Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,497 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #26

May 152013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2008 minivan started going electrically haywire while driving and I immediately drove to a nearby dealer. I pulled into service area with horns blowing, windshield wipers and fluid going full tilt constantly, with all switches in the off position. I had to keep my foot on the brake so the car wouldn't get away from me and plow into some one or thing! after I got into the service area everything stopped. On line and found hundreds of similar incidents from other owners.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #25

Sep 162013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 85,928 miles
I just had my front brake pads and rotors replaced. I had them replaced on 2/14/2012. My rear rotors and pads are ok, but need to be replaced soon. I had them replaced less than a year ago. I have searched on the internet this same issue for my year, make and model, and I found hundreds upon hundreds of complaints. Chrysler needs to recall the brake system...one should not have to replace the brakes and rotors every year.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #24

Sep 052013

Town & Country

  • 44,000 miles
I was driving down my residential street traveling < 25mph taking my 3 young children to school when I veered to the right around our curved street and the traction control and ABS brakes begin to kick in causing the car to slow to almost a stop without touch the brakes and creating a loud rubbing noice. I proceeded down the street and the same problem kept happening everytime. I tried to turn left or right. This was a huge saftey concern for me and my family as this could have happened while we were driving on the freeway or in front of the children's school. I brought it to a local certified mechanic and they diagnossed the provlem as a clock spring issue. While research clock springs, I found information that stated that a clock spring should not have any funtioning problems in vehicles with less than 70,000 miles.

- Grosse Pointe Shores, MI, USA

problem #23

Aug 202013

Town & Country

  • 97,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2008 minivan started going electrically haywire while driving and I immediately drove to a nearby dealer. I pulled into service area with horns blowing, windshield wipers and fluid going full tilt constantly, with all switches in the off position. I had to keep my foot on the brake so the car wouldn't get away from me and plow into some one or thing! after I got into the service area everything stopped. In a few minutes one of the managers cranked the car a couple of times and told me that it would be better to have the car brought back when it had the same symptoms again. They said it is easier to find the problem. So I left and went on line and found hundreds of similar incidents from other owners.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #22

Jun 012011

Town & Country

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving approximately 55 mph, a loud screeching noise emitted from the rear driver's side wheel with an extremely strong burning odor. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, who informed the contact that the caliper was defective. The vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred two years later and the caliper slide was again cleaned by the dealer. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 16,000.

- Williamsville, NY, USA

problem #21

Feb 142012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle emitted a grinding noise and began vibrating. The vehicle did not come to an immediate stop. The vehicle was not repaired or diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 26,000...updated 09-18-13 the consumer stated the front rotors and pads were replaced.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #20

Nov 012011

Town & Country

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1.there are times when right after shutting the vehicle off and coming back to the car several minutes later, it will not start. The key turns but there is no power. I have replaced altenator, and battery and starter. The problem appears to be in the ignition. 2. I have replaced the front wheel bearings at 80,000miles, also in the 3 years of owning this vehicle I have had to replace front brakesand rotors 2 times and rear brakes once. 3. oil seems to "disappear" usually 2 quarts in a matter of 1000 or less miles. This vehicle is the most unsafe vehicle I have ever bought. I bought this vehicle on the word of Chrysler that it is a safe and trustworthy van. I have been stranded more times than I choose to count, in parking lots and what not miles away from home, with my 3 small children. It is absolutely [xxx] that I have to have a "survival pack" food and water and strollers and things of that nature in my vehicle at all times in case we get stranded somewhere. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hastings, MN, USA

problem #19

May 152013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
3 occasions driving my 3 children to school my Town and country became unresponsive. The steering failed, brakes and the car went unresponsive. The electric stability control warning light came on. To remedy, I had to put car in park, and restart vehicle. The last instance when this occurred I rolled into a four way stop as my breaks did not work. An online search has shown many other have experienced this issue with the Dodge Caravan and Town & Country both made by Chrysler. Took van to dealer who said diagnostic test showed nothing (other people report this same experience). They updated the PCM software. I find it hard to believe a software update would render my car safe to drive and be the factor that caused it's whole system, brakes included to shut down. This issue needs to be looked at. Mini van drivers carry children!

- Grove City, OH, USA

problem #18

May 222012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
Brakes wear out and stop working every 10K miles. Engine consumes 1 quart of oil every 800 miles with no visible leaking or dripping.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #17

Feb 112009

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact stated that the brake pads and rotors were wearing prematurely. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred four times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the brake pads and rotors needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 2,500 and the current mileage was 48,600.

- Avon Park , FL, USA

problem #16

Oct 192012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 58,262 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Chrysler dealership said rear brakes were at 3 mils after only 10000 miles of wear now on 4/17/13 I again was told the rear brakes were at 3 mils after only 12000 miles of wear that to me and many brake repair shops is very odd and ridiculous.

- Chelsea, MI, USA

problem #15

Jan 082013

Town & Country

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle emitted a strong burning rubber odor while at a local mechanic for a routine oil change. The mechanic inspected vehicle and located the failure at the front calipers, which were stuck to the rotors. The calipers, rotors and the brake shoe were replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 70,000.

- Way Cross, GA, USA

problem #14

Sep 082009

Town & Country

  • 21,381 miles
We own a 2008 Town and country. In Sep of 09 the front brakes had to be replaced (21381 miles). Then in July 2010 the front and back brakes had to be replaced (31088 miles) now Nov 2012 they say they need replaced again!! (65409 miles) this is completely unacceptable. The car is 4 years old and already we have had the brakes 3 times on the front and two on the back. Talk about a safety issue. Chrysler is aware of it too...they extended the warranty to 36000 miles. Although that does no good considering the problem is just going to keep happening. The cars need retrofitted with a new braking system not just replaced with the same thing. I have contacted the dealer and gotten nowhere with getting help, the same when contacting Chrysler. For the family vehicle they promoted this car as.....they totally failed. I am afraid to put my family in it. This car has had more recalls, tsb and extended warranties....when is it going to stop.

- Perrysburg, OH, USA

problem #13

Nov 292010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Vehicle has repeatedly needed to have brake rotors replaced due to severe vehicle shuddering when applying the brakes which is worst at highway speeds causing the steering wheel to oscillate. This also negatively impacts vehicle stopping power. This is most likely due to improperly sized or designed brakes for the weight of this vehicle causing the rotors to overheat and warp. There is no way these parts last through typical driving behavior. There are multiple complaints of similar nature that can be located at www.lemonlaw.com/wordpress/Dodge-Chrysler-brake-problems/.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #12

Oct 172012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
We have had to replace all 4 brake pads and rotors at 20,000 miles. Now, at 33,000 miles the rear pads and rotors have to be replaced again! yet all I've read is that Chrysler is only paying $100 of the cost and only on the front brakes. There are a myriad of complaints of this very problem all over the internet. Isn't there something NHTSA can do to force Chrysler to back their defective product?

- Homewood, IL, USA

problem #11

May 052012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 27,816 miles
* in may at 70mph on I-90, we began to hear a whining, grinding, vibrating noise coming from the left rear of our van. We pulled over to the shoulder asap when we determined something was wrong, and then smelled and saw acrid blue smoke pouring out from the left wheel. I thought it was a wheel bearing, and called for a tow. The dealer said it was just some rust in the brakes, and they cleaned it up. In August, the exact same thing happened at 70mph on I-35. We pulled over to the shoulder and smoke poured out again. We let it cool, activated & deactivated the parking brake and drove in reverse and hit the brakes several times until they freed up. Probably not the safest thing to do, but not much choice knowing the brakes stick at freeway speeds. * recently searched the internet & found that the 2008 T&C has a very bad history with brake issues. People are irate and demanding a recall on them. Just go out and read all of the complaints concerning this particular van - www.aboutautomobile.com/complaint/2008/Chrysler/town+and+country/hydraulic+brake * after you read through a few dozen complaints, my question to you is: Why haven't you forced a recall from Chrysler on these dangerous brakes? there's obviously a design flaw if so many people are having problems with very premature wearout, and worse yet, brake binding and lockup, especially on the left rear wheel. *** please *** - force a recall on these brakes asap before someone is killed sitting on the shoulder of an interstate with smoking brakes, if they are not killed first by the panic to get off the road when smoke starts pouring into their vehicle. This is utterly ridiculous to let this keep going on.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #10

Sep 192012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
We have two issues. First: During an abrupt stop recently, the brake pedal mashed to the floor. The vehicle didn't want to stop. I thought it was the ABS kicking in, but they are designed to stop the vehicle and keep you from sliding the wheels. This just doesn't seem right and its not the first time we noticed something out of the ordinary. Our van was made for traveling, but when loaded down (not overloaded either) the brakes start to act up. For instance when you start to slow down the vehicle front end will start to shake. I have newer brakes on the front, new tires (2-weeks old) and brand new rotors (less than 2 months old) on the vehicle so I know nothing is out of balance. I simply don't trust my van and am seriously worried that there is a defect. I have a tow hitch on my vehicle, but am afraid to pull my motorcycle on it because of the brakes acting up. I can only imagine what would happen if I had my trailer hitched. No warning lights are on, but we've noticed that during a quick turn the warning bell dings and a light comes on then goes off immediately. Second: The powertrain doesn't' shift smoothly. I mentioned this to the dealer's maintenance shop, but the guy told me they wouldn't do anything (warranty wise) unless there was catastrophic failure with the powertrain system. I have a 100K mile powertrain warranty, and feel the dealer is skirting the issue to keep from paying for covered problems.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #9

Aug 012011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 42,800 miles
In July 2011, I brought my vehicle to Chrysler to report a bad pulsation feeling when the brakes were applied. We had 41,761 miles on vehicle and on a trip from New Jersey to Pennsylvania, we felt that the vehicle was struggling to brake fast enough. Chrysler stated that I needed new front rotors. They replaced them and my cost was close to $400. Several weeks later, on 8/16/11, I brought my vehicle to Chrysler again to report the same bad pulsation feeling when the brakes were applied and felt that the vehicle was struggling to brake fast enough. I was informed by Chrysler that the left front rotor was scored and pitted and the coating failed for mopar ro 180802. On 8/16/11, they replaced the left front rotor. One year later my vehicle has 53,754 miles on it. On 8/30/12, I bring my vehicle to Chrysler due to a very high pitched brake squeal. Chrysler completes a full brake inspection and informs me that the brake pads and rotors are fine and do not need to be replaced. About 4 days later, the high pitched squeal from my brakes is louder and occurring more. I am feeling a bad pulsation feeling when the brakes are applied. I am told I need new front rotors. I should not have to replace rotors after 12,000 miles. Chrysler should recall the brakes in the 2008 Town and country model. Brakes are one of, if not the most important part of a vehicle that should be functioning properly and should not need to be replaced 1-2 times per year. I drive under normal weather conditions on a mix of highway and some city roads.

- Ephrata, PA, USA

problem #8

Aug 272012

Town & Country

  • 40,000 miles
We have been having problems from day one with our Chrysler Town and country. We purchased it with 12,000 miles on it, and have had to had the brake pads and rotors changed out twice. We have been told the vehicle will never stop squeaking. We have taken it in for pads to be replaced, and yet it still continues to squeak. At the beginning of summer, my husband had the oil changed, and asked for the guy to look at the brakes, he said we had plenty of 'thickness' on them. I was out with my children just a few months later, and very few miles later, to find my brakes had difficulty stopping the vehicle. I wasn't able to fully stop at a street light and ended up running the red with my car hanging completely over the line. I had 3 children in the vehicle and was lucky that no one was hurt. On a separate occasion months prior, I was again with my children in the vehicle, and found the vehicle completely stopped running while I was driving 65 miles per hour on a busy street in mid commuter traffic. The car completely just shut off. I was thankfully in the right hand lane and able to pull to the side with the aid of the brakes. After pulling out the key and putting it back in, I was able to restart the vehicle. I took it in and the mechanic said they were unable to replicate the problem. Looking on blogs, it appears this has happened on numerous other occasions for other people. This car has proven on two occasions that it can have fatal consequences if left untreated. Fixing the brakes and stalling issues isn't going to help, because the problems come with no warning. I had no idea that my brakes even needed to be replaced because we were told they were okay only soon to find out they weren't. this all happened because of the permanent squeak. I am terribly concerned for the safety of my family.

- Nicholasville, KY, USA

problem #7

May 012009

Town & Country

  • 15,000 miles
In my 2008 Chrysler Town and country which now has about 70,000 miles on it I have changed the front brakes and rotors 6 diffrent times. When going down a hill and braking the steering wheel shakes so bad and I dont feel like I have a full pedal. Have taken back several times to ask about the problem and all I get is a run around from a chrsler garage.

- Apollo, PA, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?