Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,268 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 37 of 37)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #15

May 072011

Town & Country

  • 45,000 miles


Car loses power while driving if key is bumped or if car hits a bump key is easily put in the accessory position and car loses all power. This happened when the keychain was bumped in the middle of an intersection, another time while making a left turn, and another time while driving about 25mph. This is easily duplicated because while driving I have been able to turn the key to the accessory position and it loses all power. My concern is that this will happen while driving on the freeway and a serious accident will happen.

- St. George, UT, USA

problem #14

Mar 252011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,839 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and was towed to an authorized dealer. The dealer advised her that a wire had fractured at the link power distribution center. The dealer repaired the wire. The failure mileage was 8,839 and the current mileage was 8,900. Updated 05/05/11 updated 05/13/11

- Elon, NC, USA

problem #13

Mar 112011

Town & Country

  • 1,940 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the rear lift gate warning alarm did not sound as the liftgate was opened. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician could not determine how to activate the feature. The manufacturer was contacted and stated that the vehicle did not come equipped with that feature. The contact stated that the vehicle should have come equipped with the feature for safety reasons. The approximate failure mileage was 1,940.

- Moraga, CA, USA

problem #12

Jan 102011

Town & Country

  • 19,552 miles


Bought van 12/30/10 with 18,883 miles. 1/10/11 - breaks running very hot, pulsate, and lock up. Dealer said front rotors warped. R&R'd front rotors. 1/27/11 - breaks still pulsate and running very hot. Dealer resurfaced both rear rotors. 2/17/11 - breaks still running very hot. Dealer could not find any problem with front breaks. 3/10/11 - breaks still running very, very hot and locked up while driving in rain. Windows have been intermittently opening by themselves on several occasions when vehicle is turned off. Dealer does not know what to do.

- West Bend, WI, USA

problem #11

Jan 012010

Town & Country

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that there was a beeper on the rear lift gate of certain models that was not on his vehicle. The beeper would warn anyone when the gate was going up or down. Since this function was not on his particular model year, he has been injured by the gate coming down on his head. The injury was not serious. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer and they advised him that he would have to change the software and advised him that the they received a large number of complaints in regards to consumers not wanting the feature, so they did not install it on the 2010 models. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 200. The VIN was unavailable.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #10

Jan 012011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 26,000 miles
2010 Chrysler Town & Country touring, the engine cuts off without any warning lights coming on. My vehicle has cut off 4 times within the past 45 days, 2/3/2011 today's date. I took the vehicle to a Chrysler dealer, but they couldn't find any thing wrong with the car.personally I think the computer is the problem, I had the same thing happen to a 1983 Dodge Dakota and it was found to be the computer, replaced the computer and drove the truck over 1000,000 more miles without a problem. I also have a problem with the van down shifting while the speed control is on, when going down a hill.

- Rustburg, VA, USA

problem #9

Dec 232010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 1,940 miles


We have a 2010 Chrysler T & C purchased new on Sept 30 from the local Chrysler dealer. It now has less than 2000 miles on the odometer. Last Thursday evening, Dec 23rd, the battery was totally discharged after setting in the garage about 24 hours. None of the remote buttons were effective, the door had to be manually unlocked with the emergency key, and key placed in the ignition switch would do nothing and could not be removed. I tried to contact the dealer next morning, Dec 24, but found it was closed then and for the next two days. I could not get the car started by jump start and could not get the battery recharged while connected. Finally, I managed to get the battery charged while disconnected. Upon entering the car to start it, prior to inserting the key into the ignition switch, I noticed the heater blower in the second seat area was running. I checked the blower control knob and found it was turned on. I turned the knob to off and back on again. The fan stopped and did not come on back on. The car started normally with no subsequent problems. On Monday, 27th, I took the van the dealer who could not diagnose or fix the problem. The problem was also reported to Chrysler costomer service. No response has been received. Now we have a brand new van that we cannot trust with an apparent computer and/software glitch the dealer cannot diagnose or fix. What should I do now? until this problem is diagnosed and fixed we are hesitant to drive the vehicle. Just about every function, including brakes, accelerator, steering, lights, heating, cooling, gear shift, are computer controlled. Toyota's problems with accelerator and brakes come to mind. The contact requested that the personal information previous entered by him be deleted from the compliant.vf

- Coljumbus, OH, USA

problem #8

Sep 152010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,900 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While the vehicle was parked, the contact opened the rear door of the vehicle and noticed that there was no warning sound to notify someone who might be standing in front of the door that it was opening. The contact believed that to be a safety concern. The failure mileage was approximately 2,900. Updated 02/03/11 the consumer stated the rear door would lift with no warning. The consumer was informed the warning signal was not installed. Updated 02/04/11

- Lilburn, GA, USA

problem #7

Sep 022010

Town & Country

  • 37,500 miles
The automatic sliding door wiring breaks which causes the door to stop operating and it causes the wires to arc which in turn can cause a fire the vechile in question is a 2008 Chrysler town and country I have found the solution to this problem on ytube so I am not the only one having this problem.

- Lemars, IA, USA

problem #6

Sep 072010

Town & Country

  • 3,000 miles
In early July 2010 we purchased a new 2010 Town & Country that was converted by braun corporation for wheelchair access. On 9/7/10 I was driving approximately 30-40 mph. Vehicle began to lose power and dash lights came on and fuel gauge went to empty. Vehicle stalled completely in road. I was able to re-start van and go approximately two more blocks before the vehicle repeated the scenario. After pulling into parking lot and re-starting the van, we sat idling without incident for about 20 minutes while waiting for tow truck. Vehicle was towed to Chrysler dealer. Dealer was unable to replicate problem during test drives on 9/7/10 and 9/8/10. Computer diagnostics revealed no reason for power failure.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #5

May 112010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,666 miles


The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler town and country. While driving at 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle within minutes. The contact stated the failure would occur intermittently and without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times but the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileage was 8,666. Updated 10/21/10. Updated 10/26/10

- Ft Pierce, FL, USA

problem #4

Jul 172010

Town & Country

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town & Country. While driving approximately 60 mph the vehicle independently engaged into cruise control until pressure was applied to the brakes. The failure recurred twice. The contact also stated that while driving approximately 80 mph the windshield wipers turned on and various service lights began to illuminate on the dashboard. The speedometer and fuel gauge also began to display the improper readings and the windows would not function. The radio, navigation system and air conditioning unit also stopped working. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the vehicle was in the process of being examined to determine the cause of failure. The failure and current mileages were 1,000.

- Williamsburg, VA, USA

problem #3

May 222010

Town & Country

  • 2,527 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town & Country. While driving 35 mph and decelerating, all of the gauges and lights in the vehicle shut off. The vehicle also stalled immediately. The engine restarted momentarily and this failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where a diagnostic test was performed twice; the failure could not be duplicated. The failure mileage was 2,527. The current mileage was 2,816.

- Lombard, IL, USA

problem #2

May 162010

Town & Country

  • 5,710 miles
Van stalled out on curved road @ approximately 45mph without warning narrowly avoiding a rear end collision by the trailing car. 2 weeks previous to this it stalled out 5 times making left turns and 1 time making right turn. Van was taken to dealership when it just began stalling but they could find nothing wrong. Van was taken back to dealership after the high speed stall and again they could find nothing wrong.

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #1

Feb 172010

Town & Country

  • 400 miles
2010 Town & Country being driven by my wife home from church with my children in car. Driving approximately 25mph and the car simply shut down...engine and all electric ceased to function. No accident occurred as my wife was able to stop the car. Once stopped and put in park the car started back up and ran normally. This car is brand new, 18 days in our possession. Dealer inspected car and could not replicate or find anything wrong with the car. On March 14th, the incident which occurred above happened again. Car brought to dealer for a second time and once again they cannot find or replicate the problem. They kept the car overnight and still can't find the problem. The car has 1800 miles on it and my wife does not feel safe driving it. Currently looking into the lemon law as it pertains to a safety issue with a new vehicle.

- Ridgefield, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?