Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,497 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #66

Jan 062015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 66,725 miles


Within the first 10 to 15 minutes of driving the vehicle, the engine will shut off causing extremely hard steering and braking. There does not seem to be a pattern as to if I use the remote start or just the key. It does seem to happen more in cold weather than when the weather is warmer. This happens on the average of 3 to 5 times a week. After the engine cuts off and then re-started, there are no other cut offs until the vehicle sits for some period of time and started up again. This is so serious that my wife and daughter cannot drive the vehicle. I know that a recall has been issued but it has been several months and there is nothing (according to the dealer) that can be done so the vehicle can be driven safely! help please!!

- Gastonia, NC, USA

problem #65

Jan 072013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Numerous times the car engine/ignition has shut off while driving. All power assist are then disabled. We have been lucky that so far each event has not been on freeway driving and we were able to sluggishly steer the car to the side of the road. We have filed this complaint with our dealer and with Chrysler but are still waiting for recall action. We have been told by our dealership (larry moore Chrysler-peoria, AZ. That the parts for our model year are not even available yet"? what happens if we are in an accident due to this defect?" seems unconscionable that Chrysler admits the problem (finally), puts out recalls, knows it is a huge safety issue and then is not prompt in settling the matter?

- Sun City West, AZ, USA

problem #64

Mar 252015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 88,100 miles
I was driving down the road going between 35-40 mph and my car shut off. The radio and headlights were working but the engine was off, the power steering stopped working and the brakes were not working correctly. I tried to steer on the road but was approaching a stop sign where cross traffic did not stop. So I ended up pulling into the front yard of someone's house to slow and finally stop the car. The front yard was large so luckily I did not hit any mailboxes or houses. My car had shut off in 3 other incidences but I wasn't going as fast and I was in a residential neighborhood so I was able to let the car roll to a stop and no one was hurt. We use this car as a family car and I am worried that someone is going to get hurt if this happens again. I have called the closest dealership several times and Chrysler and no one seems to be able to help me. They all of told me that nothing can be done without a certain part that is not available. When I call the dealership they forward me to Chrysler and when I spoke to the person at Chrysler they forward me to the dealership.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #63

Jan 022015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles


L25 recall. Ignition failed three times no parts to fix yet. No other keys on fob last time it turned off. Key is loose in the ignition (per the local Chrysler service mgr). Engine turned off three times while drive without touching the key. Happened three time at different speeds first time at 45 miles per hour car just stopped in the middle of the road.. once faster, once slower. My 22 year old daughter was driving the car all three times. All the lights on the dash come on and she said the steering would not work and the brakes did not work. She called crying the first time from the middle of the road did not know what to do. Engine had stopped. (no codes showed on diagnostic computer when dealer charged for the diagnostic) she ended up in the middle of the road stopped. Engine did restart all three times. Local Chrysler dealer could not get to duplicate even though the said they drove car 4 or 5 times. (even though they said they drove it 4 or 5 times, no miles were put one the van while in the dealership. Even the $115 diagnostic charge from the dealership showed no miles were put on the van). They charged because they said they could not confirm it was the L25 recall which they have no parts to fix yet. The local Chrysler dealer said they ran a diagnostic for $115 that showed no computer codes which the service manager said sounds like the ignition recall symptoms, but still charged me because they could not get it to duplicate at the dealership.(I did not know a safety recall had to be duplicated to get work done without charging) the local chyrsler dealership said that it should be safe to keep driving, they could not find anything wrong with it. My 22 daughter is scared to death of the van but is having to keep driving it.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #62

Feb 092015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 86,868 miles
Incident with Chrysler Town & Country 2008 2/9/15 between 4:26-4:29 P.M. driving slow after just having gotten a green light (25mph or less) hit a big bump in the road. Every light on the dashboard lit up and I felt the engine lose power. The van coasted for a couple seconds then seemed to gain power back. Went around a bend in the road slowly and the engine lost all power. It did not come back at all this time. I tried to use the turn signal to get turn into a parking lot. Signal did not work. Neither did power steering. I could not get van to turn into parking lot. There was a moving vehicle behind me and a parking lot full of cars to my left. I found the automatic brakes were not working. I turned the steering wheel hard to the right to avoid hitting an oncoming vehicle and thankfully the van coasted into a snow bank which stopped it from moving any farther. Turned on the hazard lights. I was able to get the van into park and make sure it really was not going anywhere. I took the keys out of the ignition and waited just under a minute. I decided to put the key back in the ignition and see if I could get the van to start. It started without any noticeable problems?! car keyŁ attached to key ring with other keys. Did not receive a notice in the mail about recall. Looked up possible recalls after the fact and yes, there is one. And it is much more serious than Chrysler lets on. Tried to contact Chrysler by phone several times and can't get through. If this had happened in one of many other places I had been driving that day the accident could've been fatal.

- Grove City, PA, USA

problem #61

Jan 242015

Town & Country

  • 100,000 miles
I have been waiting to be notified that the frequency operated button ignition key has come in. Today when I went to start the van it seems that it wants to start but hesitates I tried several times but it kept doing the same thing. I cleaned the air filter, checked the hoses and battery but found nothing wrong. When I called the dealer they said they would call me back. I then called the Chrysler recall 800 number and was informed that the part was still not available. I asked if there was a solution and the gentleman said it could be from 1-3 months before the part was available. This is my only means of transportation and he stated if I changed the ignition module I would not be reimbursed, I have already replaced the fuel pump in the tank at 50,000 miles the sway bar on the right was replaced and I still need to replace the left one. I usually travel with my grandchildren and it has been one issue or another since I bought it. The brakes and rotors have also been replaced because it would be slow in braking causing a dangerous situation.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #60

Dec 172014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 30 mph, the engine shut off and caused the power steering and brakes to fail. The failure recurred. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system); however, the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 78,000. Updated 02/24/15 updated06/10/2015

- Ashville , NC, USA

problem #59

Aug 012014

Town & Country

  • 120,000 miles
My Town and country is involved in the L25 recall. There have been several occasions where during operation, the key moves from the "on" position. This causes the vehicle to shut off and I am unable to steer or engage the brakes. I have contacted Chrysler several times about this and to receive an estimated time of when the parts will be available for repair. I contacted them today, 1/6/2015 to let them know that it happened again and I almost caused an accident on a major highway. I also requested for them to provide me with a safe vehicle to drive while waiting on the parts for repair due to the concern I had for the safety of my children and other drivers. They said that it was not possible because they did not know when the parts would be available. This disregard for the safety of my family and the public is unacceptable. I would like to be contacted and informed of other actions I can take so that injuries and/or deaths do not occur due to their failure to remedy this defect and refusal to provide me with temporary safe transportation.

- Clemmons, NC, USA

problem #58

Oct 292014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
Incident 1: 10/29/14 while driving with my child, the vehicle's engine shut off causing the vehicle to loose power brakes & steering function. Engine would not turn over. Vehicle towed for repair. Starter relay replaced. Incident 2: 11/28/14 while driving my two children, at a high rate of speed, on I-75, the vehicle's engine shut off causing the vehicle to loose power brakes & steering function. Engine would not turn over. Engine then turned over. Vehicle driven to owner's residence. 11/29/14 engine would not turn over. Vehicle towed to Chrysler dealership for inspection.

- Southfield, MI, USA

problem #57

Nov 202014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
This is in ref to recall car over the past 3 weeks is consistently shutting off while driving at least 1X per day.I have almost been in 4 accidents as a time it happened as I was entering a busy interstate.Chrysler has not eta on the piece to fix the car.I called and they said to call you.I Transport a special needs child daily and this is getting ridiculous.I have been on busy main roads, on side roads and driving around a traffic circle and the ignition slips out of the on position, motor dies, I lose power steering and brakes and airbags.I have all keys removed from the key fob and it happens on a daily basis.I will leave the parking deck at my work today and it will shut off going down the ramp and I struggle to steer, stop, put car in park, restart and continue on...hoping I don't get hit or that I hit someone else.I need a temporary car until they can fix key fob sits in the key hole lose and the littlest of bumps throws turns off my car.I either need resolution asap or another car until fixed.if I have an accident then we will see what an attorney has to say.this recall occurred months ago and Chrysler is yet to fix it.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #56

Oct 192014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles


Car lost power steering and brakes, found out later there was a recall (L25). Brought to dealership in old saybrook, ct. Parts not available. Recall is for exactly the same symptoms we experienced. Called Chrysler for rental or other dealerships, told I was out of luck and out of warranty it is not a warranty issue it is a recall issue. They said park it or drive it. They say it is safe but it is not. If the engine turned off on the highway my kids would be dead. Its ridiculous that they have a safety recall and don't have the parts, they are open for huge liability there. Bottom line is I don't have a safe car due to their defect, and they wont do anything about it. Eta on repair part is not know by Chrysler.

- Westbrook, CT, USA

problem #55

Oct 212014

Town & Country

  • 106,450 miles
In December of 2013 my car ignition began shutting off while driving. First time I was going 45 mph. It happened 3 times last winter and stopped. Chrysler issued an L25 recall 2 mo ago but no eta on parts still as of today. Key fob slipped to the accessory position while driving on 10/16 and 10/21 just recently while leaving the parking garage at my office. Garage is a bit bumpy like all and I have removed all keys from the fob per Chrysler instructions. They claim this happens at low speeds but it has happened to me going 45-50 mph last winter. On 10/21 I was going down the parking deck on an incline and the engine shut off. Someone was changing a flat tire in a parking spot at the end the ramp I was on and a car was behind me.I didn't know the engine has shut off until I go to brake and turn. I barely stopped in time so as not to hit the guy changing his tire and the person behind me almost slammed into me. Add to this the airbags become ineffective due to the power loss and I have no power steering or power brakes. I was about to turn at the bottom of the ramp when I realized I had no power. I could have killed the person in front and the person behind almost took me out. The frequency of this happening is increasing and Chrysler refuses to do anything. They told me today the recall is too big and they don't have the loaner cars to accommodate and Chrysler claims this only happens at low speeds on bumpy roads and the car is safe to drive. I have a special needs child who is always in the car with me and I'm always carpooling with my daughter's gymnastics team so I always have kids in my car going to performances. This is putting me and my family and other kids at risk. My car is not safe and Chrysler refuses to do anything about this. I need a loaner car and quick. I drive to work 5 days a week for an hour each way plus all the other things I have to do to Transport my kids.

- Mooresville, NC, USA

problem #54

Aug 022014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The problems I experienced included: 1. car stopping while driving 2. ignition sticks and turns for extended period, then starts 3. ignition does not start, just clicks, the starts after several tries. I put in new starter for $400 that did not fix it. Chrysler recommended replacement of the win module at my cost of $800 to fix this problem. Said repair should fix all of this issues. They said it was warranty repair and to send in payment receipts for reimbursement. It appears that this was a recall from 2011 under the same L25. This repair was done on 8/22/2014 and did not fix the problem. Have not been reimbursed. Chrysler then acknowledged another updated L25 recall and that the fix will permanently repair van and fix all issues. They sent official recall notice undated but received by me on 9/15/2014. Parts to permanently fix this defect are unavailable currently. I have not driven the vehicle since 9/5/2014 because I do not feel safe in it, as it has stopped on the road previously. The letter states that vehicle may stop, increasing the risk of crash and injury, but that I should go ahead and drive it anyways. What!! as a responsible and safe person, I choose not to drive this rather than take the risk. How can you issue recall but not have the parts to fix it" they do not even have a time frame. How can I expedite recall repairs? what legal recourse do I have? I don't want this car anymore. Will it be safe even when they finally get the proper parts and repair it? I am very upset with this issue, as well as the loss of use of my vehicle for an extended time, inconvenience, mental distress, and additional costs. This is totally irresponsible and lacking in care by Chrysler. This is the same problem GM had with many injuries and deaths. How many people must get hurt or die" I will not buy another product from them.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #53

Nov 072012

Town & Country

  • 50,000 miles
Since purchasing the used 2008 Chrysler T&C we noticed the brakes were squeaky, caused vibration, or made a strange noise when turning. We have had to replace brakes and rotors multiple times and on our way back to the garage to find out why there's a new noise when we turn a corner. Overall very disappointing for Chrysler to create such a sub-par product for a family vehicle.

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #52

Sep 012010

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system). While driving 2 mph, the engine stalled, the steering seized, and the brakes locked. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after several attempts. The failure has occurred for the past four years. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Pinckney, MI, USA

problem #51

Sep 172014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
Brakes have been a problem sense purchased new. They sometimes get hot enough to catch fire. We took the car to the dealer and we were told this normal. The service manager said it was the way it was being driven. After several attempts to get the dealership to replace the brakes we took the car to independent shop. The pads, rotors, calipers and brake lines were replaced with after market parts. These also got hot caught fire. We then took the car to a different Chrysler dealership and was told we should have used oem parts. We then had this dealership replace the aftermarket parts with oem parts. The brakes again continued to run hot. 3,000 miles later the steering wheel began to vibrate and smoke came into the vehicle. During the 99,000 miles we have used this minivan the brakes always ran hot and have caught fire three times. Looking on the internet I see thousands have similar problems. The average brake life on this van is about 20,000 miles. Our previous Dodge van ran 120,000 miles before any brake work. The Chrysler minivan has a problem with hydraulic pressure not being completely released when the brakes are released. This creates excessive overheating and sometimes fire.

- Bolton, NC, USA

problem #50

Sep 142014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
A accident has not been caused as of yet. We had the back brakes completely overhauled last year because they were ceased causing loss of pressure in the brake system. Brakes had to be pumped before you could come to a complete stop. Caliper, pads, rotors and brake adapter were all replace. We picked up the van 10/1/14 after having this done. Here it is 9/15 and the back calipers have already ceased, causing the rotors to warp again. The whole system will have to be replaced again. This is obviously caused by a design flaw in the braking system!

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #49

May 102012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
I purchased a used 2008 Chrysler Town and country touring edition with appx. 30,000 miles on it in late 2011. In may of 2012, I had an accident which only affected myself and the vehicle. While traveling approximately 45 mph the passenger rear wheel came off of the vehicle, causing the van to slam to the ground and me to perform emergency maneuvers to stop. The wheel, having had all five lug bolts sheared off, had bounced off of the vehicle doing considerable body damage. The brakes, axle, tire, et al had to be replaced. I chalked this up to coincidence, paid my deductible, and had over $3,000 worth of work done to repair the damage from the accident. This past Sunday, August 24th, 2014, the exact same thing happened. I was traveling slower this time, about 25 mph, and when I heard the same wheel making noise I pulled off the road into a strip mall parking lot just in time to have the wheel come off again, this time doing damage to the rear quarter panel, the bumper, the axle, brakes, tire, et cetera. It also forced me to make another emergency stop, this time in the lot, where the right side of my vehicle was damaged by the handle of a commercial dumpster that stopped my skid. I reached out to Chrysler because I cannot believe that the exact same thing to the exact same wheel would happen twice, and I now chalk it up to a parts failure on Chrysler's end. I was at first told that they were not responsible and that nothing would be done on their end. The following day, I spoke with the Chrysler dealership where the van was towed and was told by their head mechanic that the failure was due to the (factory) alloy rim. I again contacted Chrysler with this new information and was told that my case was being moved up to a "specialist" and that I would have to wait 3-5 days before I heard from them. I no longer feel safe transporting my family in this vehicle.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #48

Aug 112014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
Car stalls for no apparent reason causing me to lose driving functions like brakes and steering. Radio stays on. This happens about every two weeks.

- State College, PA, USA

problem #47

Feb 192014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 99,546 miles
I was driving on a NY highway at 60 mph when my car suddenly shut off and the ignition turned to the acc position. I had my child in the back seat and we narrowly escaped an accident. I brought the car to my Chrysler dealership and paid $800 for a clockspring which I was told would prevent this from happening again. It just happened again 3 weeks ago. This time I was in rush hour traffic and almost caused a multiple car collision. I had no control over steering wheel or brakes. The car completely shuts off. I called Chrysler and they said "wow, I never heard that before". really?? because models 2009-present have been recalled for this exact issue yet you have no idea what I'm talking about. My car was at the dealership again for 11 days and I was told they don't know what the problem is either. I spent $900 on a rental for that waste of time. These 2008 cars need to be recalled before someone gets killed. I do believe it will happen soon because this is a scary situation to be in.

- Holbrook, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?