Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2007 Cobalt inherited most of the problems from the 2005 and 2006 model years, but toned them down (a bit). Sure, the power steering still fails and the car has a chance of going up in flames due to a cracked fuel tank, but it’s not as prevalent as the older models. At least not yet.

In 2012, the Cobalt was recalled for gas tank fires but only for owners in certain states.

Then in 2014, the 2007 Cobalt was part of a massive GM recall due to a defective ignition switch that could cause the airbags to not deploy during an accident. The problem led to 13 deaths, government investigations and multiple class-action lawsuits.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
55 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
46 / 3
Average Mileage:
55,931 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Cobalt Owner Comments (Page 6 of 28)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #451

Apr 292013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles


The contact owns 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, the vehicle independently steered to the left and caused the contact to lose control of the vehicle. The vehicle then spun in a circle and crashed into another vehicle, and then into the retaining wall. There were 3 people with minor injuries. A police report was filed of the incident. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a salvage yard. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 10V073000 (steering) but did not confirm if the vehicle was included in the recall campaign. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 07/03/14 MA. Updated 07/08/2014

- Moriarty, NM, USA

problem #450

Apr 152011


  • 40,000 miles
I purchased a car from cox Chevrolet in bradenton, fl which happened to be a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt and it had numerous power steering problems which would affect drive-ability during high speeds on the interstate. I had the problem fixed at gainesville Chevrolet in Florida which cost me over 900 dollars. The manufacturer sent me a recall notice and failed to reimburse me for the cost, also I had a fuel leak which was under recall and yet to no avail the car smelled of fuel and had sparks from the wiring. The car was still under warranty and yet the manufacturer and the dealer, did not purchase the car back from me, they made me purchase a new vehicle and as well did not tell me about the recall until after the fact. I am upset to learn that only now the NHTSA and other government agencies are willing to do something about this. I want compensation for all of the damages caused by Chevrolet and by cox Chevrolet in Florida.

- Ellenton, FL, USA

problem #449

May 242010


  • 60,000 miles
My car was running and getting warmed up, then suddenly the locks start going off and on, repeatedly. It has continued to do this and the car will not stay locked. It does this whether it is off or on now. It is constant. The power locks no longer work and you can't use the door handle to unlock the car from the inside, you must manually pull the lock "up" and to lock the car you must manually push all the door lock knobs down, but that doesn't matter because it will not stay locked. In addition to this electrical issue the front speakers go off and on at random. Also, the turn signal remains on even after the full turn has been made. The car will randomly shut off while it's being driven. It doesn't matter if you are going 70 mph or 20 mph. Also the power steering went out on my car, that was recalled and has since been replaced, but the steering still malfunctions. My car was leaking fuel the summer of 2012, after the fuel pump module was replaced the gas tank had to be replaced months later because the car continued to leak gasoline. There are many other countless issues with this car. I am surprised and fortunate that there haven't been any injuries or fatalities while operating this death trap. I will never purchase another GM.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #448

Mar 072008


  • 10,000 miles


Noisy broken stabilizer links, control arm bushing broken. Quick internet search shows this to be a wise spread problem.

- Reminderville, OH, USA

problem #447

Mar 022014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 179,000 miles
TL the contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. While driving approximately 30 mph the ignition switch failed and the vehicle stalled causing the steering wheel to lock. The contact had a difficult time removing the key from the ignition and was unable to get the key back into the ignition. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who stated the ignition switch was faulty and it was replaced at the owners expense. The failure occurred on March 2, 2014. The manufacturer advised her that the recall was not available until April of 2014 and there was nothing they could do to assist her. The contact was concerned that the failure could recur and result in a fatal crash. The approximate failure mileage was 179,000. Rk updated 04/22/14 MA the consumer stated the steering wheel locked up and there was a vibration in the steering wheel. Updated 04/24/14

- Crawfordsville, IN, USA

problem #446

Feb 222014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 58,250 miles
The engine turned off all by itself while I was driving around a corner, causing the car to go off the road. I was going about 35 mph, and applied the brakes as fast as I could, but the car went up and over the curb, across the sidewalk, and both front tires went down off the steep edge of the sidewalk's far side into the mud. The part of the car body immediately behind the front tires was almost touching (way less than 1 inch above) the edge of the top / edge of the sidewalk. I couldn't reverse back up and over the sidewalk edge. A tow truck was called, and pulled the car straight back and up/over the edge of the sidewalk and onto the road. Some sort of dust cover thing from up inside the passenger-side wheel well had been torn loose during the crash off the sidewalk edge and was still laying in the mud. After I restarted the car and drove home, the steering / suspension (I cannot tell which) made a creaking and grinding sort of noise when turning, and I could tell from the extensive bouncing at even little bumps in the road that both front struts had been damaged.

- Auburn, WA, USA

problem #445

Feb 152014

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles


While backing out of a parking space and shifting into drive, my 2007 Cobalt lost power steering. A chime sounded and the dash lit up with an error message about power steering failure. I've previously taken advantage of the recall for the assisted power steering rebuild in 2010, yet the component has failed again! GM wants me to pay for a tow to the dealership and pay for a diagnostic. I will pay for a tow, but I will not pay for them to tell me that the assisted power steering has again failed. If I take it to the dealership, and they find an error code indicating that the assisted power steering has failed, I believe they should not charge me at all. Furthermore, they should replace - not rebuild - this faulty, ill conceived device that has such poor design.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #444

Jan 192014


  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that the steering wheel became hard to turn while attempting to complete a turn. The dealer advised the contact that NHTSA campaign number 10V073000 (steering) was previously performed however the failure was not corrected. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 59,000.

- Pequannock , NJ, USA

problem #443

Dec 052012


  • miles
The car is hard to steer sometimes. Steering wheel shakes and rattles. Seems to be coming from the steering column or electrical steering assist.

- California, MO, USA

problem #442

Dec 032013


  • 168,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while entering a drive-thru window, the power steering assist failed. The contact momentarily lost control of the vehicle and barely avoided crashing into a concrete wall. The contact shut the vehicle off and once restarted, the power steering assist had returned to normal function. The dealer advised the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 10V073000 (steering). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 168,000.

- Charlotte , NC, USA

problem #441

Mar 102012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles


The ignition switch wouldn't turn when I inserted the key, the key got stuck. I had to play with it for it to finally turn. I took it to a car locksmith and had another key made for the car which cost me $100. Yesterday, October 8, 2013 I begin to encounter the same problem all over again. The key gets stuck in the ignition switch and the ignition switch does not turn. I have to jiggle and play with it for the key to finally turn and the car turn on. I have read that numerous people have posted very similar complaints with the Chevrolet Cobalts. It appears that this may clearly qualify as a recall issue. I should not have to go through this time and time again.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #440

Sep 242013


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the power steering assist failed as the power steering warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- High Point , NC, USA

problem #439

Jul 092013


  • 74,500 miles
While braking, the vehicle's security system warning light lit up, tachometer dropped to zero, and power steering warning briefly flashed. Restarting the car turned off the warning light and car drove fine. Two weeks later the incident happened again while driving on the highway; again restarting the car solved the issue. The power steering recall was performed on the vehicle a week after the second incident. A month later, the incident occurred again, while braking. Several minutes later the gauges started going up and down and the information display shut off. Restarting the car did not clear the warning, and car jerked with changes in tachometer. Restarting the car a few hours later cleared the warning. Car was brought to a mechanic the next morning, and the incident could not be duplicated nor did the computer read an error occurring. The error recurred moments after leaving, and was brought back to mechanic who stated the front lights were also turning on and off. Restarting the car several times cleared the warning, but information display no longer turns on properly. The most recent failure mileage was 75,500 miles.

- Shelton, CT, USA

problem #438

Aug 012011


  • miles
I received a recall on the power steering. I called them and told them that my power steering had gone out twice on the car while I was driving it. They told me to bring it in immediately since I was experiencing problems. I brought it in and they fixed it promptly but ever since I have been having other electrical problems with the blinkers not clicking off, the dashboard lights coming on and off. I also had a problem with my gas tank leaking. I had someone to fix it because it was pouring gas out and I didn't have the money to pay what a dealer would charge. Several months after I had it fixed I got recall in the mail for the faulty gas tank. I also had a wheel bearing that went out but the car was still under warranty and the dealer fixed it free of charge.

- Horn Lake, MS, USA

problem #437

Dec 212012

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • miles
Edited partial news entry from the deadly accident: South Idaho crash kills two, including nampa woman; ipt (Idaho press-tribune) newsroom; gooding county--a nampa woman died after a car accident in gooding county Friday (12-21-12), according to Idaho state police. A burley man also died in the two-vehicle crash, which took place around 6:45 P.M. on interstate 84 about 35 miles outside mountain home. Three others from burley were injured. Young woman, 22, of nampa, was driving West on the interstate in a Chevrolet Cobalt. Authorities aren't sure why she lost control of the vehicle. She drove into the median and overturned. Her vehicle continued into the eastbound lanes of travel, colliding with a Nissan maxima driven by 23- year-old young man of burley. Young man died at the scene of the crash. Young woman was transported by air ambulance to a boise hospital, where she later died. Three passengers related to young man, all of burley...were taken by air ambulance to a boise hospital. All drivers and passengers were wearing seatbelts. [source: - icle_7E5ce650-4C9A-11E2-8D7F-001A4bcf887A.html] because the roads were clear and dry, the Idaho state police speculated that the young woman was perhaps somehow "inattentive" in her driving. But the fact she was not on her cell phone or otherwise engaged with any other known distraction and the fact that her wrist was snapped back resulting in a serious compound fracture suggests that the vehicle violently and suddenly jerked out of her control. We know the Chevy Cobalt vehicles were under investigation for "steering problems" by the NHTSA and the investigation was closed in July 2010. With these fatalities perhaps it is time to review your previous findings. Updated 09-18-13 updated 9/24/13 updated 09/25/2013

- Eagle, ID, USA

problem #436

Aug 112013


  • 142,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was stated that the steering column needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 142,000.

- Port Charlotte, FL, USA

problem #435

Sep 062010

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Power steering, all electrical, gauges, and lights would flash, steering covered under recall, but have now had a few electrical problems since.

- Jenkinsburg, GA, USA

problem #434

Dec 122008

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Couldn't turn key to start the car. The car was in park. To get the car to start I must giggle the steering wheel, while trying to turn the key. This is not right.

- Hillsville, VA, USA

problem #433

Jul 132013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 89,888 miles
Recently my 2007 Cobalt that I have only had for about a year started twitching out on the dashboard. I started the car to find the gauges fluttering, the security system light came on, it flashed power steering and low fuel ( car has full tank) as well as check engine. I pulled it into to drive where it clunked hard and there was a clicking sound coming from the shifter as well as the power steering was out. I disconnected the battery cables and it reset the computer with no problems thus far. The car has been ok for the last day and a half until today when very quickly the power steering light flashed and went off.the driver side speaker stopped working but flashes on randomly as well as the radio buttons don't work from time to time. I noticed a lot of recalls and similar problems with other peoples vehicles. I would like to know what is causing this electrical issues and have them fixed, I feel my safety is at risk, especially if the power steering shuts off again, this time while I am driving.

- Harrison Twp, MI, USA

problem #432

Jul 022013

Cobalt 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph and making a turn, it became difficult to steer the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the steering shaft would have to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000.

- Berea, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?