Print this page

CarComplaints.com Notes: We aren't rating the 2015 F-150 as "bad" yet, but there is an early trend of complaints about the transmission shifting roughly.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
9 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,480 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Ford F-150 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Ford F-150 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 14)

problem #276

Feb 052021

F-150

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brakes locking up! Master cylinder leaking brake fluid. Have had to replace brakes 2 times in a 10 month period

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #275

Feb 112022

F-150 6-cyl

  • miles
2/11/22.While at a complete stop, foot on brake, my truck started creeping forward and I kept pushing on the brake and I couldn't stop until my truck ran into the back of a semi trailer. After shutting truck off, and starting again, it appeared to work again. My 7 year old grand daughter was with me and she heard me yelling, "I can't stop, I can't stop". It has not been confirmed by dealership because it has to go collision shop on 2/14/22. No Warnings came on my dash. [XXX] INFORMATION Redacted PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #274

Mar 312021

F-150

  • miles
This issue is about high pressure (D.O.T. safety regulated) brake line going to the right caliper, this line ruptured for no reason. This ruptured high pressure line was noticed & replaced during the Master Safety Recall (20S31/NHTSA 20V-332) repair completed on 04-06-2021. The vehicle had 58,616 miles at the time of the high pressure brake line was replaced, the high pressure brake line is not a wear item such as Front Hub, Drums, Shoes, Linings, Disc Rotors, & Pads. These wear items are listed in my Premium Care Ford Motor Company extended warranty as not being covered, the high pressure brake line is not listed as an exclusion as a covered warranty part. I paid $2,765 for this extended warranty, the high pressure brake line has (banjo) fittings (important) on each end and the rubber hose, the rubber hose (flexible) part is comprised of multiple layers of rubber with metal braiding (important) for strength because the rubber can't withstand the pressure without the steel. The Premium Care Warranty under brakes states it covers metal brake lines and fittings. Elk Grove Ford, Ca. stated they receive a list of warrantied items from Ford Motor Company and reject warranties based on what Ford Motor Company says is not under warranty from the list. This is a safety issue because we lost our brakes on the way home from the grocery store and almost wrecked going through intersections putting others and my family in danger. Additional important information pertaining Elk Grove Ford, Ca. and Ford Motor Company Master Cylinder Safety Recall 20S31/NHTSA 20V-332, received 6/2020 had brake fade in 9/2020 called Elk Grove Ford and was told I would have to pay for this recall if the Master cylinder was not defective, this recall was for a known defect by Ford Motor Company. I received a second recall notice 3/2021 urging me to have the recall completed, my brakes completely failed at the end of 3/2021. I have additional supporting information about other warranty issues

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #273

Dec 202021

F-150

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Significant leak in vacuum pump for brakes causing difficulty breaking.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #272

Mar 312021

F-150

  • miles
This issue is about high pressure (D.O.T. safety regulated) brake line going to the right caliper, this line ruptured for no reason. This ruptured high pressure line was noticed & replaced during the Master Safety Recall (20S31/NHTSA 20V-332) repair completed on 04-06-2021. The vehicle had 58,616 miles at the time of the high pressure brake line was replaced, the high pressure brake line is not a wear item such as Front Hub, Drums, Shoes, Linings, Disc Rotors, & Pads. These wear items are listed in my Premium Care Ford Motor Company extended warranty as not being covered, the high pressure brake line is not listed as an exclusion as a covered warranty part. I paid $2,765 for this extended warranty, the high pressure brake line has (banjo) fittings (important) on each end and the rubber hose, the rubber hose (flexible) part is comprised of multiple layers of rubber with metal braiding (important) for strength because the rubber can't withstand the pressure without the steel. The Premium Care Warranty under brakes states it covers metal brake lines and fittings. Elk Grove Ford, Ca. stated they receive a list of warrantied items from Ford Motor Company and reject warranties based on what Ford Motor Company says is not under warranty from the list. This is a safety issue because we lost our brakes on the way home from the grocery store and almost wrecked going through intersections putting others and my family in danger. Additional important information pertaining Elk Grove Ford, Ca. and Ford Motor Company Master Cylinder Safety Recall 20S31/NHTSA 20V-332, received 6/2020 had brake fade in 9/2020 called Elk Grove Ford and was told I would have to pay for this recall if the Master cylinder was not defective, this recall was for a known defect by Ford Motor Company. I received a second recall notice 3/2021 urging me to have the recall completed, my brakes completely failed at the end of 3/2021. I have additional supporting information about other warranty issues

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #271

Dec 202021

F-150

  • miles
Significant leak in vacuum pump for brakes causing difficulty breaking.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #270

Sep 052021

F-150

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been driving since 1964 and have never experienced a total loss of all braking power in any.vehicle in my life until last Sunday. I exited from the church parking lot and pulled out onto the main drive headed home. As I approached a signal light at a "T" intersection traveling across the top of the "T" right to left, the light turned yellow so I applied my brakes to slow down, only to find that the brake pedal traveled all the way to the floor without any hesitation and the car continued on its path without slowing at all. I immediately released my foot and permitted the pedal to rise to its normal position and I pressed on it again, only to get the exact same result. I immediately down shifted to first gear and pushed down on the emergency brake pedal which slowed the car to a stop before I entered the intersection. I shifted into park and tried pressing on the brake pedal to "pump up the braking system" and got some relief, however as soon as the light change and I put the car back in drive, all resistance from the brake pedal system quit and I was back in free fall. I managed to get home using manual shifting and emergency brake assistance. The braking system never returned to any form of even trying to control the forward momentum of the vehicle. I checked the internet to find that there were pages of people entering reports of similar issues with their F150's and yet there was no report of any recall or safety issues reported. Now I may be wrong but I thought I was told back in drivers ed back 1965 the the braking system in cars had an X configuration so if something happened to the brake lines that feed the front right to rear left, that the front left and rear right wheels would still be there to get to you stopped. Well I can assure you that when the little 18" rubber hose that connects the metal hydraulic line to the front right disk caliber on my car split open, NOTHING worked not even a warning light came on until no brake fluid existed.

- Dacula, GA, USA

problem #269

Sep 142020

F-150

  • 108,000 miles
1) passenger side engine exhaust manifold leak, loud at cold start up, decreases as engine warms up. While driving a reduction of gas mileage of 2 miles per gallon have been observed, performance issues towing trailers. 2) parking brakes do not hold vehicle securely, in fact with brand new parking brakes fully set all the way to the floor one can easily drive away.

- Vermillion, SD, USA

problem #268

Feb 242021

F-150

  • 83,699 miles
On 2-24-2021 these two things had never happened before 1. I noticed when arrived to work the P for the gear selector stayed illuminated after vehicle is shut off. A co-worker pointed this out also this had never happened before 2. while in a parking space on side of cvs drug store no other cars near after starting the vehicle and putting into reverse the vehicle accelerated on its own while applying brake didn't stop hit a cement pole barrier, truck kept trying to jerk backwards after 2-3 seconds it stopped shifted vehicle from reverse to drive to move back into parking space vehicle accelerated on its own; quickly shifted from drive to park vehicle continue to move forward while brake pedal applied and hit a tree and truck turned off if not for tree would have went down embankment on to a freeway

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #267

Feb 052021

F-150

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the low brake fluid indicator light illuminated. The contact added brake fluid. Additionally, the contact noticed fluid leaking from vehicle. The contact called mcree Ford, Inc. (2800 gulf fwy, dickinson, tx 77539; (832) 769-0200). The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified through chat and informed the contact that the vehicle was not covered under warranty. The contact was referred to the dealer. The contact stated that the failure was similar to NHTSA campaign number: 20V332000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The failure mileage was 100,000.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #266

Jan 022021

F-150

  • 203,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2015 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, while coming up on a corner to make a sharp right turned, while slowing down, depressing the brake pedal to make the right turned, the vehicle failed to stop. The contact depressed the brake pedal again but the vehicle was not stopping. The contact stated that the vehicle when into a grass area then crashed into a railroad tracks squer on. The contact mention that the rail tracks was high and it stop the vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained a bad whiplash but was not serious injured, the contact stated that the front passenger and the rear driver passenger also sustained bad whiplash. Neither driver nor passengers seek medical attention. A police report was filed. The contact also stated that the fire department was the first to arrived at the scene. The vehicle was towed to a tow yard and later was towed to an insurance tow lot. The vehicle was totaled. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 20V332000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The manufacturer nor the dealer were contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 203,000.

- Lincolnton, NC, USA

problem #265

Nov 122020

F-150

  • 40,000 miles
The vehicle was parked, put into park, the key was removed, then the vehicle was locked. Upon returning to the vehicle the vehicle was unlocked, the tailgate was lowered and we proceeded to load a bulky 70 (I'm guessing) pound object into the bed of the truck. As we pushed the object into the bed of the truck the vehicle started to roll. It was rolling more than just the normal few inches that a vehicle in park can sometimes roll. I jumped into the drivers seat (the door had been left ajar) and pressed the brake to stop the truck. The keys were not in the ignition, the gear shift indicated that the vehicle was in park. The extra parking brake was not being used. The parking lot was very level, there was no slope at all. Once we had the object we were loading secured we pushed the truck and it was still able to be moved. We were fortunate that the object that we were loading wasn't heavy, because it would have been very easy to have an object drop down onto the person(s) loading. There were no injuries to anyone, there were no other vehicles damaged. We just felt that this was something that should be reported. Mileage is approximate mileage was 39,824 in June ( 5 months ago)at last oil change.

- Butler, PA, USA

problem #264

Oct 152020

F-150

  • 3,500 miles
On adaptive cruise control, since new, the vehicle brakes are applied when passing an 18 wheel truck/trailer (sometimes) causing a rapid 15-20 mph hard braking decrease in speed jolting and scaring the occupants of the Ford. Nearly rear ended several times. Have contacted Ford but they did not care nor were they concerned that this is a safety issue. Very dangerous going from 65 to 45 while passing another vehicle and cars are behind me. This is a random occurrence making it even more scary. This has happened too many times to count since 2015 and I am afraid to use the adaptive cruise control for fear of being hit from behind on the highway.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #263

Oct 012020

F-150

  • 92,000 miles
I was driving down the road and applied the brakes, the brake peddle went to the floor without any brakes being applied. Almost hit a few cars and drove over the curb. Downshifted and depressed my E break!!!! my brakes do not work. No brake fluid external leaks anywhere. Brake fluid reservoir was 90% empty. Check brake fluid light came on. I filled break fluid reservoir and 10 break peddle pumps latter the break fluid was gone from break fluid reservoir

- Tacoma, WA, USA

problem #262

Jul 212019

F-150 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The contact's husband owned a 2015 Ford F-150. The contact stated that her husband had exited her vehicle to park his Ford F-150 into their driveway. Upon start of the vehicle, the contact's husband lost complete control of the vehicle and clipped the side of her vehicle and crashed into a retainer wall. The contact's husband stated that the vehicle independently took off as the brakes failed to operate while being depressed. The contact was unaware if any warning lights illuminated prior to the failure. The air bags failed to deploy upon impact. Upon exiting the vehicle, the contact's husband was covered in blood and the contact had a knot on the back of her head while in her vehicle. The contact immediately cleaned off her husband for cuts on both his legs and arms. The contact's husband was later treated at a hospital for a broken back and ribs. A police report was filed as a result of the accident. The vehicle was towed to fiesta Ford, Inc.(78990 varner rd, indio, ca 92203) where the vehicle was deemed totaled. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and they offered no assistance with the failure. Upon investigation, the contact linked the failure to NHTSA campaign number: 20V332000(service brakes, hydraulic); however, the vehicle was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- La Quinta, CA, USA

problem #261

Sep 052020

F-150

  • 80,000 miles
I noticed a small round plastic part on my drivers side floor mat that appeared to be a flat disk broken in several pieces. See photo. I didn't think too much about it at the time. A while later my neighbor said my brakes lights were on and my truck had been parked for a quite some time. After not being able to get the brake lights to go out and some internet queries I was able to determine and confirm the small plastic disk came off the top of the brake pedal where it would make contact with the brake light switch. As small of a part as it is, the brake lights were affected and the hill assist function warning was coming on as well. After checking Ford does not sell the tiny plastic disk, worth about 5 dollars, but will sell the entire brake pedal assembly for hundreds. Other auto manufacturers sell the disk called a brake pedal stop pad. This problem is occurring on other Ford as I was able to find examples like mine on the internet. There should be a better designed part or brake pedal to prevent this from happening.

- Apollo Beach, FL, USA

problem #260

Aug 242020

F-150

  • 89,000 miles
As I was driving on interstate 94, in Minnesota, I applied my brakes to slow my vehicle down for a construction zone. In doing so, a warning on my dashboard appeared saying, "brake fluid low". at that time, my brake pedal went right to the floor, drastically effecting my stopping ability. My emergency brake was needed to stop my vehicle. As I tried to figure out where the brake fluid was going, I was unable to find a leak. With more research, I found out there was a recall for the brake master cylinder leaking fluid into the brake booster, making the front brakes entirely inoperable. I have been attempting to get my vehicle fixed, and or replaced without any luck.

- Big Lake, MN, USA

problem #259

Aug 172020

F-150

  • 54,439 miles
While driving my 2015 Ford F150 on a city street at 45 miles per hour the vehicle lost acceleration, rmp dropped to barely 2 and hill assist disabled light came on. Glided to a red light, put the vehicle in neutral, came to a stop and kept the gas lightly pressed hoping to keep power to the engine. When lighted turned green put truck back into drive and acceleration returned. Parked at my place of business. Shut the truck off but the brake lights stayed on. Had the vehicle towed to the dealership because of concern to drive it after losing acceleration (tow truck driver call the vehicle in limp mode). The dealership found not fault codes but did find plastic pieces on the floor board. Dealership said it was a "broken brake pedal" - a small plastic disc (grommet) inside the brake assembly broke into pieces causing loss F acceleration, the electronic messaging system to disable hill assist and the brake lights to remain on. Dealership said they have seen this in Ford Fusion but not in an F150. The new brake assembly is a total redesign from the the one that the vehicle was built with. The image on the left is the broken brake assemble (the finger is pointing to the damaged item), the part on the right where you will see the small white disc (grommet) is the replacement brake assembly. I purchased the vehicle new in 2015 and have been the only owner. My vehicle has 54K miles, is driven locally, not used to tow or off road and is garaged when not in use. A vehicle loosing acceleration while driving is a major safely concern and I hope this will be investigated as it is a known issue in other Ford vehicles.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #258

Aug 152020

F-150

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Ford F-150. The contact stated while driving 85 mph, the low brake fluid warning light was illuminated. The contact stated while depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle failed to stop. The contact was able to idle the vehicle speed to slow down until he was able to use the parking brake to stop the vehicle on the side of the roadway. The vehicle was not drivable. The vehicle was towed to local dealer central Ford located at 5645 Firestone blvd, South gate, ca 90280, (562) 927-7888, and the dealer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle had not been diagnosed nor repaired as of yet. The VIN was associated NHTSA campaign number: 20V332000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The manufacturer had not been informed of failure. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #257

Aug 072020

F-150

  • 2,800 miles
When I applied brake pedal it went to the floor. I drove to Ford dealer immediately and they could not duplicate problem. It happened again before I got home. Ford service technition said there was a recall for this problem. I have not received a notification for this problem.

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?