8.2

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
10,500 miles
Total Complaints:
56 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (56 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2017 Hyundai Tucson transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Hyundai Tucson:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2017 Hyundai Tucson Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #56

Sep 012019

Tucson Limited 1.6L Turbocharged Gas

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rosen Hyundai techs claim they can't duplicate problem. The problem is duplicated every time that I drive it, particularly when accelerating into a left turn.

- Jack P., Elgin, IL, United States

problem #55

Jun 012019

Tucson Limited 1.6L Turbocharged Gas

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,800 miles

Rosen Hyundai techs claim they can't duplicate problem. The problem is duplicated every time that I drive it, particularly when accelerating into a left turn.

- Jack P., Elgin, IL, United States

problem #54

May 012019

Tucson Limited 1.6L Turbocharged Gas

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles

Rosen Hyundai techs claim they can't duplicate problem. The problem is duplicated every time that I drive it, particularly when accelerating into a left turn.

- Jack P., Elgin, IL, United States

problem #53

Apr 302017

Tucson Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since I purchased my 2017 Tucson new in April 2017 there has been a consistent delay in acceleration and the vehicle stutters whenever I slowly press the accelerator pedal to accelerate from a stop or when increasing speed while moving slowly. Pressing the accelerator also results in the engine RPM's increasing and delayed acceleration of the vehicle. This has caused a dangerous situation on more than one occasion. At almost every scheduled service visit I tell the Hyundai service representative about the problem and am always told that it is simply a turbo lag. I recently received a recall brochure regarding dual clutch transmission problems for the 2016 and 2017 Tucson. When I brought my vehicle to the dealer in response to this I was told my vehicle was not a part of the recall. I am and have been experiencing some of the issues listed in the brochure, so I don't understand why my vehicle would be excluded.

- Laura H., San Diego, US

problem #52

Nov 292019

Tucson Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles

So I purchased my 2017 Hyundai Tucson used in November 2019 with only 14,000 miles. I was super excited about getting it because my current vehicle, 2010 Hyundai Tucson had 265,000 miles on it and was the best vehicle I've ever owned! I even passed it down to my brother and it still runs great! I bought my 2017 from a Chevy dealer and there was never any mention of the dual clutch. I only found out about it after researching why the car would stall and then jet forward almost feeling like it could go out of control. Unfortunately Hyundai claims no issues or takes any responsibility and I've contacted them twice to no avail.

This vehicle is NOT SAFE and is DANGEROUS to drive in snowy weather because of the horrible way it stalls and then jets forward. I would never allow an inexperienced driver to ever drive this vehicle. It is extremely disappointing that Hyundai has no concern for customer safety and there have been multiple complaints about this issue especially on the 2016 model. I WAS a totally loyal Hyundai customer but no more. I will never buy another Hyundai again. That's sad because I love everything else about the car. So I'm paying for a car that I won't nothing more than to get rid of as soon as possible. ☹️

- Kathy R., Rocheport, MO, US

problem #51

Jan 242020

Tucson SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles

I CANNOT BELIEVE I WAS SO STUPID BUYING A KOREAN CAR!!

My 2017 Hyundai Tucson SE is a 2WD automatic with 59K miles (bought it used at about 35K). Not sure of the exact engine, but it's the smallest, most affordable one. I'm young and had my parents help me buy this car and it was driving great! All the services and maintenance stuff was cheap, it drove like a dream, and I got great gas mileage! and I still do. I have only very recently delved into the world of cars and realized how much of a lie is being sold to consumers. I am much more knowledgeable now and figured out pretty much every car brand sucks besides Toyota/Lexus and Honda, and now I'm stuck with a car I would've NEVER bought if I had the knowledge I do now. But I digress...

I realized, as this always goes, that "somehow" RIGHT AFTER my warranty expired from the dealership that when I would try to speed up to merge onto highways from slower roads or accelerate quickly from a stop that there was high revving (sounded like the engine was dying lol) and hesitation. It still happens but it doesn't happen every time. I'm worried 1) because there's no fix for this as far as I can tell from forums and such and I know the dealerships won't help 2) is it going to get worse and more frequent??? At first I assumed it happened because "oh its a 4 cylinder carrying an SUV so it's just lagging because it's not a sports car". Now I'm definitely second guessing that!

I am hoping that since it has lasted to almost 60K miles and has had no other problems that I can keep this thing for a while longer. I really have no money to afford a new car. Anyway, moral of the story is : DO NOT BUY KOREAN (ESPECIALLY 2016/ 2017 TUCSONS) CARS - THEY ARE TERRIBLE. DO YOUR RESEARCH AND TAKE AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WITH YOU WHENEVER YOU PLAN TO PURCHASE A NEW CAR!

- Hannah F., Pasadena, US

problem #50

Mar 032021

Tucson SE 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The Hyundai Tucson is an extremely popular vehicle, so I figured I would buy one with very low miles on it so I would not have any problems - WRONG!!! I purchased this Tucson during very cold weather. Now, as others have stated, they are experiencing this problem during warm weather. This is the first day today where it got to 55 degrees, and I'm having the same hesitation from a dead start while making a left turn as other drivers have posted.

I like the car, but this situation is totally unacceptable! It sounds like other drivers already have taken their Tucson to the dealer, and have had no answer to solve the problem. With a 10 year or 100k warranty, someone from Hyundai needs to step up and fix this situation.

- nolefturnhyundai1, West Mifflin, US

problem #49

Oct 172018

Tucson Limited 2.0L In-Line 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles

I have taken it to dealership a couple times and they said they can figure out the issue! I have a good friend that works at the Hyundai plant and he said 100% there is an issue with it. Some lady stopped me at gas station and asked me if I had transmission issue and I said HELL YEAH we do! She said call Hyundai corporate customer service and put in a complaint. Just did and they said it will be 3-5 days before I hear back.

- Dan A., Bloomingdale, IL, US

problem #48

Apr 192020

Tucson SEL 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,051 miles

While at stop the at the intersection of rt7 and Greenbag road, Morgantown WV the vehicle failed accelerate when fuel pedal pressed. The engine reved and vehicle rolled into the into the intersection with no acceleration as if the transmission was not fully engaged. Limped the vehicle to next parking lot. Turned off vehicle then restarted and the Tuscon preformed normally. This is a very dangerous situation, if I had been in a situation with on coming traffic a accident would of occurred.

- Dan U., Morgantown, US

problem #47

Jan 132020

Tucson Limited 1.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

The DCT transmission completely disengages and there is NO power to the vehicle, it just coasts for about 5 seconds and the vehicles slows down. It seems to happen after a turn from a stop, and at slower speeds around 25 - 35 MPH. You push the gas pedal and nothing happens, the engine does not rev and you just coast (and slow down). If this happens when I’m pulling out in traffic making a left it could be deadly. I do not let my 19 year old son drive this vehicle. I promise you there will be accidents due to this defect and I would imagine some people will die because of it. This happens regularly, it is not a one-time incident. I just bought the vehicle a month ago and it's happened 10 to 20 times.

- jman777xjm, South Plainfield, US

problem #46

Jul 102020

Tucson

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,320 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I know several other people who have had a problem starting their car from a stop. My two most recent problems was when I was at a traffic light completely stopped. When it was my turn to go, I put my foot down and nothing. Car did not move one inch. Decided to then lay the petal to the floor and after a second it began to creep along. Not until a solid 5 second later did the car begin to pick up speed. And by pick up speed i mean get to 5MPH then 10 MPH, then finally to 15MPH. Not only was this annoying but it was the first time i had dealt with this problem so it was somewhat concerning.

When I took the car to the Hyundai dealership, they drove it around of course and came back to tell me nothing was wrong with the car. But the service women did mention they see Tucson's more than any other car. When leaving the dealership I was pulling out onto the highway and you'll never believe what happened! My car wouldn't move when I Pressed the gas petal down... Not only did it not move for a solid 3 seconds, but when it finally did begin to move forward a car was heading right towards me. I knew the car would not pick up enough speed to get out of the way so instead i had to back up out of the way of the car coming towards me. This was a scary experience and at this point i was angry.

There is a major problem with the 2017 Tucson. I'm sure other years too. But this is not only dangerous, but it can become life threatening. Something needs to be done about this before an accident is caused.

There is absolutely no reason this cannot be fixed, other than Hyundai turning a blind eye to the problem.

- Makayla D., Charlotte, US

problem #45

Dec 052019

Tucson Night Edt 1.6L Turbo

  • CVT transmission
  • 16,500 miles

Bought a 2017 Tucson night edt. on 12-05-2019 with very low miles 16,500 can't go wrong ! right ? Well looks like I'm having the same problem as everyone else on here. When I come to a stop and barely start to push on the gas pedal the car hesitates and sputters till I push the pedal further. This is extremely annoying I am almost ready get rid of it and get another Kia Soul that I had before this that shifted smooth as silk. My 1996 24year old Toyota Camry shifts smoother than this new technology transmission. Hopefully if we bark enough they will implement a new computer update to do a complete reset. Other than that I like everything else about the vehicle.

- John U., Las Vegas, NV, US

problem #44

May 122019

Tucson Sport 1.6t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

I have had issues with the transmission/engine jerking in low gear and the vehicle not accelerating from a stop, roll, or low gear. The biggest issue happened when I was taking a left hand turn and went out into the intersection. When there was an opening in traffic, I pressed the gas to turn and started to move and suddenly stalled no matter how much I pressed the gas. Oncoming traffic was coming in hot at about 45-50 mph. I was absolutely terrified and desperately pressing the gas for about 2-3 sections and we finally (very jerkily) zoomed off and missed being demolished by a half a second. It might be worth mentioning that I was 7 months pregnant and my sister was in the passenger seat, and she would have taken the main hit on the passenger side. Scariest near miss of my life. This has happened more times that I can count. I do NOT understand how Hyundai has not issued a recall on this extremely dangerous issue.

- mklein10, Lisle, US

problem #43

Sep 012019

Tucson Limited 1.6L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,866 miles

Same acceleration problem noted by many others. Car stalls when accelerating from a stop. Takes 1-3 seconds for the acceleration to kick in. Based on other comments, it is unfortunately going to take deaths and serious injuries and/or class action lawsuits to get Hyundai to admit there is a problem.

- Gregory C., Okemah, OK, US

problem #42

May 012019

Tucson AWD Value 4dr SUV 1.6l14 Turbocharger

  • CVT transmission
  • 18,135 miles

I TOOK it to Circle Hyundai in Shrewsbury, NJ and they ran it through computer, tried to simulate the situation, and said they couldn't. Meanwhile the sales person that drove it into the garage felt the same hesitation as i am experiencing. This is annoy, and my friend has a 2019 Hyundai Tuscon and it does not have this issue. Whether Hyundai knew, and made adjustments in the following years, they should recall the 2017 and fix the issue. Frightening, when I am by a railroad. Also the car stalled while in traffic when I ran the air conditioner. I have such mixed emotions about this car. SOMEONE needs to step up and take responsibility before someone seriously gets hurt.

- Joanne L., Keyport, NJ, US

problem #41

Jan 032018

Tucson Limited 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,427 miles

Like many others in this forum, we have had endless problems with the acceleration of our Hyundai Tucson. We first started noticing the issue within the first 3-4 months of owning the vehicle and it has been an issue ever since. We took it in about 3 different times to our dealership for this problem, and at first, they weren't able to replicate the problem or get any error codes from scanning it with their diagnostic tool. They told us that it was us driving it improperly, and that we should watch a video on how to drive a duel-clutch-transmission vehicle. We knew it wasn't the DCT because of how inconsistent the problem was. The service manager told us to bring it in next time we noticed the problem so he could experience it firsthand. We did exactly that, and the service manager acknowledged the issue, in writing on our file. They finally deemed our transmission faulty, and replaced it after about 60,000km worth of driving. Once the transmission was replaced, the hesitation/lag went away for an about 3-4 months, until just recently, the hesitation came back. This problem is a HUGE safety concern and if we weren't still making payments on it, I'd be tempted to send it to the wreckers. We've had multiple occasions where we have NEARLY been t-boned because of the lag/hesitation when making a left turn in traffic. This has lawsuit written all over it. What's next?

- Rob C., London, ON, Canada

problem #40

Sep 012018

Tucson Sport 1.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

Approx Sept 2018 I started to notice my 2017 Tucson jerk and or hesitate to accelerate from the stop or idle position. At first it was subtle. Then it advanced to more of a "shudder". On a "good" day it is noticeable, however on a "bad" day it feels like the transmission is going to "drop" from the car. It has on 2 occasions "lunged in a jerk motion" which I immediately hit the brake to prevent hitting the car in front of me. I made an appt with the service dept at the dealer (they have been as helpful as they possible can be, no complaints .. yet) for this concern. I was informed they were able to "capture" this issue. They transmitted the captured information to the department that it needs to go to for approval on repairs. The individual that reads the information determined that my car was within the "Norm for shifting". The issue was not resolved.

This is my 4th Hyundai. I have been pleased with my other Hyundai's (they had what I refer to as "Nuisances", rear brake lighting assembly replacement, sounds from the passenger side that cause the A/C to not work, etc). This is the 2nd Tucson I have owned. My concerns are that if this jerkiness or lunging causes me to hit another car - insurance can handle it (we are adults) however if this jerkiness / lunging causes me to his a pedestrian - well, I think any rational person can see my concerns. I contacted "Sheree" at the Fountain Valley Office, I informed her of my concerns, she assigned me a "case number" and informed me that someone would contact me within 3-5 days. So we will see ....

Update from Jan 12, 2019: The corporate office located in Orange County Calif was contacted. They took the car for approx 5 days or so. They were not able to "replicate" the concern. I got my car back with it documented it was "Safe to Drive". I left a VM for the same person to let them know it was still doing the "same thing". Due to them not being able to replicate the problem there was nothing left for me to do.

Update from Jan 13, 2021: 1/13/2021 - The irony of all this... Hyundai insisted there was nothing wrong with my Tucson. I ended up getting a Lemon Law Atty, first they said "No", the next day they offered to "Buy Back my Tucson", however I would have to pay them $4,000.00, I declined the offer. The next day they offered to give my $7,000.00 for my "inconvenience" .. I don't know about you guys, But if a company wants to give me money for my inconvenience and there's "nothing wrong with it" ... SMH - Anyways, I took the check, split it with the Lemon Law Atty and purchased another car. Sadly, after this experience I will never trust Hyundai Corp after purchasing 4 of their vehicles. I have mad respect for Glendora Hyundai and their employees, none of this had anything to do with them.

- Heather G., Chino HIlls, US

problem #39

Jun 012017

Tucson Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

Right away after I purchased a new 2017 Hyundai Tuscon Limited I felt acceleration problems - when I would make a turn I would get stuck in middle of intersection. Took it right away to dealership they said its a dual clutch system and that's why that happens.

After several months started shaking badly - went to 2 different Hyundai service to have them check it out- I called corporate and she sent me to a 3rd place - all I asked was to get out of my lease - no compensation just end my lease early - this car is SO NOT SAFE. at dealership now again and the mechanic stated this is the 3rd one within the last month with same problem - he says needs new transmission -

I will not pay for this nor do I want this car anymore. Corporate is terrible and would be cheaper for them to end the lease than to repair

- Moriah W., Los Angeles, CA, US

problem #38

Nov 172018

Tucson

  • CVT transmission
  • 18,700 miles

This is the worst car I have ever had. Shutters, slow on take off. Will most likely get killed in this car. Only had car since Nov 2018. Hate this car.

- Theresa R., Orange, US

problem #37

Sep 132017

Tucson TLE 1.6L Sport Ed2wdtgdisa

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles

AS YET I HAVE NOT HAD AN ACCIDENT. BUT I FEEL THE CAR IS STILL UNSAFE TO DRIVE ON FAST ROADS AS THE DELAY FROM FOOT BRAKE TO ACCELERATION IS VERY SLOW OR NONEXISTENT AND IS A DANGEROUS CAR TO DRIVE.

- Jennifer S., Cranbrook, UK

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?