CarComplaints.com Notes: For years, Nissan trucks and SUVs have had problems with coolant destroying the transmission. And for years, Nissan has done nothing about it.

The 2007 is no different than the 2006 and 2005. Just avoid it.

9.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$3,553.00
Average Mileage:
108,844 miles
Total Complaints:
118 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace radiator, rebuild transmission (40 reports)
  2. replace radiator and transmission (39 reports)
  3. not sure (17 reports)
  4. replace transmission (9 reports)
  5. replaced radiator and transmission (6 reports)
  6. bypass the radiator and put in a separate transmission coole (2 reports)
2007 Nissan Frontier transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Frontier:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Frontier Owner Comments (Page 1 of 6)

problem #118

Nov 082017

Frontier LE 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,798 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 11/7/17 my "service engine soon" light came on. I had it brought to AAMCO and they notified me that transmission fluid was in my radiator. I did some research and found out about all the problems with the Nissan radiator and transmission leaks. I am at 102798 miles and 10 years. I replaced my radiator and replaced my transmission fluid, everything seemed okay through the weekend, but I just checked my radiator and I again have transmission fluid in there. I think that anyone that owns a Frontier, regardless of this extended warranty bull sh*t, should get this fixed for free. This is a recall regardless of when it happened to anyone, maybe some had it happen at 80k miles or before, but I had not problems till this past week. So what I am reading is that I will have to pay $3000.00 for Nissans f*ck up. I am reading a lot of other complaints all over the internet that a lot of owners are not affected by this until after 100k miles. I have always owned Nissan cars/trucks but if this is not taken care of free of charge then I will never buy a Nissan again and I am gonna plaster the internet and social media with how bad Nissan customer service is that they don't take care of their customers.

- , San Diego, US

problem #117

Aug 012017

Frontier LX V6

  • Manual transmission
  • 107,000 miles

Nissan is not fixing this problem. Although many people have complained about the same issue. Someone needs to look further into this issue. My truck will now not go in reverse.

- , Spartanburg, US

problem #116

Sep 012017

Frontier SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 117,000 miles

Nissan disgusts me by not being willing to expose themselves by warning consumers of such a prevelant, definitive, and avoidable defect. Will never support Nissan in any way, shape, or form again.

- , Greeley, US

problem #115

Aug 022017

Frontier KC SE 4L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 123,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Nissan knew of this problem for years and no one from Nissan notified me.

- , Bellingham, US

problem #114

Feb 092015

Frontier V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

First, this vehicle was my third Frontier. I will never enter another Nissan dealership, and never ever purchase another Nissan. My experience is that Nissan is sweet in sales and will ultimately ditch the consumer. I cannot believe there is no relief for people like me that have suffered as a result of this defective product. I am a victim of Nissan. My radiator overheated on the highway, cracked and leaked into the transmission. The transmission sputtered between 3 and 4th gear. The fluids were a milky pink. The only fix is to replace the radiator and the transmission. The cost will alarm you - $3400. Don't let Nissan do it - never go back. Find a reputable transmission mechanic that is trustworthy, unlike Nissan mechanics. PS - found out that Nissan issued a warranty for this defect but did not alert consumers. The warranty period was ridiculously brief.

- , Vero Beach, US

problem #113

Feb 222017

Frontier 4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,246 miles

Had truck assessed by local, independent service centre in February 2017, as closest Nissan dealership is 3.5 hours away. issue was not found on first try, second service in april did find the problem, at which time we found out that there was a warranty bulletin that recognized the issue, leaky radiator into transmission, corroding components. calls to the closest Nissan dealership in Cranbrook- Sun Valley, Nissan Canada, and Nissan north America, all came back with the same answer....sorry we can not help you as you have passed the warranty expiry date. "My secret warranty" was up at the end of march 2017 they say, and your truck has yet to be assessed by a Nissan Service centre. My truck was made for the American market and registered there for its first 6 months or so, i bought it from the Cranbrook Mazda dealership and it has been registered in Canada for 10 years. Nissan Canada believes Nissan North America should assist with the fix and Nissan North America believes Nissan Canada should assist with the fix. I spent the better part of 2 months talking to the Cranbrook Nissan Dealership, Nissan Canada, and Nissan North America, none of them want to assist with the fix estimated at $7000. None of them will honour the service assessment/concern raised in February by an independent service centre. I did have it assessed by Dave Smith Nissan in Spokane, a recommendation from Nissan North America, since Nissan Canada was unwilling to consider, since the truck was still not in their system, who confirmed the issue, a couple weeks ago. Dave Smith Nissan was not able to get authorization because the truck is registered in Canada. Nissan North America, phoned Nissan Canada to help get the truck and issue into the Canadian system, but once transferred to me, Nissan Canada still not accepting the truck as a Canadian issue. All the service teams have said its a great truck, but with out a transmission its a very expensive lawn ornament. Would never consider a Nissan again, customer service sucks in Canada, and they don't stand behind their product.

- , Trail, BC, Canada

problem #112

Jul 032017

Frontier SV 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,544 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The transmission fluid cooler in the radiator has busted causing radiator coolant to get inside the transmission. When the coolant mixed with the transmission fluid it has caused catastrophic damage to the inside of the transmission (gears, etc.) a couple of weeks ago I noticed the transmission starting to shift more and more abruptly. I drove to work and at the end of my shift, my truck would not start. I discovered the reason for it not starting was due to the automatic transmission fuse was blown. I replaced the fuse, started the truck and the fuse blew again. I took it to a mechanic and he discovered the issue with the radiator and transmission. This is a recurring issue with 2005 -2010 pathfinder, Frontier and xterra owners. What can be done to hold Nissan accountable for a faulty product that they are obviously aware of but will not correct. This is going to cost me $3500 - $4500 to repair

- , Oxnard, CA, US

problem #111

May 222017

Frontier 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles

Over the last few days I noticed the truck making a whining sound when I started it. It would last for a few seconds and go away. I thought maybe it was because the weather had turned cold & wet. Yesterday it whined longer and it wasn't cold and wet so I figured I better take it to the mechanic and have him check it. Before I could do that I needed to get to work. On the way to work the truck began to shudder when shifting from low gear. It got progressively worse the farther I went. I made it to work and called for a tow to the mechanic. He was able to determine there was no transmission fluid in the coolant but since they don't do trannys he wasn't able to drop the pan and check for coolant in the tranny fluid. I had it towed to a tranny shop and there it sits waiting to be worked on. We bought the truck used and don't know if the radiator/cooler was ever replaced. The verdict is that the transmission/radiator/cooler need to be replaced to the tune of $4,000.00. Awesome! I obviously didn't research enough before buying this truck. Usually I over-analyze. The price was really fair...not cheap...but fair. Maybe that should have raised a red flag.

- , Elkhorn, NE, US

problem #110

Jun 012017

Frontier SE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 107,900 miles

I bought Nissan for it longevity, mine is 10 years old with 107 k miles and I expected to drive it another 10 years and 100k miles. I'm 67, retired and everything is paid for and money is short, with the government robbing me left and right, but that's another tale.

I'm super pissed that for a cheap radiator, my transmission may be ruined at a cost of between $4,000 to $6,000, which I don't have unless I start selling stuff and get a loan. I found on carcomplaints.com that this is a wide spread problem involving 3 vehicles over 6 years.

Shame on Nissan for letting this go on for so long. In my case this problem hit beyond any warranty and it is all out of my pocket.

If you have a Frontier, Pathfinder or Xterra '05 through '10 go now and have the radiator replaced (regardless if it is fine now) and add a trans cooler outside the radiator loop to avoid this problem. The article said Nissan is of no help

- , farmville, VA, US

problem #109

Jun 022016

Frontier

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

I was 10k miles outside a small amount of assistance and past the alotted date for assistance... Really sux because my year frontier is listed as a bad egg : ( Will never buy nor suggest to anyone to buy a nissan

- , Hollywood, US

problem #108

Sep 012016

Frontier 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I used to love Nissan, I have had 2 trucks and 1 car. I have replace the car with Honda CRV and the current truck with Ford F150. I will avoid Nissan from now on because I felt the company that has a problem that is known should take responsibility for it.

- , Hokes Bluff, US

problem #107

Oct 032016

Frontier SE 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,011 miles

Transmission failed because of a design flaw that Nissan knows about, but refuses to correct in effected vehicles. Instead, they put the burden on the consumer. I'm not sure my Fronteir is worth the $5,900 the dealer wants to repair it, but I won't be buying another Nissan for myself or any of my kids.

- , Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #106

Nov 012016

Frontier LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 119,000 miles

It's fxxx up since I only had the truck for 6 months and didn't know the problem was occurring. I called Nissan and of course they said no recall and the truck is an 07 and they thought it was an 05 . I needed to repeat myself several times and they said they would call me on Monday since it Friday. The operator told me he thinks nothing can be done about this since the truck didn't even have my name under it.

- , Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #105

Feb 032017

Frontier Nismo V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 166,000 miles

This was my first Nissan product ,a 2007 Frontier extended cab. I purchased from a dealer used with 24K miles. When i buy a vehicle, i generally keep it for 10-15 years average of 250K miles.

i use my truck to transport dogs for rescue. up until last week, I was proud to say the truck served me well as I have hauled probably close to 1000 canines in it with a current 166K miles.i maintain my vehicles regularly as i can't afford the risk being stuck with a truck full of dogs on the side of the road.

The truck decided to go kaput on a Friday, in a rare CA rain storm on Friday -imagine the traffic!! I chugged down freeway ,mad it to my destination,but when came out to start my truck, it wouldn't turn over. Thankfully, I have premier AAA and within 10 mins a tow truck arrived at the same time as the Enterprise rental car driver and i was able to continue my day. I had the truck towed to my mechanic who has informed me a new transmission and radiator is running about $5k. I also have incurred a 189$ diagnostic fee plus a $30/day rental care fee. I got a second quote over the phone for $4200 without the radiator...I'm getting one more quote tomorrow.

This unexpected expense is upsetting and of course now I'm contemplating a new/ish truck which includes the dreaded monthly car payment. This was my first truck and i LOVED it! I was even looking into buying the exact same one, only newer, as i already have lots of accessories for it including new tires and a camper shell.

Then i recalled the words of my mechanic,"coolant leaking into the transmission is a common problem."which prompted me to search the internet.i found this website and boy am i glad i did! I am disappointed to learn that so many others have had a similar experience with this brand of vehicle.

I will not purchase another Nissan product. No wonder my redneck friends drive Fords!

- , Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #104

Jan 232017

Frontier LE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 220,823 miles

Ordered new, maintained per Nissan recommendations 10 yrs this month. Bad radiator already noted in all complaints. Radiator transmission cooler allowed antifreeze into transmission ruining both. Around $6,000 for a fix. Hardly worth it.

- , Wagoner, OK, USA

problem #103

Mar 212016

Frontier Nismo 4/4 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

I was on trip to beach . entering hwy 17 (70 mph speed limit) traffic my 2007 Nissan frontier transmission failed to respond to an increase in acceleration and truck slowed instead of increasing in speed. I moved to right of highway on emergency lane, stopped, place transmission in park. motor seemed to be ok. I placed truck in drive and proceeded on trip. upon returning home I placed truck in Nissan dealership in Salisbury n.c. and was told a cracked radiator cooling line had ruptured and my transmission and radiator would have to be replaced at a cost of 2500.oo I had no choice but have the truck repaired. this could have caused a accident . my entering 70 mph traffic and truck failing to increase speed due to transmission failure could have cost our life., my truck had 68000 miles on odometer.

- , Salisbury, NC, USA

problem #102

Oct 032016

Frontier

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,200 miles

Results of COMPLAINT ACTIVITY REPORT Case # 37136289 Better Business Bureau of Middle Tennessee, Inc

Consumer Info: Johnson, D. Business Info: Nissan North America, Inc.

135 Street One Nissan Way

, KY 4**0 Franklin, TN 37067-6367

800 647 7261

Consumer's Original Complaint :

2007 Nissan Frontier needing $6,500.00 in repairs due to a known radiator cross contamination product defect. Truck is 200 miles over warranty.

I'm writing out of concern for my Dad. He is 70 years old and on social security. He owns an 07 Nissan Frontier that was worth approximately $10,000. Due to a known radiator cross contamination problem his truck needs a minimum of $6,500.00 in repairs. It needs a new radiator, new transmission, EMC control panel & something else, I can't remember. Due to a class action suit my Dad was never aware of, Nissan attached an extended warranty to his VIN # for the cross contamination repair. He was never made aware of the extended warranty either.

I have already spoken to a Regional Customer Service Representative and she stated that the truck was 2,000 miles outside the perimeter of warranty and Nissan would not do anything to help my Dad. His truck is not 2,000 miles over the warranty, it is only 200 miles over. (I've read on-line that the majority of problems occur right after the vehicle rolls over 100,000 miles.) She stated that even if my Dad's truck was in the perimeter of the extended warranty he would have to pay a $3,000 co-pay. He can't afford a $3,000 co-pay. He's not the owner of a luxury vehicle for a reason. Secondly, I can't believe that Nissan knew about the product defect and did not warn my Dad. The Regional Service Representative stated that the class action suit did not require that Nissan contact my Dad. What? Nissan knew he could be in danger if the truck quit while he was driving, but they didn't contact him because the suit did not force them.

When my Dad's truck broke down he had to pay a tow truck $150 to get it to an independently owned garage. The repairman knew right away what the problem was because it was such a common problem in Nissan vehicle's and one he had repaired several times. The repairman adheres to a religion that does not have TV's in their homes. I realized that if this repairman, in such a small community, without media access, knew of the defect based on the number of repairs he had done, then it was a really BIG problem. I got on-line, read about the Class Action suit, called Nissan, and they suggested Dad have his truck towed to the closest Nissan Dealership 87 miles away to see if their service tech diagnosed the same problem. This cost him another $150. That brings his total out of pocket to $300. The service tech diagnosed the same problem. Now he owes the service department $105.30 for diagnosing the problems. This will bring his out of pocket to $405.30. Since the Nissan representative said Nissan was not going to help him with the repairs he is going to have to pay another $150.00 to tow his basically worthless truck back home. That brings his total to $555.30. My Dad will not be able to sell the truck, or trade it in. When he gets it home, at best, he can sell the truck for scrap metal.

Please Keep in mind that my Dad is 70 years old and on social security. When he gets his truck back home he will have spent $555.30 out of his pocket and be stuck with a truck that still needs at least $6,500.00 in repairs. If I had the money I would have his truck fixed, but I can't afford it. I am angry because I feel like my Dad has been hoodwinked. I can't believe that the media hasn't brought more attention to this issue, especially since Nissan has not shown any concern or regard for the owners and informed them.

The complaint case number given to me by the Regional Customer Service Specialist is 24138974.

Consumer's Desired Resolution:

My Dad and I are requesting that Nissan cover the full cost of repairing his truck. My Dad has already paid $300.00 out of his pocket and is willing to pay the $105.30 bill at the Nissan Service Department. He cannot afford $6,500 or even the $3,000 co-pay. If Nissan does not step up and cover the cost of repairs for his truck the value of his truck will be the going price for scrap metal. Of course Dad was not aware of the problems with Nissan radiators and transmissions because somehow this has been kept very quiet. Had the facts been disclosed to him and he chose to buy the truck then he would have had to assume the cost of repairs. But, he did not knowingly buy a defective truck. It's a shame that Dad had enough confidence in the quality of Nissan trucks to buy one and they did not have the decency to contact him about the cross contamination problem. What will be an even bigger shame is if Nissan refuses to cover the cost of repairs caused by a long standing product defect, for a senior citizen owner.

BBB Processing

10/03/2016 web BBB Case Received by BBB

10/05/2016 KWB BBB Member Complaint Reviewed by BBB Operator

10/05/2016 Otto EMAIL Send Acknowledgement to Consumer

10/05/2016 Otto EMAIL Inform Member of Complaint

10/12/2016 WEB BBB RECEIVE BUSINESS RESPONSE : Thank you for contacting Nissan North America and allowing us the opportunity to review Ms. Johnson's request regarding her father's 2007 Frontier. We are sorry to learn of Ms. Johnson's experience and apologize for any inconvenience or frustration the situation may have caused.

So that we may provide the best service, a Regional Specialist will contact Ms. Johnson by the close of business on October 13, 2016, to review her concerns further. Should Ms. Johnson have any questions before then, she is welcome to contact Nissan Consumer Affairs at 1-800-647-7261 (Option 7) and reference case number 24138974.

Thank you.

10/12/2016 KWB EMAIL Forward Business response to Consumer

10/18/2016 WEB BBB RECEIVED CONSUMER REBUTTAL : (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

The same Nissan Service Rep whom we had previously spoken to called my Dad and offered a big Whopping $2,500 toward the $6.500 needed to get his truck running. Of course he doesn't have any choice but to refuse the offer because there isn't any way he could come up with the other $4,000. He is 70 years old and on Social Security. He could just as likely come up with 4 million. I'm sure this offer came at the directive of the North American Nissan Headquarters. They should be ashamed. The Nissan truck warranty commercials currently running on TV make me nauseous. In my Dad's experience his Nissan truck became absolutely worthless in regards to use as transportation, just after it rolled over 100,000 miles. Actually, 200 miles over the 100,000 mile warranty. As I stated in my complaint I learned from blogs about this well known, long standing, transmission & radiator cross contamination Nissan product defect when I searched the internet for answers after my Dad's truck broke down. Nissan was forced to address this issue after a class action suit and attached a 100,000 mile warranty to defective vehicles, but did not tell the owners. My Dad can't sell his truck or trade it. He can't go out an buy another one when he is stuck with this hunk of junk. He's going to have to pay the bill at the Nissan dealership for diagnosing the problem and PAY TO HAVE HIS TRUCK TOWED HOME! He will then be out $555.30. HERE'S THE REAL KICKER...NISSAN REFUSED TO BUY BACK THEIR OWN TRUCK!!! My Dad did not even suggest a price. Just the mention of it brought a swift, "NO." That in and of itself should tell you every thing you need to know. Yep, Nissan has won, they have saved themselves some money. Probably sitting somewhere exalted in themselves. While I watch my Dad park his truck somewhere hoping he will have the money to get it running again, someday. When I know he will have to eventually have it TOWED to the scrap metal yard. (Just a thought...that may make a good YOUTUBE video.) The thoughts of how my Dad has been treated makes me livid. I'm thinking about putting a sign on his broken down parked truck explaining the circumstances surrounding his Nissan truck. I do know I am going to tell as many people as I can about my Dad's Nissan truck experience, whether it be verbal, written, social media, etc., so others do not find themselves in the same position by spending their hard earned money on a Nissan vehicle. For the sake of hard working Americans looking to purchase a vehicle the BBB rating given to Nissan should definitely reflect how Nissan treats its customers. Re: No warning about defective vehicles and unwillingness to pay the full cost to fix their defective vehicles, etc. PLEASE BBB DON'T HELP NISSAN SWEEP THIS UNDER THE RUG. Had my Dad even had an inkling of the problems with NISSAN vehicles, from a reputable source, he wouldn't be in this position today. Nissan could have admitted their defect, repaired the defective vehicles, and built an enduring reputation as a trust worthy company who really cares about their customers. Talk about customer loyalty after such a noble act! But, instead they chose, in my opinion, a shifty position to dealing with the defective vehicles. In the back of my mind I wonder if anyone has ever been seriously injured or Heaven forbid lost their life due to a defective Nissan vehicle and the family never realized the cause. I read somewhere that some car companies compare the cost of litigation to the cost of repairing defective vehicles to decide which is the most cost effective for them. Needless to say which one they normally choose. Some companies lack the ethics/morals to self-regulate. It is up to you to help protect the consumer. PLEASE!

#NEVERANISSAN

10/19/2016 KWB EMAIL Forward Consumer Rebuttal to Business

10/27/2016 WEB BBB RECEIVED BUSINESS' REBUTTAL RESPONSE : We appreciate Ms. Johnson and Mr. Hamilton's patience while NNA reviewed their request for financial assistance with the radiator and transmission repairs.

Our records indicate Mr. Hamilton's 2007 Frontier is outside of both the Radiator Assembly Warranty Extension and the manufacturer's five years/60,000 miles Powertrain Warranty. We are appreciative of his patronage and for that reason, we offered to contribute $2,500 towards radiator and transmission repairs. At this time, NNA is not in the position to offer additional assistance as Ms. Johnson's father has already declined our original offer.

Should Ms. Johnson's father decide to accept Nissan's offer, he is welcome to contact the Specialist directly and reference case number 24138974.

Thank you.

10/27/2016 KWB BBB Send Consumer Rebuttal - No New Offer - ANSWERED

10/27/2016 Otto BBB Inform Business - Case Closed ANSWERED

10/27/2016 Otto BBB Case Closed ANSWERED

10/27/2016 BBB MORE INFO RECEIVED FROM THE CONSUMER : IMO Misrepresentation in response to Nissan...

There was not a 'first' offer probably the reason response did not state the $ amount of 'first' offer. Didn't state how few miles he is outside of warranty. He's only two hundred miles 'out of extended warranty.' State 'Not in the position' as through there is some law or regulation preventing Nissan from helping my Dad. Nissan is definitely in a position to help my Dad, but just refuse too.

- , Paintsville, KY, USA

problem #101

Oct 032016

Frontier LE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 133,015 miles

I own a 2007 Nissan Frontier, I just experienced the problem that many here have complained about. Took my truck in because it felt as if the transmission was slipping, was advised then that this is a known problem with Nissan Frontiers. Engine coolant is leaking into the transmission causing them to fail. I had to replace the transmission at the cost of 895.00 or so and still not sure of the status of the transmission. Was told by the dealer to contact Nissan NA, got a call and was told since my truck had 133,015 miles it was not covered under warranty.

I have never received anything from Nissan advising that this is a known problem or any type of recall notice. This in my opinion is bad business. If consumers had been made aware of the design flaw I am sure they would not hesitate to have their vehicles repaired.

This needs to be investigated to the fullest and consumers should be reimbursed for the repairs they have had to pay for.

- , Ocala, FL, USA

problem #100

Oct 192016

Frontier SE 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 163,917 miles

I purchased a 2007 Frontier in 2007 and have put 164,000 miles on it. All my services have been at the Nissan Dealership at the recommended intervals. My transmission just failed and the estimated cost of repair is just under $5,000.00 and the dealer won’t do it for anything less than $6,500.00 is unreasonable and unfair. Being that Nissan was aware of this ongoing problem with this model vehicle and not warn the owner of said vehicles is absolute malicious negligence.

If I had been warned of a known and or potential problem that could have been remedied with a cost of around $500.00 versus $5,500.00, I would have taken the option of replacing the radiator in a heartbeat.

Nissan should have had the decency to warn its customers of such an issue even if it was not a recall. Just to inform their customers that potential high cost repairs could be avoided if a lower cost replacement of the radiator was performed.

Very unsatisfied 4 time Nissan owner

- , Rio Rico, AZ, US

problem #99

Aug 232016

Frontier SE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,717 miles

I'm stunned that Nissan knows about this design flaw yet won't stand behind their vehicles. I so regret buying this truck.

- , Redwood City, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?