8.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$510
Average Mileage:
48,500 miles
Total Complaints:
169 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace bad control arms in rear of vehicle (47 reports)
  2. not sure (40 reports)
  3. replace the tires (14 reports)
  4. buy new tires (11 reports)
  5. honda should fix (10 reports)
  6. need honda too replace rear control arms for free (9 reports)
2007 Honda Civic wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 8 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

May 012009

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,765 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As a result of the defective control arms there is uneven wear on the tires and the dealer told me to replace all 4 tires. There are flat spots on the tires and is very uncomfortable. The dealer refused to replace the tires under warranty as the car was over the 25,000 miles mark. I feel this is not fair as I should not have to replace tires until 60,000 miles. Now I am stuck with the cost of new tires because of a manufacturing defect in the control arms. I will be calling Honda customer service to lodge an official complaint.

- Raj P., Cedarburg, WI, US

problem #28

Jan 012009

Civic EX

  • Manual transmission
  • 25,000 miles

The rear control arms caused uneven tire wear, which makes my car sound and feel like I am driving an 18 wheeler. I got the control arms fixed, but Honda won't pay for the tires. My car still shakes nonstop when I go between 65 and 75. It can't be good for the car. I have to buy new tires, and I am pissed that honda does not cover it. Total BS.

- ssantich, Nashville, TN, US

problem #27

Apr 202009

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

I bought my Honda Civic in March 2007 and I have had problems with it right from the start. This car is automatic but has shifted like I am a really bad Standard driver since about a week after I bought it. Honda does not see a problem. My Main Complaint is the tire wear. I currently have 80,000 kilometers on the car and just had my third set of tires installed. At 40,000 kilometers, the first set of tires were totally Bald with wires sticking out, very unsafe to be driving. The Honda dealer told me it was a problem with all the original tires on all makes and models not just Honda. My second set of tires that I just replaced also had about 40,000 km on them but only the two rear tires were affected. One just had a lot of wear on the inside and the other had a broken belt along with so much wear the belts were exposed. I was told by a Canadian Tire service Tech that this was the third Honda he has seen with the same problem this Month!!!

- sherryl, Yarmouth, NS, Canada

problem #26

Apr 142009

Civic EX 1.8L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my Honda Civic 07 EX new and have been fairly happy with it until the last couple of thousand miles. I heard as some have reported a rumbling in the rear of the vehicle that sounded like I was driving a truck (a bad one) and after having thought I was just hearing things and my wife not thinking anything was out of the ordinary, I decided to research it on the internet and discovered a whole bunch of people with my problem. I took it to the dealer and rode with a tech and told him about the service bulletin for the upper control arms and wheel bearings. They were quite nice and agreed to replace both at no cost to me and prorate the tires. Then I just discovered they only have agreed to replace 2 of the 4 so I am still in negotiation to get all 4 replaced since all 4 were on the rear for several thousand miles.

I don't recommend purchasing this car as even the tech noted this car has a negative camber on the rear wheels and I don't think even the new control arms are going to prevent premature wear. I formerly had a 1985 Prelude SI and absolutely loved Honda, but I regret to say I will be checking into my trade in value at the local Toyota dealer when this piece is fixed! Kudos's so far to my dealer for handling most of this correctly, but shame on Honda for not admitting to this horrendous costly problem to the consumer. I hope they are publicly criticized and shamed for this crime perpetrated on consumers.

- jbthrower72, Lubbock, TX, US

problem #25

Mar 302009

Civic EX 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,884 miles

I purchased my 2007 Civic EX in February of 2007. Within 6 months this vehicle developed a vibration and howling/grinding noise in the rear end. My husband took it to the dealer and insisted that the vehicle had a wheel bearing problem. The dealer representative took it for a spin and insisted that there was not a problem and that Civics were a lower end vehicle so we had to expect a bit of road noise. From Dec. 2007 to Feb. 2008 it was so bad we drove our Caravan because we did not feel safe taking the Civic on the road.

At the end of February 08, because all motor vehicles are required to have an annual inspection in Nova Scotia, we took the Civic back to the dealer for it's annual inspection and, once again, expressed our anger about the noise and the fact that the tires would not pass the safety inspection at only16,000 km. At this point, the dealer advised us of a bulletin and said the rear control arms needed to be replaced and it would need an all wheel alignment; in addition to four new tires. We were expected to pay $267.69 towards the tire replacement and the dealer would cover the additional tire costs.

Several months later we were back complaining about the noise and vibration and we were told to turn to a certain radio frequency and that would help with the noise problem. Incredible!!!

Now, one year and another 16,000 km later, once again, we need ear plugs to drive in this vehicle and we need new tires. I find it incredible that at 32,000 km this vehicle is looking at its third set of tires!!! This is my first Honda and will be my last. I would not recommend this car to my worse enemy; in fact I have had the privilege of talking several people out of buying one. I thought Honda stood for quality and good service. I am truly disappointed in Honda; I thought by paying a few more dollars I was buying quality. I don't think so!!! It is hard on fuel, very noisy and expensive to keep on the road.

- Anne R., Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada

problem #24

Mar 012009

Civic EX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

Bought this car used in May 2007, it only had about 6,000 miles on it. Didn't even have 20,000 miles on it and the first set of tires were junk and the howling from the tire noise would drown out the radio. Of course the dealership tried to blame me, said I didn't rotate the tires often enough, blah, blah, blah. They finally admitted there was a service bulletin for this. The number is 08-011 if anyone cares. Service dept performed the work on the bulletin last July and gave me a partial refund for the new tires I had to buy, not enough but at least I got something. So now I have 50,000 and the second set of rear tires are cupped and the howling noise is starting again. I've had the tires rotated and had an alignment done...didn't do any good. I'm sorely disappointed in Honda!!

- Laurie S., Snover, MI, US

problem #23

Jan 212009

Civic SI

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Honda denies any culpability for rear tires needing replacing every 15,000 miles. See you in court.

- Keith S., Cary, NC, US

problem #22

Mar 022009

Civic ES 1.8L Sohc

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,500 miles

only 18,500 miles on my Civic, had it less than 18 months. I am the only owner. Already had to replace the tires. I have had other vehicles for years and the tires never had to be replaced this quickly. I find this to be an outrage, and strongly believe that Honda needs to address this issue. I have researched on the internet and found countless amounts of other owners stating the same exact issue. I do not drive crazy. I drive like an old man to get the best gas mileage possible. Oil changes and tire rotations done on schedule. There is no reason that thee tires should have worn so quickly, other than there being a defect in the tires.

Update from Jul 11, 2011: I had my original tires replaces at 22k miles and the rear control arms replaced at the same time, due to this issue. I bought 4 new tires rated for 85k miles the following week. Well now at 67k miles (~45k miles on the new tires), I have the same exact issue again, cupping on the inside tread of the tires. So frustrating.

javascript:void(0);

- ezjensen, Elgin, IL, US

problem #21

Feb 142009

Civic EX 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,100 miles

Same as others, the web is full of complaints probably in the hundreds or thousands about the noise from the rear tires. Honda simply refuses to acknowledge that this is their problem and it is their fault that these tires are wearing out so quickly. More disgusting than anything is that we never received a re-call about this and Honda's 100% refusal do pay any more than 50% of two tires to be replaced. I rotate every 3000 miles myself and in my opinion if the rear tires are cupping then so are the current tires on the front. Honda seems to be taking the approach that they have done nothing wrong regarding this situation. The cars sounds like one is riding on a covered wagon with six horses pulling it along. Going to have it fixed next week for my own safety and the safety of my family but going to have to pay 50% for two tires. Was told by an Oklahoma City dealer yesterday there will most likely be a class action law suit filed against Honda for this problem in the near future as they are receiving scores of complaints daily about this just in Oklahoma. We have driven Honda cars since 1985 and have never had them act this way before. Personally I have sent details about this to ABC's 20/20, NBC's Dateline, etc. The more national media attention we as owners can draw into this debate the more likelihood something will be done about it. I am surprised that the National Insurance Institute has not gotten involved with this too. I am going to Google them as soon as I submit this. If they are as concerned about safety as they say they are them maybe they can help too. Please advise everybody you know to get on the internet and start flooding Honda 1-800-999-1009 with complaints about this, let's keep their line burning until they either fix the problem or change their number.

- gmccoy, Enid, OK, US

problem #20

Jan 012007

Civic EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

Executive Summary: A roaring noise developed because of uneven tire wear on the rear tires. The uneven tire ware was caused by a bad rear alignment. The original rear fixed upper control arms (NOT-adjustable) on my Honda Civic were too short causing the bad alignment. Honda has released a bulletin to replace the fixed rear upper control arms with longer fixed upper control arms. The alignment cannot be adjusted because the rear upper control arms are fixed in place.

The longer fixed upper control arms did bring the rear alignment within specific tolerances, but this did not zero in the alignment perfectly. Honda does not sale an adjustable upper control arm and I had to acquire a rear adjustable upper control arm from a third party vendor.

I discovered that all Honda vehicles (except the S2000) have fixed rear upper control arms and the alignment cannot be altered. So why is it that they want to charge for an alignment?

My Experience: My problem is very similar to what others have described. My car developed a roaring noise on the original set of tires. I took the car into the dealer to determine the problem. The mechanic said that the tires had uneven ware and a new set of tires would resolve the problem. I told the mechanic to do what he needed to do to prevent this from happening again. I purchased the Michelin Harmony and explained to the Honda dealership that I wanted to make sure the alignment was spot on and anything else he could think of that needed to be done to prevent this problem from occurring again. I had put full trust and faith into the dealership and the mechanic.

After about 19,000 miles, the roaring noise returned and got really bad. Everyone who got into my car complained about the noise. Needless to say, this did not look good for Honda. I took the car into the dealership and they did all they could to place the blame on me. The Honda Dealership said that my driving habits could have knocked out the alignment, that I needed to bring the car more often to rotate/balance the tires, and that the roads are ruff, etc, etc. etc. I explained to the Honda dealership that I currently have three vehicles and I have had several others before them. I drive them all the same way on the same roads. The 2007 Honda Civic is the only one giving me this problem.

By this time, I was tired of talking to the service representative and ask to talk to the top dog of the dealership. I did not want to waste my time talking my way of the management chain. If everyone wanted to hear what I had to say, then they could listen to me tell it to the top dog who can make decisions.

But I did not get the dealership’s top dog and instead I got the service department manager. The service department manager offered to pay for an alignment and pay for one tire. I had to pay for the other tire. But I asked if this would solve the problem, because I did not want to bring the car in for new tires every 20,000 miles.

Eventually, I found out that the rear upper control arms are too short and that Honda has issued a bulletin to replace the rear upper control arms that are longer. The new rear upper control arms did bring the alignment into tolerance, but the alignment was not zeroed in. So I asked the dealership to locate and install some adjustable rear control arms in order to zero in the alignment. The adjustable rear control arms are not Honda Parts, but third party parts.

The Honda and its dealerships are staying quite about this issue. Especially with the Crowd who buys the Honda Civix Si.

I discovered that all Honda vehicles (except the S2000) have fixed upper control arms and the alignments cannot be altered. Honda’s fix is to rotate/balance the tires often (for a charge). Now when the dealer charges for an alignment, what does he adjust? If you cannot adjust the alignment, why are they recommending an alignment?

- Troy S., Durham, NC, US

problem #19

Jan 152009

Civic EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tires with only 22,000 miles had to be replaced. I live in Ohio, so the rapid tire wear was even more of a safety factor because of winter weather (ice, snow). Shame on Honda for this problem.

- corrigan1651, Painesville, OH, US

problem #18

Dec 262008

Civic EX 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

Went through original set of tires(Bridgestone Touranza) without problems. Replaced with Goodyear Eagle at appx. 65000 miles and recently rotated for the first time with 75000 miles on odometer.Prior to rotating these new tires I started hearing a lot of noise - howling- and thought it was coming from a wheel bearing which Honda has issued a recall notice for. This noise emanated from the drivers side rear wheel after appx. 5000 miles on new tires. It was my suspicion that the wheel bearing was the issue because of the recall notice and the symptoms, until I rotated for the first time. It was then that the noise transferred to the left front wheel.

I went to my local Honda dealer to have the 3 recall notices dealt with and thats when things got heated. I asked about the possibility of the front bearing being bad and was told that the recall notice covered only the rear.Under the impression that this was a bearing problem I was a little upset that they wanted to charge $100.00 to diagnose the noise. I left the car there and instructed them to comply with the recall notices and confirm/deny the bearing as being the source of the noise. I received a call about 3 hours later informing me that the front bearings were fine. I was then asked if the tires were recently rotated from the rear, which as stated above they were. The adviser then proceeded to explain Honda TSB (Technical Service Bulletin) 08-001.

This TSB tells the story of a defect in the rear suspension of the 2007 Civic sedan. The upper control arms require replacement at a cost of $350.00. I declined this service/repair in order to contact Honda Motor Corporation directly this coming week.

I am prepared to take Honda to court(Small Claims Court) and will if they refuse to help us. This is a manufacturers defect! Regardless of mileage it is their responsibility and I refuse to have to pay one dime to resolve this matter. I just bought those tires 10000 miles ago! They retail for 147.00 and I simply cant afford to replace them every 3 months.

- wingman69, Salida, CA, US

problem #17

Nov 192008

Civic SI 2.0L Dohc Vtec

  • Manual transmission
  • 22,435 miles

We called the Honda customer service and filed our complaint, so they would have it in their system. We took the car to the dealer, to have them look at it. The manager came out and said they couldn't replace the control arms, because the car was lowered. I said we bought the car like that and you guys inspected it and it was ok, obviously it wasn't. After I said the even if the car is lowered or not, that would not change the wear of the tires it is caused by the faulty control arms. Then after another hour or more we had to argue with the sales manager and finally the agreed to fix it. It doesn't matter if the warranty is good or not, no matter what Honda has to repair the problem on any civic with this problem. I am taking the car in on Thursday to get it fixed. They wouldn't tell me how much all of the parts total up, but they have to changes both control arms, add on a camber kit(which they were supposed to do before we bought the car), change the anchor bolts and all bushings along, 2 lag bolts up in the front of the car, do the 4 wheel alignment, and change all 4 tires. I finally agreed on a price which was $250.00 for all 4 tires and the 4 wheel alignment, and thats all i had to pay.

- Phillip M., Lakeland, FL, US

problem #16

Sep 142007

Civic EX 1.8l4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles

After experiencing loud rear end noise we called the dealer to see if there might be a problem with the car. We were advised that car probably needed an alignment and to take it to a tire store. We took it to a name brand tire dealer and they indicated the tires were worn beyond the margin of safety. They proceeded to align the wheels and replaced all four tires. The tires had to be replaces after only a third of their normal expected service life. We were advised to have the vehicle aligned on a regular basis

- martinfl, Deltona, FL, US

problem #15

Nov 192008

Civic SI 2.0L Dohc Vtec

  • Manual transmission
  • 22,435 miles

click to see larger images

excessive/uneven tire wear excessive/uneven tire wear excessive/uneven tire wear excessive/uneven tire wear

Me and my fiance purchased a 2007 Honda civic si. This is the second 07 si we have owned. On both of the civics I had that problem with 3rd gear popping out and also grinds sometimes going into 3rd. About three weeks ago the car started driving funny, and the rear end was slightly moving side to side on the highway. I checked and noticed the tires were almost gone in the rear. With only 22000 miles the tires should not be wearing down so all of the wires are showing in the tire. I was trying to figure out what was causing it. I already knew the alignment was off, but i just felt like something else was wrong. I called my dad and told him what was going on. A couple days later he found a whole bunch of complaints about 2006-2007 civics, with excessive wearing of the back tires. It turns out there are a whole bunch of people with this same problem. It is caused by bad control arms in the back of the car. I also found out that Honda has made a bulletin of this, but has not yet issued a recall. I called the manager to where we bought the car, and told him that my tires we wore down to the wires. According to him he considered that normal wear. Now that i know of this problem, i got in contact with the service manager who is looking at my car on Monday. I have printed off all of the complaints and the pics of their tires so i can show him. If i would have known this about the car I would have not purchased it. I have always owned Honda\'s, but I am not very impressed with this 07 Si. My 1991 Integra runs and drives a hell of a lot better. I am also calling Honda\'s customer service to make a complaint. They will only repair cars to your complaint if you have any of these problems. So please if you have a newer civic that has this problem call and make a complaint. Its a very dangerous problem I almost got in an accident, because the rear was moving so bad on the highway. I can\'t even barely drive the car in the rain unless i go about 30 or less. My front tires are stating to wear the same way.

- Phillip M., Lakeland, FL, US

problem #14

Dec 022008

Civic EX 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,567 miles

I purchased new 2007 civic in November 2006, got a recall for rear bearing possibly needing changing dec 2007, i also noticed the inside of my rear tires wearing, so while warranty work was done Jan 2007, i had car aligned, I did not pay much attention until this week 12/3, and i noticed my right rear tire was "slick" WOW, and more vWOW, I took it immediately to dealer, pointed out what we had done in January, and had them look at tires: 2 front tires had lots of tread, left rear was almost "slick" right rear is "slick"...

They told me that their was a "bulletin" out, not recall to replace the upper control arms on the rear of the car, no cost, free alignment, BUT I had to pay for 2 new tire, at their "cost" $258 with tax.....I am very disappointed Honda did not at least send me a note even a email alerting me to the fix....when they knew I was going to have this problem.....Bridgestone tire will love it....I thing Honda show come clean on this very dangerous problem, and pay for fix and prorated waer on my tires.......

- David R., Dallas, TX, US

problem #13

Jun 182008

Civic

  • Manual transmission
  • 12,427 miles

We bought this car in the end of January, 2008. At the first oil change (at the dealership), they did not rotate the tires because there was not enough wear to warrant doing so. At the second oil change, they thought there was enough wear on the rear passenger tire only that we should purchase a new tire ($250 from them). We did not purchase one at that time, as the wear was minimal. They said it was NOT the result of misalignment, and that we must have done something to the car. Only my husband and myself drive this car, we do not stunt drive, drive up on curbs, etc, so we know that is not right. Then they tried to say it was the result of a pot hole, etc, while it was on the front. We had to pull out the paper work to show them that it was never on the front, as it was never rotated. After much complaining, and almost another 10000 km's we made the Dealership do a total check of the suspension, alignment, etc, and they claim there is nothing wrong with the car, it must be Goodyear's fault, and they tried to get Goodyear to pay for a new tire, but Goodyear did not think that the km's were unusual for 60% wear. The odd thing is that the other 3 tires have normal expected wear on them. One time when I was in getting an oil change, there was another customer in with her 2007 Civic, and she was complaining about her rear passenger tire wearing out its 3rd tire in 1.5 years. This tells me that I am not the only customer who has had this problem I don't see why I should have to pay almost $300 out of my pocket to replace 2 tires because one of them has worn out in 9 months of driving. And is this something I will have to do every year? My old clunker didn't cost me that much in repairs a year. I guess we are supposed to trade gas mileage for tire bills! And don't even get me started on the cost of oil changes!!!!!!

- Sandie T., Petrolia, ON, Canada

problem #12

Sep 222008

Civic EX 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles

Rear tires wore out ( down past the wear marks ) on the inside rear only. When I brought it to the dealer, they were hesitant to pay for the new tires but I was told that they needed to replace the rear upper-control arms and adjustment bolts and that they ( Honda ) would pay for the new tires. Apparently there is a Service Bulletin on this problem.

- Sean R., Jericho, VT, US

problem #11

Aug 282008

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 32,000 miles

My car is 1.5yrs old with 32,000 miles. The original back tires on my car lasted 20,000 miles. I noticed the tires were worn with almost no tread (the rear only). When I took it to Honda, I was told it was because the tires have not been rotated (which was BS). Since I did not have �proper documentation� of them being rotated, and was unaware of any recalls or issues with the vehicle, 2 new tires were purchased. These were placed on the front of the vehicle. Two months later, the tires that came from the front and placed in the back were worn just as bad. I then bought 2 more tires since I was told �they were low profile tires and they wear down faster�. 9,000 miles and 4 new tires later� the rear tires are bald again! After having some research gathered for me on Honda civic issues, I then took the info to Honda and they agreed that there was an issue regarding the rear tires and they would resolve the issue for me. They have corrected this issue for me but what about the next 2 tires I have to purchase immediately since mine have no tread?! I have paid $600.00 already since April and now have to pay another $300.00 more 5 months later!? 6 tires in the past 5 months seems a bit ridiculous. I feel that Honda owes me new tires with out any hassle~ wish me luck on this one.

For those of you having the same issue... take the bulletin to the dealer! There is a known issue with the rear suspension on the Honda Civic (all models except Si). This issue is documented with the federal government's National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. The following information is on the NHTSA website:

Make / Models : HONDA / CIVIC Model/Build Years : 2006-2007 Manufacturer : HONDA (AMERICAN HONDA MOTOR CO.) Service Bulletin Number : 08-001 Date of Bulletin : FEB 08, 2008 NHTSA Item Number : 10024687 Component : SUSPENSION:REAR Summary Description : UNEVEN OR RAPID REAR TIRE WEAR. NJ

I also found information on the internet indicating there might be a follow-up to the above report. The information below was posted. It looks legitimate, but there is no way to prove it. However, if Honda will provide a copy of the report, then it will be good ammunition to argue with.

TSB: Applies To: 2006�07 Civic 2-Door � ALL Except Si and Honda Accessory HFP Package 2006�07 Civic 4-Door � ALL Except Si 2006�07 Civic Hybrid � ALL �072008 Civic Hybrid � From VIN JHMFA3...8S000001 thru JHMFA3...8S010456 Uneven or Rapid Rear Tire Wear (Supersedes 08-001, dated February 8, 2008, to update the information marked by the black bars) NOTE: To ensure a proper repair and proper reimbursement, you must read this entire service bulletin before doing any work. SYMPTOM The customer may complain of uneven or rapid rear tire wear, a roaring noise from the rear, or a vibration at highway speeds. PROBABLE CAUSE The combination of the tires and the rear suspension geometry may cause rapid and uneven rear tire wear. Tires in an advanced stage of this diagonal or inner edge wear may cause vibration and/or a bad bearing type noise. (For more details, see TIRE INSPECTION AND QUALIFICATION on page 2). CORRECTIVE ACTION Install a rear upper control arm kit, replace the flange bolts and the worn tires (see the Tire Replacement Information chart on page 2), and do a four-wheel alignment. PARTS INFORMATION Rear Upper Control Arm Kit: P/N 04523-SNA-A00, H/C 8820698 Flange bolt (four required): P/N 90397-SNA-A00, H/C 8481012 Flange bolt (two required): P/N 90396-SNA-000, H/C 8178576

- Katie M., Sanford, NC, US

problem #10

Apr 152008

Civic Hybrid Hybrid

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

Notice, Honda has a tech bulletin out for some months now and failed to notify customers that this is a problem. The bulletin replaces the failed or incorrectly installed upper control arms. The tires are worn out at 21,000 miles and are a safety concern which could fill someone if the rear tires wearing on the inside edge are not spotted before they blow out. The onboard dash service notice to rotate the tires came on at the 21,000 mile mark and I brought it in to have service done. My complaint to them was the tires are howling like a big rig and it's hard to hear inside the cab. If anyone is ready to start a class action lawsuit, i'm in!!! If you own a Hybrid or any 2007 civic with tire noise, see your dealer about the rear tire howling before you get a blow out and possibly get into a accident.

- Swift B., Oakhurst, CA, US

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?