Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
70,183 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #11

Oct 242011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 56,601 miles


We are having issues with mopar products. We replaced brakes at 31,843 miles at Chrysler world in abrahms, wi. Chrysler helped out with that they saw a defect in their van products and paid part of the cost. At 53,861 miles Chrysler world told us we are due for new brakes in the front and need rear brakes also! they said it was ok to drive to AZ but that the brakes needed attention by spring. That's 22,018 miles after the replacement! something is wrong and it is not our driving! in the summer we live in rural wi and we travel to surprise, AZ in the winter. The wi to AZ trip is 2,100 miles, mostly interstate. Since our purchase more than 20,000 of our miles have been on interstate highways. About 95% of our miles are rural and interstate miles! the next problem occurred on our way to AZ in October. Some type of spring broke in the steering column. This was repaired at tom obrien Chrysler Jeep in greenwood, in. This was replaced by another mopar product. How long will that last? they said I needed new brakes also but it would be ok to continue to AZ! I filed a complaint with Chrysler Corp. On 11-16-2011 a Chrysler representative phoned and stated they will do nothing as the car is out of warranty. He gave me this case# [xxx] for reference to his phone call and their decision. My brakes are grinding at times when I stop and I feel Chrysler must have a bigger problem with this van than they are telling or willing to make right. I am afraid to take it in to a Chrysler dealer because of the faulty brake linings they installed at 31,843 miles. We are in surprise, AZ now and have in the past used moore Chrysler Jeep in peoria for servicing. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pound, WI, USA

problem #10

Apr 302008

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
4/30/2008- spark plugs replaced 3/6/2009- recall power steering hose- brakes replaced- 8,000 miles 6/24-2009 air conditioner fixed blowing hot air- 11,200 miles 12/4/2009- steering checked for noise; bleed air from system 16,650 miles 12/26/2009-got car back 12/30/09 towed in - doors opening by themselves while driving, windshield wiper go on by self, trunk opening while driving, alarm going off car running without key in ignition- computer reprogrammed, sop parts, reprogram mtc, reprogram tipm module- mileage 17,200 2/9/2010 - same issue car towed in to shop- 17,800 rent a car from 3/17/10 to 3/26/103/12/2010 same issue car died in the road- towed in- internal fault with intergrated power module- replaced and tipm reconfigured in module- 18,450 3/15/2010 go to pick up car and the engine light is back on- they had to hook up the computer to turn it off 3/17/2010 engine light comes back on have to drive it back to dealer and they can not figure out the problem 3/19/2010 same issue car revving high pdc/ tipm power module replaced 3/25/2010 tech brings car home and he was having problems engine light on 9/10/10- recall radiator cap & air conditioner blowing warm air " hose replaced & recharged miles=25,200 11//20/10 got car back 12/3/2010 towed in engine light stopped on the expressway, revving over 7,000 towed in PCM replaced tipm shortened internally. Doors opening while driving needed new software = mileage 26,000- had to fight with Chrysler to get a rental after 4 days of them having car*** I was driving on the expressway with my children and the boy scouts to a camping trip when the vehicle stops on the expressway a car could have hit us from behind! -/4/2011 "recall- front wheel bearings/recall HVAC drain and tube..oil leaking needs a PCV valve which I refuse to pay for 4/28/2011- car back 4/29/11 engine light on egr fail- 8/1/11 tipm a the consumer also stated the vehicle was in the repair shop for a week, due transmission problems. Updated 09/15/11

- Levittown, NY, USA

problem #9

Feb 012011

Town & Country

  • 37,381 miles
Dashboard warning light esp/bas illuminated. I brought the vehicle to the dealer to see what was wrong. The dealer diagnosed the problem and found that the "steering angle sensor" was bad. The steering "clock spring" was suggested to be replaced due to the fact that the "steering angle sensor" was part of a whole unit (the clock spring) and cannot be changed separately. My vehicle was just out of warranty at 36,000 miles and was no longer covered. I am concerned that the bad part is connected to the vehicle stability system and why it has failed so early in the life of the vehicle.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #8

Jul 062010

Town & Country

  • 29,500 miles


We bought this van used in March 2010. It has been the worst vehicle we have ever purchased. Prior to this 2008 model, we had a 2005. We really liked it so we figured we'd upgrade so to speak. That was the most expensive mistake ever. Since then we have replaced the brakes and rotors twice and now it needs rear brake rotors. When I am braking at any speed the van shakes. The van feels completely unbalanced for some reason. We had an alignment done on it, new tires, A/C line broke, radio would stop working, and once while I was driving the van had this weird white smoke coming out of the vents. The steering is absolutely horrible and it either pulls to the left or right. When I brake, I have to push the brake all the way down before it finally starts to slow. I have 5 young children and I feel extremely unsafe in this van. Unfortunately not only are we wasting money on repairs, but we're wasting precious time in dealerships/mechanics that could be spent together as a family. I refuse to drive higher speeds in fear that the brakes will fail. In no way do I handle this vehicle in an aggressive manner. I follow all speed limits and do not ride the brakes. This is not I repeat not normal wear on tear for any kind of vehicle! the dealership has been no help to us. We have a bumper to bumper extended warranty and it's doing no good since it's not even covered. We will never ever purchase a Chrysler vehicle again and go out of our way to discourage others from buying them as well. I find it very disgusting that Chrysler is not doing anything to rectify this problem. I have very precious cargo as I'm sure many others do as well. How many people have to be injured or perish before they take action"??" absolutely ridiculous!

- Williamston, MI, USA

problem #7

Jun 232010

Town & Country

  • 38,500 miles
1998 Town & Country brake less than 12,000 noticeable squeaking of brakes and vibration of steering column when brakes applied...never had this happen so early in a car before...kept complaining...front pads and rotors replaced at approx 22,000 at my 30,000 squeaking and vibrations started 38,500 rear brakes have seemed to literally "burn out" terrible metallic burning smell from rear driver tire area...tire is fine...rim extremely hot and terrible smell...speeds of approximately 35-55 mph and steering column vibrations are is clear Chrysler has a major problem...will the NHTSA wait until a crash, fire and/or death occurs before taking this seriously...every Chrysler dealership service department knows there is an issue (almost seems like an inside joke), but hide behind Chrysler corporate...please make Chrysler fix this issue...most minivans on the road carry families and/or children...including mine!

- Highland, MI, USA

problem #6

Apr 212010

Town & Country

  • 40,000 miles
Two problems: 1. while driving very slowly around a curvy road, the engine just stopped ( 2 times) making me hit the curb. The dealership re flashed the computer software and the problem went away. 2. while going up on a small hill, the steering wheel just locked and I could not steer it at all. I turned the engine off and the problem went away. The dealer states that nothing can be done. It is a safety concern especially if it happens on busy highway.

- Vestal, NY, USA

problem #5

Mar 242010

Town & Country

  • 40,000 miles


I have already filed a complaint with reference to the recurring brake problem on this vehicle (complaint #10300223). This week the brakes are again making noises and vibrating specially in the highway. This will be the third time we experience it, they already repaired, replaced and rebuilt the front and rear brakes twice. I am concern about the safety of my family. At this point, I want to recur to the California lemon law but Chrysler is not helping me. I beg you help me with this issue please. I do all the required maintenance at the Chrysler dealership. We also experience a steering fluid hose failure, "not under warranty" at the same time, cost $250. Also we needed to replace the rubber cover for the parking brake so your foot don't slip, they said they don't sale that part, we had to buy the whole parking brake lever, another $200. This is an abuse to the consumer. [xxx]

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #4

May 212009

Town & Country

  • 22,033 miles
We lease a 2008 Chrysler Town and country. At around 15,000 miles the front brake pads needed replaced and I was told that "I must be a heavy braker." At 22,000 miles we had our brake pads replaced and rotors resurfaced to the tune of $334.63. Less than one month later, we were getting the now familiar grinding sound upon braking so I took it back to our mechanic who said that he should have just replaced the rotors in the first place so he replaced the brake pads and rotors and only charged us for the rotors and ate the cost of the pads and labor. A week and a half later I had to return the car to the mechanic for a horrible squealing whenever I braked. He fixed it and charged me nothing. Now 4 months and 5,000 miles later, my brakes are again grinding horribly like they were in may (22,000 mi) and the brakes and possibly rotors need replaced again. I have owned Dodge Caravan, a 2005 Town and country and now this one and have never had brake problems like this so I don't think that my braking habits are to blame. Also, after one year, the ignition switch started to "stick" in the wrong position upon starting the car and would leave me with no electronic power in the car. No lights, radio, locks, dash display, etc. Which is very dangerous because if I try to correct it while driving and the car turns off, I am moving with no power steering or brakes.

- Shrewsbury, PA, USA

problem #3

Oct 152008

Town & Country

  • 49 miles
Vehicle brought in several times to dealer because the vehicle pulls away from the crest of the road, no matter how slight the angle. Alignment is reportedly ok, vehicle still pulls. Dangerous situation in a curve causing me to steer in the opposite direction of the turn. There have been multiple attempts to align the vehicle but no attempt to inspect the suspension or steering components.

- League City, TX, USA

problem #2

May 012008

Town & Country

  • 1,638 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. On May 1, 10, and 16, 2008, the vehicle stalled while driving between 20-50 mph. The vehicle lost power steering and all the components in the passenger compartment shut off. The contact pulled over to the shoulder and the vehicle restarted on its own. He was able to drive the vehicle as normal. On May 19, 2008, the vehicle was taken to the dealer, but they could not duplicate the failure. He was informed to drive the vehicle until the failure recurred. The vehicle loses power when driving around corners, but does not shut off completely. The vehicle fails to immediately accelerate for up to five seconds, and then operates normally. On occasion, the radio will not turn on for at least 45 minutes before operating normally again. In addition, the sliding driver's side door has a history of opening when the contact is away from the vehicle. The current mileage was 2,100 and failure mileage was 1,638.

- Wilmer, MN, USA

problem #1

Oct 092007

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler Town & Country. While driving at any speed, the vehicle tends to pull to the right. The vehicle has been diagnosed by the dealer, but the failure still occurs. Updated 06/17/08.

- Hamlin, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?