Notes: The 2005 Escape has problems where the engine shuts down while driving. Ford finally issued a September 2014 recall. Time will tell if the recall fix really solves the problem.

However the 2005 Escape also has a defect where the PCM (Power Control Module) fries at around 100k miles. Ford extended the PCM warranty to 80,000 miles, but only after most owners were past the mileage limit. Now owners are on the hook for the average repair cost of over $2,000 (!!)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,781 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Ford Escape engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Ford Escape Owner Comments (Page 4 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #66

Nov 142012


  • 150,000 miles


I was driving on the highway going about 65 mph. When I tried to press down on the gas it was stuck I could not accelerate. I pressed as hard as I could and it was stuck. I had to put it in neutral and pull over.

- Georgetown, TX, USA

problem #65

Nov 132012


  • 101,000 miles
I own at 2005 Ford Escape. In 2007 and 2009 I had two incidents of being at a red light and when I pushed on the accelerator it felt hard to press and would not budge. I had to pull over and continually push on the accelerator and the car would finally go. This morning I had the same thing happen. The first two incidents resulted in my taking the car to the dealership and they replaced the throttle body stating that it was a defective part. After this most recent incident I am planning on taking the car to the dealership again.

- Garden Grove, CA, USA

problem #64

Jan 092008


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while parked she attempted to start the vehicle when she noticed the gas pedal was sticking causing the vehicle to accelerate. The contact started to tap the gas pedal and managed to unlodged the pedal. Also the contact mentioned that the failure occurs constantly during the winter. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic testing. The technician stated the throttle needed to be sprayed with wd-40. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Lan Pasas, TX, USA

problem #63

Jun 152012


  • 60,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. While stopped in a parking space, the contact depressed the accelerator pedal but noticed that the pedal had become hard and would not respond. The contact placed the vehicle in neutral and then back into drive while continually applying pressure to the accelerator pedal. The vehicle jerked forward and proceeded to accelerate. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Poplar Bluff, MO, USA

problem #62

Nov 062012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Driving down highway at aprox. 55 mph. Theft light came on in vehicle and vehicle quickly decelerated. From the research that I gathered, this is a known problem to Ford. Faulty spark plugs were installed in some 2005 Escapes. The spark plugs emit a radio frequency that cause the coils to basically fry your computer. Ford has released a bulletin about this (tsb 09-2-6) but refuses to issue a recall. This is a huge safety issue, as decelerating on a major highway without brake lights has the potential to cause a terrible accident. Contacted Ford's corporate office and was offered no assistance. I would like to have my spark plugs at least checked at no charge. The cost, for only checking the spark plugs to see if they are the ones affected is $90. I believe that this should be a recall. Ford is well aware of the problem but refuses to take any steps to fix this.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #61

Nov 052012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 172,000 miles
While traveling on the interstate in the left lane during rush hour traffic, the gas pedal stuck and would not accelerate any longer. Caused other cars to suddenly slow while trying to get off to the ramp. The pedal would not release for approximately 10 minutes. Then after traveling maybe 20 yards, the pedal stuck again for another 5 minutes.

- Oak Grove, MO, USA

problem #60

Oct 202009

Escape 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles


During cold weather, the gas pedal will stick and not accelerate or release. It will not release for sometimes up to ten minutes. This happens several times over several days in a week during colder months. This has been consistently happening since 2009. The most recent on 11/5/2012.

- Oak Grove, MO, USA

problem #59

Sep 052012


  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated while attempting to accelerate froma traffic stop the vehicle stalled. The dealer was notified who advised the contact to try to reach out to the manufacturer and did not offer any additional assistance. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included on any recalls. The failure mileage was 67,000.

- Cooleemee, NC, USA

problem #58

Oct 302012

Escape 4-cyl

  • miles
Son was driving vehicle when gas pedal stuck and would not go down--he pushed pedal down with all his strength but it would not move.

- Locust Grove, GA, USA

problem #57

Oct 102005

Escape 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph the accelerator pedal became stuck. The contact mentioned that the failure would occur during cold weather. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included on any recalls. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 0 and the current mileage was 100,000...updated 12/06/12 the consumer stated the accelerator pedal would stick when the engine was cold and in cold weather. Updated 12/06/12

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

problem #56

Oct 062012


  • 116,000 miles


The accelerator pedal is very difficult to press and sometimes cannot be pressed down at all.

- Atkins, IA, USA

problem #55

Sep 242012

Escape 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
While driving, the gas pedal sticks. It feels like there is a brick under the gas pedal and it won't budge. I mash down on the pedal and even stomp it. It will depress after several minutes or when it feels like it. This seems to be happening more as the weather gets colder. When I researched this online, I found recalls for the 2000 - 2004 Ford Escapes experiencing this issue speed control cables), but nothing for my vehicle. I have also found, through a simple internet search, that this is a common problem with Ford Escape owners, but Ford has not done anything about it.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #54

Sep 112012


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that the driver of the vehicle was traveling 55 mph when the vehicle began to accelerate independently. The driver shifted into neutral and turned the vehicle off. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for inspection or repairs. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V353000 (vehicle speed control:cables). The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Swansea, IL, USA

problem #53

Aug 182012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 88,545 miles
On August 18th 2012 I was returning home from grocery shopping in downtown hamilton mt when our 2005 Ford Escape accelerated out of control and would not stop. I managed to Dodge traffic and people and put it in park and hold my foot down on the brake but it kept speeding. It continued to race down the street about mile or more until I came to a place I was able to turn off the street into a parking area with a corral which had an iron gate on the fence that I felt would stop me. It finally slowed down and I was able to turn off the key and stop; thank god without hitting or harming anyone still it was a terrifying event.

- Hamilton , MT, USA

problem #52

Nov 182006

Escape 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving at any speed the accelerator pedal would stick in a partially depressed position and the vehicle would become inoperable. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic and the throttle body was repaired. The failure recurred. The vehicle was then taken to an authorized dealer, where they were unable to diagnose a failure. No further assistance was offered. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000 and the current mileage was 89,000. Updated 08/28/12 the consumer stated the throttle body was cleaned. The gas pedal sticking happened quite often. Updated 08/29/12

- Oak Park, MI, USA

problem #51

Jul 262012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
Entering the interstate, I sped up to merge, but could not push accelerator pedal to even get out of overdrive. (making things worse, the merge was from the left.) pedal was full down. After dodging go home traffic, I limped to right hand lane and got off at next Ford dealership. Service rep and I looked at the depression made in the plastic housing to the steering column, where pedal hardware had indented it. Service said engine appeared to be operating ok; he tested it by revving the engine in the garage. He remarked the visible symptom was the pedal being so low there's no room for travel. I continued on 150 miles back home and called Ford to look at the "speed control malfunction" issue. Vehicle appears to accelerate ok with cruise control; the pedal is sitting so low there's no travel to accelerate. This could have been seriously dangerous - merging in metro traffic is no game.

- Abilene, TX, USA

problem #50

Jul 202012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 129,000 miles
While driving home from work, I went to accelerate. Upon reaching 40. I heard a substantial backfire noise, and the engine shut off in the middle of a busy road causing me to block traffic as I coasted almost into a busy intersection. I was able to put it in neutral and restart the engine after coasting for 100+ feet. After which, the engine began running very rough and rugged never being able to accelerate about 30 mph and causing major traffic problems. I took it to a dealership (varsity Ford in ann arbor, mi) and have been told that my 2005 Ford Escape was in trouble. Apparently, my spark plug after being clogged, caused a backfire which blew my ignition coils and sparkplugs and my PCM. I am being quoted $2,200. At my last oil change (3 months ago) varsity Ford told me I was getting close to needing a tune up but it was not necessary that day and that I could wait until my next oil change. I was planning on going this weekend because I was heading out of town. Had I been told the risk was a $400 tune up vs. A $2,200 blown engine, maybe I would have changed the spark plugs. I'm very distraught at the Ford dealership, and now am questioning whether I will ever buy a Ford or work with a Ford dealership.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #49

Feb 152009

Escape 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Car sits in the driveway and when it is turned on, especially in the winter, the accelerator sticks to the point that I have to put full force to jam the pedal down to take off. If I am at a light and stopped, the same thing happens. I have the repair shop fix this issue twice but decided to lodge a complaint based upon news reports. I have not had any other issue with the SUV and I love my Ford. I am not sure that his is a safety issue and I have been trying to find out.

- Glenwood, MD, USA

problem #48

Jul 112012


  • 150,000 miles
While driving on the expressway, my gas pedal snapped forward by itself and accelerated my car. Then snapped back and hit my foot in the position it was already in. This has happened before, several times over the course of my ownership of this car. (I bought it new) I ignored it the first few times because I thought it was related to being on cruise control, but this was not always the case. I saw on fox news that there is an ongoing investigation; and called Ford to see if they would repair my car and they said no. I am hoping they will have a recall, because I plan on keeping this car for awhile, and don't want to pay for the repairs. Thanks.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #47

Jul 062011


  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Ford Escape. The contact was driving 35 mph when he noticed that the pedal of the accelerator had become stuck to the floorboard. He had to place his foot under the accelerator for it to release. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer stated that they needed to replace a spring in the pedal. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they stated that they did not have any report on the defect. The failure mileage was 69,000 and the current mileage 82,000.

- Altoona , PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?