Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 11
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,482 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 36 of 38)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #41

Feb 012012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This had happened several times since we bought this from the dealer. I would be driving and have no control over the van, I had to come to a stop and put it in park and then start it up again.very dangerous. My second complaint is a tire went flat less then a year of having the vehicle. I was told by the tire repair mechanic that there was a plug and these are 2008 tires and 2007 rims and that tube where the air goes in was brass and it should not be.he seemed to think they gave us used tire and rims on our vehicle. He said he has seen this where a dealer puts the newer rims and tires on another vechicle to sell it and us unsuspecting customers did not know they had been replaced.

- Puyallup, WA, USA

problem #40

Feb 042012

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the transmission abruptly down-shifted into a lower gear without warning. The failure occurred sporadically. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic five times for the same failure, but a failure code was not detected. In addition, the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 500. Updated 03/05/12 the consumer stated the abrupt down shift occurred when slowing down to a stop or slowing down for a steep incline. Also, while driving, the dashboard lights, blower motor and head lights went out and then came back on.

- Pikeville, KY, USA

problem #39

Mar 112011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 12,293 miles
Sliding passenger door fails to work properly opens and closes at will. Has caught several children with out reopening upon contact. Continue to stall after recall as did before recall fix. Battery caused corrosion to eat away cables. Even when serviced like supposed to. Leather seats ripped within 2 mths of purchase was purchased brand new. Electrically gas mileage fluctuates all the time example 410 on fill up then 2 miles dn road it says 60 miles left etc. Yet Chrysler dealer claims all the time no dx on anything. Just shut completely down today as was turning ended up half in road thank god car behind paying attention and dump truck was coming also paid attention or else daughter and I could have been hurt severely. Never buy a Chrysler that's my response. Then had towed dealer said was relay switch they changed it brought me the vehicle then I went to drive out and it died again so I guess not.

- L. Helen, FL, USA

problem #38

Dec 262011

Town & Country

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 ( electrical system:ignition) and took the vehicle to the dealer for repairs. After completion of the recall, the contact stated she was unable to lock or unlock the vehicle using the key fob. The dealer had not been notified. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 47,000 and the failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was unavailable.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #37

Jan 052012

Town & Country

  • 46,200 miles
This is a rented vehicle from advantage rent a car phx. Model is 2010 Chrysler Town and country van with AZ plate [xxx] (I did not get the VIN). I was driving on a surface street at approximately 30-35 mph when the van suddenly lost all power. The engine shut down, the instrument panel went completely dead (speedometer dropped to zero and all gauges went dark), the radio went dead, and power steering and braking were non-functional. I did not attempt to restart the vehicle while moving because the shifter positions are unmarked and the gear indicator along with the entire dash panel went dark. I was able to pull the vehicle on coasting power into a parking lot with great difficulty due to the lack of power steering and braking. Once I was safely stopped. I put the gear shift back into park, removed the electronic key fob, reinserted it and restarted the vehicle. The vehicle returned back to working order - the engine started and the all dash panel controls returned to normal operation. I consider this a very serious and potentially life threatening safety problem. If this same thing had happened to me the prior evening when I was driving down a steep winding mountain road at 70 mph at night with no road lighting, the consequences could have been deadly since I would have lost all vehicle lighting, instrumentation, and power controls. Because of the suddenness of the failure, I suspect this was an electronic failure and not a mechanical failure - akin to your computer crashing. However, you computer does not crash while you are going down the road at 70 mph. Please investigate this advantage rent a car at phx rental terminal. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bellevue, WA, USA

problem #36

Dec 012011

Town & Country

  • 35,174 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system:ignition). After the repairs, the contact noticed that the radio, heat, turn signals and interior lights had become inoperable. A local mechanic diagnosed that the wires were cut and wrapped around the face plate, causing the short. The dealer and the manufacturer were notified of the failure, but denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 35,174 and the current mileage was 35,800.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #35

Nov 142011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,024 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle was sitting in the driveway when it caught fire. The fire investigator stated that the cause of the fire was a rear heating unit. The contact's insurance company had not inspected the vehicle to determine the degree of the failure. The failure and the current mileages were 19,024. Updated 01/03/12 the consumer stated Chrysler was in the process of the buying the vehicle back. 01/09/12

- Saracuse, NY, USA

problem #34

Aug 302010

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 50 miles
Transmission not shifting properly, Chrysler performed a re-flash and update to powertrain, however problem still exists this problem started the next day of purchase. Brakes worn down in rear when driving 55mph and applying the brake the entire vehicle would vibrate Chrysler found out of round surface and cut rotors, problem still exists. The power sliding doors become inoperable Chrysler performed a re-flash update problems still exists. Radio rer stops playing dvd's Chrysler performed a re-flash problem still exists. This is brand new why all these problems" why was I sold a lemon". all these problems I went back to the dealer at least three times for especially the transmission I almost got into an accident because when I was merging onto the parkway when I tried to accelerate it failed to move.

- Wantagh, NY, USA

problem #33

Aug 302011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,140 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated after having the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign recall 11V139000 (electrical system:ignition) by a dealer, the entire electrical system malfunctioned causing the headlights, interior lights, radio, etc. To no longer function. The contact took the vehicle back to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The contact stated the electrical system does not function properly unless the ignition switch was shaken. The contact called the manufacturer; however, they did not offer any assistance. The contact stated the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The failure mileage was 8,144. Updated 11/03/11 updated 12/30/11

- Colleyville, TX, USA

problem #32

Sep 212011

Town & Country

  • 42,372 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact experienced extreme difficulty in turning the ignition key to start the vehicle. The contact was able to start the vehicle after several attempts. The failure recurred after the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 11V139000 (electrical system: Ignition). The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and they were unable to provide a different remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 42,372.

- St.Peters , MO, USA

problem #31

Jul 112011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that after receiving NHTSA campaign id number recall 10356632 (electrical system:ignition:switch) and immediately after having the repairs done, the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and they advised him that they were waiting for another recall to be issued. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 16,000. The VIN was unavailable. The recall part had caused more problems with my vehicle than the original part. Prior to the recall we didn't have any known issues with the ignition. Now the replacement part interfere with turning on the car and we must wiggle the ignition around in order to get the air conditioning and radio, nav system to function. Part doesn't feel like it fits properly. Updated 10/12/2011

- Beltsville, MD, USA

problem #30

Aug 082011

Town & Country

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact received the recall notice associated with NHTSA campaign id number 11V139000 (electrical system:ignition). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where it was repaired. Approximately one week later, the ignition would not return to the on position upon starting the vehicle. The defrost system, headlights, windshield wipers, and the entire instrument panel were inoperable as a result. In addition, the contact was unable to drive at night or during the rain because the headlights and windshield wipers no longer functioned. The dealer was aware of the failure; however, the were unable to perform any repairs until the manufacturer approved of them. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but did not offer any assistance. No repairs were performed. The failure and current mileages were 20,000. Updated 09/07/11 updated 2/23/12

- Friendship, NY, USA

problem #29

Aug 162009

Town & Country

  • 20,000 miles
I took my 2010 brand new Chrysler Town and country van in for a recall on the defect for the ignition switch. After Chrysler replaced the switch it will not return to the on position after you start the van. So the wipers, defroster and headlights will not work. I have had several close calls with my son and wife driving the van home in this condition. Chrysler is installing defective switches in vans to solve one safety problem and causing others. Chrysler will not repair the ignition at this time and has told me to just keep calling them to see if a solution comes about. They should not be putting defective ignition switches in to start with.

- Friendship, NY, USA

problem #28

Aug 012011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 13,800 miles
I took my 2010 Chrysler Town & Country limited mini van to the dealer to have the ignition switch modified based on a recall notice from Chrysler. When the car was returned the switch was so difficult to turn I called to complain. My husband returned with the van on 8/2/2011 and was told that was the recall repair. When my husband left the dealer the switch prevented the turn signals from functioning because it is difficult to get the switch off of the "start" position and on to the "on" position. There was also no radio function. In the "start" position this causes electrical issues with the function of the car, which the recall was suppose to fix. The dealer stated that in order to do the recall this is they way the switch has to work and that this is the way the switches are installed in the 2011 models as well. He stated that the design of the key prevents any standard type of ignition switch from being installed and that Chrysler does not offer the push button ignition for this model van. I must either accept this recall repair or risk that my car may shut itself off during operation. I had the recall repair done because I began having an electrical problem with my radio going off for no apparent reason.

- Pa, PA, USA

problem #27

Jul 152011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 28,557 miles
On July 13 2011 we purchased a 2010 Chrysler Town and country with 28500 miles. Twice this month, my wife was driving our 2010 Chrysler Town and country and the engine shut off while she was driving. One of the times it happened while she pulled into a busy street and was very lucky to not have caused an accident. We know that this is an ongoing issue with these vehicles and that a recall has been issued. We took the van to lee automotive in fort walton beach Florida, and they said they would take a look at it. 8 hours later I picked the van up. The dealership said they could not duplicate the problem, they test drove it for only 2 miles. They said they looked at the ignition and that the right components are in place. So after 8 hours they did not fix anything. Called Chrysler Corp. And they told us that their database shows that our vehicle has not been serviced to close the recall and that it is still showing an open recall suspense. According to the NHTSA recall, they were supposed to replace the win ignition module which they did not do. We have four children and are very scared to drive our van. We do not know where else to turn and are hoping to be pointed in the right direction to resolve this issue and be able to get on the road without fear.

- Eglin Afb, FL, USA

problem #26

Jul 212011

Town & Country

  • 6,291 miles
The contact owns a 2010 chrylser Town and country. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 11V139000 (electrical system: Ignition). The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where it was repaired, but the failure recurred on the following day. The ignition would not automatically change from on to start and the contact had to do this manually. As a result, the radio, air conditioner, and windshield wipers would not function. The dealer was notified and informed the contact that they could not repair the failure. The manufacturer was then notified and informed the contact that they were unsure of how to inform the dealer to remedy the failure. The contact was also advised to continue driving the vehicle until they could find a solution. The failure mileage was 6,291.

- Bartonville, IL, USA

problem #25

Jun 232011

Town & Country

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated after receiving a recall notice for 11V139000 (electrical system:ignition) the contact took the vehicle to the dealer who stated they received two parts every week and the contact had to placed on a waiting list. The contact stated if the dealer only received two parts per dealer for the recall remedy, the vehicle would not be repaired until next year. The contact called the manufacturer regarding the recall and they confirmed that two parts were sent to each dealer every week. The contact stated the vehicle would not be repaired in a timely manner. The failure mileage was 13,000.

- Dewey, AZ, USA

problem #24

Jun 272011

Town & Country

  • 19,540 miles
My 2010 Town & Country 19K miles now starting to cut off while driving. It is getting worst, when going down inclines and coming out of driveways the van cuts off. I am now scared to drive it.

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #23

Feb 172011

Town & Country

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that upon starting the vehicle, the key inadvertently turned into the accessory position. The contact was able to successfully turn the key back into the normal position after repeated attempts were made. The failure recurred intermittently. The contact also received the recall notice associated with NHTSA campaign id number 11V139000 (electrical system: Ignition), and planned to have the vehicle repaired when parts became available. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 34,000.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #22

Jun 212011

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 18,230 miles
Have a 2010 Town and country. Vehicle stalled for no reason and was taken to dealer. They said they reinstalled software and were going to send paperwork. They have not. Since then the car has stalled six more times and we will be taking it back to dealer. When will Chrysler acknowledge they have a problem?

- Tarboro, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?