really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,183 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Nissan Rogue miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Nissan Rogue:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Nissan Rogue Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Feb 042018


  • 77,800 miles


Driving on highway and after about 2 hours, car loses speed in middle of traffic pressing gas but car responds like it would hitting the gas in neutral. Had to coast off to a gas station. Upon searching the internet founf the problem is very common and a sensor malfunctioning shuts the cvt. It advised wait 5 minutes and it would reset. Did that and was able to go on. Was very scary in traffic with cars on all sides of

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #21

Dec 142017


  • 41,000 miles
I was driving and my sunroof exploded spontaneously. Bridgewater Nissan and Nissan cooperation said it was due to impact, even though they could not prove it. I had to report it to my insurance to cover the damages. Nissan could not even support a valuable customer and pay for my deductible.

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

problem #20

Sep 252017


  • 66,000 miles
Vibration on driver side. First time at 45 mph on highway. Second time while at a drive through pharmacy and entire car shook, seats vibrated so hard I thought they were going to take off into space at any second. Idle corrected but vibration still there, only not as bad. Third time I was told a vibration could not be felt. Second service mechanic finallyad!itted itwas the cvt and there was no fixing it. This all happened between September and November 2017 with four visits to the dealership. This auto was just purchased and I tried to get it fixed before the 90 day warranty ran out

- Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #19

Oct 012017


  • 30,000 miles


This is not a failure at this time but more of a safety concern. The windshield of our Rogue 'concave' is the area around the rearview mirror (this can be seen in the attached photo - note the distortion of the reflected image of the trees within blue circle). When you press on the inside of the glass that distorted area slight 'flexes' - suggest a weak point in the glass. I have video can email but too large to attached herein. Dealer / Nissan says this is normal - I say its a 'failure waiting to happen'. I have look at other similar Rogues and do not find the same issue as noted here. Thanks for your attention and look forward to your response. I would also like to note: The dashboard of this car illuminates along with day time driving lights when engine is started. Here is the problem with this - in the evening the lite dash gives the driver the impression 'all lights are on' - and yes the day time lights are bright enough to drive at nite - but all the tail lights / main head lights are off. To prove this as a potential problem - so far I have seen 3 Rogues driving on the highway with no tail / head lights !

- Milford, CT, USA

problem #18

Mar 102017


  • 28,000 miles
When driving the vehicle on snow covered roads, it will first shake and shudder then it will eventually stall. No warning lights or check engine lights come on, once vehicle sits for 10-15 minutes with the engine off the vehicle will start but after a short distance if the road conditions remain the same- snow covered it continues to stall.

- Chestertown, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Feb 252017


  • 30,000 miles
The car has a keyless operation. After service an reprogramming for a cvt issue, the engine failed to start after sitting in the garage overnight. In order to start, the brake must be engaged before pushing the start button. This did not work and the start engine light did not come on. Pushing the start button resulted in clicking noise but the solenoid (if this car has one) did not engage. After trying several times and turning lights on and off, the car starts. I am concerned that the ignition would disengage while driving. Once the vehicle started, it did not shut off until I turned it off; but I haven't tested driving it. The car never did this until the computer reprogramming done this past Thursday February 24th when I had the car service before leaving on a trip.

- Douglassville, PA, USA

problem #16

Dec 162015


  • miles


Fort worth Nissan sold defective car. 6 months after purchase new 2015 Nissan Rogue, brake pedal would sqeak when depressing and letting off pedal.dealership where purchased said this was normal with the 2015 Rogue model. Reported 3 different times Dec 2015, Feb 2016, and Mar 2016. It would get so loud at times specially after having car out in rain. Contacted Nissan corporate 6/13/2016 and rep said go to another dealer ship for second opinion. Went to another dealer ship 7/2016 grubbs Nissan dealer ship and July 2017 brake booster was found to be defective. September the issue started again and brake booster was found to be defective again. Rosa at consumers for auto reliability and safety. Said this had to be reported since if was safety issue of proper braking

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #15

Nov 252016


  • miles
I received recall notices about this and other issues. I contacted porreco Nissan in erie, pa (who sold me the car) and was told not to worry about it if I wasn't having problems. I then called Nissan Consumer Affairs and was told that the dealership needed to take care of it. I made the hour and a half trek to the dealership and had it serviced - I think. Now, I am receiving notices from Nissan telling me it wasn't done, which makes me seem negligent. I called Nissan and can't even get someone who speaks good enough english to understand my issue and get me to someone in Nissan North America's Tennessee office. After already having problems with the dealership, I don't know if they truly performed the work or not, since Nissan corporate is still sending me these letters. I don't know who to trust at this point and need some intervention.

- Warren, PA, USA

problem #14

Jul 032016


  • 9,000 miles
Tires started developing knots on sidewalls after 9000 miles and blowing out they are Continental 4X4 contac 215-70-16 someone should be held liable

- Alma, GA, USA

problem #13

Jun 212016


  • miles
2015 Nissan Rogue parked in my garage. I was in driveway heard loud noise like gunshot. Looked a my car and saw that front panoramic sunroof had shattered into little pieces of glass. Thank god I was not driving at time.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #12

Apr 122015


  • 70 miles


The forward collision warning system (fcw) does not work properly. I have road tested it by driving up to another vehicle to within what I would consider a unsafe distance without getting a warning signal. Nissan says the system is working but will not road test it because it might pose a potential safety hazard. (catch 22).

- Clearwater, FL, USA

problem #11

Apr 022015


  • 100 miles
My car is having very bad vibration. It is there since I brought the car and I have taken it to the dealer 4 times complaining the issue and the dealer says that they cannot duplicate the problem. When I showed the problem to the Nissan mechanic they said that it is normal with Nissan and Nissan dosen't have a fix for it. The current mileage of my car is 11200 and the vibration increases during the winter and when the heat or ac is powered on. I am worried about this because too much vibration can lead to loosening of parts that might result in accident or engine failure. 2015 Honda CRV having the same problem has issued a recall for the issue and it is clear that this is something that can be fixed, and Nissan dosen't want to loose money by creating a recall for this fix. This is a problem with all the Nissan Rogues. Many people didn't notice this and some think this is normal with the car as they have not owned another new car before. This annoying as well as safety issue has to be taken into consideration and provide a recall for all the owners of the Nissan Rogue. After researching for 2 years about this problem I believe that this is the cause for all other safety problems concerned with this car.

- New Hyde Park, NY, USA

problem #10

Apr 252016


  • 8,400 miles
The blind spot warning/ moving object detection did not notice a fire hydrant. So I accidentally backed into

- Aloha, OR, USA

problem #9

Jan 232016


  • 18,500 miles
The AWD does not function properly! the sales representitive told me this vehicle was AWD all of the time which it is not. Therefore I am persuing this... this is an unsafe vehicle as I almost collided with another vehicle because AWD cut in and out in and out, very dangerous vehicle...

- Palmer, MA, USA

problem #8

Jan 132016


  • 13,200 miles
Almost 3 months into car while driving speed was like when the car is in neutral(but on drive) & if I pressed the gas pedal nothing happened then it turned off. I thought it was a 1 time thing, then it happened again almost 2 months after, dealer said we cant find the problem. It happened 2 more times they could never find the issue. Then it wouldnt even turn on making a loud noise then saying key not detected. Then after this towing company jump started car, & at the dealer it happened to them once. They said they tested everything but car would say key not detected. Then after we told them we submitted everything to Corp[orate office they said it was just the battery & it didn't happen again. Service manager said that the juice in the battery was all drained & something else had to cause that especially when it says key not detected. That they don't feel safe us taking car back until they can find issue but luis at Nissan North America said that is not what service department told them. That they can't help us doing a buy out for this defective car because to them nothing is wrong with it. This is a very hazardous and unsafe matter and the last time it turned off on me I was in the highway I45 had to slowly let it go to the side road until I was able to turn back on. At the moment is still at the dealership. The only person trying to help & seem concern is doug at service dept.

- Texas City, TX, USA

problem #7

Sep 162015


  • miles
2015 Nissan Rogue has glare/reflection from interior dash & vent plate covers reflecting in side mirrors & windows causing poor visibility. Interior is dark grey with shiny chrome fixtures which reflects in side mirrors causing distraction, hazardous safety issue. Daytime can see reflection of driver in window. Nighttime the dash panel with it's lights glare outside driver window blocking side mirror view of traffic visibility. Situation is annoying & a safety concern. Nissan dealership refuses to help correct this problem. This is a new vehicle (purchased on 9/16/15) & Nissan should be responsible for driver safety.

- Gansevoort, NY, USA

problem #6

Sep 182015


  • 3,000 miles
Vehicle side window glass rattles and shakes when windows are partially open. They are not secured properly into door frame. Could lead to window breaking or exploding at speed, causing heavy distraction and potential accident. Rattle varies between windows (in my vehicle, drivers window is worst), so it looks like a variance in production of vehicle. The higher the speed, the more the window shakes.

- Rochester Hills , MI, USA

problem #5

May 212015


  • 2,696 miles
Traveling on highway about 60 mph when a semi passed us going in the opposite direction. After he passed there was a loud explosion. We had no idea what had happened. We discovered that the sunroof was completely shattered and glass was everywhere. Luckily we had the inside roof cover closed or we would have been covered with glass. We thought a rock had been kicked up by the semi but no rock was found. We had purchased our vehicle on May 14, 2015 and this happened exactly one week later on May 21, 2015. Total cost of replacing sunroof was $1914.07. We were still under assumption that it was a rock that caused the damage until we saw the world news report on exploding sunroofs. This matched our incident to the tee.

- Show Low, AZ, USA

problem #4

Jun 012015

Rogue 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
The problem is that the doors do not unlock until you press the engine stop button. Then all the doors unlock, not just the driver's door. That makes it very easy for car jackers, purse snatchers, and child abductors to wait at a gas station for you to pull up, turn off your engine so you can get out, and commit their crime when all the doors unlock. Obviously the same would be true if for some reason you were pulling into a shopping mall or grocery store parking lot. There is a method to reverse the operation so no doors unlock when you turn off the engine and this is safer, except:..the driver's door lock and front passenger door lock are not mechanically connected the the door handle. Ie, if you disable the auto door unlock, you cannot open the driver's door in an emergency -- like a car fire, heart attack, accident -- unless you can find and release the door lock which has been "aesthetically" hidden in the door and designed so it is not easily opened -- I assume to prevent someone from using a wire to unlock the door. This is the first vehicle I have ever driven that the driver (and front seat passenger) cannot exit without manually finding and flipping the door lock. How insane is that"... I mentioned that none of my american cars had this problem and the mechanic I was talking to said it was only a Nissan thing. No other car that he knows of will not let the driver exit the car by pulling the door handle...his is extremely dangerous and you truly have very little control over your own security in this vehicle. Any person with any kind of even minor hand disability, like arthritis, would have a very hard time unlocking the car doors. The truly crazy thing is that we are talking about, maybe, 5-10 cents of clothes hanger-type wire to correct the problem and potentially save people's lives. Does this violate ada rules".....updated 09/22/15 updated 11/27/2017

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #3

Jun 132015


  • 36 miles
6/13/2015 -the key could not be removed from the new leased. After 10 minutes of starting and stopping, the key was able to be removed. Vehicle was driven approximately 36 miles. 6/15/2015 - the key could not be removed from new vehicle a second time. After attempting for over one hour, I contacted the Nissan service department and was told to bring the car in as soon as possible. There was no way to get the key out in the meantime. 6/16/2015 - contacted by Nissan service. The key has yet to be removed from the ignition and they are still trying to determine the cause. The car's mileage at this point is approximately 56 miles.

- Burke, VA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?