CarComplaints.com Notes: I hope I can stop you from buying this vehicle before you find out that it won't be able to stop you.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,738 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Dodge Journey engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Dodge Journey:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Dodge Journey Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Oct 102019

Journey

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving, all electrical goes out or flickers. The car will sometimes lose power on acceleration above 20mph regardless if turning, on highway or neighborhood roads. This has happen a few times since last month and thought it was my battery. I exchanged the battery and the issue wasnt resolved.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #20

Aug 172019

Journey

  • 164,000 miles
At times my vehicle will not accelerate beyond 35-40 mph. Once it reached this speed the vehicle shakes uncontrollably. This has happened on both city streets and the highway. I had to immediately get off of the highway. It is very unsafe with a child in the car and I am afraid to drive the vehicle.

- Marshall, MI, USA

problem #19

Jul 082019

Journey

  • 140,000 miles
2010 Dodge Journey - on July 8, 2019 my wife stopped at a local station for gas but when she pulled out of the station she lost all dashboard lights. The radio was playing but the controls were not working to turn the radio down or off. She decided that since the vehicle seemed to be running okay she would continue to her next stop. When she arrived at her next stop she pulled into a parking spot. All dash lights etc were still off. While depressing the brake and attempting to place the car in park the RPM's increased dramatically and she lunged forward and crashed into the building. The air bag did not deploy and the headlights were not damaged. However give the damaged cased by the fallen debris and some under carriage damage the car was determined a total loss. Since there were no recalls for the sudden acceleration problem there seem to be no interest on the part of the Chrysler dealer or my insurance agent to investigate the crash any further.

- Leroy, NY, USA

problem #18

Mar 242019

Journey

  • 154,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have replaced the alternator twice since we bought it. But the engine light comes on, the and light comes on and the traction light comes on. Sometimes the just flash off and on. Then the next two to three days these lights are persistently on and the car does not want to go over 20 to 30 miles per hour. Two of the four cylinders seems to be "misfiring" or not firing at all. All these things are obviously happening when you are driving the vehicle. And sometimes when you are coming to a stop sign of traffic light, the vehicle will just shutdown. Then you have to try and jump it off for it to crank again....if it will crank at all. Had to tow it to a garage for repair on March 24, 2019. Replaced the battery, alternator(for the second time), and spark plugs.

- Carlton, GA, USA

problem #17

Jun 012015

Journey

  • 99,999 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. On several occasions, the windows independently rolled up and down, the horn activated independently, and the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact also stated that the battery was replaced twice; however, the failure was ongoing. Jt's dodgeland and Fiat of columbia (190 greystone blvd, columbia, SC 29210, (803) 832-1255) was contacted, but the contact decided not to have the vehicle diagnosed due to the cost. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 99,999.

- Irmo, SC, USA

problem #16

May 192018

Journey

  • 112,000 miles
I have a 2010 Dodge Journey and the transmission has been slipping out of gear since I have had the car the car has been in and out of the shop since I've had the vehicle and now I'm sitting on the side of a road cause the transmission went out even though I have serviced the transmission and everything to this car

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #15

Sep 152017

Journey

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our accelerator pedal snapped off while accelerating. This was during rush hour traffic on I-55 in Illinois by mile marker 261. The vehicle was in motion already, the broken gas pedal happened when I went to accelerate further. I was driving straight. There was no shoulder on the left where I was traveling and I had to cross multiple lanes of traffic to get to the right shoulder. If I had to stop, I would not have been able to get out of driving lanes as the pedal snapped all the way up where the shaft meets the firewall. Illinois state police came to assist after Dodge refused to send a tow truck because the vehicle was no longer under warranty, when I communicated that this was far more than a warranty issue, they responded by stating that the supervisor was "too busy" to speak with me despite our children and us being stranded on the side of I-55 during rush hour. The pedal is made out of a plastic and this plastic snapped easily under normal driving conditions. There are approximately 97,000-98,000 miles on our vehicle.

- Des Plaines, IL, USA

problem #14

Nov 202011

Journey

  • 6,300 miles
I've had electrical problem ever since I bought this car the horn goes off randomly the fob doesn't work any of the locks and sometimes won't start my car transmission jumps gears heater vent makes weird noise basically this car has so many electrical problems it drains my battery every other day I really can't pin point because it has different issues I'm afraid to go anywhere because I never know if it will start back up that's another thing it shuts off as if I turned the key off as I'm driving or come to a stop took it in spent

- Pevely, MO, USA

problem #13

Oct 152016

Journey 6-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Driving down the interstate, all of a sudden my heating/cooling would shut off along with my radio. Then it would come on. It did this several times. Shortly after that, my turn signals no longer worked and it caused me to almost get in an accident. I was driving approximately 65-70 mph. It continued to do this even after stopping. A week later, as I got up to go to work in the morning, it wouldn't start. It would just click when attempting. It wasn't sending the signal to the starter to get it going. I was stranded. I feel like my vehicle is possessed and it's really scary.

- Rock Falls, IL, USA

problem #12

Dec 312014

Journey

  • miles
After getting off from a long day at work. Leaving the parking lot on the second floor from work I was coming down the ramp when I lost complete control of the vehicle. The vehicle completely shut down on me leaving me to floor the break to stop the vehicle almost causing me to crash into the curb. All service lights come up on dash board windshield wipers started going on and the car completely shut off worst thing is after doing research about my vehicle is that it's been a common problem with all Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge vehicles. Repairs for this is about 1,200$ something customers are subject to pay due to not being covered under warranty. Chrysler needs to address this issue for their customers safety!!!!

- Las Vegas , NV, USA

problem #11

Aug 292014

Journey

  • 95,688 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving home from work at approx. 4:15pm, I was crossing the san francisco bay bridge with the flow of traffic going about 60mph. All of a sudden the RPM's gauge went to almost 5. the engine was loud and the car lost power and began to decrease to about 40mph. I quickly turned on my hazard lights and basically coasted until I could exit the bridge. I saw an oil change shop and asked them to look at it. They told me I had a sealed transmission and needed to seek a tranny specialist. The check engine light icame on and I have had the car looked at twice to no avail. No one seems to know how to fix the problem. I am getting error codes P0792, P0734, and now as of 11/1/2014 P0733. This care is very unsafe. Some days it drives perfectly other days you can't go past 35mph, staying in 1st and 2nd gear. Avoid all freeways at all times!! it's a death trap!!

- Hercules, CA, USA

problem #10

Oct 052013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My first complaint is that if my husband or myself accidentally hit the ignition switch while the car is in motion the car will shut off. In addition if this happens before we start driving the car will shut off and the dash board, the center console and the ac will all shut off. I have informed Dodge of this problem twice and have not gotten any correspondence in return. During the second call I was informed that if I did not have a recall notice sent to me that my car is not apart of any active recalls and therefore they cannot do anything for me. Secondly, just recently on 10/16/2014 while I was trying to take my 7 year old son to the er, my car would not start. I thought it could be the battery, but the lights and everything else was working. After several attempts and after me tapping the ignition switch the car finally started. Everything in the car comes on however, the car makes a clicking noise and does nothing else. A week later it did the same exact thing on 10/22/14. I looked online and all behold there are several complaints going back to 2009 there are also youtube videos. My question is why is Dodge not being held responsible for there negligence, clearly there is a known issue. What tragedy has to happen before Dodge does something to resolves these issues for their customers. I would also like to add that the Dodge Journey is by far the worst car that Dodge has ever produced!

- West Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #9

Oct 052013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
My first complaint is that if my husband or myself accidentally hit the ignition switch while the car is in motion the car will shut off. In addition if this happens before we start driving the car will shut off and the dash board, the center console and the ac will all shut off. I have informed Dodge of this problem twice and have not gotten any correspondance in return. During the second call I was informed that if I did not have a recall notice sent to me that my car is not apart of any active recalls and therefore they cannot do anything for me. Secondally, just recently on 10/16/2014 while I was trying to take my 7 year old son to the er, my car would not start. I thought it could be the battery, but the lights and everything else was working. After several attempts and after me tapping the ignition switch the car finally started. Everything in the car comes on however, the car makes a clicking noise and does nothing else. A week later it did the same exact thing on 10/22/14. I looked online and all behold there are several complaints going back to 2009 there are also youtube videos. My question is why is Dodge not being held responsible for there negligence, cleary there is a known issue. What tragedy has to happen before Dodge does something to resolves these issues for their customers. I would also like to add that the Dodge Journey is by far the worst car that Dodge has ever produced!

- West Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #8

May 192011

Journey

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey. The contact stated that while driving with the curse control activated, the rpms and speed would increase while the contact was driving downhill. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer for a diagnostic test. The dealer stated that the RPM reading and the speed was normal. The contact did not call the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Buena Vista, VA, USA

problem #7

Jun 172013

Journey

  • 52,019 miles
Upon acceleration, the plastic gas pedal broke off while driving down the road.

- Burgettstown, PA, USA

problem #6

Apr 212013

Journey

  • 34,000 miles
The Dodge Journey has a history of transmission faults, loud and noisy and rough transmission shifts. While shifting into a great it will make a loud thud and the car will jerk. We started to get used to this as it has happened since day 1. we let Chrysler know about this and apparently this is "normal." I have never had a similar issue with any other car so to me it is not normal. So fast forward to this past weekend. We were going to tow a few items and drop them off. So everything is loaded and ready to tow, we are on a flat surface with no incline at all, start the car up and put it into drive and bam! a loud noise while we tried to put it into gear. The car was still running while this happened and we started to roll backwards, while in drive. I tried to hit the gas but it just revved a few thousand rpms. I hit the brakes and put it into park and then drive again, but the transmission was still not engaging. Something happened causing the loud bang and no throttle response to the drivetrain. After I put it in park, walked around and then got back in starting the car up again; the car engaged gear this time. Everything ran perfect and then I took it to the Chrysler dealership, they said they could find no evidence what happened or what was wrong, but reassured me again that the loud transmission shifts are normal. So this could be potentially dangerous if this was to happen while on the road or at a stop somewhere.

- Cadillac, MI, USA

problem #5

Feb 202013

Journey 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Twice today, my 2010 Dodge Journey shut off after making a right hand turn. The vehicle stopped accelerating and became difficult to turn. Luckily, I wasn't in busy traffic and no one was turning behind me. Otherwise, my kids and myself could have been seriously injured from an accident. I checked on-line to see if anyone else experienced the same problem and found numerous complaints about similar issues. I called Chrysler and they told me that my vehicle didn't qualify for any recalls of that nature. What if I was traveling on the highway with a semi-truck behind me?

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #4

Aug 042012

Journey 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
The check engine keeps on coming on and staying on. I have noticed problems with the car losing power while I am driving or accelerating; this has happened several time. I recently had to replace the brakes and rotors; it drives horribly every time I tried to stop the car would tremble. I expected the car to not have these problems as it is fairly new and I do not consider it to have alot of mileage. I am really concerned about these problems as I drive my car with three small children. I don't have the money to keep taking it for a diagnostic each time the light comes on; if the company is aware of this problem; they shouldn't charge people so much to check the codes or they should have a recall to fix the ongoing problems.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 262011

Journey

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Dodge Journey AWD. The contact was driving with the cruise control set to 55 mph when the engine exhibited an abnormal increase in rpms of over 5,000. The contact had to switch out of gear to allow the vehicle to decelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised that they could not duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 33,000 and the current mileage was 36,600.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #2

Jun 082011

Journey 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
The cruise control on my 2010 Dodge Journey surges / jerks / and RPM increases considerably when engaged and going downhill. On flat surfaces it seems to work correctly, however there has been two occasions, just recently, when my wife was operating the vehicle to and from work at Mississippi state university, that has us alarmed. The distance is approximately 30 miles one way and there are only 3 short downgrades that this occurred on. This problem does seem to be increasing over the last few weeks. Thank you for any consideration pertaining to this problem. I have replied about this problem and apparently there are others with this same problem that has been classified as "no fix". if I could I would return this vehicle to the Dodge dealer because there has been nothing but problems with this vehicle. This has now become, yet another separate problem, with the possibility of endangering our lives. I personally will not purchase another Chrysler product.

- Ackerman, MS, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?