Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.8

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 9
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
32,689 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 17 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

Jan 202015

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, all the warning lights illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle could be restarted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Olney, MD, USA

problem #90

Mar 282014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the engine stalled. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #89

Sep 152014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #88

Jan 142015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the vehicle repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/15/15 updated 11/12/15

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #87

Jan 092015

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Carmichael , CA, USA

problem #86

Oct 012013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
To an ODI investigator: There is a clear and present danger present with this vehicle randomly shutting down while driving. I have experienced this shutting down on approximately 15+ occasions. When the vehicle shuts down, I lose power steering, braking and I'm sure airbags. In reviewing the first 30 complaints associated with this vehicle - I observed 6 out of 30 complaints related to the same problem, all described this event (I didn't want to weed through all 200+ complaints when the first 30 exhibited this serious issue) - the vehicle shutting down while driving. These are the numbers associated with this problem - I'm sure there are others: 10669606 / 10669083 / 10660772 / 10661814 / 10658525 / 10658922 all these state that the vehicle shuts down while driving randomly with no explanation - this is a serious issue and there seems to be a common defect somewhere - this needs to be addressed - find out what Chrysler knows about this issue because it is a safety issue for everyone on the road.

- Cortland, NY, USA

problem #85

Dec 242014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler town and county. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part needed for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 3/4/15 updated 03/26/15

- Cold Spring , MN, USA

problem #84

Dec 022013

Town & Country

  • 69,800 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the key was difficult to turn into the off position. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) however, the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 69,800.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #83

Aug 032009

Town & Country

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while attempting to start the vehicle, the engine failed to start. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the starter was replaced, but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact also received notice of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) in August of 2014, but the part needed to repair the vehicle was not available and no estimated time to receive the part could be provided. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Mason City, IA, USA

problem #82

Jun 022014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The vehicle has stalled under the following conditions: Engine warm driving on bumpy road less than 25 mph (this is how the stalls began), now - engine cold or warm vehicle in deceleration mode - many different speeds from 25 to 60 mph. I can 'feel' a slight loss of power in the vehicle when stalling is prone to happen, I can almost anticipate it now and drive two-footed to keep it from happening. Stalling has occurred over 30 times in the last six months. There are no mil codes in the system. According to Chrysler hotline - the vehicle is not part of the ignition switch recall for 2009. No repairs have been made. Not taken to the dealer because it seems impossible to duplicate and thought that would be a waste of time.

- Brownstown Township, MI, USA

problem #81

Dec 292014

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part to perform the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Carolina Shores, NC, USA

problem #80

Nov 042014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received a notification of a NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Islip, NY, USA

problem #79

Aug 012014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system) was received in August of 2014. The dealer informed that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was not available and no estimated time for receiving the part was available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #78

Dec 222014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the part was not available for NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact did not experience a failure.

- Vero Beach , FL, USA

problem #77

Oct 252013

Town & Country

  • miles
We received a recall notice in October to replace a fobik (frequency operated button ignition key) in our 2009 Chrysler Town & Country van. Since that time we have called our dealer on numerous occasions to schedule an appointment to have the part replaced and each time the dealers response is that the part is not available. We are concerned about the safety of the vehicle and would like to have this part replaced as soon as possible.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #76

Dec 192014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town & Country. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Franklyn, TN, USA

problem #75

Jun 162011

Town & Country

  • 54,000 miles
My vehicle was issued a recall on June 16,2011 dealing with the wireless ignition; however, I did not receive a notice for this specific recall until June 2014. I immediately brought my vehicle to a Chrysler dealer. But after inspecition, they said they did not have the part needed to fix the problem. Since June 2014, I have made several phone calls only to be told that they are still waiting for the part. Since this is a safety issue, what can I do to speed up the process for rectifying my situation?

- Adamstown, MD, USA

problem #74

Dec 152014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was not available. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Celina, OH, USA

problem #73

Dec 152014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000 (electrical system). However, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Mailed out 01/13/15

- Celina, OH, USA

problem #72

Dec 112014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact experienced a failure. Updated 1/23/15

- Orange Burge, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?