2015 Subaru Outback electrical NHTSA complaints: Electrical System

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2015 Subaru Outback (Page 1 of 3)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Pretty Good

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,366 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Subaru Outback electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Subaru Outback:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Subaru Outback Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #49

Aug 282020

Outback

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Battery suddenly went dead shortly after driving when it should be charged. After investigating, I found that the ECU cycles the alternator off and on to try to increase fuel mileage. This has twice resulted in battery failure, not starting and leaving me stranded. I've had to buy new batteries twice in five years.

- Somers, NY, USA

problem #48

Aug 272020

Outback

  • miles
Consistent battery issues on start up; upon a mechanic looking at battery, the battery is fully charged/ok - but there appears to be possible connection issue" it appears to be a known issue. Is there a fix for this"

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #47

Jul 282020

Outback

  • 35,000 miles
Vehicle is equipped with Subaru's "eye sight" system, which provides pre-collision braking and is involved with lane departure warning. The eye sight system in my car is intermittently inoperative while the car is in motion. Sometimes, the system begins working again, then turns off, turns on, etc. If eye sight is inoperative as the car comes to a full stop, the inoperative warning message usually disappears, but the message returns shortly after the car begins moving again. This has been happening every time the car is in motion for three weeks.

- Mineola, NY, USA

problem #46

Jan 212020

Outback

  • 53,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2015 Subaru Outback battery fails to hold a charge. I was advised in January 2020 by the Subaru dealership to replace the battery, which I did. The problem is now recurring and the car battery will not hold a charge over night. The dealership claims it does not know what the issue is. The car has become completely unreliable.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #45

May 302020

Outback

  • 58,878 miles
2015 Subaru Outback 3.6L mileage-58969. All lights flashing on dashboard, then some stop but many stay flashing.

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #44

Jul 042020

Outback

  • 65,000 miles
I have had to replace my stock Subaru battery from the dealer now four times. I drive it for work everyday and every so often it will not start up one morning. I do not leave my lights on, dome lights, or any other electrical components. It was stationary and would always happen the next morning, the battery would be drained and the dealership would replace just the battery as their fix. Months later, it would only happen again on a brand new battery from the dealer.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #43

Mar 012018

Outback

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Battery discharges when not driven frequently. Subaru tech suggested purchasing larger battery as oem is not adequate. Date of event is est

- Lewes, DE, USA

problem #42

Dec 012019

Outback

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Subaru Outback. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. There were no warning lights illuminated. The local dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was contacted but no further assistance was provided. The failure mileage was 69,000.

- North Canton, OH, USA

problem #41

Feb 132020

Outback

  • miles
My car has a dead battery. I just replaced the battery in November 2018 and it is already dead. This also happened in November 2018 and when I brought it to the dealer they said everything was fine with the battery and they could not find anything wrong. The car runs for a few days and then the car battery dies again. I have the battery swapped out for one with a higher cca. This battery I bought in November 2018 has no power as of February 2020 which is too short of a lifespan. There must be something in the car draining the battery and Subaru does not want to fix it.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #40

Feb 182019

Outback

  • 19,000 miles
I┐ve had my 2015 Outback for 3 years now (2020 now) I have had to replace the battery every year. The first year I believed it was time for a new battery, within 6 months my car died while I was driving into a parking lot. The entire electrical system shut down and I had to manually move it. My mechanic took apart my engine and discovered loose seals that had allowed many parts to rust over including broken brackets and a torque converter. Warranty won┐T cover any rust but did cover the $84 broken seal. I spent close to $3,000 on repairs and a new battery then. I was initially quoted from the dealership $6K. It has been 11 months and I left my car alone for 3 days and the battery is completely dead once again.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #39

Dec 132019

Outback

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have owned the vehicle since May 2015 and had a dead battery 4 times with no apparent reason. We have replaced the battery each time. Subaru doesn┐T seem to admit there is an issue.

- De Pere, WI, USA

problem #38

Nov 292019

Outback

  • 53,000 miles
This is approximately the 5th time I have had to have my battery jumped within the last two years. No visual drain (no lights left on for example) is suspected. Vehicle had been in use on various trips prior to car not starting. I have key fob and couldn't even open the back hatch to get tools out of car. When car was fairly new, had problem where key fob could not start the car (happened three times) but felt that was an elusive key fob problem. Now I am not sure what problem is but I am suspecting there is some sort of short or system drain on battery that has surfaced. Vehicle was in driveway, parking lot and in parking space on street when these lapses occurred. Reading online about numerous similar problems with dead battery and suspicious electrical drainage of batteries. Most recent problem happened 11/29 and again 12/4. car was in garage (not used) between 11/29 and 12/4.

- North Andover, MA, USA

problem #37

Oct 062019

Outback

  • 63,000 miles
A supposed gas cap seal caused 20 icons to flash constantly upon my dash. The car had been sitting in a parking garage for two days prior to the incident

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #36

Aug 082019

Outback

  • 50,000 miles
Vehicle would not start. After jumping the battery vehicle started, aaa performed roadside testing and determined the battery and alternator are working properly and are sufficiently charged. Car would not start for unexplained reasons. Previous service history leads me to believe there is an ongoing electrical issue with this vehicle. Previously the airbag light would frequently illuminate. Dealership stated it was due to electrical interference and that nothing was wrong.

- Berlin, NJ, USA

problem #35

Aug 052019

Outback

  • 30,000 miles
When vehicle is left for two days or more (such as in my garage or at a remote trail head parking lot) the battery completely drains. This has happened three or four times and no lights or anything like that was left turned on. Battery has been checked at auto parts store and no problems and it recharges to a full charge.

- Durango, CO, USA

problem #34

Jul 072019

Outback

  • 31,200 miles
Safety issue: Car horn does not work (no sound) when driving straight ahead and steering wheel is straight. For horn to work I must turn the steering wheel either to the right to the 2:00 O'clock position and beyond or to the left to the 10:00 O'clock position and beyond.

- Henderson, NV, USA

problem #33

May 232019

Outback

  • 25,000 miles
Hello, my windshield broke about 6 months after purchasing the vehicle. I don't know how or why. It was just broken one morning when I went out to my car. I figured a rock or something hit it. There was no recall at the time and so I had it replaced with a oem windshield. My second windshield just broke a couple of weeks ago while changing my wipers you can see where the ceramic wiper heater delaminated inside of the windshield. It turned bright red. I have owned alot of cars and never seen a windshield that is so fragile. I have changed many, many wiper blades and I know what a quality windshield is. I set the wiper blade holder down on the windshield gently and it cracked, the crack grew across the windshield in a day or so. Ridiculous. These windshields run about 500 bucks and should be better quality. I also have electrical problems where my car clock will not set... currently. It took them 3 years to figure out the steering retaining pin was broken even though I was complaining about it since I bought the car. The rear gate stopped opening and they had to replace the struts on a 3 year old car. There is something wrong with the front end but my dealer said "wait until it gets worse" can you believe that? thanks,

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #32

May 222019

Outback

  • 20,000 miles
My vehicle has had repeated dead battery problems. In Feb the dealer said I needed a new battery and charged me $174. On 5/20/19 my battery was dead. I had it jumped and then drove over 40 miles. On 5/22/19 it was dead again. The dealer said I don't drive enough. Many others have clearly had the same problem. I think I have a lemon.

- Grand Blanc, MI, USA

problem #31

Jan 172018

Outback

  • 30,000 miles
The car would stall when coasting to a stop light or stop sign a few times and have been back to the dealer and can't replicated the problem. This is a dangerous situation and can cause an unsafe and huge accident with my family. The car would die while in drive and sometimes can't be restarted. It's happening again and afraid to drive the car since the dealer will say nothing is wrong with the car. It looks like it's related to idle being low or the cvt acting up when taking the foot off the gas pedal and try to accelerate from a dead stop or coasting to a stop. This happened a few times during factory warranty window.

- Millbrae, CA, USA

problem #30

Jul 292018

Outback

  • 35,000 miles
I have had 3 radios replaced in my 2015 Outback, since 12-8-17 problems include, navigation going out, the siriusxm going out, now the replacement unit( both remanufactured) has a ┐chirp┐ sound coming out of it when driving down the road on all channels. Very distracting as you look down at the dash to check for warnings, taking your eyes off the road.this replacement unit is less than a week old( replaced on 7-26-18. Subaru customer service contacted 8-1-18. First noticed on 7-29-17.

- Silverdale, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?