2012 Hyundai Sonata engine problems: engine stalls/dies while driving

Engine Stalls/Dies While Driving

2012 Hyundai Sonata

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Hyundai dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

9.1

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$210
Average Mileage:
57,650 miles
Total Complaints:
7 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (6 reports)
  2. replace fuse box (1 reports)
2012 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments

problem #7

Oct 262018

Sonata Limited

  • Manual transmission
  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car has lost power/died while driving on 3 consecutive days. It gives no warning. Just dies (engine turns off, no powering steering, dash goes dark, radio and air turn off). However, the first 2 instances, the engine and all power came back on by itself within seconds (though it felt like an eternity). The third time it happened on 10-28-18, power did not restore on its own. Luckily i was able to pull over without blocking traffic, put it in park, let it sit a second, then I restarted it.... without any problem. And I think that’s the most frustrating part... it restarts and continues for the rest of the day as if nothing had just happened.

I feel like though my car is under factory warranty, and I have the extended warranty, I’m going to get screwed financially for this. I’ve read this has happened in MULTIPLE instances, this is NOT a new complaint. Why isn’t there a class action lawsuit?? Even if this issue is remedied, I’m getting rid of this car.

If this has happened to you, please advise your outcome: Was it the battery (replaced mine 30 days ago)? Alternator (replaced mine in 2017)? Faulty connection? Etc. Did your warranty cover it?

- Carly M., Modesto, US

problem #6

Nov 062017

Sonata GLS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

Car stalled while out of state, towed to a Hyundai dealer who said it was a sensor on the transmission. Said it was replaced, paid the bill and left.

- kmills6115km, Corona, US

problem #5

Dec 302017

Sonata GLS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

Picked up car from dealer, before I get home it stalls again. Towed back to same dealership, they have it from 12/30/2017 until 1/11/2018. For a month they nickel and dime me out hundreds of dollars then tell me it's the after market parts. Not even sure if this correct or not - I am afraid to drive the car

- kmills6115km, Corona, US

problem #4

Jun 142017

Sonata GLS 2.4L Gdi 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving in heavy traffic in the high speed lane of a 6 lane highway with no warning at all the engine died, just shut down. I was very lucky to make it to the breakdown lane since traffic was heavy and there were many commercial vehicles on the road as well. Quite concerning trying to make it through traffic as my car continued to slow down as I had no engine power. NO WARNING, NO WARNING LIGHTS NO NOISES NO PREVIOUS PROBLEMS

- Stew H., Somerset, MA, US

problem #3

Dec 162016

Sonata GLS 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 116,000 miles

My wife's car stalled out on her less than 20 feet from a train track and was luckily able to restart the car in October 2016. After research we found out that there was a recall on the car. Hyundai had a fix for the manufacturer's alleged metal debris that was getting into the engine. The car was "serviced" and determined all was well. In December 2016, the car stalled while leaving work and she was able to get the car restarted successfully; however, seconds later, the engine shut off again. This kept happening every time she restarted the car. She was able to get the car to O'Reilly and when they hooked it up some codes popped up for camshaft sensors, knock sensor and crankshaft sensor. I replaced them and the problem was still there. After speaking with a mechanic over the phone about the problem and the codes he thought it sounded like the timing chain. That is something that is covered under warranty so I decided to take it to the dealership. The car had to be towed to the dealership because it wouldn't stay running long enough to get it there. After talking to Hyundai service department they advised us that the oil control valve needed to be replaced. They also advised us that after replacing this valve, the issue still may not be resolved. If that didn't fix the problem then they would need to keep our car for at least 2 weeks to find out the problem and then go from there. If the oil control valve is NOT the problem then why would I want to pay for a part that might NOT even fix the problem. It seems like these dealerships are trying to get money from us by replacing parts that don't need replaced. I want a straight answer as to what is wrong with my car without having to spend thousands of dollars for part after part after part when by the time they get done with replacing those parts I could've got a new engine. This seems like a problem for Hyundai and I will never buy a Hyundai again because the customer service has been poor from the get go of the problems.

~ Chris M

- Christopher M., Cibolo, TX, US

problem #2

Apr 182016

Sonata Limited 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,806 miles

I loved my 2012 Sonata. Bought it brand new and it has been a great car for the past 4 years. Last September is just died while driving. Dash board lit up and I was travelling a good click at 75 km/hr when it just stopped and I was able to get to the side of the road. It was towed into the dealership and I was told - low battery - need new battery at 42,000 km. How does a battery quit while driving !!!. So I got a new battery and off I went. I did not drive my car for 3 months due to hip surgery and started driving again February 2016. Received the Safety Recall notice about the engine that was addressed by the dealership in March 2016. Next month I am driving on highway going 100km and again my dashboard lights up and the car just stalls. How i managed to get to the side of the road - purely by the hands of GOD. Again it is towed in to the dealership who have it for 3 wks and going back and forth with techicians at headoffice Hyundai Canada to figure out what's going on. From the crankshaft to the type of gas I have been using they outlined it all but bottom line your car is good to go and safe to get back on the road. I am feeling good that all has been taken care of and sure enough 6 wks later I am driving approx 50 km just passing 4 way busy intersection and it stalls out again. This time I started again after waiting 20 minutes- with my disabled daughter in the back seat - who will not be able to climb into a tow truck if I call it. I actually able to get it home and it totally seized up the driveway. This is the third time it has been towed into the dealership. Again they ave cleaned all the connections and diagnostics show nothing and i have been contacted by the dealership that nothing is wrong with my car so come get it!!! I feel real confident getting behind the wheel of this car. What is my recourse. !! dealership doesn't care and I cannot afford a new car - I have not finished paying this one !!!. I with good conscious cannot turn around and sell this car to someone- I wonder how much the dealership will give me for this beautiful car that runs so well. I should be able to get top black book dollar - from them noting the low mileage and nothing wrong with it. I have contacted Hyundai Canada today and sent them all my emails from the dealership - let see what happens now !!!.

- Franca B., Lasalle, ON, Canada

problem #1

Jul 262013

Sonata ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles

Today I drove my car 10 miles to my father's house ........first the dashboard lights went out......shut the car off , got my dad, turned car back on and all shut down and locked up. I could not get the car out of park, no windows or door locks would work. Called the dealership and had the car towed . I went there and was told the fuse box burned itself out........???? And this has happened to many of their cars. Glad I wasn't still driving and really not happy with this car now. They have my car for a few days

- Darlene P., Hackettstown, NJ, US

Not what you are looking for?