Notes: Ahh, the ole' sophomore slump. The 2008 Acadia suffers from widespread transmission failure around 75,000 miles.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,411 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 GMC Acadia drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 GMC Acadia Owner Comments (Page 1 of 13)

problem #246

Dec 202017


  • 124,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. While driving 40-45 mph, the engine would not switch gears. The contact pulled over to the side of the road, turned off and restarted the engine, and was able to drive the vehicle to the contact's residence. The contact experienced the same failure 18 months ago. The vehicle was taken to todd wenzel Buick GMC (614 N state rd, davison, mi 48423) where it was diagnosed that a new transmission control module was needed. The manufacturer was contacted at 1-800-462-8782 and did not assist. There were no recalls associated with the vehicle. The failure mileage was 124,000.

- Kentwood, MI, USA

problem #245

May 312017


  • miles
I purchased a used 2008 GMC Acadia in May 2017 ever since I purchased this vehicle I have had nothing but problems I purchased this vehicle because my daughter is a senior in high school and I knew that we would be needing it to travel from state to state for college tours. Every since I purchased we have not been able to travel because of the continuous light to come on, continuous codes that comes on and it causes the car to run horribly I am spending $20-$30 a day on gas and I'm also noticing that the oil is just evaporating but I'm not seeing it on the ground I continue to take it to the mechanic he continue to fix things that the codes gives him. I'm still spending money and I'm still not getting any results I have not been able to travel in this vehicle because I refuse to get on the highway with my child and breakdown in the middle of nowhere. What we need to do is start a petition with GMC because if everyone is having these problems then it is a serious problem I am to the point where I am ready to start a lawsuit. I mean let's be honest what are we waiting for either us or one of our loved ones to die and is known death trap. There are so many recalls on this vehicle that all of them should be just called in and repaired apparently it's a problem with GMC assembling the vehicle and they do not want to own up to their responsibilities and it's not fair to us that I lives are at stake.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #244

Oct 162017


  • 100,000 miles
Transmission problem I am being warning signs! stopped at a red light and went to accelerate and Acadia would not go faster than 25 mph! now I am being told I need a new transmission at 95000 miles GMC is a joke! will never own another one!

- Breaux Bridge, LA, USA

problem #243

Mar 012017

Acadia 6-cyl

  • miles


Citizen petition - 2008 GMC Acadia, timing chain and 3rd/5th reverse clutch wave plate defect the consumer would like the vehicle to be included in a recall. Updated 09/21/2017

- Wausau, WI, USA

problem #242

Apr 242014


  • 80,000 miles
I bought the GMC Acadia used in 2014. It had about 80K miles on it, from a dealership. They assured me it has been inspected and I had an extended warranty on it. The transmission went out with my 5 children in the car on the freeway. I'm a special ed teacher and drive only 5 miles from my home and occasionally to los angeles to visit relatives. After 3 weeks of having the car, the transmission went out. I was horrified!!! the warranty covered the majority of the parts. But they charged almost $4000 for a transmission that they told me would be new, I found out later that it was rebuilt with new parts. Fast forward to 3 years later, the water pump, the fuel pump, the axle and the transmission and computer has went out again. Another almost $4000, this time it has to come out of my pocket as the warranty is expired. It is bleeding me dry. I have the car serviced regularly and keep all of my service records, this makes absolutely no sense. As a parent of 5 children, (2 special needs), I was excited about my purchase, now I wish I would've never done it. --

- Banning, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #241

Jun 222017


  • 160,000 miles
What's not wrong with this car"? I bought it used with an extended warranty. After a year everything went downhill. It has been in and out the GMC service at lease 3 times a year. I don't even know where to start. The airbag light is on but it isn't covered under the airbag recall. What about safety" there has been a check stability trac and traction lights on as well on several occasions. When those lights come on the vehicle decelerated while driving across the Kentucky bridge which almost caused a 12 car pile up. In addition, it also skips gears. When trying to speed up it jerks into the next gear like a hiccup. The dealership stated these problems were electric and wear covered under my extended warranty. I suggested that maybe the transmission was bad. However, they stated otherwise. Literally, 4 months later the transmission is out. But what a surprise no longer under warranty. Now I'm looking at a $5,000 bill. The service department stated that it is transmission failure due to an electric issue (out of my control). There is nothing that I could have done to prevent it from happening. But after talking to GM they, basically explained that they don't stand by their product after 100,000 and that they can't prove that the issues are actually manufacturers defect. I strongly disagree as there are hundreds of people experiencing the same hardships as me with the 2008 vehicle. On, for GMC Acadia, 2008 is the worst year with the most complaints for transmission failure. How aren't these already recalled by now? they are nothing but junk! not work anything. Even a GMC service rep. Said these were the worse year and get them in the shop all the time. Why won't GMC just isssue a recall and take them off the market. I have all the proof of regular maintenance and service receipts.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #240

Feb 112017


  • miles


The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. While driving 55 mph, the vehicle failed to shift correctly and a knocking/grinding noise was heard coming from the transmission. The dealer was not aware of any transmission failures. The contact took the vehicle to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the wave plate failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Five days later, the manufacturer issued a recall for the transmission wave plate. Two years later, the wave plate failed again and the vehicle failed to shift into reverse, third gear, and fifth gear. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and instructed the contact to seek reimbursement; however, the manufacturer denied the claim, stating that the contact exceeded the vehicle/age stipulations for the recall repair/reimbursement. The vehicle was included in a recall, but the details were not provided. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #239

Apr 182017


  • 135,250 miles
Happened 2X already. Vehicle is in motion high rate of speed 55 to 75 mph, engine light comes on and vehicle starts to slow down drastically on its own. Eventually the engine shuts off loosing all power and power steering. Happened once on highway and once on a major busy road. If you try to accelerate there is no power. The vehicle eventually stalls without warning. Once I could not even tell the engine stopped because the dash board lights still worked. Pulled over, wait 10 to 15 minutes and then try to start vehicle. It will start and everything seems normal again. Each time this happened I had my 3 kids in car. Not safe at all. Took it to dealer and they have no clue. Said it may have something to do with transmission.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #238

Nov 102016


  • 116,000 miles
Water pump failed in the freeway prematurely, brake cylinder failed prematurely, steering, rack and pinion and power steering pump failed @116K, transmission failed @ means of transportation with 3 kids.

- Eastvale, CA, USA

problem #237

Mar 182017


  • 143,000 miles
Approximately 3 weeks ago, my 2008 GMC Acadia was serviced at 140,000 miles for worn out timing chains. Now, I am looking at problems with my transmission. How convenient. Within three weeks this vehicle has failed on me. The timing chains were rattling in turns when it was taken into the dealership and the problem was discovered. I actually visited and left the dealership several times before the problem was diagnosed, so I was riding around with a faulty part in my engine. The transmission went out after I had exited the interstate at which point I could not accelerate more than 10 mph. Good thing I was not on the interstate when it decided to stall out on me as I can only imagine how disastrous that would have been. The 2007 and 2009 GMC models were recalled for timing chain issues, never the 2008 model. The transmission problem is related to the 3-5-R wave plate, which had a 20,000 mile extension from GM to cover the repair if this broke, which of course I am out of, thus the repair costs for both defects are my problem. I do not understand how they will not back their products knowing that they are faulty. GM needs to step up and man up to the fact they have inferior products inside these engines and transmissions.

- York, SC, USA

problem #236

Feb 252017


  • 148,000 miles


I have a 2008 Acadia which is equipped with a timing chain that has been known by General Motors to prematurely stretch and fail, and which can cause serious damage to other engine components, as well as activate certain sensors either prematurely or not at all. Your engine and key components and crankshafts and sensors rely on the timing chain in order to function properly. When you're driving in your vehicle and the timing chain gets stretched, the check engine light flashes on, the engine and transmission will power down and shut off, a loud buzzing sound will occur and hope to god you are not on the highway, because General Motors knows about the defect but still will not issue a recall on the prematurely stretched timing chains due to the extensive cost of repair. They have extended warranty coverage on certain similar models in 2007 and 2009, and have offer full replacement of the timing chain up to 10 years and 120,000 miles, but despite the same issue occurring in vehicles made in 2008 with the same defects, they have denied my service request. This a very costly and extremely unsafe condition to drive the vehicle in. It is terrifying when your engine misfires and powers down, and your warning lights flash with a loud buzzing alarm sound blaring through the speakers. The traction control, stabilitrak system, and airbag sensors are all adversely affected by the defective timing chain as well, and the manufacturer is well aware of this defect and unfortunately will probably not be held responsible until someone is killed in an accident as a result of a defective timing chain. I'm so disappointed in this vehicle and the lack of accountability through the manufacturer. They know it's a problem. They are aware of the defect. They even extended coverage to replace up until a certain point, but beyond that, they do not care.

- Wausau, WI, USA

problem #235

Dec 052016

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 145,000 miles
Due to deceleration the mechanic replaced the throttle body. After that the vehicle decelerates often driving down the street and seems to slip into neutral. Also will just die at times. Now they are saying a new transmission even though it was replaced 13 months ago. Codes P07756 P0797 stuck on P0963 P0969 P2728 road test by mechanic the vehicle seemed to take off in a higher gear and exhibited low power. During continued driving the transmission slipped out of gear before finally engaging their diagnosis internal transmission failure recommend replace transmission.

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #234

Nov 122014

Acadia 6-cyl

  • 77,924 miles
Check engine lite goes on and off appears to be timing chain. We have a 2008 GMC Acadia that has had over $4000 in repairs since we purchased it in 2010. The most current is that the timing chain needs to be replaced at the cost of $3500. I have read all 167 complaints from other customers posted on the Consumer Affairs website regarding the 2007-15 GMC Acadia. I compiled a list of all reported problems by year/make other customers reported on their Acadias. GMC has extended warranty for the timing chain for 2007 and 2009, not 2008 though. All of our previous repairs have been reported by others also. 2 of my repairs had recalls after we had paid for the repair. Have been reimbursed by GMC for parts only for stabilizer kit, power steering pump assembly and rack N pinion but not the liftgate yet. I contacted GMC customer care requesting they look into including the 2008 but was told it isn't included and all they could do is give us a $20000 voucher for a new or leased GMC. (case #8-1702070910) I tried to contact GMC at a higher level ( sending them a request to review 2008 recalls for sway bar end links. Front and back rotors, sun roof leaking, front gas struts, purge valve, vent control solenoid and amplifier. Included a copy of my repair log and summary of complaints on Consumer Affairs for 2007-15 Acadias. They responded within 36 hours by having tiffany (the original contact at GMC) telling again all they can do is the $2000 voucher. So I can only assume they did no research at all and I'm out of luck. I think GMC needs to be held responsible for their products and customers and not tell me they a man made product, they don't last forever. Thank you for your time. Sincerely, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Northbrook, IL, USA

problem #233

Sep 152015


  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. While driving 60 mph, the oil pressure gauge needle fluctuated and the vehicle was taken to the dealer where the transmission fuse was replaced; however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Huntington Park, CA, USA

problem #232

Oct 182016


  • miles
2008 GMC Acadia with just over 30,000 miles started jerking a couple days ago when gears would change from first to second. I took it to my mechanic today and what do you know - I need a new transmission. I can't believe that GMC has done nothing about this after reading all of the complaints. A $3000 repair if I'm lucky. My car looks like new and is hardly driven - and the transmission goes out?? crazy

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #231

Jul 122016


  • 131,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. While driving approximately 55 mph, the vehicle stalled, the brakes seized, and the traction control and ABS indicators illuminated. The contact lost control of the steering. The vehicle was able to restart on the first attempt. The failure recurred five times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer stated that there were no recalls for the vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 131,000.

- Mount Olive, NC, USA

problem #230

Sep 182016


  • 125,000 miles
1) a transmission switch plate error - warranty repair (GMC never paid my hotel/rental car claim. On hwy with family. 2) transmission issue - paid close to $2000. I asked if this would lead to transmission failure; they told me no, car would be good to go.the person who helped me no longer works at the el paso dealership when I reported he tried to overcharge me. Driving on hwy in el paso with kids. 3) transmission - paid $4000+ for transmission (GMC claims not related to the previous repair); discussed with service dept if we should spend more money on the car...they told me the new transmission would work. (mileage was 125K) the transmission failed while moving from el paso to Colorado safe place to stop. 4) 2 mos later (now) - claim the timing belt failed and rh tie rods need repair and they say I declined a repair. I never discussed this needed repair and the possibility of a $2600 repair following this $4000 if they mentioned it, they never said you have $6600 worth of work in front of you. I already was concerned about paying $4000 after paying $2000. It happened on highway. GMC is more than aware of these issues with their cars and they are leaving their customers to deal with it. I have a 2002 GMC Envoy and never paid anything close in repairs. There are serious problems with this make and model. We are also a military family who travels quite a bit. We started getting errors on road trips and we even had the original warranty repair while we were out of town, causing us to be stranded on the side of the highway in the Washington DC area when our car just stopped. GMC is showing a total disregard for its customers. They are aware of these issues and they are not taking any responsibility for them. They are putting their customers in physical danger and wreaking havoc on our finances. This is disgusting and unacceptable.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #229

Aug 222016


  • 100,250 miles
Vehicle lurches when going from 10mph to 20mph was going downhill would no longer accelerate once I was at 40-45 mph it revs up to 4 and nothing had to coast downhill turn into a parking lot and stop the car. Took it to the dealer who sold it to me and he was able to replicate the same issue under similar circumstances. The dealership will look at it but I bought it used for my family at 99,950 miles 8 days ago

- Soldotna, AK, USA

problem #228

Oct 152015


  • 85,000 miles
Oil changes at dealer performed every 3K miles. At 88K miles, shortly after drive train warranty expired. The check engine light appeared. Full diagnostics performed by local dealer stated timing chain buffers were beginning to fail. Est cost $3500. Advised that since the light comes on/off intermittently, okay to wait to see if problem worsens, which may be many years, if ever. At 92K miles, while on highway, the transmission wouldn't shift gears, RPM's climbed, pulled over vehicle where it stalled and wouldn't restart. Vehicle towed to dealer, where tested and determined that engine needs replacement due to loud metalic engine noise and metal shavings in oil. Estimated repairs from two GMC dealers of $6600 to $7600 for re-manufactured engine. Local dealers have stated that timing chain buffers is a very common problem with 2008 GMC Acadia and vehicle should be recalled, but is not due to the cost of engine replacement. Contacted GMC (belva - senior case analyst) to describe case and they responded that they will not assist in the repairs because: 1) vehicle was purchased used - stating that all such purchases are 'as-is' from dealer and its up to the consumer to do due-dilegence before purchasing, 2) vehicle power train warranty expired by date shortly before purchase, and 3) power train warranty is now 3 years past the date, regardless of when issue first appeared. GMC senior advisor also stated the she recently purchased a used GM product, and the engine failed shortly afterward at 100K miles, and GM will not assist her either, as that is also out of the date range of the power train warranty. Engine was manufactured in the K-GM (saint catharines, Ontario) plant.

- Stoughton, WI, USA

problem #227

May 282016


  • 131,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 GMC Acadia. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle hesitated while the contact attempted to accelerate. In addition, the vehicle would not start when prompted on numerous occasions. The vehicle was diagnosed as having a faulty part within the transmission. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 131,000.

- Leesburg, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?