be evidence enough that there is something more wrong.

As a mother of 5, being without my vehicle is not feasible and it is unfortunate that Chrysler is not paying its customers for inconvenience and suffering.

There is more than just an issue with the fuel pump, the entire TIPM needs to be replaced!!

- Stephanie D., San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #112

Dec 012013

Durango LX 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

My vehicle began stalling and sometimes taking 2 to 3 times to crank start in November 2013. by December 2013 no vehicle became totally disfunctional. Prior to taking my vehicle to the dealership and prior to the recall, I did several google searches to determine if others had the same issues and I constantly came across the TIPM issue. When I took the vehicle to the dealership and informed that I had an idea as to what the problem was, they stated they couldn't not confirm "my thoughts" until they did a diagnostic search for themselves. After a day, I received a call stating that I was correct about the issue and that there was a "repair kit" that had been issued for this problem. I paid out of pocket and had the repair kit placed on my vehicle.

Approximately a year later, I receive notification that there was a recall for the fuel pump relay. I was later reimbursed for my issue.

- Stephanie D., San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #111

Jul 162015

Durango Crew Cab 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles

Wife driving the car when it completely shut down and couldn't be jump started. First diagnosis was battery which was replaced, then the alternator. When the alternator was found not to be the problem, they put old one back. First computer module was defective. Second one, the repair person found out the Chrysler has changed the method of programming and had to be towed to dealer to complete the repair.

Update from Aug 4, 2015: Wife driving the car when it completely shut down and couldn't be jump started. First diagnosis was battery which was replaced, then the alternator. When the alternator was found not to be the problem, they put old one back. First PCM computer module was defective. Second one, the repair person found out the Chrysler has changed the method of programming and had to be towed to dealer to complete the repair. The final explanation was the alternator was working intermittently and sent a power spike that killed the battery, PCM computer module and push button starter. The alternator also had to be replaced, over $2.5k in repairs plus 10 day rental. Still have to take the car back to dealership, they neglected to ask if there was more than 1 key fob for the car, now must take all key fobs and vehicle to the dealer for programming. Takes 45 min and their techs leave at 4 pm so I have to take off work to accommodate them. Still saying not subject to recall and out of warranty.

Now had the car back for 2 weeks and while my wife was following me that when she turns on her blinker, one headlight will go out and the fog lights blink. When the blinker is off the both headlights come on as normal and fog lights stop flashing. Preliminary diagnosis is now a Body Control Module and supposedly unrelated to the PCM problem but did not have a problem before this all happened. This will be the 5th time to the dealership in the last 3 weeks.

- Jeff K., St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #110

Jun 132013

Durango 5.7L Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,628 miles

Finally they were able to fix it after 20000 miles.

- Cindy D., Murrieta, CA, US

problem #109

Jan 052015

Durango Citadel 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,403 miles

Dodge Durango's have huge electrical issues. Researching this online there are hundreds of cases of TIPM failure commonly resulting in a loss of engine and electrical power while driving. This major safety issue is being investigated by NHTSA since Chrysler/Dodge/Jeep has only issued a recall on the fuel pump power module.

I spent $1300 to replace the TIPM to fix 37 out of the 38 warning lights, and then another $1300 for the other for a new headlight power module, which shorted out and, per the mechanic, shorted out the original TIPM (since they are in series with no protection between). The TIPM houses all of these power modules internally, so one bad short on a sub-component can ruin your entire TIPM. The recall on the fuel pump power module adds an external component for this subsystem to protect it from these TIPM failures, but does not address the TIPM issue!

- Adam D., Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #108

Sep 032014

Durango RT 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,500 miles

Went to start my new car (2 days old) and it failed to start the first time. I pushed the button again and it started. I chalked it up to a fluke, but now I know the TIPM is bad and needs to be replaced.

- lexine, Lakewood, WA, USA

problem #107

Sep 052014

Durango RT 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,600 miles

The car stalled while in park. My daughter was in a car accident at her driving school, so I quickly got in my new car (of 4 days) and the car would not start. It began knocking back and forth and shaking really hard. I had two other kids in the car who became frightened. I attempted to turn the car off, but it would not turn off. Then I shifted into drive and the car reacted worse (shaking harder). Eventually it shut off. I restarted and it took off.

- lexine, Lakewood, WA, USA

problem #106

Sep 302014

Durango RT 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,100 miles

The dealership has had my car since 9/22/14. My sales guy drove my car to another one of the Larson Automotive Groups service departments to assess the car. When I received a call back, I was told the problem was the throttle, needed to be flushed. My husband and I located a recall announcement on the TIPM for my particular car that is due to go into effect on 10/24/14.

They will not acknowledge the recall because the effective date is still several weeks out, yet my car is experiencing the issues identified in the posted recall. My salesman stated that when he drove the car to the service department he had the same stalling issue I experienced, but that it fired up on the second try. He explained that he stayed off the highway because something could go wrong, even though it didn't. He told me it rode fine once in gear. I asked him if he would put his wife and kids in the car, and he answered, "NO!" Then I followed up with, "Why should I put my kids in a car that you would not put your own family; is your family somehow more important than mine?"

At that point he stopped being helpful and they basically said we cannot help you. I have since found two other recalls that were in effect this spring and summer. Upon doing some research, I found dealerships are required to review cars for recalls before selling them. Clearly, they did not do this. I was sold a disaster waiting to happen.

I want a different car or something that makes it safe for me and my kids to drive in. They have asked me to take it back or pay for the throttle flush (which is not what is causing the problems). Shame on Chrysler and Larson Automotive Group for putting families at risk of injury or death.

- lexine, Lakewood, WA, USA

problem #105

Sep 222014

Durango RT 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,060 miles

The decision had been made to take the car in at this point. I returned to the vehicle and attempted to start it up. It turned on, but began shaking side to side really hard. I put it in gear hoping it would stop, but it got stronger. My daughter was in the car and asked if she should jump out. My husband came outside and witnessed it. He said it looked like a washing machine that was over loaded. Eventually I shifted back into park and the car began lurching forward as if he was going to take off. I hit the stop button and it did not turn off. I got pretty nervous, but after about 2 minutes, the shaking subsided and it died. I hit the start button and it fired right up as if nothing had happened.

The car is like "Christine", it appears to have a mind of its own, but it clearly is dangerous and should not be on the road until some fix is in place. Took it to the dealership and they could not replicate the stalling, shaking, or anything else.

- lexine, Lakewood, WA, USA

problem #104

Sep 222014

Durango RT 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,050 miles

I drove to my daughter's school and decided to turn the car off in an attempt to see if it would start (it was at least a safe place if it did not work). I tried at least a half a dozen times and nothing, this time it would not start. I decided to place one foot on the brake and the other I used to hit the accelerator when I pushed the start button. Much to my surprise it fired right up. I was able to drive it home.

At that point I told my husband I was done with the car and the dealership would have to make it safe before I would drive it. We decided to take it in for service.

- lexine, Lakewood, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?