10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,946 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2017 Hyundai Tucson engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2017 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #72

Nov 102020

Tucson

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine lost oil pressure to rod bearings. No warning lights of any kind. The connecting rod bearings were very loud and engine stalled a few times. I had vehicle towed to dealership. The symptoms came on suddenly, without check engine codes or warnings. The factory denied responsibility, saying the warrantee expired. I am not claiming warrantee coverage, but the symptoms are very similar to recent recall and safety recall issues for which NHTSA fined Hyundai for negligence.

- Amherst, NH, USA

problem #71

Dec 202020

Tucson

  • 104,000 miles
Hyundai Tucson 1.6L turbo engine burns oil internally before 3,000 mile oil exchange. Started around 75K miles. The truck hesitates and wants to stall. I have to add quart of oil every 2K miles before oil exchange. There is no visible oil leaks. Ignition coil error code diagnostics point to mis-firing of cylinder 2. replaced spark plugs and switch known good ignition coil but same error code and engine light. This truck make, year and model is well known at oil exchange service centers for running low on oil because it burns oil unknowingly to it's vehicle owners.

- Munster, IN, USA

problem #70

Nov 052020

Tucson

  • 121,000 miles
Engine failure at 121K miles. I drive long distances for work so the miles are super easy not stop and go. I noticed a knocking noise at certain throttle pedal positions, I pulled into a gas station and checked the oil and it was barely touching the dip stick so I bought a quart of oil and this put the level in the middle of the acceptable range on the dip stick. I proceeded to get somewhere closer to my home. As I was driving on the interstate the check engine light came on and started blinking so I got off onto the exit and at the top the motor made a hard noise and stopped and all the lights came on the dash and smoke came from under the car. There was oil on the ground so I assume the oil pan had a hole from a rod failure. I change my own oil every 7500N miles when the factory setting tells me it's time. I use mobil 1 synthetic oil and a good filter every time. I had the oil changed the first time at Hyundai of Ontario, calif and the second time at jiffy lube in redlands, ca. The price for synthetic oil change was ridiculous when I can do it for half minimum. Hyundai has said since I have no invoices for oil changes they will not cover motor fully? I know the computer can be accessed to see the dates when I reset the meter miles. I know since doing my research Hyundai has had the very same problems with prior year cars. I believe they should pay for this problem a car like this should last well into 200 to 300K miles when taken care of properly. I have had a Honda and Toyota that did high mileage with no problems. Hyundai still has a problem with the 2.0 liter motors. The warranty needs to be made longer to 200K miles if they have really fixed the problem with this motor. I will never buy or recommend a Hyundai vehicle to anyone!

- Mohave Valley, AZ, USA

problem #69

Nov 282020

Tucson

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL the contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Tucson. The contact stated that while driving and attempting to make a left turn, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle stalled and shut-off in the middle of the turn. The vehicle coasted across the street to avoid oncoming traffic. The vehicle was restarted and driven to his destination. The vehicle was taken to gerald Hyundai (209 hansen boulevard, North Aurora, il 60542, (877) 781-4106) where the mechanic test drove the vehicle however, could not duplicate the failure. An independent mechanic was contacted and the contact was informed that the failure was possibly caused by the dual clutch system. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and informed of the failure. The failure mileage was 12,000.

- Winfield, IL, USA

problem #68

Oct 092020

Tucson

  • miles
Traveling on an exit ramp off the highway the engine failed completely. I had to cash it down and restart the vehicle. Proceeding on the next highway the car continually stalled approximately 10 times before finding a safe pullover; putting myself and other lives at risk. I take excellent care of my vehicle following all maintenance guidelines to keep a happy and healthy vehicle. It's a huge disappointment that after just a few weeks short of three years of ownership IżM told the engine blew żfor no reason - these things just happenż.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #67

Feb 212020

Tucson

  • 47,000 miles
Vehicle stalled 2/21/2020 at a stop light and left me stranded resulting in a tow to the dealership. After lengthy process with Hyundai Corp and dealership, I was forced to purchase new engine since they claim my incident does not fall under warranty due to "outside influences" since Hyundai did not want to own up to a design flaw that has now resulted in a recall of thousands of vehicles. New engine still stalls when trying to accelerate, but has not left me stranded yet. This will be my last Hyundai from several interactions regarding this incident. Hyundai needs to own up to these safety issues in all their engines across all years. The 2016 and 2017 tuscon's are experiencing the exact same problems as the 2014, 2015, 2018, and 2016 models.

- St. Joseph, MO, USA

problem #66

Sep 012020

Tucson

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The turbo went out of it and the dealership said it needed a whole new engine we took it to another place to get second opinion and they said it needed a new turbo, we put that on a year ago and now its bad again. When driving it we noticed it kept loosing power, first time was in the fall of 2019 and just now its started the same thing looking power and engine code with turbo

- Brownsville, WI, USA

problem #65

Feb 152017

Tucson

  • miles
Bought the car new in February 2017. As others have noted, when I apply the gas, the car hesitates and then surges. Very dangerous at intersections where you have to get up to speed among other cars. Backing up on a hill is very difficult - nothing happens until it suddenly jumps. Holding and inching forward on a hill is similarly a challenge. The dealer of course says there's nothing wrong. The third time I complained they finally said it was a design issue and there's nothing that can be done. Other than that, the car is quite well designed. I really like everything else. But Hyundai really screwed this up and I don't want to drive such an unsafe car. I will probably sell it at a loss and I doubt I'll ever buy another Hyundai. Very poor. This form requires me to put a date that the incident happened. It happens all the time, so I just entered the day I bought the damn thing.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #64

Jul 102020

Tucson

  • 31,310 miles
Several times now when my car is at a complete stop, and I try to press the gas the car will not move for at least 2-3 seconds and then when it does begin to move, it creeps along. It is a dangerous problem when pulling out into traffic because I have no idea if my car will be fast enough to move out of the way. Several times I have had to back up when I realized my car was not going to make the gap when turning left, or I have missed a light because the car would not move forward for what feels like seconds on end. This is one extremely dangerous problem that needs to be dealt with before someone gets into a life threatening accident. One incident that occurred was when I was attempting to pull onto the highway when my car was stationary. When I began to pull out, my car was lagging terribly, to the point where I had missed a very clear gap and had to back up quickly and out of the way of an oncoming car that was traveling at at least 60 mph. Not only was this dangerous because I had no speed to get onto the highway, I felt like a sitting duck in the middle of the highway. After I found another opening to pull out, my car still did not react quick and it was crawling until it hit about 30 mph, which on a highway is an extremely dangerouss speed to be traveling at.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #63

Jul 022020

Tucson

  • 40,000 miles
Feb 2020 driving on interstate 70 engine seized with oil spraying out the bottom of the car with no warning (light) of issue from the vehicle. Vehicle towed to dealership. Vehicle has under 50,000 miles. Warranty did not cover engine issue (appealed 3X's) paid out of pocket for a new short block engine. Have not driven much due to quarantine covid-19 & employee cut backs at the dealership. Recently (today) returned from a short a trip (approx 150 miles on pa turnpike) with oil spraying out from the bottom of the vehicle again. Luckily, the engine did not seize this time but it would have if I kept driving. Regardless, it is very dangerous & unsafe. Hyundai needs to do something about this issue. Will never buy another Hyundai again and will never recommend this so called 'safeż vehicle to anyone.

- Phoenix, MD, USA

problem #62

Feb 212020

Tucson

  • 47,110 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Tucson. The contact stated that while attempting to accelerate after a stop, the vehicle stalled without warning. Due to the failure, the contact had the vehicle towed to mccarthy olathe Hyundai (681 N rawhide, olathe, ks 66061) where the vehicle was diagnosed with a loose drain plug. Due to the damage caused by the loose drain plug, the contact was informed that the engine needed to be replaced. The contact then notified the manufacturer of the failure. After an extensive investigation, the manufacturer deemed the failure to have been caused by the negligence of the independent mechanic who serviced the vehicle for oil changes. The manufacturer denied to honor the warranty. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 47,110.

- St. Joseph, MO, USA

problem #61

Mar 152020

Tucson

  • 67,000 miles
My Hyundai Tucson has approximately 67000 miles on it. I had it in prior to warranty expiring for engine noise. I was told noise was normal.ans no service needed. I had the next routine oil change and no issues noted. I checked my oil 2 days ago and I routinely do and it was registering no oil on dipstick. I have no oil leaked on driveway or clients drives where I park daily. I out oil in and immediately take to dealership. They called later to ask.if I had purchased a extended warranty" why ask this" then said they would call once they knew the issue. They called later to let me know I had metal shavings in my engine and it would need replacement. I was very unhappy. They told me they would submit for a "goodwill" repair from Hyundai. They came back they will pay 90% of the short block only. I let them know I was not happy with this and they will try for more coverage since it will need more than the short block. I asked the type of engine in the car and can not get a direct answer. All these issues are once found in the recalled models. I feel I have done everything as a consumer to keep my car in good running order. This engine issues with Hyundai need addressed in full. We all.need reliable vehicles to work and with the costs of vehicles today they should be safe and reliable. This car has also been having the acceleration problems notes by many others. You press the gas pedal and go nowhere. Then it finally decides to go.

- Pomona, KS, USA

problem #60

Feb 132020

Tucson

  • miles
When you are stopped at a light and it changes to green you step on the gas and the car bucks like it is going to stall.this also happens when you start the car up and put it in drive give it gas and it bucks.U have to give it more gas to make it drive hopefully it will not just stall.I think this could be a transmission problem. This happens all the time.

- South Plainfield, NJ, USA

problem #59

Apr 152019

Tucson

  • 20,000 miles
Every time I accelerate, the engine hesitates. When car is cold or warm. The first week I had it I thought maybe it was due to a smaller "fuel efficient" engine, which I had never had until I bought this vehicle 9 months ago. Now it is a huge and consistent issue, I feel unsafe and like I cannot get out off the way if needed. It chugs for a second or two and then accelerates. Sometimes it accelerates abruptly. This happens every single time the vehicle is driven.

- Oakdale, CA, USA

problem #58

Feb 182017

Tucson

  • 20 miles
When you first step on gas car bucks like it is going to stall.happens when you first start car and when at red light and it turns green you give it gas and it start to buck.thank you mindy

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #57

Dec 182019

Tucson

  • 21,234 miles
Car stalls and hesitates at stops and acceleration.. lack of acceleration from stop or slowing down. Lack of power at crucial driving periods. Condition creates dangerous circumstances.

- Maspeth, NY, USA

problem #56

Jan 112020

Tucson 4-cyl

  • miles
Human life threatening mechanical failure. My car, VIN # [xxx] has a major flaw. While driving, the engine shut down when stopped at the red light. This happened twice within a thirty minute span. I immediately took it to the dealership and of course nothing is wrong with it. Human life threatening mechanical failure. My car, VIN # [xxx] has a major flaw. While driving, the engine shut down when stopped at the red light. This happened twice within a thirty minute span. I immediately took it to the dealership and of course nothing is wrong with it. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #55

Jan 062020

Tucson

  • 44,800 miles
Loses power(lag) when accelerating after a stop. Turning at a stop light there was a lag for a couple seconds. Also when accelerating while going up a hill there was a power lag experienced.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #54

Dec 312019

Tucson

  • 118,000 miles
The contact owned a 2017 Hyundai Tucson. While driving 20-25 mph down a road preparing to merge, the vehicle stalled and continued to roll forward. The contact attempted to restart the vehicle but failed. The contact noticed white smoke and stopped the vehicle by engaging the emergency brake. The contact gathered some of her belongings as the smoke turned gray and got 20 feet away from the vehicle. There were flames noticed coming from under the hood. A bystander attempted to extinguish the fire with a fire extinguisher meanwhile the fire department arrived to the scene. The fire department extinguished the fire. The contact sustained post traumatic stress disorder due to the incident. A police report was filed. The contact also mentioned that her child would ride in the rear of the vehicle and the safety seat was destroyed during the fire. The child was not present at the time of the failure. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 17V226000 (engine) by route 2 Hyundai dealer (743 North main street, leominster, MA 01453, (978) 534-9999) in may of 2019 due to the initial failure in January of 2019 where the engine blew up. The dealer replaced the engine, but the failure reoccurred which lead to the entire vehicle catching on fire most recent. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed and towed away. The failure mileage was 118,000. The VIN was unknown.

- Whitinsville, MA, USA

problem #53

Dec 142019

Tucson

  • 26,780 miles
Engine light on after six trips to the dealership to repair the same problem.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?