Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
55 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
46 / 3
Average Mileage:
56,550 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 19 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #197

Jan 282010

Cobalt

  • 37,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Chevy Cobalt. I was driving down the interstate when my power steering light came on and I lost my power steering. When I stopped the car and restarted it I had power steering for a few miles before it went out again. The next day I drove approx 135 miles before it went out again. I took the car to the garage on 2-1-2010 and they replaced my power steering motor at a cost of $390.

- Tremont, IL, USA

problem #196

Sep 262009

Cobalt

  • 53,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was driving approximately 35 mph on normal road conditions. A chime sensor sounded inside of the vehicle and the "power steering" warning light indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. Immediately, there was a loss of power steering. The driver pulled over to the side of the road. The engine was turned off. The vehicle restarted and resumed operation. The failure occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The vehicle was repaired for the malfunction. The failure mileage was 53,500.

- Granite Falls, NC, USA

problem #195

Dec 202009

Cobalt

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. Whenever the contact would drive the vehicle at any speed she noticed that the power steering would suddenly stop working making the vehicle extremely difficult to turn. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership and there were no prior warnings. The current and failure mileages were 46000.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

problem #194

Jan 152010

Cobalt

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2007 Chevy Cobalt ls. On more then 10 occasions, I've had my car in reverse to pull into a parking spot or operating my car at low speed while trying to make a turn either left or right. I will get a message in the message center that says check powering steering, and the power steering will go out on the vehicle making it virtually impossible to navigate. To temporarily correct this problem, I must turn the car off and restart it, it then operates as normal.

- Fort Washington, MD, USA

problem #193

Dec 122009

Cobalt

  • 45,500 miles
Car power steering locks up. Engine rough idle loss of power.

- Glen Burnie, MD, USA

problem #192

Nov 152009

Cobalt

  • 29,301 miles
I knew ever since I purchased the vehicle with 29,000 miles that there was a problem with the power steering motor on my 2007 Chevy Cobalt. During a driving test, my daughter couldn't turn the wheel. The motor overheated. We took it to a auto shop and they said the motor will continue to do it because of the way it was made and there was nothing he could do but that I should complain to Chevy. One day in November 2009, it overheated and I couldn't turn the wheel which caused me to run up a curb. My tire was damaged and I had to be towed to a repair shop. It cost me $50 for the tow and around $200 for a new tire, wheel alignment and labor. The mechanic said it is a bad design, that they should've removed the motor and replaced it with a traditional pump. He said that will be the only way to correct the problem. It overheats daily and it is impossible to steer-especially for a small female. Chevy should have to replace these motors before someone gets killed.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #191

Feb 032010

Cobalt

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Chevy Cobalt power steering keeps going out. I understand I am not alone with this problem. Chevy needs to recall the Cobalt. I took my car to a GM dealer and was told that it would cost me $60 just to look at my car. I was also quoted $900 to fix this problem. I feel that GM needs to pay for the correction of this problem.

- Coffeyville, KS, USA

problem #190

Jan 102010

Cobalt

  • 93,000 miles
I was driving home doing approximately 45 miles per hour when my power steering failed to operate. It was very difficult to maneuver the car off the highway to get to safety. After I shut the car off and restarted it the power steering reset itself and it was fine to drive. This has happened at least 4 times in the last 3 weeks. I took it into the dealership and they have informed me that the power steering motor needs to be replaced at a cost of over $1,000.

- Tiverton, RI, USA

problem #189

May 142009

Cobalt

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact was driving approximately 35 mph on normal road conditions, proceeding to a traffic stop signal. A chime sensor sounded inside of the vehicle and the "power steering" warning light indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. Immediately, there was a loss of power steering. The driver exerted higher effort to turn the steering wheel. The engine was turned off. The vehicle restarted and resumed normal operation. The failure was happening intermittently but was now happening consistently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle is in the process of being taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #188

Jan 312010

Cobalt

  • 46,900 miles
While driving my 2007 Chevy Cobalt on 1/31/10, my power steering light came on and I lost the ability to drive with power steering. I shut the car off, checked belts and fluid, all were fine. I restarted the car and had no further issues that day. On 2/2 /10, while driving, again the same light came on and power steering was gone. I pulled off to the side of the road, shut off the car, waited a minute and restarted it. Again the problem cleared itself. I have made an appt. With the service dept. Of bob johnson Chevrolet in rochester, NY for repairs on 2/4/10.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #187

Jan 272010

Cobalt

  • 42,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving my 2007 Chevy Cobalt ss coupe down U.S. highway 84 in hinesville, Georgia when my power steering suddenly failed without warning. I received a message on the hud in the car that said power steering and the wheel immediately became extremely difficult to turn, regardless of the speed of the vehicle. I drove the vehicle home carefully as it was within half a mile of my residence and turned it off. Several hours later I turned it on and the problem was mysteriously gone. I attempted to drive down the road to the store and the same issue occurred again. I made it back home and have yet to drive the vehicle again. I contacted the Chevrolet dealership where my vehicle was purchased and advised them of the situation and asked for an estimated price on repairs. They told me they could not give me an estimate and that all I could do was have my vehicle towed to their shop for a diagnostics scan. As of yet, I have declined to take the vehicle in as I have done research online and noticed many accounts of people with the same problem I am currently having.

- Hinesville, GA, USA

problem #186

Dec 202009

Cobalt

  • miles
I have had my 2007 Cobalt back to the dealer so many times. One of which was for strut mounts, control arm bushings, intermediate steering shaft, sway bar links, alot water coming in through the center brake light. Those were replaced and very bad at 48K miles they told me it had reached the dangerous level and that they're glad I brought it back before somebody got hurt. Also the ac smelled terrible at 12K miles, it was in the dealer 7 times for that terrible smell. The last of which took them a week to put in an evaporator which only cured the issue for 3 weeks. It still smells awful when the A/C is running. As far as the car's suspension, since December it has been very hard to manage the car on the road. Its all over the place, I've almost side swiped a few semi's and I cross into other lanes almost every day I drive it. Its very hard to handle. Its is just about impossible to make the car go straight, its always drifting all over the road now.

- Black Lick, PA, USA

problem #185

Jan 202010

Cobalt

  • 25,000 miles
Power steering 2007 Chevy Cobalt (25,000 miles) steering car becomes more and more difficult.

- Kearny, NJ, USA

problem #184

Feb 012010

Cobalt

  • 51,230 miles
On my 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt, the (electric) power steering suddenly failed twice in two days. The dashboard warning light "power steering" came on and the steering wheel suddenly became very hard to turn. Both times were at low road speed, in cold Ohio February weather. My 17 year old daughter was driving both times; it is her car to drive. The first time she had been driving about 6 miles and was approaching our driveway. She hit a curb when the steering failed while she was turning into the driveway. When she turned the car's engine off and restarted it, the steering and warning lights returned to normal. The second time was 24 hours later when she was backing out of a parking spot after the car was parked for about 3 hours. Again, turning off the car and starting it again made the problem go away. I am very concerned about my daughter's and other's safety if the power steering were to fail at higher speeds or in heavy traffic.

- Findlay, OH, USA

problem #183

Jan 012010

Cobalt

  • miles
My 07 Chevrolet Cobalt 4 door automatic has had the power steering seem like it does not work. It becomes very hard to steer. Twice my daughter has been making a turn and the steering became hard to steer and she almost went off the road. Is G.M. aware of this"??" very very dangerous.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #182

Feb 022010

Cobalt

  • 84,815 miles
My grandfather and I each bought a 2007 Chevy Cobalt and ever since we have had them they seem to just be falling apart around us. My number one problem with the car is the power steering. It keeps going out and is very hard to steer and keep under control if it goes out when im driving high speeds on the interstate. It never really bothered me until today because I was driving down fm 1406 and there was a dog in the middle of the road, I tried maneuvering around the animal but I wasn't able to, when I tried to swerve to avoid the dog I could barely move the wheel. I killed the dog. My number one concern is that dog could have easily been a child or a grown up simply wanting to cross the street. I don't want to drive this vehicle anymore and I know many people out there don't either but what choice do we have, we cant go on with our daily routines with out these Cobalts we are all so heavily "relying" on. Basically were !@#$% if we do and !@#$% if we don't. both power steering went out in the cars, mine a few months after my grandfathers. What's funny is that we both bought the vehicles on the same day and both cars power steering went out....wow that's really lame.

- Winnie, TX, USA

problem #181

Jan 012010

Cobalt

  • 33,000 miles
Steering failure. The vehicle's electrical power steering goes out very often.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #180

Dec 222009

Cobalt

  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving at speeds under 40 mph the power steering failed and it became difficult to control the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the closest dealer who repaired the power steering pump and the steering column. The steering motor was also replaced. There were no additional failures since the vehicle was repaired. There were no recalls. The current and failure mileages were under 47,000.

- Chincoteague, VA, USA

problem #179

Jan 302010

Cobalt

  • 68,512 miles
I have a 2007 Chevy Cobalt. On 01/30/10 I was driving down the road when I heard "ding ding ding" I looked down to my dash board and saw it said "power steering" my car then got really hard to steer. So I pulled over and turned my car off and then back on and I was able to steer fine again. Since then I haven't wanted to drive my car, in fear that I will not be able to steer. I researched this problem and I saw that alot of people are also having the same problems with their Cobalts. This is not our fault so we shouldn't have to pay to get it fixed.

- Redfox, KY, USA

problem #178

Oct 022009

Cobalt

  • 48,250 miles
I am very upset at the fact that I just read all the complaints on the electrical power steering in the Chevrolet Cobalt. The same problem I have. I work and pay monthly payments on a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt ls that is having these problems. GM should do something, or is it going to be when someone dies as a result of this. Steering is a very important component to a vehicle. I refuse to pay the large amount of money that it's going to cost to get it fixed and the dealer can't promise it won't happen again. People invest money into a newer car not to have to pay for problems this early on!. my car evens stalls once in awhile when I first start it and without even mashing the gas you'll hear the ignition run hard for a few seconds like it's starting itself.

- Miami, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?