ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

TIPM Faulty, Will Not Start, Hard To Start

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan (Page 1 of 7)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Dodge dealer.

8.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,230
Average Mileage:
79,250 miles
Total Complaints:
135 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace TIPM module (47 reports)
  2. not sure (33 reports)
  3. replace TIPM (24 reports)
  4. replace the TIPM (13 reports)
  5. bypass TIPM with relay for fuel pump (11 reports)
  6. reconnecting ground on TIPM fuse box (2 reports)
2011 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #135

Oct 222018

Grand Caravan Crew 3.6L Vvt

  • Automatic transmission
  • 207,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sorry for such a lengthy post, because this will be a long one. I just want to express my regret for buying yet another Dodge. As most of you know, Brian and I own a home in Florida, so we drive back and forth A LOT and we put a ton of miles on a vehicle. BUT, if you've heard of a TIPM, chances are you own a vehicle from Fiat-Chrysler (FCA). Think of it like a command center for all the electrical functions of your car, and in FCA's case a very, very dysfunctional one.

I bought my 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan Crew in Feb 2018. In March my tire sensors starting going off, We replaced all of them with no luck, the gauges would still read they were out. In April, the camshaft sensor went out while we were on vacation, and we replaced it, in Florida. In May the camshaft sensor went out again, shortly after having it replaced for the second time.

BUT GUESS WHAT? IT HAPPENED A 3RD TIME! Only a week later!!!! so YET AGAIN, IT WAS REPLACED. Our van would start acting possessed. Wipers would go off while driving down the road & while they were in the off position. The locks would lock and unlock by themselves while driving, seemed like every time it rained out windows would roll down by themselves over night or while we were in a store while the van was shut off.

In June the van started stalling while we would drive it. It would randomly die while idling. In July/Aug I had my oil changed, the following day my van wouldn't start. While in the moment I thought the shop had done something to it, since i had gotten frustrated with them there, (poor fellas) that clearly was not the case. I was under the impression my fuel pump had went out, so I paid to have that replaced. Around Sept the van wouldn't start. It would crank but not start. My fuel pump would turn on, after turning the key on and off several times. In Oct the fuel pump would run while the van was off, had to disconnect the positive on the battery so it wouldn't burn up. At this point, my van wouldn't start at all, and the van acted like it was dead.

I went and bought a new battery, day after i replaced that, my van needed to be jumped EACH time i wanted to start it. Today on Oct 22- Is my last straw. Thanks FCA, a mother and her two young children had to find a ride home because it stalled and shut down while sitting in a drive thru.

Never will I again buy anything that is made by the FCA.

I've been doing a little research, and my findings are absolutely disgusting. It’s widely believed that hundreds of thousands (or millions according to some) of 2007-2014 Chrysler vehicles have defective TIPMs that are putting owners in dangerous and sometimes just odd situations.

Of course, it’s not all rosy. The problem is so widespread that replacement TIPMs are on national back order! Chrysler remains silent while owners are left scrambling to pay for and order the part.

The Center for Auto Safety (CAS) filed a petition asking NHTSA to investigate alleged problems with Totally Integrated Power Modules (TIPMs) installed in Chrysler vehicles since 2007. Nearly a year later, that petition was denied.

For any of you wondering what has been going on with the FCA and the TIPMS, here is a recap for you!

July 3rd, 2007: Chrysler issued a recall for 296,550 Jeep Wrangler and Dodge Nitro vehicles from the 2007 model year. The vehicles were known to stall because the TIPM would reset itself due to a timing error. July 2nd, 2013: Chrysler recalled some vehicles that had airbags which weren’t deploying. The fix involved the dealers “reflashing the totally integrated power module).” November 22nd, 2013: A class-action lawsuit was filed against Chrysler for ignorning damgerous power management issues and a long wait for replacement problems. August 22nd, 2014: The Center for Auto Safety (CAS) petitioned the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) and asked them to open an investigation into TIPM issues. The CAS estimated 7 million vehicles have power issues. August 28th, 2014: A judge denied Chrysler’s motion to dismiss the class-action lawsuit from November, 2013. September 21st, 2014: Chrysler issues a recall for 189,000 vehicles including certain Dodge Durango and Jeep Grand Cherokees with bad TIPMs. November 16th, 2014: Another TIPM lawsuit gets filed in New York. It alleges Chrysler concealed the defect since 2005 and continued to install faulty parts until the 2014 model year. February 28th, 2015: Chrysler issues another recall for 467,000 SUVs because of fuel pump relay problems that cause engine stalling or starting problems. August 2nd, 2015: Nearly a year after the CAS petition, NHTSA says there’s no need to investigate FCA vehicles for stalling engines. September 20th, 2015: Chrysler agreed to settle the Dodge and Jeep TIPM lawsuit from November, 2013

So Thanks FCA, I am now left scrambling to find a different vehicle that is safe to haul my children around in.

- Amber B., Van Wert, OH, US

problem #134

Apr 012018

Grand Caravan Crew 3.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,000 miles

TIPM is faulty and have been replaced. Seems like it should have been recalled for the little $$ it actually costs to bypass it.

- Brian B., Spring Hill, FL, US

problem #133

Oct 142017

Grand Caravan LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

Started a couple months ago that when I tried to start the car, would crank but not turnover. After a few tries it would. Yesterday morning tried to start and it would crank but not turn over. Went online and I am sure this is the problem, the TIPM fuel relay switch.

- Leilani Y., Addison, US

problem #132

Jun 152016

Grand Caravan Crew 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Over a year ago intermittently when you would unlock the doors the horn would start going off and pushing the buttons on the fob after a couple minutes you could get it to stop (pulled fuses). Could not find anyone who had any idea what was causing it. Six months ago the battery started going dead had it checked and the alternator both were fine. Was able to track down that the TIPM had faulty relays that were not shutting down. Now the fuel pump runs non stop (must pull battery cable to keep battery from going dead). The horn relay and fuel pump relays are stuck and can not be replaced separately. From what I see online cost is about $1200 - 1500 to repair. Found a place to send the TIPM in and get it repaired for aprox. $300 and be without till it comes back or buy one off line but then you have to have it reprogramed for your rig.

- John T., De Soto, US

problem #131

Aug 112017

Grand Caravan Mainstreet

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles

STARTED WITH CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, TO THE ENGINE HITTING HARD WHEN PUTTING INTO DRIVE FROM REVERSE. THEN TO THE DOORS OPENING AND CLOSING WHEN I PUT VEHICLE IN PARK, THEN TO THE CAR NOT SHUTTING OFF WHEN I REMOVED THE KEY, TO THE CAR STARTING AND THEN DYING RANDOMLY, THEN FINALLY, THE CAR WOULD NOT TURN OVER WHEN I TRIED TO START THE CAR.

- cyn_kennedy, Bloomington, US

problem #130

Jun 152015

Grand Caravan Crew 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

Van started having problems starting, then stalling out and left us stranded several times. Wipers go on and off whenever they chose, rear backup camera stopped working, interior lights and dash lights flash on and off whenever they want as well. Most severe was not starting especially since I still owe $8000 on this vehicle. Found a temporary solution through an internet search and it has saved us so far but it is only a band-aid. If anyone is interested in the temporary fix please email me as I am not certain if I can post the website here or not. The engineer who sells the fix guarantees his bypass. We have used his bypass since July 2015.

- vkg1965, Baldwin Park, CA, USA

problem #129

Jun 012017

Grand Caravan 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,102 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We recently have been having issues with our van stalling while driving at all speed ranges. This is really concerning me as we most of the time have 3 children in this vehicle as it is used as our family vehicle and when it stalls you lose all control of the power steering and brakes which is really hazardous on the freeway.

Just this morning we almost got rear-ended as the van stalled doing about 65 MPH and we quickly began to slow down once it stalled causing the vehicle be hide us to basically swerve into the other lane causing a even bigger accident.

Now I'm reading all this complaints and finding out that Dodge will not come forward and replace these defective relays.

Dodge will be forced to once someone reports a fatality from this problem.

- John H., Cleveland, OH, US

problem #128

Mar 012017

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles

I have had problems off/on with my 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan cranking but not starting. The problem is getting worse and worried about the safety of my vehicle as it's our main source of transportation for our two young kids. I do not want to put out thousands I do not have when this issue should be recalled as its all over the internet as being an issue with pending lawsuits.

- Nicole B., Kent, OH, US

problem #127

Apr 122017

Grand Caravan 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,000 miles

My 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan Battery indicator came on, door locks locked and unlocks, transmission goes in and out of gear and then van dies. I put in a new battery and it runs fine until battery discharges so i charge it again and run fine(battery indicator light stay on still). I am told that it's the TIPM.

- DanTDM D., Eldora, IA, US

problem #126

Jan 232017

Grand Caravan 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,228 miles

I was having issues with my van starting. At first I thought it was just the weather as it started around Christmas. Then it started having issues all the time. I would have to put it in Neutral to get it to start, and even then it would take several tries throughout the day. I took it to a couple of places to have it looked at, and of course, every time it would start just fine for them. Finally, a friend looked at it and said that he had found online of the TIPM issues.

We took it to a dealership and that is what it was. We looked online to see exactly what it was and saw that there are some very serious issues with it that could have happened that could endanger the safety of myself and my children, so I do not understand why this hasn't been recalled. Especially the year that my vehicle was made has the most problems!! Then, to top it all off, I paid for a warranty and it wasn't covered under my warranty either, so I was out of pocket over $1000!!! Not happy at all.

- Kelly L., Bowling Green, KY, US

problem #125

Jan 142017

Grand Caravan Mainstreet 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,156 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

fix it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Karol S., Sussex, WI, US

problem #124

Jul 102016

Grand Caravan Crew 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,500 miles

The TIPM No Start issue occurred on our 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan the day after we got back from a road trip (thank the Lord). I researched the problem and found the temporary by-pass solution pretty quick and performed it to get the van to the Dealer. I went ahead and had them fix the problem at the Dealer. The mechanic knew exactly what the issue was and performed the "outboard relay" option to fix the issue. I wrote a letter to Dodge Customer Service explaining the issue and referencing the two other recalls on the Grand Cherokee and Durango. I provided my receipt and requested full re-imbursement. The response from Dodge Customer Service was basically “sorry for your problem however you’re out of warranty and there is no recall on this issue for your specific vehicle”. My next steps are to submit a follow-up letter and CC the Better Business Bureau.

- Justin P., Sand Srings, OK, USA

problem #123

Oct 142016

Grand Caravan 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,512 miles

if dodge is aware of its failure re the tipm part, then add me to any lawsuit!!

- billdgto, San Diego, US

problem #122

Jun 012016

Grand Caravan

  • Manual transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Out of no where, I had start up problems. It made a click sound, like it was dead. It had battery life to windows, radio, door locks, wipers, etc. it would just click. I researched and saw people had a trick to get it turned on. Turn it to the 1st position three times allowing the lights on the dash to come on, the fourth time turn on the car. It worked for months. One day it no longer worked.

I took it into the dealership and they told me to replace the fuel pump and TPIM. They told me the amazing price of 2500$ and it wasn't on warranty. I told them they could keep it. I researched online and found Verticalvisions.com. I reviewed thier video and decided to try it. It was less then 50$ for the cable, bypass thingy. Went to the dealership on a Sunday, installed it, jumped the car, it it started right up. I let it run for awhile because it' had been dead for 2 weeks.

Went back on Monday, complained again about the non recall and said I wasn't fixing the TIPM or fuel pump. Made them pay for my diagnostic fee because I was about to drive it off the lot fixing it myself. Told them about the bypass cable, called them crooks, and drove off the lot. They were shocked. Now I'll praying it will be recalled. I don't want to sell the car in a private sale and its almost paid off. I don't want another car payment. I'm going to wait it out and pray my inexpensive fix works for years on out!

I've only had one issue since the cable. It wouldn't start, again that damn clicking sound. I think it's the key fab because I noticed it didn't want to lock. After waiting for the tow truck, I decided to lock/unlock the van using the door lock button. I waited 20 minutes and the brat strayed right up.

One thing is for sure, I will never by a Dodge or Chrysler again.

- Hada M., Jacksonville, NC, US

problem #121

Nov 142016

Grand Caravan 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

Car will crank but not start, replaced the alternator twice, the battery once and getting ready to take it to the dealership to get TIPM replaced.

- Papa N., Kenner, LA, US

problem #120

Nov 302016

Grand Caravan Crew 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 117,000 miles

I used the quick fix bypassing the fuel pump relay after ready about other owners experiencing a similar issue. I think Dodge should repair/recall as it has been an issue with other models.

- dogreen1962, Houston, TX, USA

problem #119

Jan 112017

Grand Caravan Crew 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,108 miles

Known problem, not covered...what else can I say but pain in the ass!

- mikekbc, Langley, BC, Canada

problem #118

Dec 242016

Grand Caravan Crew 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles

Van would turn over but not start. So I would try again and again until it did start. After 4 months of this. on Christmas Eve, it failed to start and the battery died. I found a way to bypass the fuel pump relay via the fuse box and it worked. I ordered an external fuel pump relay to fix the problem. It's better than paying $1200+ for a new TIPM. If you are handy with cars the fuse box bypass is really easy. Google it.

- Keith M., Slc, UT, USA

problem #117

Dec 222016

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,000 miles

After fixed TIPM and paid 1505 dollars, and new problem with left read signal light. I called Dodge again and they said that I have to pay 110 dollars for checking. And after checked and we had to pay 321 dollars extra to fix the wired because they said that it was separated. And again more problem, after picked our Caravan, when we open the sliding doors, and it causes alarm every time! We don't trust Dodge again because they will use our money for B.S. excuse! It was at Dodge company, Georgetown, Texas near Round Rock, Texas. I paid almost 2000 dollars.

Update from Jan 5, 2017: I mean right rear not left read.

- Jon O., Austin, TX, USA

problem #116

Jul 012015

Grand Caravan 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,109 miles

The van would not start reliably, often leaving my wife stranded at the store or school. Did some online research and found out that Dodge has an issue with the TIPM. I ordered and replaced the TIPM myself and had to have the dealership program it. The front directional blinkers stopped working after this was done and still don’t work. Dodge quality is awful. I have many issues with this vehicle.

- Eric S., Dundee, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?