ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

2014 Jeep Patriot windows / windshield problems: sunroof leaks

Sunroof Leaks

2014 Jeep Patriot

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Jeep dealer.

8.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
10,000 miles
Total Complaints:
8 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (7 reports)
  2. roof rack unsealed (1 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2014 Jeep Patriot windows / windshield problems

windows / windshield problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Jeep Patriot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Jeep Patriot Owner Comments

problem #8

Dec 132017

Patriot Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,966 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

12/13/17 brought car back into the dealer after discussing with chrysler and opening a complaint

from my research this problem is prevelent in the patriot and not just 2014 back to 2008! this is a structural defect in the car....should have been a recall some time ago. of course my warantee ran out a couple months ago, but the car has less than 12K miles on it and is 3 years old.

they state that they have fixed the leak yesterday (again) at the dealership. the next rain will tell...

that does not address the major electrical issues i am still facing with the brake lights, traction lights and 4wd lights all on steadily and that the blue tooth no longer works so i cant make an emergency call if something should happen. i do not feel safe and cant really trust the warning lights i am looking at...i want something done about this electrical situation. it is a safety issue brought about by a structual defect that chrysler is aware of.

i was investigating to see if there is a class action regarding this problem. i have no idea what the dealership will say next regarding how much the COST will be re the electric/dashboard issue..but am very worried it will be astronomical and dont feel i should have to bear all this burden and worry on a car with less than 12K miles on it

- Melanie P., Massapequa Park, US

problem #7

Nov 022017

Patriot Limited V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,530 miles

brought car into deeler 11/2/17 not only due to roof leaking/dome light etc...but the water has gone into the dash board the warning lights are steadily on and the blue tooth no longer works. they said they had fixed the water leak on 11/2/17 but the electrical problem was a big deal..

one week later we had moderate rain, nothing significant, and the roof leaked again and again water in the dash board phone etc....i called chrysler and opened a case file which they are following up on.

- Melanie P., Massapequa Park, US

problem #6

Jun 022017

Patriot Lattitude 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,000 miles

This car is a total POS, so sorry that we purchased it and would love to get rid of it. Im afraid this newest issue will be an ongoing issue due to all of the water in the roof.

- Melisa C., Frisco, US

problem #5

Feb 222014

Patriot Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my vehicle January 2014 and one month after purchasing it water started pouring in through the interior light and the sunroof switch. We brought it back to the dealer and they said ice was plugging up the drainage pipes. They cleared them out and everything was fine until last month when it happened again. I got into the car and there was water all over the dashboard the radio and my seat. I brought it back and they cleared them out again but now every time it rains I'm worried that it will happen again.

Because of this I have been having electrical problems and when the weather is below freezing I can't shift into drive until my car has warmed up for at least 30 minutes! I took it back to the dealer and they replaced the entire shift assembly but the next morning it happened again! It is so frustrating having a vehicle that is a year old and not being able to drive it unless the temperature is above freezing! I had a 2007 Patriot and I never had any problems with it. I will never buy another vehicle with a sunroof and I'm not sure if I will ever buy another Jeep!

- Donna S., Orange, MA, USA

problem #4

Sep 242014

Patriot Limited 2.4L I4 SFI

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles

click to see larger images

sunroof leaks sunroof leaks

I bought my Jeep before summer and hadn't experienced any rain until five months in. Morning after first heavy Portland rain (9/24/14) I left driveway to a stream of water pouring on me. As I drove and turned, the waterfall only got worse. I called the dealer same day and it took a full week to get me in. When I brought it in I was furious as they clearly didn't believe I had a real issue. They asked if I park under leaves at home or work and suspected I got a leaf in the drain. I don't park under any heavy trees and shouldn't a car sunroof be made better than to fail because of a leaf? After a week in the shop they did nothing more than clear the drains and drizzle some water and tell me I had to pick it up. I insisted they repair something and they wouldn't. I told them to check the other complaints online and they said those complaints are angry Jeep owners who probably got in wrecks and posted false photos just to complain about Jeep. Eventually I gave up and said I would take the car even though I was very unhappy with lack of any actual service. I was told to bring it back when/if next water sign occurred which happened this morning.

Next morning after heavy rain and I had mentally forgotten about the issue. With my cell phone rested face up on the dash I pulled out of the driveway to a huge waterfall - bigger than the last. Now 10/15/14 and my car is back in the shop. I drove it straight there with water still present all over dash and in overhead lamps. There was no pretending I'm making this up this time. For second time now I'm in rental and will see how this goes.

- Liv G., Ashland, OR, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #3

Nov 262013

Patriot Lattitude 2.0L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles

click to see larger images

sunroof leaks sunroof leaks sunroof leaks

I Bought my Patriot back in October. I haven't had any problem until this morning when it came a heavy downpour. I Jumped in my jeep and notice that my dashboard was wet. I noticed that the water had gathered up in the reading lamps until it overflowed through the sunroof switch opening. Its extremely frustrating that i have a 2014 vehicle and i wont even be able to drive it over the holidays. After reading the reviews of people having the same problem it seems as though chrysler needs to come up with a fix and recall all patriots with a sunroof. Step up to the plate chrysler!!!

Update from Mar 7, 2014: So as for now my leak has been fixed. We have had some pretty good rain in the past couple of weeks and no moisture in lights or drips from sunroof.. When i was at the dealer last they told me that it was never the sunroof leaking... The problem was where the roof rack attaches to the top of the vehicle, it was unsealed from the factory.. So far so good ever since this service was completed. I hope this helps anyone that has been battling this horrible issue.

- Garret S., Dalton, GA, USA

problem #2

Jan 112014

Patriot Latitude 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,600 miles

I did a LOT of research prior to buying my 2014 Jeep Patriot Latitude in October 2013. I saw there had been some problems with leakage from the sunroof area in prior year models, but saw nothing recently so went ahead and made the purchase. You'd figure that with over 40 complaints on 2007 and 2008 models, the problem would be fixed by 2013 - wrong!

Less than 3 months and 3,000 miles after I bought it, with the first major rainstorm it was out in, my son and I got in the vehicle on Saturday to find water on the dashboard and discovered the dome light fixture had water in it. The service department couldn't get me in until Wednesday - this is Oregon for crying out loud with lots of rain, but luckily it's dry this week or else I would have to be missing work with the Jeep sitting in the garage (I was also told there were no loaners available). Subsequently I've noticed that the passenger side dome light no longer works. I am taking it in later this week and keeping my fingers crossed that whatever they do will be a fix that takes and that there is no long-lasting or yet-to-pop-up electrical problems.

- Carolyn O., Molalla, OR, USA

problem #1

Oct 042013

Patriot Latitude 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 900 miles

I wish I knew about this website before I bought my 2014 Jeep Patriot and read all the complaints on the leaking sunroofs and how Chrsyler was no help to anyone. My sunroof has been leaking since the 4th day I bought it. It has been back twice to get fixed in a two week period and to no avail it still leaks even worst then when I first brought it in. It will be going back again for a third time. I'm sure it won't be fixed. It pours out of the dome lights front and back. It pours water down the front of my radio and my dash and my seats front and back. The water sits inside the dome lights sloushing around. I'm sure it will cause a problem but who cares NOT CHRYSLER that is for sure. It is ridiculous. If I wanted this problem I would have bought a used jeep . Wait that's not right I had a used Jeep before I bought this one and never had a problem. My daughter now has it and it still is good. No leak problems with that sunroof or any of the other cars I owned with sunroofs. I can't understand why Chrysler won't stand behind their mistakes. Anyone who buys a brand new vehicle should not have to go through this. This shows how much they care about their customers. I've had Jeeps most of my life and really loved them. I am so very dissappointed in this Jeep I swear I will never purchase another one. I don't understand why a big Company like Chrysler would want to dissappoint their customers like this. I'm sure if it was their famiy members or themselves they would have a new Jeep by now. Well Chrylser Keep dissappointing your customers and you won't have any to worry about. Our money is good everywhere I am positive any car dealer would be more then happy to take it. Whoever reads this please think twice before you purchase a Jeep. It is a sad sad thing when you spend so much of your hard earned money and you get screwed in the end.

- Mary Y., Union Dale, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?