ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

8.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,410
Average Mileage:
67,300 miles
Total Complaints:
30 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace TIPM module (23 reports)
  2. not sure (7 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2012 Dodge Grand Caravan electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Sep 162018

Grand Caravan V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 67,784 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I know there have been several recalls on this vehicle but just now hearing about problem after doing some research. This is very annoying as this is my only means of transportation for me and my kid. Car will not start, making strange noise. I am on a fixed income and can't afford costly repair bill. I just pray that this is still under warranty and or a recall problem. Just drove the stupid thing last night (Sept 15, 2018) and get in to go to church this morning (Sept 16, 2018) and it won't start..so inconvenient!!! Though I am thankful it did go out on me while driving!!!!

- Elizabeth H., Marietta, GA, US

problem #29

Oct 052015

Grand Caravan SXT 3.6L 6 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

The van for a few weeks would occasionally not start on the first attempt, it would crank, just not start. At first I thought I just didn't turn the key long enough to start, but in the beginning of October it started getting worse and I knew there was a problem. I took it to a mechanic on Oct 7th and they couldn't duplicate the no start issue and couldn't find anything, so I was asked to bring it back when their mopar guy was back. We thought it was a fuel pump issue so we tried to run a cleaner through it, but after a few days it only go worse. On Oct 19th I brought it back to the mechanic (still thinking it was a fuel pump issue) and they said the crank senor was not responding. They replaced that TWICE but it still wouldn't respond to the programming. Had to pay $150+ for the crank sensor... They finally said that I would need to bring it to the dealership because it most likely was the main computer and since THAT part would be covered under warranty they could replace it without any out of pocket. I brought it to the dealership and they informed me it was the TIPM and that it would cost over $1,000 to fix. The guy at the dealership said it's "not a common problem" so they couldn't get the part from their warehouse, they had to order it from the manufacturer and it would be in at the beginning of next week (Oct 26th or 27th). I hadn't heard anything so I went into find out what was going on and he informed me that the part had to be MADE because "it's not common" and would hopefully be in around Friday (Oct 30th). Still no word. And today I found out this is NOT UNCOMMON THAT THERE IS ACTUALLY A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FOR THIS VERY ISSUE!!!! They will not give me a loaner and I have 3 kids that i have no way of getting around in a little Kia Forte.

- jbain9, Palmetto, FL, USA

problem #28

Sep 112016

Grand Caravan SE V6 Pentastar

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,633 miles

This module was replaced entirely a year after I had the TCM updated by Dodge for a recall and shortly after that had a transmission rebuild because the TCM had been telling the transmission to operate incorrectly for 152,789 km. (the transmission work was not covered and for another complaint section)

So while driving home from work with my 2 kids in the car my van chugs and goes into limp mode on the highway not allowing me to exceed 40 km / hr on a 100/km road. I got it home and called my mechanic. I was able to get it there the next day and after diagnostics and replacement of pistons, sensor and wires and a fluid flush and reprogram of the computer it was not responding. so they had to replace it. Cost $1,100. Dodge says..... out of warranty.

- justineab, Calgary, AB, Canada

problem #27

Jun 172017

Grand Caravan ES 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Multiple attempts to start, perhaps occurring most often in the morning when the vehicle is cold. The problem gets worse over time and eventually won't start at all. Unexplained battery drainage due to a relay that is stuck in the closed/on position. You can likely hear the fuel pump running if listening from the rear of the vehicle after it's turned off. Battery drainage may still occur even after a new battery is installed. The vehicle stalls while driving and you coast to a stop. The vehicle won't start and appears to be out of gas

EVERYTHING STARTS FROM THE VERY FIRST MOMENT WE STEP OUT OF THE DEALER. IS DRIVING US CRAZY AND THEY DO NOT WANT TO HELP US WITH THIS.

- Nellies S., Fort Defiance, US

problem #26

Jun 152016

Grand Caravan 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles

I will never purchase a Dodge product ever again in life and anyone who listen I will tell them not to purchase any as well.

I purchased this 2012 Grand Caravan in 2013 and since then I have replaced starter, alternator, and now a total integrated control module. This van was purchased for my Daycare, to transport children to my school, home and field trips.

As I sit typing this email the Van is in the shop being repaired again. I had to cancel two field trips that I had planned before my summer students went back to school. I am very very sad. my students was looking forward to the field trips.

As soon as I can get this Grand Caravan out of the auto shop, I am going to sale or trade this (Van) disappointment.

- Pamela R., East Point, GA, USA

problem #25

Mar 012017

Grand Caravan SXT 3.6L Pentastar

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

I purchased the van used 1 year ago when it had 99,000 miles. Has given good service for 18,000 miles and then started to have some problems with electrical components in the past 2 months. First, the power door lock for driver's door would not work consistently and progressively this became worse. Then two weeks ago the fuel pump continued to operate after the engine was turned off. (I heard the noise of the pump back in the fuel tank but didn't know at the time what I was hearing.) The battery was dead the next morning. Since then, the car has difficulties starting or staying started and some of the power doors (passenger sliding door and tailgate) intermittently do not close when the the button is pressed. All are problems tied to the TIPM gradually failing. Fuel pump not helping with starting the engine is the most serious problem. So far, the van has been able to be started successfully but often requires multiple attempts. TIPM is a costly item to replace or repair and may require a digital code when it is replaced with a used one from another vehicle. There is a fuel pump relay bypass cable that is described and sold online that can take care of the problem with the fuel pump, the the other electrical problems that are occurring tell me that I've got to the the TIPM replaced. Apparently the TIPM problems are well-known to Chrysler. Any hope of relief from a recall is non-existent at 120,000 miles.

From the first day I bought the van, I did have a problem with the power rear "wing windows" not operating. There was a factory recall for the switch inside the driver door to be replaced. Perhaps this was part of the TIPM problem too and I did not know. Interesting that all of these other problems started the week I got the van back from the dealer when the wing window problem was corrected--replacing the switch under recall did not solve the windows working. The dealer rep said that the technician traced the problem to a faulty wire--maybe actually something to do with the TIPM and then that aggravated things so that these other issues began?

- caravan owner, Aurora, US

problem #24

Mar 022017

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,367 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Wipers would not shut off - even with the vehicle off and keys out! Took it to Pep Boys and they determined that the TIPM was bad/faulty after replacing column switch and wiper motor. Now have to go to dealer to get repaired and all indications look like we will be paying about $1200 to have repaired. This is very unnerving to read so many complaints about this problem and Dodge not considering a recall. I used to be a Dodge/Chrysler and stopped for many years because of this kind of disservice to their customer base. After many years, we gave Dodge another chance and not happy we I am right now with the 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan. Do the right thing Dodge and take care of your customers! The imports do and that is where we will be heading again if we have to bare the brunt of your engineering shortcomings. Thank you.

- William M., New Hartford, US

problem #23

Dec 082016

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,700 miles

We bought our van 2nd hand in April 2014 and had it taken to the dealership that September as the check engine light kept coming on, it was still under warranty at that time. They hooked it up and the computer said our headers were blown, so it was replaced no problem. Our van has only been taken in maintenance (oil change, brakes, tires) and we had no other issues. Starting September 2016 we noticed our lights would go on for no reason and our doors would open on its own. We initially chalked it up to our key being faulty and replaced the batteries, but every so often it kept happening. In October our battery died, we figured the last time we changed it was when we originally got the van so maybe it was just time and replaced it. Then in November our car would not start right away. It started with having to crank about 2 times. Especially in the morning after it sat unused for a couple hours, but then throughout the day it was fine. Soon though it took 5 times before it would start so we took it into to our mechanic to see if there was an issue. Nothing registered on the computer, we figured maybe our fuel lines were clogged and we did a flush. It fixed the starting problem for about a week and then it happened again. We could hear our car cranking, but it would not start and we would have to crank it a couple times. Then while driving our car just stopped. Everything shut down, mind you while driving downhill at about 45 mph. The wheel locked and luckily my husband was driving, he was able to get to the side. We towed our car to the mechanic who said now the computer is saying the fuel pump is bad. So we changed that. Our van worked perfectly...for one day. The next morning it would crank, but not start. After towing to the dealership they stated the next appointment was in January 2017 and our van would be on standby. We are fortunate we did not have to wait that long to have them look at it, but now they stated we needed to replace the battery...again! The problem was our TIPM. It basically fried our brand new battery. Total cost for replacing just the TIPM $1200!!!! That is not including $140 for diagnostics and $140 for a new battery. How can this happen to a car that is only 4 years old? More importantly this is our only car. We have 4 children (age ranges from 2 years old to 15 years old) their safety is our priority. I don't know if I can ever trust Dodge cars ever again.

- jen63n8, Mililani, HI, USA

problem #22

Nov 112016

Grand Caravan 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

This is the second Dodge Grand Caravan that I purchased from Allen-Samuels Dodge -- and that last Dodge I will ever buy! The TIPM went bad. We took the van to a local shop because the dealership could not get to it for several days. It took us two batteries and an alternator before we were told it was the TIPM. There was no recall. Before repairs could be made, they wanted 169 for diagnoistics. Then the repair cost would be about $1400. Wefound the TIPM and replaced it ourselves. Now that TIPM and it is going out too! Has anyone sought legal advice? I'd like to see if we can get a class action suit going for repair on the caravans!

- Carolyn S., Baytown, TX, USA

problem #21

Sep 082016

Grand Caravan SXT 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

It sucks car would not shut off after key was taken out

- Susan D., Chgo, IL, USA

problem #20

Nov 102016

Grand Caravan Crew V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2012 Dodge Grand Caravan Crew model. It just turned over 60,000 miles recently. I have had to put a new battery in it, it has been stalling at stop lights/turning in intersections, fuel pump still running after turning vehicle off, having problems starting, and now not starting at all. I have had a mechanic verify that it was the TIPM that is responsible for all of this. I have also read where many people have had this same problem. I also know that Chrysler shot down a request for a recall on this issue and that there is a Class Action Complaint against them on this issue. What can be done about this issue? Thanks!

- bmullis44, Grayson, KY, USA

problem #19

Oct 012016

Grand Caravan V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

Approx 30 days after fuel pump replacement I am receiving indications of major power malfunctions. 1. Interior power door locks inoperable unless using keyless entry fob. 2. Fuel gauge registers empty. 3. Interior dome lights work inconsistently. 4. SES (service engine soon) light is on. 5. Parking brake engaged light on constantly.

- I have checked alternator output to confirm correct voltage. - Battery checked by NAPA, I wanted to replace it but salesman refused to sell me one because mine checked out fine and replacement was $174. - Have attempted soft reset of TIPM as ref'd on http://www.verticalvisions.com - Going to mechanic friend 10/21 for computer read out check just to get second opinion however I fully expect to replace TIPM. - Final analysis, after 19 years of ownership of multiple MOPAR vehicles, never going to buy another Chrysler product again.

- Christopher P., Easley, SC, USA

problem #18

Sep 292016

Grand Caravan SE 3.6lo0

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,084 miles

My van randomly loses power while I'm driving in traffic, and nearly caused accidents because I lost my power steering, while rounding curves and instantly stalled in front of moving traffic. It didn't just stall in one incident. After suddenly losing my power steering, it started veering towards the right, into other cars, around a curve. I found out about the lawsuits against Chrysler for this defective TIPM issue, because they refuse to order a recall. Even if I had more than $1,000 to spend to get it fixed, they would replace it with the same defective part.

I have been advised that this poses a serious risk to my life and the lives of my family. I am a single, disabled mother and have no clue what I'm going to do for a car to get to medical appointments. I still have to make a big payment on a vehicle every month, yet I can not use it. I've only had it for 3 years. If Chrysler doesn't start resolving this issue for me, they are going to see this story plastered all over the news. I don't know what else to do.

- Lisa B., Salem, OR, USA

problem #17

Aug 012016

Grand Caravan V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 132,000 miles

First the van started breaking on its own as I drove down the road. Another time as I was braking the cruise control continued to accelerate. We took it to Astor Dodge. They said fuel pump for $ 800. We paid it and 2 days later same issue. Then they said TIPM module. We replaced it. Before we even got 1 mile down the road the air bag lights were coming on and the left turn signal did not work.

We took back and they supposedly fixed air bag issue. Next day same issue. Van won't start. Just towed to the dealer for the 3rd time now. The RED lighting bolt was on once again and won't start. This is a very dangerous issue as it just stops running. Luckily I was in a parking lot in neutral this time. First the abs light came on and than it started shaking and shut down. Vehicle will not start. $ 1,800 so far and Dodge don't give a crap. I fear this is potentially turning into a dangerous situation. I don't think I can allow my family in this vehicle.

- jeffsjs, Little Ocking, OH, USA

problem #16

Jul 012016

Grand Caravan V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles

This is the third time since December of 2015 that our TIPM has fritzed out on us. Van surges, all the warning lights come on on dashboard and then the van loses power. Engine is revving but van will not go above 10-15mph. Have filed complaints with Dodge all three times this has happened. They did help to cover the repair cost the first time and pay for a rental as it took two weeks to fix. Second time we never heard back from our claim rep. - just filed another claim with them tonight after it happened while I was attempting to get onto a highway with our 10 year old daughter in the van. This is a dangerous flaw in this vehicle - they need to do something.

- onefatfrodo, Atglen, PA, USA

problem #15

Oct 042015

Grand Caravan SW V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles

Dodge never said anything about this problem with TIPM.

- Danny C., Lutz, FL, USA

problem #14

Sep 162015

Grand Caravan 3.2V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,680 miles

Please note, I did not record the times and dates of problems.

Problem started one day after driving around, as I pulled up to my street, the headlights started flickering, it looked to me like a voltage regulation problem. Turned car off but headlight stayed on, suspected bad alternator at first but then, when light stayed on, suspected computer issue..

Re-racked system by disconnecting battery cable for a couple of minutes, to see if it had something to do with a computer box. Re-connected battery and things returned to normal. This was my first issue with this car and it had to be around 2013 or some 2 years ago. (I am an aircraft mechanic so I see a lot of computer glitches from time to time.)

I've had this car for a year, bought it used in October/November 2012 from Enterprise Car Sales. It had 29,000 miles when I bought it.

Second time I had issue with this same occurrence happened in mid day, with wife in passenger's seat in front next to me. Engine just cut out while driving on FM 1960. I must have been going around 20 mph since I had just pulled into the highway from a red light at a shopping plaza. Suddenly, engine shut down, no electric power in my car, I pulled into parking lot with no power in car, just rolled right into a parking lot with just enough momentum to pull off the main highway. If this had happened to my wife, I doubt she could have pulled this off.

I pulled negative cable off, re-connected cable, and luckily, returned to normal, but this gave me a bit of a scare. This happened around summer 2015, probably around a year or more after my first issue with electric power acting crazy. I didn't document time or date.

Third instance with engine electrical problems was more recent, about a month ago, could not open doors with car keys, acting really funny. Used emergency key to get in. Car in parking lot, put key in ignition, would not turn, no power, Suspected same issues as history had shown. Opened up hood, pulled negative battery cable, "Re-racked" computer or hopefully (Re-Set) once again, and returned to normal.

I am still driving around like this but have no real plans to change anything nor spend the money for a TPSM, which is the issue I suspect it is. Just have to make sure it doesn't cut out on my on highway, my biggest concern.

- Joe A., Houston, USA

problem #13

Oct 282015

Grand Caravan SXT 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,296 miles

HOT!!!! Took vehicle in for a diagnostic test was told the problem was 80% the fuel pump, replace three days later vehicle wont start..Took to dealer now saying the TIPM Module.

- odumtx, Killeen, TX, USA

problem #12

Aug 192015

Grand Caravan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

My wife uses this car to transport my children. Van is constantly stalling with no power to start back up. Sometimes this happens in the middle of busy intersections. Called Dodge and there is no recall on this even though there is extensive information regarding this problem on-line including on-going law suits. What is going on? This is a dangerous problem and a recall needs to be issued soon before someone gets hurt.

- Chris T., Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #11

Oct 132015

Grand Caravan SE 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles

By reading everyone else's combined issues I believe this is the problem. At random it wouldn't start, thinking it was battery or alternator we jumped it and nothing. Tow guy said probably starter but it can't be because there is no power either. No locking doors with key fob or rolling up the side window. Completely dead. If any of you are still having problems I found this page with lawsuit info and recall info. Not under the dodge listing but the Chrysler only though 2012 Dodge Caravan was a model I'm the lawsuit thus put on the recall list. Check it out even if you paid for it to be fixed you should be entitled to reimbursement under law suit

http://www.chryslerproblems.com/trends/tipm/

- Shannon K., Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?