2015 Jeep Patriot body / paint problems: water leaks into interior

Water Leaks Into Interior

2015 Jeep Patriot (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Jeep dealer.

8.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
7,400 miles
Total Complaints:
22 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (19 reports)
  2. chrysler agreed to a buy back - this is over (1 reports)
  3. flushed drain tubes (1 reports)
  4. reweld and reseal firewal panels not welded at the factory (1 reports)
2015 Jeep Patriot body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Jeep Patriot:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Jeep Patriot Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Jun 032018

Patriot LS 4.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 42,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Why would there not be a recall on a common problem?!

- Allen H., Bloomfield Hills, MI, US

problem #21

Dec 092017

Patriot High Altitude 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,497 miles

I purchased this vehicle used, have only made one payment and this is the second problem needing serious Attention! Leak coming from rear interior light. Not a big fan!

- Kimberly T., Fort Myers, US

problem #20

Feb 152017

Patriot Latitude 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,500 miles

leaking dome light

Considering that it leaks directly above the center console/media center it's a HUGE issue. I live in NW Washington so, yes, it rains but considering how many people drive vehicles like mine WHY IS IT STILL DOING THIS?

I'm a previous Jeep owner and NEVER had any problems with it, this vehicle was my first purchased new... HUGE mistake. Honestly, this has me steering clear from ANY Jeep/Chrysler/Dodge vehicle.

- docmtz86, Silverdale, WA, US

problem #19

Oct 212015

Patriot Latitude

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Picked up a brand new 2015 Jeep Patriot on 6/30/2015 (no sunroof). In October it started to leak water into the rear dome light cover and around the liner of the opening after it had rained. Purchasing Dealership could never replicate the leak. They resealed some things and installed a new third brake light in case water had made it there. After 4 service appointments and other frustrations with this dealership, went to another one as water was not only leaking into the dome cover but now into the headliner which was now stained. They did more body seals, replaced the rear window washer hose and needed a replacement part for some seal or gasket. When it rained the next time and we had water once again, we went through the Chrysler/Jeep Resolution Center which was very frustrating and after the issue was escalated it still went no where and they closed the case. After the 7th service appointment we followed the Chrysler/Jeep arbitration process. The independent (LOL) arbitrator sided with Chrysler. They stated that since the vehicle was 'operating as designed' and 'it got you from point A to point B' there was no problem. While it was in for the 8th time, we contacted a Lemon Law attorney in March 2016. It still leaked into the headliner after that service. It is now June 2016 and Chrysler has agreed to buy it back. Chrysler/Jeep definitely makes inferior products, has very poor customer service at all levels and does not take responsibility for their defects. If you have same issue, do not give up. Follow through and make them accountable. Keep records, document dates, take pictures and videos. This was the first Chrysler/Jeep in our family and will be the last.

- Bonnie M., North Tonawanda, NY, US

problem #18

May 302016

Patriot Lattitude 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,900 miles

My daughter purchased the vehicle less than three months ago with and it was less than a year old with 6000 miles on it. The first heavy rain we had her windows were fogging up so we looked in the back hatch area and there was over a gallon of water in the spare tire well area. The back carpet was soaked and the headliner was extremely wet. The dealership Lithia Jeep Dodge currently has the vehicle drying out. Dealership stated it is a plugged drain port, however I thought that only applied to Patriots with sunroofs. We are waiting call back from dealership who have had the vehicle for four days now. We do have pictures but I do not have them available to load at this time. We did show dealership the pictures and extent of damage.

- robnd, Grand Forks, ND, US

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Apr 262016

Patriot High Altitude 2.0L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,906 miles

Ok so I was driving my new Jeep Patriot, 2015 model, in the year of 2015, when suddenly I hear my 6 month old daughter making weird noises. I turn around to see water pouring form the light fixture above her all over her! She was soaked! Luckily she loves water. Needless to say I took it back to the dealer and they essentially blamed me for this problem. Told me I have to clean out the drain tubes. Who the hell does that? Why would I have to? This shouldn't be a problem! One rain and the car is flooding! They told me that I need to not park under any trees. Seriously? I was pissed but, i let them flush out the tubes and left. I got home and researched this and it's been happening since 2008, and they still make the sunroofs the same damn way! So needless to say I stopped parking under the tree and guess what? It happened again! Took it in, this time the same guy was trying to pretend it was still my fault somehow. But, I had done my research and told him that I'm not an idiot, this shouldn't be an issue, I've had sunroofs from other cars with no issues and never had to clean out a freaking drain tube. I told him I knew about the ongoing issue and suddenly he changed his tune. He said he was aware that it was a problem! Told me to bring it back if it happens again. Well yesterday, it happened again and now I'm bringing it back in on Friday. What the hell Jeep?! Recall these or offer something else to get this resolved! It's been going on for 8 years!

- kcmelia, Saint Louis, MO, US

problem #16

Jul 312015

Patriot High Altitude 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

rear floor behind drivers side puddles water after rain

Purchased the car in April. It was not my choice for a vehicle that would be driven for a salesman, but due to my financial situation this car chose me. By August I noticed the rear passenger floor on the drivers side was pooling water. I ignored it at first thinking it was a water that had spilled in the car. A couple of months later after a rain I noticed that the floor was absolutely soaked. Upon looking online I realized this was an ongoing problem. However...7-8 model years after a car was introduced it leaks. WTF is the problem here. I owe a lot of money on this car and put a lot of miles on it. (I have 40K now and have had since April).

I took the car to a dealer and under warranty had a seal around the door replaced which is what they thought it was. Low and behold the other day I noticed water pooling on my floor again.

So, here I am with a car I absolutely do not want anymore. I will never recommend a Jeep to anyone again. I am stuck with a car that I owe money on that is going to rust from the inside out on me!

Chrysler cannot make a good car in my opinion and should be ashamed of themselves for allowing a car to be designed the same after so many model years with the same issues. Shame on you!

- Mike A., Cuyahoga Falls, OH, US

problem #15

Nov 142015

Patriot 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,061 miles

Purchased brand new 2015 Jeep Patriot in July. Had to bring it to be serviced THREE times between November and January for the same issue. Water continues to leak from the rear interior light (no sunroof). I'm told that the manufacturer told the dealership the only needed repair/fix for this issue is to perform a leak test and reseal grommet. This was done three times, and it continues to leak.

- lindnerny, Copiague, NY, US

problem #14

Nov 192015

Patriot Altitude

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,300 miles

My husband and I bought our Jeep in Beaverton, Oregon in July 2015. Of course it is Oregon and we had one of the hottest summers yet, however when the rain hit in November, we noticed our cargo area was damp. We called a local Jeep Dealership since where we bought it is over an hour away, and took it in the next day. He informed us that he had fixed the leak however, the seals around the doors needed to be replaced so he would order the parts.

This was a Friday. That weekend it poured here. On Sunday we got in the car to run some errands and as we backed out of our driveway it poured in our vehicle. On Monday I called the dealership and we took it in that evening and got a rental cal. This was now 11/30/2015. Periodically we would hear from the mechanic and he would tell us that he was water testing it but it was still leaking.

Then towards Christmas I called because we hadn't heard from them, the temp permit was expiring in my rental car, and we have 3 children and the car doesn't hold all 3 of my children in the booster seat. No return calls. My husband and I finally contacted an attorney who drafted a letter demanding my car be finished ASAP, and for us to be refunded our large car payment especially since we weren't given a comparable vehicle while ours was in the shop.

Finally they called us on 1/7/2016 and we could pick up our vehicle. We went up that night and got it, everything looked good. Sunday 1/10/2016 it rained heavily, and when I left for work Monday morning it was raining in my car again. This has been a very long process, but finally today that owner and GM of the dealership called me and they are buying back my Jeep.

- alishaj, Sheridan, OR, US

problem #13

Sep 302015

Patriot LX 2.4L

  • CVT transmission
  • 4,100 miles

click to see larger images

water leaks into interior

Water leaking through the rear cargo light when it rains. Headliner and spare tire well soaked with water.

- Timothy P., Rangeley, ME, US

problem #12

Oct 272015

Patriot LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,215 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

click to see larger images

water leaks into interior

leaks at sunroof, dome light area. water comes pouring out

I am leasing a 2015 Jeep Patriot, that I picked up on 7/15/15, it only had 60 miles on it when I got it. Well, during some recent rainy days, I’ve noticed a disturbing problem with a leak. Pools of water fill in the dome light and come pouring out like a waterfall on you, your passengers, all over the radio, and center shifting center. It literally is just pouring out. There was no windows, nor sunroof open at this point to be blamed as the cause of this. I’ve done my research and unfortunately found this is a common problem. This should be under warranty, and repaired by your shop. I’d also request a vehicle to use during the repair time

But mostly, I think Jeep should create a recall on this, from my research this problem has been ongoing for years, as it sounds.

- Natasha H., Wyoming, MN, US

problem #11

Aug 212015

Patriot Latitudes V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles

I picked up my 2015 Jeep Latitude on August 21st from Telegraph Jeep in Taylor, MI. I drove my new vehicle to Dearborn, MI and parked it in my driveway. On Sunday, August 23rd, heavy rain poured over the city. On MONDAY, the 24th, I decided to run a few errands. I put my Patriot in reverse, and a rainstorm occurred in the interior of my Jeep. Water was falling from the head liner and lights.

I immediately drove to the dealership and explained the problem. Two service employees observed the problem, and one employee said that he had never seen this type of problem. I believed him until I Googled Chrysler Jeep sun roof leaks. I wished I would have done this before I bought this Jeep because apparently this has been an ongoing problem for several years.

It is now August 26th, and I still don't have my Jeep. Water tests are being performed on my Jeep, and guess what? No leaks occurred at the dealership. Taylor Jeep has offered me NO compensation. They state that they will fix the problem. How unfortunate for me and others who are experiencing the same disappointment, annoyance, and pure shock of having water leak into your car. This is a defect, not a resolution that the service department thinks that they can correct.

- mussill, Dearborn, US

problem #10

Jul 272015

Patriot High Altitude

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

Waiting patiently to get into dealer in different STATE because I can't get into my dealer's service department for almost a month! Water leaks in the interior through the front dome light and directly onto the nav system and electrical dash. Can't use the nav system or computer right now because it shorted out the screen.

Bought the car 6 months ago and I cant believe this is happening. Worse part it there are reports of this happening with Jeep for the past 4 years!!!!!!!!! with no fix, recall or solution mentioned other than BRING A TOWEL with you in the car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

- Paul R., Staten Island, NY, US

problem #9

May 052015

Patriot Limited 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,300 miles

I bought my Jeep Patriot on March 2015. In May when it was raining noticed the leak. It leaked water through electrical features light inside. Took it once to get checked they found nothing, Took it again to dealer they said windshield leak. They sealed and guess what is still leaking. Is back at dealer again. Is annoying! when you buy a new car you do not want to be taking your car to dealer every week with same issue. I don't understand why Chrysler has not looked at this issue and improved it over the years.

- Ivette L., Lansdale, PA, US

problem #8

Jun 062015

Patriot High Altitude 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 750 miles

Just bought a 2015 Jeep Patriot High Altitude 2 weeks ago. I noticed the rear cargo area was wet when I was loading groceries. I waited for rain to see what was going on. Water poured in from the rear cargo dome light. It is at the dealer right now. I'll see if they fix it. Not real confident.

Update from Jul 1, 2015: The plastic "plug" and the seam where the roof meets the inside of the rear cargo door was sealed with something similar to Flex Seal by the "Water Doctor" ( the dealers description ). Evidently Jeeps are notorious for leaks so the dealers sub-contract water issue repairs .So far, so good. We've had lots of heavy rain and no more leaking. Time will tell.

- expatriot, Millville, NJ, US

problem #7

Jun 012015

Patriot Altitude

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,600 miles

So I bought my 2015 Jeep Patriot Altitude maybe two months ago. Yesterday was the first real rain storm in my area and while driving home from work I noticed in my rear view mirror water dripping into my trunk from the rear dome light. I immediately brought the car back to the dealership that I purchased it from no more than two months ago. Luckily they were still there as it was later at night and I expected them to be closing up shop but they were wiling to take me in to see what was going on.

A service mechanic came out to my car and initially said that it appears to be some kind of grommet to a plug that connects to the interior light, the best I understood it as I am not a mechanic is that the seal around the wire connected to the light was not properly sealed, OK sounds like a reasonable explanation to me having no clue either way. BUT after reading some other reviews on this site and many more I am starting to get concerned as to whether that is the actual problem or if it is something much more serious, as I have read in multiple cases that they are finding that it could be something to do with a "busted welded seam in the roof" as stated by another user of this site.

I am now not only concerned about whether these repairs are going to be covered under my warranty (as I am even paying for a extended warranty) but I am also worried about my health and safety! This needs to be repaired ASAP especially if it is a structural issue but on top of that if mold starts growing in the headliner I expect that the dealership should consider that covered under the warranty as well. I have literally had the car for two months! This is ridiculous, I haven't even had my first oil change on the car never mind having to deal with potential structural issues!

PLEASE if anyone has any suggestions or have dealt with this problem and was able to get it fixed PLEASE let me know! All the stories I have read are of people being ripped off by their dealers/mechanics and I really hope to avoid this from happening.

Thank you!

- nvwilcox, Nashua, NH, US

problem #6

May 072015

Patriot

  • Automatic transmission
  • 400 miles

click to see larger images

water leaks into interior water leaks into interior water leaks into interior water leaks into interior

Bought BRAND NEW 4/27/15 it's now 5/7/15 (just over a week old) and I got caught out in the rain today. Got back in the car after going to the store and it's leaking water down through the rear cargo light. Called the dealership, I take it in tomorrow. Extremely pissed a brand new car leaks. It doesn't even have a sunroof!

Update from May 22, 2015: It is now 5/22/15 and it has been back 3 times. First time I was told it is the plug over the back hatch and it wasn't sealed properly, so they slimed it with Silicone and said it was good, second time they had to remove their silicone and do it again. After a week (the next big rain) It leaked WORSE to the point I turned corners and water gushed out the rear dome light, the headliner is ruined and all the noise and vibration protection under the spare tire is ruined. Dealership has it again. I opened a case with Chrysler after the first time so it's all on record and was emailed yesterday that it was a loose roof bolt, I called the dealership and told them I want to see it pulled apart. I went in and they obviously hadn't even looked or removed the headliner until I called as when I got there the tech showed me and said there's a busted welded seam in my roof. Their solution...... to put chalk and silicone on it which will not hold long term or be safe. I have now asked why I was lied to about it being a roof bolt and why on earth they would silicone and chalk a structure welded seam... That's not safe, nor would I think legal.. I have now asked that they take back the structurally defective vehicle. - Now I wonder how many other structure welded seams are broken I can't see.

Update from Jun 2, 2015: As of 6/2/15 - They problem was found. It is break in a structural weld in the roof. We have filed complaints with Dealership. We have followed all the protocols by Dealership and Chrysler and are in the middle of the solution. Will update again when it is over. Should be end of this week beginning of next week. - To the idiot who emailed me saying "Lets face it if I'd of done my research I'd of known about the problems and it's nothing but problems and it's probably my moon roof leaking"... RE READ my complaint, I DON'T HAVE A MOON ROOF / SUNROOF.

Update from Jun 29, 2015: 6/29/15- Chrysler agreed to buy back car on 6/4. After much headache this mess is OVER today. Proud owner of a 2015 Ford Explorer

- travisok84, Sand Springs, OK, US

problem #5

Apr 082015

Patriot High Altitude 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,045 miles

It has been in for service twice. If problem is not fixed, I will go to Chrysler.

- mkiefer3, Columbia, MO, US

problem #4

Jan 252015

Patriot Latitude 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50 miles

Brand new Jeep Patriot Latitude rained water from rear dome light when we began to wash the car days after we bought it. They had the car for a couple days and said it was the roof rack and it had to cure. The dealer said they ran water over the car for 45 minutes. When we tried to finish washing the still filthy car and it immediately began running through the rear dome light again.

Now by this time I've researched my vehicle and found this is a recurring problem since 2007. They redid the roof rack and replaced the grommet that I had pointed out in the first place that sits under water when the car is sitting still in rain that feeds the wire into the hatch and dome light on the second trip to the dealer.

Well now it's the 3rd trip to the dealer cause it still leaks and I insisted on a new headliner as I am concerned about mildew in the paper and whatever material headliner. So they now have the car and it's been 29 days in the dealership. They first said it was the hinge and had to go to the body shop because it was a painted part, now there're saying it was the headliner. I told them I want to see the headliner...

- Tina H., Anchorage, AK, US

problem #3

Dec 292014

Patriot Altitude 4x4 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

I purchased this brand new, great looking, great driving Jeep Patriot Altitude 4x4; left it in the driveway for the holidays, came back and the driver's floorboard was totally soaked with water, all the way thru the floor mat; no sunroof, no window down, no water on the dash, no water on the door panel; just a soaked floor. Currently at the dealership, been there 4 days so far and they cannot figure it out.

In searching the web for this, I found plenty of sunroof leak problems on the Patriot; but no real 'fix' for the leaks without a sunroof.

Have owned several Jeeps over the years, including Wranglers and Cherokees, which leaked like crazy all the time; but sure didn't expect this on a 2015 Jeep.

Update from Jan 16, 2016: The water was coming in behind the dash at the left side firewall area; the dealer techs found the leak and sent the Jeep to the body shop to have firewall welds done. I was told the factory welds at the firewall were not done properly. They removed the cowl, front left fender, and welded the joints. Seam sealer was used along the entire area and can be seen under the cowl panel. So far leak has not returned, we are at 11k miles to far.

- drdorroh, Raleigh, NC, US

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?