10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,893 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 28 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #209

Jan 202014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was driving my Town and country Chrysler minivan the engine just shutoff without any warning on a main street. I almost got hit by the car behind me as I could not accelerate since the engine shut off. My kids were with me. We could have been severely injured if the car behind me had hit me.

- Lake Zurich, IL, USA

problem #208

Oct 192013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Driving my Town and country Chrysler minivan the engine shutoff on a Chicago interstate. I almost got hit by multiple cars behind me as I could not accelerate since the engine shut off. I put on my hazards and pulled over in order to put the van in park and restart the van. My kids were with me. We could have been serously injured if the case behind me had hit me.

- Lake Zurich, IL, USA

problem #207

Aug 212013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
As I was driving my Town and country Chrysler minivan on a busy road the engine shutoff. I almost got hit by the car behind me as I could no longer drive since the engine shut off. I put on my hazards and pulled over in order to put the van in park and restart the van. My kids were with me. We could have been severely injured if the car behind me had hit me.

- Lake Zurich, IL, USA

problem #206

Jul 052013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As I was driving my Town and country Chrysler minivan the engine shutoff on the interstate. I almost got hit by the multiple cars behind me as I could not accelerate since the engine shut off. I put on my hazards and pulled over in order to put the van in park and restart the van. My whole family was with me. We could have been severely injured!

- Lake Zurich, IL, USA

problem #205

Mar 052013

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
As I was driving my Town and country Chrysler minivan the engine shutoff on a main street. I almost got hit by the car behind me as I could not accelerate since the engine shut off. I put on my hazards and pulled over in order to put the van in park and restart the van. My kids were with me. We could have been severely injured if the car behind me had hit me.

- Lake Zurich, IL, USA

problem #204

Jul 012014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The rear quarter vent window switch was disconnected last summer due to the recall. Chrysler has been unable to provide the replacement or an eta on the fix. Both back windows can no longer be opened. This is a concern in the extra Florida heat. It is unacceptable that as of March 2015 a replacement part can still not be provided and the local dealer has no idea when it will be fixed.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #203

Mar 022015

Town & Country

  • 48,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A 2010 Chrysler Town and country minivan was driving down the road at approximately 35-40 mph. An SUV crossed over the centerline and hit the vehicle in the drivers side door at 40-45 mph. It had enough force to crush the door and tear it from the upper hinge as well as to bend the axel and frame. The vehicle was then pushed laterally into a ditch. When the driver came to, she was trapped in the vehicle, no airbags had been deployed and the vehicle was off. She had to then put the vehicle in park to remove the key and with the help of police she was able to climb out of the trunk. The vehicle was a total loss.

- Rincon, GA, USA

problem #202

Mar 022015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2010 Chrysler Town & Country. Consumer writes in regards to window switch recall notice.\ the consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #201

Jan 022015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
We received a recall notice for the above part/condition. We contacted the dealer on January 13, 2015 and was told that the part would be in stock in 3-4 weeks. We again called the same dealer on February 6 and was told that the part was being ordered. Since we had not heard from the dealer, we called again on March 3 and was told that the part was "restricted" and there was no way to know when it would be available. Obviously NHTSA feels that this is important enough to require a recall. Shouldn't the Agency also inform the manufacturer that their parts supplier must provide the required number of parts in a resonable and specified time? I don't believe that 2 months is reasonable when there is a possibilty for the part to overheat and cause a fire.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #200

Mar 022015

Town & Country

  • 35,500 miles
Chrysler has issued a recall for many of there 2009-2011 Town and country's. because of the wireless node being bad which make the key flop around in the ignition. However there is another side to that same ignition it can also lock in the on position causing you not to be able to shut the car off or remove the key from the ignition it will also cause the key end to break off in the ignition I have read many blogs were this is happening to thousands of people and now it has just happened to me. I feel this is a major safety issue because your not able to deenergize the power in the car. I have and so have thousand of other people have called Chrysler to have this problem resolved and get some help with the outrageous cost incurred to repair a major known issue that Chrysler knows about. Unfortunately we have all been told well its not our problem by Chrysler. This is a major problem because it renders the car totally useless undrivable if the key breaks in the ignition.

- Mercer, PA, USA

problem #199

Apr 232014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 104,558 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Burning of power window/vent switch. During 2013 and early-2014 the electrical power window/vent switch, located on the driver side arm rest, and which controlled the driver's side window, became intermittent and erratic when attempting to raise or lower the window. When the problem became acute, I replaced the switch on 4/23/2014 (at my expense); since then no further problems were incurred. The replacement switch assembly purchased from the Chrysler dealership for this repair was identified as Chrysler part number 4602627-ag switch po 08053002. The old switch assembly was later disassembled and showed clear signs of discolored electrical contacts and burning of the areas around the electrical contacts for both the drivers side, and to a lesser extent on the passenger side.

- St. Augustine, FL, USA

problem #198

Mar 022015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 126,280 miles
For the third time in three months, and while driving, the vehicle lost electrical system, engine power, power brakes and power steering, plus loss of all panel & engine lights, and loss of radio. The latest incident happened in a residential area at 30-mph on 2 March 2015, odometer approx 126280. The previous two events like this occurred when vehicle was on highway at highway speeds and while accelerating, during November 2014 and January 2015. Please note that the ignition switch during this latest event remained in the on position. I am not sure whether in the previous two incidents whether the ignition switch had (or had not) slipped out of the on position. During this latest event on 2 March 2015, to restart engine while still coasting down the road, I had to carefully put trans in neutral position, then turn ignition switch to off, and then turn the ignition switch to start, to restart engine. The engine thus restarted normally in all three of these incidents.

- St. Augustine, FL, USA

problem #197

Aug 052014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V234000 (electrical system) and stated that the dealer was unable to determine when the part would become available to repair the vehicle. The vehicle was taken in for service however the dealer did not have the correct switch and had to reorder the part. The manufacturer was contacted and was unable to determine when the part and the remedy would become available to schedule the recall repair. The contact stated the vehicle was driving extremely rough while waiting for the part to repair the vehicle. The approximate failure mileage was not available.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #196

Mar 242014

Town & Country

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. After shifting into neutral, the vehicle restarted and resumed normal operation. The failure recurred numerous times. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system). The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 103,000.

- Washington, NC, USA

problem #195

Jun 122014

Town & Country

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Harbor Springs, MI, USA

problem #194

Feb 222015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
Integrated power module went out. Traveling on freeway with 2010 Chrysler Town and country and car suddenly turned off. Repair department said totally integrated power module needed to be replaced at cost of $900. Car is only a few years old with low miles and I asked if that is something that is recalled and he said no but isn't usual at that low of miles. Extremely dangerous to have a car shut off without any warning and it seems based on research that it is more frequent and isn't disclosed to owners.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #193

Feb 162015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
My 2010 Chrysler Town and country was taken into a Chrysler dealership for a routine repair in 2011. During that repair visit, the dealer checked for any open recalls and performed NHTSA campaign number: 11V139000. I never had the condition this safety recall was intended to repair...until they performed the recall. When I went back to complain...I was told the recall could not be "un-done" by law. Over time, this ignition switch became even worse, so that it became extremely difficult to turn the key (the design of this "key" is actually the square-ish plastic tip of the Chrysler key fob rather than a traditional key...there is no actual key in this design...the fob itself is required to turn the ignition switch). This has, over time, destroyed both original keys. When I recently was forced to replace (over $200) my last functioning key so I could operate the vehicle, the new key made the turning of the switch even more difficult due to a newer design. I contacted Chrysler, they had the dealer re-perform the "detent-ring" install for 11V139000...this changed nothing. Chrysler then had the dealer order a new "win module" to fix the issue...and offered to reimburse me for my one key I had paid for. While waiting for the win module to arrive at the dealer, Chrysler called me and the dealer the next day to tell me that they had reversed their decision...that my case with them (Chrysler case id# [xxx]) would be referred to their internal "special tracking unit" and that this recall was being expanded (I assume this is for 14V373000) and they'd let me know if the situation changed. Meanwhile, I continue to drive a car that has the safety issue still...and it's ruining my new $200 key. Since the condition allows air bags to be deactivated and the engine to cut out unexpectedly, I do not allow anyone else in my family to drive it since 2011. Please make Chrysler fix this. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #192

Apr 212011

Town & Country

  • 300 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician stated that the vehicle was operating as designed. In addition, the contact stated that the locking device failed to hold the wheelchair in place intermittently. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the wiring harness and the circuit board needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 300.

- Lawnside, NJ, USA

problem #191

Jul 132014

Town & Country

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that after starting the vehicle, there was smoke coming from the front driver side door. The fire department was contacted and disconnected the drivers side door panel. A police report was filed and there were no injuries sustained. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the rear quarter vent switch needed to replaced. The vehicle was not repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 49,000.

- East Amherst , NY, USA

problem #190

Oct 152014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V234000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 4/21/15 updated 04/23/15

- Willingboro, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?