10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,749 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Ford Ranger seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Ford Ranger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Ford Ranger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #171

Jun 192019

Ranger

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V001000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Oxmoor Ford (100 oxmoor ln, louisville, ky 40222, (502) 426-2500) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Louieville, KY, USA

problem #170

Jun 202019

Ranger

  • 110,000 miles
Takata recall: I have been trying to get my passenger airbag replaced since the recall came out in February and I have been blown off 3 times by the dealership. The first time I called I was told by a service dept. Rep that they had to order the parts in March and to call back in 5 weeks if they did not call me. At the beginning of may I called and I was told they had no record of me calling and talking to anyone at the dealership. They once again took my information and I talk with a marissa. Again I was asked to check back in a month if I was not contacted. Last week I contacted the dealership again and once again I was told that nobody had ordered the parts. This time someone named carla took my information and set up an appointment to come into surprise Ford dealership at 7am to get my truck fixed only to find out from them that I was not in the system and no parts were ordered. They told me that they have a service center in Florida answer the phones when they are busy and they never set up anything. Now almost 6 months after the recall I have yet to get any action done on my truck not from my part. This is really a messed up system and a waste of my time for nothing. Something should be brought and done to this dealership and others if they operate this way. It comes across as though they don't care about the recall until it is too late.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #169

Mar 282019

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. After receiving a recall notice I promptly went to my local Ford dealer (andy shaw Ford in sylva, nc) in February 2019. After more than a month they told me to come in and they would take care of it. I continue to receive recall notices, almost three months after they said it was repaired (3/28/19). How do I go about determining whether the airbag was actually replaced or not?

- Cullowhee, NC, USA

problem #168

Feb 012019

Ranger

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Called dealer (sunshine Ford-newburg, NY) and got an appointment for 3/19/2019, but they cancelled because the bag didn't arrive. I was told I would be notified when they received one. I got a second notice in April and called sunshine back. They again said they would call when the bag arrived. I got a postcard from Ford, so I called and explained my situation. I was put on hold while they tried to call the dealer. They tried two times when I was holding but no one answered. I was told they would call me when they spoke with sunshine, that was 5/21, I still haven't heard. Now I received a notice from NY state dept. Of motor vehicles telling me it is urgent. What more can I do?

- Garrison, NY, USA

problem #167

Apr 082019

Ranger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V001000 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Kelly Ford (420 cabot St, beverly, MA 01915, (978) 922-0059) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Beverley, MA, USA

problem #166

Apr 262019

Ranger

  • 82,000 miles
When scheduling a recall for the airbag I was told my local dealer would not have the part for 3 to 4 weeks and was told to try another dealer 15 miles away. Ford put me on a list at the local dealer. The recall(19S01 /NHTSA recall 19V-001) that I received states both the driver and passenger will be replaced, they are only replacing the passenger airbag and that a loaner vehicle can be provided for free. The recall also states do not drive your vehicle until the recall repair has been completed. Ford was not willing to issue a loaner vehicle until my local dealer was able to obtain the required parts and wanted me to schedule at a dealer 15 miles away.

- Brownsville, PA, USA

problem #165

Jan 282019

Ranger 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V001000 (air bags). The contact called david stanley Ford of midwest city at 405-733-1611 (located at 6601 SE 29th St, midwest city, ok 73110) and was informed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #164

Apr 112019

Ranger

  • 83,000 miles
I have contacted my dealer ( twin pines Ford) 3 times 3-4-2019 to 4-11-2019 and yet have to receve a call back. Even just to say no parts or yes we have the part. It is an air bag a safty item under recall19V-001

- Denver, PA, USA

problem #163

Dec 232018

Ranger

  • 18,700 miles
Takata recall airbag inflators released. A few small fragments struck my left hand and the side of my neck. I was going maybe 5 mph in my driveway.

- Greenville, OH, USA

problem #162

Feb 202019

Ranger

  • miles
Ford has told me that I can only get the recall work performed at a Ford dealer. I live in juneau, Alaska. We have no Ford dealer and there are no roads to juneau. Affordable auto repair in juneau (907-790-9332 rusty, srvc mgr) has already done some of the airbag recall work (notice #19S01), but Ford has now put a halt to this work by affordable auto repair and will not provide dealer support to order the parts and reimburse affordable auto for the work. There are many Ford owners in juneau and we are being put in danger, because Ford will not allow this recall work to be performed at anywhere other than a Ford dealer, even thought we have no Ford dealer in juneau and no roads to drive hundreds of miles and days away to the "closest" Ford dealer. Ford's solution in unrealistic and unfair for Alaska Ford owners. Ford is putting Alaska residents in danger. We need immediate resolution to this issue. The Ford helpline and online chat has not been helpful in bringing this to a resolution..

- Juneau, AK, USA

problem #161

Oct 152018

Ranger

  • 3,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The advanced trac light stayed on all the time. Took to Ford dealer and costed $100 to check light, they said was restraint control module, it affected brakes, advanced trac, air bags and anti-tip over device. The vehicle only had 3500 miles on it. The part is rediculously priced!! $650 is outrageous!!!

- Inverness, FL, USA

problem #160

Jun 012016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair as the recall notice was received over a year ago. The dealer (athens Ford, 4260 atlanta hwy, athens, ga 30606, (706)-521-0778) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was contacted several times and was unable to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Monroe, GA, USA

problem #159

Apr 012018

Ranger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Mullinax Ford of mobile (7311 airport blvd, mobile, Alabama 36608, (888) 241-4640) was made aware of the recall in April of 2018. The dealer stated that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unknown.

- Saraland, AL, USA

problem #158

Oct 202018

Ranger

  • miles
We received a second letter stating the part was ready and to call the dealership. We did so, and evidently we are now on a list there! this is rediculous. I can't ride in his vehicle. How much longer do we have to wait"????"

- Pawleys Island, SC, USA

problem #157

Jun 012016

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags). The contact called fairview Ford at 888-720-3274 (located at 292 N G St, san bernardino, ca 92410) and was informed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #156

Apr 012018

Ranger

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Ford Ranger. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called john West Ford at (888) 356-7952 and capital Ford at (775) 882-5353 and was informed that the part was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Truckee, CA, USA

problem #155

Aug 262017

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall passenger side air bag deflector Ford dealer has not repaired my truck yet, very dangerous to passengers

- Cibolo, TX, USA

problem #154

Jun 122018

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Ford Ranger. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V384000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (sunrise Ford of fontana, 16005 valley blvd, fontana, ca 92335, (833) 660-7724) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Rio Alto, CA, USA

problem #153

Jun 122018

Ranger

  • 52,000 miles
I was first notified in January. Have received 2 letters from Ford, stating parts were available. It is now June and still np parts. I am number 13 on list at garber Ford, gcs for repair. I cannot drive vehicle or if I do, I am at risk. What is problem with Ford or supplier? truck is now useless to me.

- Green Cove Springs (Gcs), FL, USA

problem #152

Jun 112018

Ranger

  • miles
Takata recall I have received a letter for repair from Ford. The letter specifies to call Ford Motor Company to set an appointment to replace the passenger side air bag, but when I called them they told me to call don davis Ford in arlington tx to obtain an appointment for the replacing of the passenger air bag, so I call them and they said they did not have parts yet for the repair, so I called Ford Motor Company and they said they will set an appointment as soon as they get the parts available and until this day I haven┐T received a call from them again. Right now the heat in the area where I live is bad and I am scare that the passenger air bag might explode. For your information the letter I have received has a posted date of April 2018. Thanks and please let me know.

- Arlington, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?