CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2012 Grand Cherokee hasn't seen the same complaint volume as the 2011, at least not yet.

It's worth noting both model years are part of a class-action lawsuit that focuses on a defective TIPM and a long wait for replacement parts.

The 2012 also received national attention after it failed a Swedish Magazine's "moose test". The test measures a vehicle's ability to swerve out of the way of an obstacle you wouldn't want to hit while driving down the road ... like a moose.

8.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,170
Average Mileage:
61,450 miles
Total Complaints:
28 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (14 reports)
  2. replace dash (11 reports)
  3. repair leather (2 reports)
  4. no (1 reports)
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee accessories - interior problems

accessories - interior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Nov 172017

Grand Cherokee Overland V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,390 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland in 2015 with 36,000 miles on it. At the time noticeable dash problems. Two years in I started to notice it. I went to jeep, but didn't want to pay the $150 fee they charge to do the diagnostics. I later talked to an upholstery place around my town and they said it could cost me up to $5,000 to replace it. I looked no more!! I'm really upset that Jeep will not help all us with this problem. This car was really expensive and its not normal wear and tear. I am waiting for recall on it!

- Natalie L., Escondido, US

problem #27

Jul 022018

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,320 miles

I am a first time owner of a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 4x4 and I love it. We purchased the Jeep at 97,450 miles. I noticed the leather dash was starting to wrinkle but found out via a Jeep repair man to contact the Chrysler help line after the odometer had turned over to 100,000 miles, (Good for Jeep/ Chrsyler) and have gotten absolutely no help. Now that the Jeep has 107,000 miles they aren't willing to stand behind their product.

I have family that work for the Chrysler corporation and have for years. I have four family members that own Jeeps, but I will never again purchase a Chrysler product.

For the corporation to ignore loyal customers and those of us new to the Jeep family I can honestly say I am ashamed of their tactics and yes, to ignore a problem that has been so obviously proven by those of us having this issue they are using dirty tactics to unleashed on their customers. They cannot claim ignorance. I will never purchase another one of your products, nor will my close family members. Chrysler, I am ashamed that you are not loyal to your customers and are once again proving the dollar is much more important than honesty, respect, and loyalty. What comes around goes around, and as they say....Karma is a BITCH!!!

- Charlotte P., Harrison, US

problem #26

Sep 012017

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

click to see larger images

leather dash has delaminated

The leather on the dash has continually become worse. It has wrinkled and is still pulling away from the dash. Jeep dealership requested to document, but I'm not holding my breath on a positive outcome. This is a major quality issues that I'm very surprised hasn't made recall status.

- Rob C., Summerville, SC, US

problem #25

Oct 212018

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this vehicle in November of 2011. Brand new. I am out of warranty and the dealership refuses to assist. I do not blame them, but it appears this is quality assurance issue. I am not the only one that is having issues. This was my very first purchase of an American made vehicle. I do not think I will ever purchase an American vehicle again. This is not the only issue with this Jeep. I have spent more than $5k in major repairs such as fuse panel, condenser, transmission and other failures.

It appears this is a major problem. It is surprising that there is not a class action lawsuit.

- Div G., Nashville, US

problem #24

Feb 162017

Grand Cherokee Overland

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

I am not the first to post on here about the leather dash bubbling, warping, and delaminating. This should NOT be happening. I called Chrysler customer service, they stated they KNOW this is an ongoing issue. However, they will do nothing to help. This is NOT normal wear and tear. The ONLY fix is a complete new dash. My "friendly Chrysler" dealership quoted me almost $3k to fix it. Stated that they gets calls weekly from people with the same issue. Jeep has let us all down. They have failed and should be ashamed!

- Diana D., Harrison, US

problem #23

May 112017

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,500 miles

I bought the vehicle new in 2012. Sticker price over $45,000. The dashboard began to come apart and delaminate recently. The vehicle is garaged 80% of the time.

I Called Chrysler Jeep Support. @ 877-426-5337 on 7-12-17, Spoke to Nick at Chrysler Customer Care. The Case # is 31972715. Nick said he could not do anything because it was normal wear & that there were no other problems like mine or there would have been a recall. I advised Nick to Look at the pictures flooding Google images. Search 'Jeep Grand Cherokee Dashboard delaminating' That way he & Chrysler could familiarize themselves with the truth and not lie to customers saying that there is no other issue like mine. Nick said that there is no recall and that he "would escalate it and get back to me". No one has gotten back to me yet.

I Went to the Dealer :Pine Belt Jeep of NJ - where I originally purchased the vehicle a few weeks ago to have the issue documented as instructed by Jeep customer Care. It was Documented as case # 31972715 The dealership said that it is not covered by any warranty but gave me the part # and a written invoiced estimate totaling $2346.61.The part is $ 1010.62 and labor is $1355.99. I said the repair will cost over 15% of the current value of the vehicle!. They smiled.

Everyday, I get in my Jeep and look at the defective dashboard getting worse each day and be reminded of the indifference at Chrysler Fiat. How can that company have such a Culture of disdain towards their customers I will continue to reciprocate their lack of action and concern going forward.

Update from Sep 25, 2017: UPDATE: After my case was escalated at Chrysler Support for the delamination of a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland Dashboard I was told that they would not be able to help me at this time but will have the case on file. The representative said that they the reason was based on 3 things.: #1) There have not been enough complaints on this issue yet and it's not a safety issue. #2) The condition is due to normal wear and tear and is normal for their products that are 5 years old. #3) The car is out of Warrantee for this item and they could give me no financial assistance at all. Comments: #1 If you have this problem then call Chrysler Jeep Support. @ 877-426-5337 and they will instruct you to have a Jeep Dealership check it out, document it and get a case number. This was done for Free at the dealership. Then Call Chrysler Customer Care back and let them know the issue was documented & give them the dealership information off of the estimate to open the case. The only resolution is to replace the entire dashboard. Everything is connected they said. it's one piece. #2. If this is "Normal Wear and Tear for a this vehicle'' then it is to be expected with any Chrysler Fiat Jeep product, even if it cost $45000. The bubbles and waves of the leather delaminating is where they are at with their level of quality in all of their products.. It's also where they are at with customer loyalty. It does not factor in to their culture. What is important is Protecting their outsourced vendors who made the defective dashboards First. I'm sure they are being reimbursed from the vendors but not helping out the consumers. Just keeping the money. I did go to a local Auto body place and they said the part was about $1000 and it's all labor after that - another $1200. They just did one and the steering wheel, radio, seats, electronics. cables, hoses all have to be disconnected and then all of the related computer software has to be reset upon reinstallation. Its 10 hours of labor if they know what to do.

- Gary B., Point Pleasant Beach, NJ, US

problem #22

Jan 012017

Grand Cherokee Overland V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is a $40,000 vehicle that has less than 36,000 miles on it and I would expect it to be held up better in just 4 and a half years! This is very disappointing for the hard earned money paid for this vehicle.

- Debbie C., Cerritos, CA, US

problem #21

Nov 012015

Grand Cherokee Overland V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,000 miles

click to see larger images

leather dash has delaminated leather dash has delaminated

My Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland's leather dash is wrinkling and pulling apart at the stitching. This should be a recall item and yet Chrysler is ignoring the problem. I have never seen a dash do what my Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland is doing. For a vehicle that cost what this does, this is unacceptable. I contacted Jeep and they said take it to your local dealer. I called my Local Jeep Dealer, Galeana Jeep of Fort Myers and Tim, the service manager could have cared less about my problem. He said to call Chrysler. I explained I had and he basically said I was out of luck. I told him I was taking my business elsewhere and he was fine with that. WOW. Next I called Palm Jeep in Punta Gorda, FL and spoke with the service manager Dennis there. He was great and said to bring it in and he would look at it and he would see what he could do. He treated me like a valued customer, unlike Galeana. Palm has earned my business just from the respect Dennis gave me during our call.

I will update this post after I return from Palm Jeep.

Update from Aug 31, 2016: Well, the service manager at Palm Jeep in Punta Gorda somewhat come through for me. He contacted Chrysler and got them to cover half of the cost for the repair, because I was out of the 48K mile warranty. The job cost me a little less then $1000, but they did a great job. I can't say enough about Palm Jeep, because they are not my local Jeep dealer, but Dennis stepped up to the plate and helped me out.

Chrysler has a problem with this leather package and unfortunately they are unwilling to stand behind their choice of materials. It seems to be that if you have a service manager that will fight for you, you may get Chrysler to help, but approaching this on your own, Chrysler just ignores you.

- Ronald J., Cape Coral, FL, US

problem #20

Jan 012014

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

click to see larger images

leather dash has delaminated leather dash has delaminated

Leather dash started bubbling 2 years after purchasing new, dealer would not do anything because it was not severe enough and I was told the same thing by two different Jeep dealers several times over the next couple years. It continued to get worse and is now beginning to cause air flowing issues with defroster. I finally put a call in to Jeep's main customer service line around middle of 2016 and they told me it was too late to get warranty coverage but after many more calls and additional trips to the dealer Jeep customer service offered to pay for a new dash, however I would be responsible for the cost of labor (around $1200-1400). I couldn't afford to do it so I declined. I was rather disappointed how they did the runaround with me on pushing me off until they could pull the out of warranty bit... Now I stare at my wrinkled ugly dash every day wondering when it will shrink up more and completely block the defroster... I've owned 12 Jeep vehicles, and it seems like the they just don't care anymore and quality is going down the tubes...

- Bitnizman .., Berlin, NJ, US

problem #19

Jul 202016

Grand Cherokee Overland Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles

Dashboard appeared to shrink up & melt overnight. As I drove it that day the CD player wouldn't work either (& I'd had the cd-overheating issue ck"d during first year & dealer couldn't re-create the problem, though they admitted they had other vehicles in for the same issue). Could there be some kind of massive overheating going on in the dash that effects the CD player & now is melting the dashboard leather? If so. Replacing the leather is futile! I'm in for class action lawsuit.

- lkneeley, Austin, TX, US

problem #18

Nov 032015

Grand Cherokee Overland Summit 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Leather dash bubbling has continued to get worse as time goes by. Definitely an eye sore and not expected on such an expensive vehicle. It will cause depreciation beyond normal. Clearly a manufacturing defect. Filed a complaint with Jeep Cares...no response at this time.

- Jim M., Amarillo, TX, US

problem #17

Oct 012014

Grand Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

Very disappointing to watch this occur. I talked to the dealer about it and they said it would be about a $2,000 repair. No offer to help. I keep the jeep in pristine condition...sad to have the appearance of the dash ruin the rest of a great car.

- Jerry T., Houston, TX, US

problem #16

Jan 012016

Grand Cherokee Overland V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

click to see larger images

leather dash has delaminated leather dash has delaminated leather dash has delaminated leather dash has delaminated

Very disappointed... This is my 5th Jeep Grand Cherokee and my 1st Overland. I ordered it special back in Sept 2011. Waited 8 weeks for delivery and paid about $50k. Loved the car fully loaded with the saddle leather interior. Then about 8 months ago the dash started to come apart. I took it to several upholstery shops and no one would repair it.. I took it to 2 different Jeep dealerships and got no help. Each said that I could replace the dash for about $1,400. But they offered no additional help. I asked the last service manager what would he do if it were his car. He said trade it in on a new one. Gee, thanks for the help...

How about a class action lawsuit against Jeep.. This just shouldn't happen. The rest of the car is great and I love it. The dash bugs me every time I get into my beautiful car....Hopefully we can get some help here. Thanks

- Ronald G., Novato, CA, US

problem #15

May 012015

Grand Cherokee Overland V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

This is the third new Grand Cherokee that I have bought. About a year ago, the leather on the dashboard started to de-laminate, wrinkle and come loose. It is now completely curled up and pulled loose. In spite of the numerous complaints of the exact same problem, Jeep refuses to accept any responsibility for it. I am very disappointed in Jeep's unwillingness to stand by their vehicles. I am not likely to purchase any more new Jeeps.

- Mark T., Waverly Hall, GA, US

problem #14

Aug 312014

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles

On a vehicle of this caliber I find it unimaginable that Jeep won't rectify. I called Jeep directly (at the dealers recommendation) because he stated that he had seen the same thing in several other vehicles (similar mileage) that Jeep ultimately covered why they won't make this right is just upsetting. I'm about to go a twitter rant and see if that gets their attention. Very disappointing.

- Larry W., Glen Allen, VA, US

problem #13

Jul 092016

Grand Cherokee Overland Summit V8 Hemi

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,590 miles

Jeep will not stand behind it's top of the line vehicle, because they KNOW they have a problem with these cars and it is too expensive to fix them all. The customer service at FCA is TERRIBLE and they make it obvious they don't give a damn that people have laid out tens of thousands of dollars to buy their pieces of crap and the company won't fix the defective leather dashboards that curl up and look like hell. $2,000 to fix this problem.

Does anyone know if all these dashboards are covered in actual leather, or is it all synthetic? If both leather and synthetic leather were used, is this curling problem happening with both materials?

- Ron E., Oceanside, CA, US

problem #12

Sep 122016

Grand Cherokee Overland Summit V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

So much for Chrysler's "Customer Satisfaction" being #1... The Chrysler website states that they have two types of recalls - one type is for safety related recalls and the other type is customer satisfaction related. They go on to say that the customer satisfaction recalls are NOT dependent on the vehicle being "in warranty". Not surprising, Chrysler eventually asked enough questions to find something they could seize on to support their "sorry but we can't help you" decision on our request for help. Unbelievably, the delaminating dashboard problem is, in their mind, only worth speaking about if the owner is the original owner - unfortunately we bought the vehicle from the owner of the dealership.

Needless to say, this is the last Chrysler vehicle I'll ever own. To rub salt into the wounds, this is the company that the American taxpayer had to bail out. Slimy is the word that comes to mind.

I hope to see a class-action lawsuit announced on this website. I will certainly join in.

- Brian R., Hamilton, VA, US

problem #11

Jul 162015

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles

click to see larger images

leather dash has delaminated leather dash has delaminated leather dash has delaminated leather dash has delaminated leather dash has delaminated

The dash started to 'ripple' July 2015. During the past couple of months (summer 2016) the leather is peeling OFF and the vents are coming OUT!

I showed it to the dealer and was told to call a customer service number which I have not done yet b/c I am afraid I will say something I will regret. I told them that if/when the vent comes out while I am driving and hits me in the head Jeep will hear about it as it will then become a 'real' safety issue. I think it is a safety issue right now. I had a 2001 Jeep GC and the dash was made differently and never had this issue.

The dealer told me that I would have to pay to fix it b/c the 36 months/3 years has passed. Of course the problem happened after that time - doesn't it always!?!?! This is NOT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR! The owner should not have to pay to fix something that is defective.

- otter, Round Rock, TX, US

problem #10

Oct 012013

Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,500 miles

click to see larger images

leather dash has delaminated leather dash has delaminated leather dash has delaminated leather dash has delaminated

We purchased our 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland as a CPO with only 10,000 miles in July, 2013. We traded in our 2007 Jeep Liberty, which we loved, on this beautiful Overland. The leather interior was just gorgeous. We figured if we loved our Liberty so much imagine how we would feel about owning the Overland.

At the time of purchase I noticed a small area on the dash that appeared to be coming unglued. We were told by the salesman that when we brought our Jeep back for our first service they would take care of the dash problem. Well, when we brought it back for the first service we showed them the dashboard which had continued to get worse even though I always use a front window shade. After having spent all this money on the Overland we were quite surprised to be told there was nothing they could do for us. It was up to us to get it repaired even though we purchased the top of the line extended warranty.

We couldn't afford to buy a brand new Overland so I searched for over a year to find this previously owned one. We were so proud to show it off to our family and friends until the dash started coming unglued. Now when friends see our Overland they say what a nice looking Jeep. They can't help but say how beautiful the interior, Saddle Leather, looks until they see the dashboard. Then I hear, "What's happening to your leather dashboard?" When we tell them the usual response is aren't they going to fix it for you or isn't there a recall? They are shocked to hear that Jeep won't do anything especially on such an expensive SUV.

I can tell you this and I'm sure Jeep really isn't worried about it. This will be our last Jeep we ever buy if Jeep won't stand behind their product. And I definitely won't recommend that any of our family or friends, or anyone who ask us about our Jeep, buy any Jeep product as they don't stand behind their product even when they know it's a problem caused by their design or workmanship.

- brucetde, Newark, DE, US

problem #9

Jun 122016

Grand Cherokee Overland 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,710 miles

Same dash problem on GC overland, beautiful leather dash now all bubbled up and coming unglued. Dealer won't cover as vehicle put of original warranty even though it is still under a bumper to bumper gold plan warranty. Dealer, took pictures and spoke to their Chrysler rep who they say, advised them it is not a warranty item... Big surprise there! I see a mixed bag on this issue, some people get their unit repaired and some are told too bad. Just go away and don't bother us again I am considering a small claims court on this. Has anyone else sued on this? What an item for Chrysler to get stubborn on, it just gives there flagship model a very very bad name.

- Steve M., Picton, Canada

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?