CarComplaints.com Notes: Say what you will about the styling of the Ford Edge, but the bottom line is owners seem to love this vehicle. That is, of course, except in the case of it's dangerous, worrisome and unexplained issues with random engine stalling.

Our data suggests an early defect trend, as owners of the 2007-2008 models have started posting their accounts of what happens when you're driving down the road and the engine just stops. Some at high speed, some at low speed but always a random shutdown of the engine, electrical and power steering.

Time will tell if this becomes a widespread issue, but there's no drying the seriousness of the problem. With that in mind, we're flagging the Edge with our "Beware of the Clunker" rating until the situation improves.

9.2

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$3,220
Average Mileage:
75,650 miles
Total Complaints:
15 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (8 reports)
  2. replace transmission (7 reports)
2008 Ford Edge transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Edge:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Edge Owner Comments

problem #15

Aug 012015

Edge Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am having similar transmission issues as many of the other posters on this forum (and all over the internet). The issue first occurred a few years ago. Driving as normal when the vehicle suddenly lost driving power. Multiple emergency light came up on the dash and the odometer gave an error. The vehicle would barely move when I pushed down on the gas. Almost seemed like it was in low gear. I limped back home and heard a very loud clunk when shifting to reverse and park. I shut the car off and started back up. Again an extremely loud clunking (felt like the transmission fell off the bottom of the car) when shifting to reverse, drive, and park. Same warning lights on the dash. I shut the car off and waiting for a while before trying again. This time it ran as if nothing ever happened.

Took it to the dealership only to be told that no issues showed on the diagnostics test. Was told by the mechanic that it was likely the system reset itself. It happened again a day later, exact same issue. The car again reset itself and drove like normal. The car ran smoothly for a couple years after that without incident.

Recently, the same issue started happening again as described above. The vehicle lost power three time over the course of a couple days. There now seems to be shifting issues in high gear, but other than that the car is running fine.

I went in for an oil change today and was told the car is leaking transmission fluid. Will be taking it back to the mechanic in a week after I return from vacation.

It is UNBELIEVABLE that Ford has not issued a recall and has gotten away with this crap. There are hundreds, if not thousands, of complaints of this issue online. If you are experiencing this issue please do yourself and everyone else a favor and complain about it. That is the only way Ford will be forced accountability on the matter.

- Curtis H., Charlotte, US

problem #14

Apr 142017

Edge Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

I bought a 2008 Ford Edge, top of the line, Aug 29th, 2016. It was in mint condition, only 25K miles on it. Now only 8 months and 7K miles later my transfer case broke in half... to fix it, it will be $2000-$5000. While I was doing research in fixing it and how much it will cost I found thousands of comments online that this same problem has happened over and over again on Ford Edge's from 2007-2009. Ford rebuilt a more durable transfer case in 2010 but never tried to help everyone that bought the faulty ones form 07-09.

There is a class action on this but nothing has been recalled yet. I have also spoken to a friend that was a service technician/mechanic for 30 years, at the very dealership that I bought my car from, he said that this was a constant problem. He was working on Ford Edge's on the transfer case, or what Ford calls it the PTU, all the time.

When I called the dealership to talk to my Salesman about what they could do to help me they pretty much told me that I should've bought the extended warranty. I have called my salesman to follow up with him, he said he would talk to the service department manager, to see if they could give me a "discount." He has stopped answering my calls. I have left messages for the General Manager to ask him about options, he has not returned any of my calls. This Transfer case is obviously a faulty part from Ford's manufacturer.

Ford needs to be held accountable for the thousands and thousands of cars and lives that have been affected by this transfer case issue.

- Jessica R., Grand Junction, CO, US

problem #13

May 222014

Edge SEL 3.2lV6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,263 miles

I have a 2008 Ford Edge that I purchased after being involved in an accident where a man ran a red light and I was unable to keep from hitting him. He was charged at fault. Because of the time frame given me by the insurance company to make a purchase because the rental would have to be returned immediately, I purchased this Edge, without time to research possible issues.

Within about 2 - 3 weeks of ownership I was driving home on the interstate in the passing lane and the car began to lose speed. I pushed down on the accelerator but the Edge would not respond. Luckily I was near the exit to the dealership where I purchased it and pulled into the right hand lane, the Edge still losing speed and error lights came on. I made it into the the service bay and turned the Edge off and told the service rep my problem. He told me that they would have to run a diagnostic on it to see what the issue was and that it would cost me $150. This is Crain Ford, in Jacksonville, Arkansas. I turned the Edge back on and it appeared that it had reset itself.

I made an appointment and took the Edge in, only to be told that there was no problem based on the computer diagnostics. On four different occasions since that time, I have had loss of acceleration, error lights indicating tire pressure problems and when I attempt to accelerate the Edge creeps slowly forward. I recently had my transmission fluid flushed hoping that this would solve the problem. The technician did not indicate any problem after the fluid flush.

Yesterday July 20, 2015, I took the exit into my home town where once again the Edge begins to lose acceleration and the tire pressure error light comes on along with a wrench light, air bag light and other indicators. I was able to slowly move into a safer lane and get to a point where I could turn my Edge off and restart hoping that if it was the computer or a sensor that it would reset. When I attempted to put it into park it slammed through reverse and into park. I turned it back on and it slammed through reverse and in drive. I barely made into my drive with the same occurring again.

This morning July 21, 2015 I got in my Edge to head to work or to the dealership. Again the transmission made a slamming noise into reverse and then when I was out of the driveway, slammed into drive, so I drove to the dealership on the service road for safety sake. Arriving 45 minutes ahead of opening, I pulled up to the gate to wait and when I went to put it into park, it smoothly went through reverse. Because of this, I turned it off and then moved it from park to reverse, this time smoothly and then into drive, again smoothly, and came on into work.

I called the dealership to speak with the service rep and attempted to explain the situation, he said they again would have to run a diagnostic and had several automobiles in with transmission issues and it might be days before they could get to it. I told him I would get back with him. Based on this and issues I had with my first Edge, I will not own another one.

- Pamela E., Cabot, USA

problem #12

May 012015

Edge Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 156,889 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

JUST HAPPENED THIS MORNING. IF IT IS THE TRANSMISSION, I AM TRULY WORRIED IF THE WARRANTY WILL COVER THIS.

COULD BARELY COAST INTO WORK AT 5:00AM TO OPEN.

Update from Jun 21, 2015: transmission coast over $900.00 to fix in may of 2015 at Eatrabrook Ford in Pascagoula,39567

- Sherrie J., Pascagoula, AL, USA

problem #11

Jun 042015

Edge Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

Recently, on a stop corner, the accelerator speedometer stopped working and the car did not move. The RPM was working. I turned the car off and turned it back on. It started working as if nothing was wrong. Immediately, I drove it to the dealer and the mechanic who handles the transmission was not available and had about 10 cars to check. I left my car over from Thursday to Wednesday.

I finally got in contact with the service man. Stated that their computer was not picking up an error (everything was fine). Nevertheless, the mechanic took it to a test drive and felt a big clunking when shifting gears. My car has been out of warranty for over two years, however, before I finished paying my car and before the warranty had run out, on a different occasion I had mentioned to them about the now big problem. Where before, they had check their computer and stated to me that everything was running normal and okay. Now, they still don't know what's going on with the transmission, but before they do they have to bring it out from my car and open it.

The cost to find out what's wrong is estimated to $3,500 plus to fix the problem plus taxes. To replace my transmission around $4,500 plus taxes and service. However, they will take about 6-9 days to just get the transmission in. Either way I'm still left with out a reliable car for about two weeks, or so.

- silviaoca, South Gate, CA, USA

problem #10

May 202015

Edge V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

My stepmother bought this truck from Concord Ford with a full platinum power-train warranty. She passed away before the warranty was up. When the transmission blew they wouldn't honor the warranty. My father he had to pay out of pocket to replace the tranny, even though it had a full Platinum Powertrain warranty. By the way it still shifts funny, but he won't have them work on it anymore, because of how he was treated ... I think it was a shady deal.

- Jason K., Fremont, USA

problem #9

Mar 162015

Edge Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my 2008 brand new. At 39,000mi I took to dealership after noticing the transmission lagging, slipping, loud very hard shifts. Also was parking at the grocery store when I pulled into spot, with foot on the break car lurched and engine revved. If it hadn’t had my foot on break it could have hit someone.

Of course dealership couldn’t replicate, was told to bring back when it didn’t it more regularly. At 59,000 I took it back in after sever times of loud/hard shift and jerking like I had been rear ended by something. As well as being on a road trip where it felt like it slipped out of gear and the wrench light came on. I pulled to side of road and called Ford. They said to turn car off and back on. Wrench light went off and car seemed fine. Then while on interstate it revved really high again but car felt like it was in neutral, it wouldn’t accelerate when I pushed the gas. Pulled off again and cut off and back on and it seemed fine.

Dealership was able to replicate, but results inconclusive. I was told to bring it back if happened again. At 83,000 it is back in, it has been loudly shifting with the big jerk like before this time more frequently and also was coming off exit ramp of interstate and at stop light, car was in drive, but wouldn’t go, felt like it was sitting in neutral again. Dealership has had it for 3 days and found metal shavings in transmission. Will not confirm this is covered by warranty even though it is an existing issue. Can’t promise for will honor repair. Wants to rip out my transmission to see what problem is, but won’t give me any kind of estimate as to cost. Only said Ford would "assist" but couldn’t tell me how much. I have read hundreds of similar issues online of the exact same issues. It seems like Ford would have recalled this already. This is not only an issue of a faulty transmission, but also a huge safety issue as well. UPDATE 10/14- 85,569 miles- Case Number CAS4985049- After a call to Customer Service Manager (CSM) James Hayward (jhaywa16@ford.com) and email to Scott Johnson (Interim Customer Operations Manager Northeast Market 321-435-1196 sjohn500@ford.com) Magic City replaced valve and solenoid at a cost of $717.11 and was told it was fixed. CSM offered goodwill of 25%

3/16/15- Driving home on Interstate 81 during 5:00 traffic at 60 miles per hour car shifted hard and dropped to a speed of 20 miles an hour and rpm revving to max, CAUSING A TRACTOR TRAILER TO ALMOST RUN ME OVER. I swerved over and car kicked back to normal gear after a few seconds. Jumped again a few feet later and again locked in a very low gear low speed AGAIN ALMOST CAUSING ANOTHER WRECK. Got off on the exit ramp and happened AGAIN. I had to coast in neutral to get to a place I could stop. I called Ford immediately to try and speak to service manager Jay Zane who I had dealt with in October. I was so shaken up that I was almost hyperventilating talking to the rep on the phone.

The car is now not safe to drive and I am having vehicle towed to Magic City Ford which I don’t feel I should have to pay either. I want my car fixed. Again this is transmission related I feel that should be covered under the original warranty as this has been an ongoing issue since first reported at 39,000 miles and has been back several times for repeat issues prior to warranty expiring. Is it going to take me getting in to a serious accident possibly a death before Ford honors it’s product. I have a young daughter that could have been hurt as well. Growing up my family has been a loyal Ford customer as well as my husband. This is a disgrace that Ford continues to give me the run around. I want the issue resolved with no further expense to me.

3/19/15-I received a call back after 3 days of waiting from my local Ford Service Dept just now explaining that I do need a new transmission. IMAGINE THAT!!! They have quoted a cost of $4800 that I will have to pay. I have already wasted $800 from whatever was supposed to fix it in October, plus the $85 I had to pay to have the vehicle towed. Per Pat at Magic City they have contacted Ford to see if any assistance can be provided.

Update from May 14, 2015: 5/14/15- UPDATE: after receiving run around from the dearship, I had my car towed to a transmission specialist. They took apart and found the clutch packs were not engaging and a new transmission was needed. The quoted a price of $3,500.00. I went ahead and had them replace the transmission based on their willingness to help, their detailed explanation, and definitley the difference in the price. (dealer quoted $4800). I called the national Ford customer service to see if I could submit my history along with the receipt for the repair work. I was advised by Ford Service that due to the fact I had taken my vehicle somewhere other than a dealership for service they would not review my documentation and therefore offer no assistance or even so much as a response. I am appauled by the way the Ford Dealership and the Ford Company has handled this situation. I was a long term loyal customer and would have continued to buy Fords however after this experience I am through.

- leigh4445, Daleville, VA, USA

problem #8

Oct 242012

Edge Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,121 miles

click to see larger images

transmission failure transmission failure transmission failure

You will find attached the letter I addressed to Ford executives in October 2013 chronicling the breakdown of the Ford Edge transmission beginning in January 2012 at 49,638 miles. We documented the multiple service visits to New Country Ford over a period of a year, when their service techs reported "no problem found" and we were charged for that service. After repeated visits with the same response, and multiple attempts to diagnose the problem using an onboard sensor installed by New Country, we were eventually told the problem was a "switch" which was not part of the transmission, therefore not covered under drivetrain warranty and we were charged. Again, this failed to resolve the issue and ultimately the transmission failed completely and the vehicle had to be towed to New Country in October 2013.

After that repair, which Ford finally agreed to cover after New Country's refusal and my escalations directly to Ford, my wife drove the car home and immediately reported to me that something seemed wrong. When I tried to move the vehicle, I found the transmission failing again to the extent that the vehicle was immobilized and found all of the transmission fluid had drained out of the vehicle on the trip from New Country to my home. Note, this was immediately after the New Country "repair." Attached you will find a picture of the transmission fluid on my driveway and my text message exchange with Peter O'Malley (GM at New Country Ford in Saratoga NY) in which it is ACKNOWLEDGED that New Country service techs did not did install a "fitting on a line" and consequently my wife drove the car home with little or no transmission fluid. So again, the car was towed back to New Country for repair. We have all invoices from these service visits.

Now, 15 months later, the transmission is failing again and once again New Country wants to charge us for the repair. I disagree with this on the grounds that New Country failed to adequately resolve the issues with this transmission while it was covered under warranty and the damage done to the transmission is now apparent.

IN FACT, AS DOCUMENTED HERE, NEW COUNTRY FORD CAUSED THE DAMAGE TO THE TRANSMISSION BY SENDING THE CAR OUT WITH A SEVERELY LEAKING TRANSMISSION (WHICH THEY ACKNOWLEDGE IN WRITING).

- Victor B., Gansevoort, NY, USA

problem #7

Dec 312014

Edge Limited 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles

I purched this vehicle used from a Puyallup cars and trucks and after 2 weeks the transmission went out! I had purchased a vehicle previously from them and never had a problem. After test driving a ford flex before the purchase of the edge, it had a bad electrical problem. The only thing I am happy about is that I purchased the PRco warranty, otherwise, I would really have been in bad shape.

- g_pa.edwardwa, Summit, WA, USA

problem #6

Dec 292014

Edge True Edge

  • Automatic transmission
  • 154,817 miles

I have been having trouble as far back as 80,000 miles in stop and go traffic with it violently jumping into 1st gear when not coming to a complete stop first. There were a couple of incidents between then and now when the engine would rev when I put it in drive but not engage to 1st, the wrench light and air bag light would come on and where the mileage is would just show dashes. I would turn the engine off and restart and it would run fine (just thought it was a freak thing).

On Monday I was out of town returning home and three separate times on my trip when accelerating at a green light it would not engage to 1st gear. I had to turn off the engine and restart to get it to move pissing off a lot of motorists around me not to mention myself! When I got back into town I went directly to a family friend who owns a shop to look at it and it looks like the output shaft censor....I guess time will reveal. I paid over $2000.00 for an extended warranty with Carchex and they won't cover this, so why have a warranty? I feel like I have been ripped off by both the Ford motor company and the Carchex warranty company.

NOT HAPPY!!!!

- Linda R., Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #5

Sep 202014

Edge

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This car will have been driving normal and suddenly it feels like the transmission is slipping and the rmp's are screaming but the car is barely moving.The check engine light was on and when I would switch from park to drive or to reverse it would slam into gear making a loud clunk.. I wondered if it was an issue with the transmission or the pcm. I came back out to my car the next day and started it and the check engine light was off and when I drove it it was driving normal again as if nothing happened. I have read a lot of complaints exactly like mine all over the web. It seems the dealerships don't want to admit to the issue with the computer from what I read. I don't know what to do. If I put in a new transmission and it is a computer issue, then what? I am afraid to take it to a dealer and get charged for time and not get it fixed.

- jerbear, Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #4

Oct 152014

Edge Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,214 miles

This is a $38,000 car!!! I had brought it into the Ford dealer on two other occasions telling them the transmission was 'slamming' into gear, and that it dragged. When I would be entering the on ramp to the highway it always felt like it was taking longer, then slipping into second and third.

The dealer told me there was nothing wrong both times. They told me the car was heavier than my old one and i just wasn't used to it. I still had the extended service at those times. Then it really started SLAMMING, and making a horrible noise while it stayed in first gear. The service department kept putting off my calls, and when I called in they would tell me the tech would call me back.

I finally called them and it is basically totaled. They told me it was internal failure. A celluloid or sensor inside the transmission. I asked what I could have done to prevent it and they told me NOTHING and neither could they!!!

"It's like a switch in the trans that just broke mam". WHAT!!??

There isn't even 85,000 miles and it's $4,000 to fix what I believe is clearly a defect!! Who spends that much on a car and doesn't even get 100K out of it!!!??? I guess anyone who buys a FORD!!

Any suggestions are welcomed, because I am well and truly up a creek without a car or paddle.

- Stephanie F., Rockaway, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jun 162014

Edge

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles

I have an 2008 Ford Edge Limited that has 64,000 miles and the transmission is completely gone. Took the car back to the dealership, of course I'm over the 5 yrs 60,000 warranty. Ford quoted me $4400 to replace with a new transmission. After doing some research this seems to be very common for this make/model. I am extremely pissed!! Ford needs to address the ongoing problem. There have been no recalls to my knowledge.

- Vivian S., Joliet, IL, USA

problem #2

May 182009

Edge ES 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,555 miles

MY EDGE CHUNKS INTO GEAR. I HAVE TAKEN IT IN A FEW TIMES REGARDING THIS. WHEN I HIT THE GAS, THE CAR HESITATES AND JERKS BEFORE IT WILL GO, ONE TIME THEY SAID THEY REPLACED A SENSOR, BUT THAT DID NOT HELP. IS ANYONE ELSE HAVING THIS ISSUE?

- Karen F., Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #1

Jun 282010

Edge 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

I was traveling from my home in Florida to vacation in Quebec, Canada. The transmission failed. The Ford dealer, Bill McCandless Ford, 8416 Sharon Mercer Road Route 62, Mercer PA 16137 was wonderful, professional. They analyzed the problem in short order and contacted Ford Motor Company for approval on the warranty. Ford Motor Company drug their feet for ten days, caused additional expense to me, the owner of the car. Ford Motor Company offered no solution during the problem. I suggested an extended warranty and executive office of Ford Motor Company refused.

- miniea, Islamorada, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?