Print this page
2012 Ford Mustang body / paint problems: corrosion on hood

Corrosion On Hood

2012 Ford Mustang (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Ford dealer.

7.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$970
Average Mileage:
39,850 miles
Total Complaints:
35 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (16 reports)
  2. replace hood (10 reports)
  3. paint job (9 reports)
2012 Ford Mustang body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Ford Mustang:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Ford Mustang Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Jun 102017

Mustang GT 5.0L

  • Manual transmission
  • 24,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In 2010 I bought a brand new Ford Mustang GT premium and within 2 years the hood started to blister. The dealer repainted the hood but said it would probably come back again since Ford would not replace the hood. I traded it in for a brand new 2012 Ford Mustang GT premium (June, 2013) and last year (2017), the same thing happened again. This time it was out of warranty so it was up to me to repair. I held off and it started to bubble this year and the cost to replace the hood and repaint was quoted at well over $3000.00. Ford is well aware of the problem (aluminum top and galvanized steel bottom welded together) yet do not make any attempt to correct it. This is shameful on their part. I have recently sold the car to a dealer at a loss and purchased a Honda.

- jareali, Tewksbury, US

problem #34

Jul 212016

Mustang V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

This is total B.S. and feel misled and taken advantage of by Ford not once but now twice with 2 different vehicles.

Last summer a friend noticed the front hood on my 2012 Ford Mustang was starting to bubble and said that is rust prematurely surfacing. I took the vehicle to the Ford Dealership in Vista, CA and was told that problem was not covered under warranty and was not considered a defect but normal wear and tear. Really? Normal wear and tear? It had approximately 36,000 miles on it at the time.

In January 2017 the gate at my complex hit the right fender of my Mustang and I took the vehicle to the recommended body shop the Ford Dealership recommends as they do not have a body shop at their dealership. The body shop tech indicated the hood was starting to rust and recommended I take it to the Ford dealership as he is their preferred body shop and has been repainting many of their hoods as they are covered under warranty for paint defects.

I explained to him I took the vehicle to the Ford Vista dealership back in July 2016 was told it was not covered under warranty, there were no recalls for the rust/paint issues and there was nothing that they could do to help me.

Again, the car is back to the same body shop today (currently has 46,000 miles on it) as the repair work previously done is starting to peel color poorly matched to existing (front passenger fender and bumper, not the hood where the rust area is) and the same body shop tech again asked if I took the vehicle to the Ford dealership for the rust issue on the hood. I told him that I was informed by the Ford Vista Dealership and their service department indicated there were no warranties for paint/rust issues or recalls and they could not help me. He again commented about many of the hoods he has repainted on Ford vehicles and that were indeed covered by Ford's warranty.

I also would like to mention that we also own a Mercury Mariner 2011 (Ford product) and ironically it too has rust above the passenger rear tire wheel which started over 2 1/2 years ago when it as well had around 36,000 miles on it. I took this vehicle to a Detroit area Ford Dealership as well over 2 1/2 years ago and was told the same thing, the warranty did not cover paint/rust issues.

It will be in their preferred body shop in 3 weeks for the repainting of their initial job that is now peeling and color poorly matched to existing and it would be greatly appreciated if someone can please help us or inform me how we can obtain help assistance for the premature rusting for these vehicles. My husband is a disabled Navy Veteran and disabled fireman from the Detroit area, however, we now live in North County-San Diego, California area.

Thank you for your time and attention in this matter.

- redmustang2012, Oceanside, US

problem #33

Feb 012017

Mustang GT/CS 5.0L

  • Manual transmission
  • 56,000 miles

click to see larger images

corrosion on hood

I bought my car brand new off the showroom floor. I maintain it perfectly. No accidents or dents. I wax it three times a year.

I first noticed the paint bubbling the Spring of 2017. The bubbling appeared on the driver side front edge of the hood. It was also on the inside portion of the hood. It appears to be getting worse even though the car is garaged. The car is perfect except for this issue. I have loved my car but this is obviously some sort of manufacturing issue. It appears from what I have read online that Ford is aware of this issue. I want my car hood replaced or properly repaired by FORD! If this goes nowhere, Ford will have lost another customer.

Back your PRODUCTS Ford!! I am NOT the only one with this defect!!! FIX MY CAR!

- fordrust, Woodstock, US

problem #32

Apr 032016

Mustang V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased the car used back in September 2014. Paint on the vehicle was perfect! I wash car at least once a month, and wax it twice a year. Back around April 2016 I noticed paint had started to bubble at the front of my hood. Initially I had thought maybe this was due to typical road debris hitting the front of the hood. Wrote it off as something I'd eventually need to get repaired. As time went on the bubbling became worse and the paint began to peel. Sometime around October 2016 I started to look closer at other Mustang hoods seen around town and noticed they were having the same issue. I went to local dealer to complain about it and was told this was NOT covered under any warranties. December 2016 I stopped by my local body shop. Was informed that he was well aware of this issue with Mustang hoods. Stated being that it's an aluminum hood he'd have to strip entire hood and redo it to prevent issue from happening again. We are talking upwards of $1000. This reminds me of the old 1980's Ford pickups and the paint issue they had back then. Obviously Ford is aware of the issue and they need to step up and take care of it!! It's now March 2017 and this hood still isn't fixed.

- Greg R., Halethorpe, MD, US

problem #31

Apr 012016

Mustang MCA V6

  • Manual transmission
  • 37,000 miles

Took excellent care of my 2012 Mustang since purchasing new. Noticed the bubbling and corrosion on the underside of the hood and creeping onto the topside in early 2016 but due to work schedule I was unable to take the time to research and get it repaired. Left on deployment in May and returned in November, had some time off and went in to get the corrosion looked at. The dealership said Ford would not cover any work due to the warranty expiring in September. Even if they did the work it sounds like the problem would just return. I would like a permanent solution to this issue, and have contacted Ford Customer Relations multiple times about it and have received no response. No one wants to approach the issue, not even independent body shops because they have zero confidence that the corrosion will not return shortly after repairs. Will anyone fix this? Or should I get rid of the car now and go buy something more reliable from a more supportive company?

- Scott E., Honolulu, HI, US

problem #30

Jun 012014

Mustang 6.3L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,000 miles

I want FORD to fix this before it gets worse. I want to trade it in at some point, and they will deduct amount of money from value - and it is not my fault. They did this with an EDGE I traded in, so I already became victim to their pricing scams. Never again.

- Anne H., Wilmington, NC, US

problem #29

Feb 102016

Mustang Performance Package 3.7L V6

  • Manual transmission
  • 36,512 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Paint was great until 4th year of ownership and one day washing the car I noticed a small bubble on drivers side edge of hood. Now , 7 months later it has grown to about 1 inch by 6 inches long. Ford dealers all said the same thing. Not under warranty so no help. I really like my Mustang but now I will sell it and buy a different brand car.

- raven71, Dayton, OH, US

problem #28

Aug 132016

Mustang V6 Premium 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,002 miles

Noticed paint bubbling on the underside of the hood. Went to a large Ford dealer and was told Ford would only cover it if the car was less that 36 months old or had less than 36,000 miles. My car is 52 months old and has 35,500 miles. The 60 month unlimited mileage corrosion warranty does not apply. Found out this is a big problem for Ford because of the many cars/trucks they have that have aluminum panels.

- gejjj, Woonsocket, RI, US

problem #27

Aug 012016

Mustang Premium 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,710 miles

As with most Mustang owners this car has been babied, it has been washed and waxed properly and kept well. It is a car purchased because it was to be loved - It is a mustang, not a cheap A to B hatch. We all buy these with the best intentions and a bright future, however, Ford has decided your future for you if you buy a Mustang these days. A few weeks back after a detail I noticed some paint peeling and flaking off from the inside of my trunk lid, underneath was rust. Rust INSIDE of the trunk of a sports car. As i followed the rust i realized that it was in numerous places inside of the trunk; either exposed by the flaked off paint or bubbling paint waiting to peel. Naturally I took to the internet to see how widespread this issue really is - very common it seems. After seeing just how many Mustang owners are having rust issues it is very disheartening. My 2012 Mustang now has exposed rust inside the trunk lid, along side bubbling paint inside the trunk lid. It also has bubbling paint on the leading edge of the hood, as well as on the underside of the hood. After some long hours spent online the consensus is that Ford has been improperly cleaning and handling the body panels prior to paint thus leaving contaminants in the panels and allowing them to grow and spread over the life the vehicle. Ford refuses to even acknowledge this as an issue or offer any fix or help to the problem.

- Spencer .., ., ON, Canada

problem #26

Feb 052015

Mustang V6 3.7L

  • Manual transmission
  • 56,000 miles

click to see larger images

corrosion on hood

My local dealership says it would only be covered under the 30k bumper to bumper coverage. They deny that the five year extended corrosion coverage even exists. Even though it's clearly in the 2011 model year warranty guide.

This has been a known issue since 2000. The first TSB for this issue was in 2004. There was a lawsuit in 2014. It is a manufacturing defect caused by contamination during the manufacturing process. This means the environment inside the Ford factory has been contaminated for 15 years and they haven't done anything about it. And now they are coming out with ALL aluminum f-150's. Give it ten years and those F-150 won't have any paint on them at all.

- Bill R., Springfield, MO, US

problem #25

Dec 012014

Mustang GT 5.0L

  • Manual transmission
  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have been purchasing only ford products since 1986. and have been very happy with their products. The body on my 2012 mustang GT is in perfect condition with the exception of the corrosion on my hood. The fact that ford has not recalled the car for that repair really bothers me. This is a manufacture problem, my wife's 2008 mustang has the same issue. I believe ford needs to stand behind their produsts and their workmanship and repair the cars effected by this problem.

- Roger S., Cincinnati, OH, US

problem #24

Jan 012016

Mustang GT 5L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 33,000 miles

My mustang is in excellent condition, except for the rust we discovered this winter on the hood. My car doesn't have a dent, or scratch on. I keep it covered and in the garage. It is just out of warranty for the 3 year basic warranty. I think Ford company should cover this expense.

Update from Mar 9, 2016: could someone from Ford cop. contact me? thank you, Cheryl

- Cheryl P., Norfolk, VA, US

problem #23

Oct 062015

Mustang Premium 3.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

This is a major problem for many Ford owners and Ford should step up to the plate and take care of it. To date, we have had no luck at the dealer level. They tell us that factory will not repair! Very Frustrating!!

- Michael F., Moss Landing, US

problem #22

Sep 052015

Mustang GT 5.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 28,050 miles

Damn Ford knows they have a problem in not prepping their aluminum panels which is causing this corrosion and paint bubbling but are choosing to deny and hope to save money but in the long run Ford you will lose your valuable patrons so keep screwing your customers and see the end result, your not going to like it

- jenspony, toledo, OH, US

problem #21

Oct 022014

Mustang Convertible 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles

Bought a nice Ford Mustang and have the known paint on the aluminum hood lip bubbling and corrosion under it and Ford is saying they will not fix it under the corrosion warranty unless it is corroded through. Have had dealer contact Ford and have called Ford Customer Service and so far no action. Only option is to have it fixed and not buy another Ford because they do not cover their cars. When you have thousands of people with the problem and the dealer just tells me they know but they cannot afford to fix all the cars and Ford will not do it. Oh well, I saved 35k on not buying a new Mustang Convertible.

- bauerfl, Ormond Beach, FL, US

problem #20

Oct 202015

Mustang 3.7L V6

  • Manual transmission
  • 39,950 miles

The last time I washed my car, I noticed the paint bubbling, on the hood, above the left headlight. It looked like it was rusting underneath. I took it to the Ford dealership, they took pictures and told me to get an estimate. I did, they submitted it to Ford. Ford said they would pay 70% of the cost to put a new hood on the vehicle which left $651.23 for me to pay!

I didn't know it at the time, but have since found out this is a problem with aluminum on Fords. It is not environmental, it is a defect with the metal. I should not have to pay any money to get my car fixed because of a problem Ford has with their products!!

- dhoppermo, Troy, MO, US

problem #19

Apr 302014

Mustang 5.0L V8

  • Manual transmission
  • 32,000 miles

click to see larger images

corrosion on hood

I asked Ford about this issue one day after my warranty was out. After 3 dealership visits I went up to Ford. The dealerships implied Ford would help and diagnosed it as manufacturer defect. Ford corp would not assist after implying they might for weeks. I also had a friend who's a QA expert at Jaguar diagnose as defect rather than caused by something I exposed it to. It's all my entire hood so the take the picture and multiply it by 13 different spots. I really didn't like how smug Ford Corp was. One of their defenses was to boast about record sales. Record sales do nothing for my hood problem and I will not be contributing to those sales in the future. I keep hoping I'm just running into one bad apple up at Ford Corp. They would love for me to just go away. I just might... Forever. This is my 6th Ford in 20 years.

- Russell H., Costa Mesa, CA, US

problem #18

Oct 142014

Mustang Convertible 3.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

The paint on the leading edge of the hood started to bubble in spots, then crack and come of baring the corroded hood material. A repair shop quoted $2,100 for the work. They would have to replace the hood. I was told they would work with me (look for a used hood with no corrosion). It was also suggested that I see a Ford dealer concerning warranty coverage. The dealer, aware of the condition, sent a report with photos of the hood to Ford.

Ford replied to the dealer:

"The corrosion warranty requires there to be naturally occurring perforation, a hole, in the sheet metal body panel.There is no perforation present on the hood that would qualify for corrosion warranty. The condition present is not warrantable under the corrosion warranty."

I've seen this condition present on other Mustangs. Too bad. I like the car and receive daily compliments on it. Now I point out the hood corrosion and tell folks that my next car will be a Camaro.

- Richard A., Ellicott City, MD, US

problem #17

Jan 232015

Mustang GT/CS 5.0L

  • Manual transmission
  • 37,000 miles

I have a 2012 Mustang GT/CS Race Red with corrosion bubbles on the outer lip of the hood.

- sbeard73, Seminary, MS, US

problem #16

Sep 012015

Mustang 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

How can a car that is only 3 years old with just over 50,000 corrode from under the paint?

- marty422, Salem, US

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?