Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,031 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 3 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #119

Nov 182015

Town & Country

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine/coolant issue - 46000 miles on vehicle. While driving approx. 50mph, began seeing white smoke and smell of coolant. Upon inspecting under the hood, observed coolant spraying from seam area of the plastic "Y" connector of the heater hose. Temporarily fixed to get home, but while performing internet search, I can see that this is a very common problem and even found quick repair kits and how to videos. I'm upset that I can't find any recall information for such a common problem, because of a cheap plastic piece and the fact that anyone without any mechanical knowledge could burn up their engine because of it.

- Cape May, NJ, USA

problem #118

May 152015

Town & Country

  • 134,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at 72 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. All the warning lights on the instrument cluster illuminated. In addition, the vehicle failed to start and failed to lock or unlock electronically. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 134,000. Updated 02/05/16

- Port Huron, MI, USA

problem #117

Oct 312015

Town & Country

  • miles
It was raining out. I was driving and all of a sudden saw smoke coming from drivers side 3rd row window vent switch. I had to pull over and pull switch out to put out the fire. Flames were coming out. I immediately called Chrysler 800 number. She said she would email me and never received anything.

- Westmont, IL, USA

problem #116

Oct 122015

Town & Country

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The van ran out of oil. It was completely dry. No warning signs came on. No leaks. No smoke for the exhaust. One day it began to knock real bad and still no oil light was on. Now the van needs a new engine. This shouldn't of happened to a 2010 model with only 65K miles on it.

- Washington, MI, USA

problem #115

Oct 302015

Town & Country

  • miles
Vehicle engine shut down while driving in a parking lot preparing to pull onto a 4 lane busy county road, all of the systems other then brakes failing. It was not the key as it remained in the on position never moving. Only happens after using the remote starter. We have since stoped using the remote starter after the 3rd time the issue happened. Past issues. Etc inop. Car would not accelerate past idle today car will not turn over starter will not even click clock losses time intermittent and then we have electrical issues. I guess its Chrysler warning system telling the owner the car is not going to be working in the next 2-3 days head lights occasionaly will not turn on and some times will not turn off car has been into the dealer 8 times for electrical issues and every time they tell me they cannot reproduce the problem and send us on our way after reprogramming the main computer. Every time it apparently is a seperate electrical component. At least that is what they tell us. However it seams to me the computer for the car must be bad and or the software/ programing is severly flawed since it keeps failing. I think Chrysler is pulling a VW scam on the government and its consumers. Fix the problem. We have had nothing but problems since the first month we owned this at the time brand new car. Been in the shop 3 times in the first 6 months for electrical malfunctions and intermittently ever since.

- Bloomfield, MI, USA

problem #114

Sep 292015

Town & Country

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #113

Oct 072015

Town & Country

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving the vehicle the engine turns off and there is a loss of brakes, steering and engine.

- Aliquippa, PA, USA

problem #112

Oct 072015

Town & Country

  • 60,000 miles
Was driving our 2010 Chrysler Town and country straight down the road in our housing plan when the engine shut off. All of the electronics in the car still operated but, there was no power steering or brakes. Had to coast the vehicle to the side of the road to stop. The vehicle ended up stopping on a hill but, without the brakes it started to drift backwards. At this point the emergency brake was pushed to get the vehicle to stop. This happened the very next day as well. Luckily we were not driving down the highway as my 3 children in the vehicle. This could be deadly if driving at 60 mph down the highway.

- Aliquippa, PA, USA

problem #111

Sep 282015

Town & Country

  • 88,000 miles
Driving vehicle in residential neighborhood at 35 mph, dash displayed the loss of traction warning light. I noticed, too, that the accelerator pedal wasn't working and apparently the entire engine completely shut off. All electrical components still worked including radio, navigation system, etc. I completely lost the ability to steer the vehicle as well. Had to put on my hazards. Stop. Put the vehicle in park. Turn the vehicle off. Turn it back on and it would run again.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #110

Sep 212015

Town & Country

  • 90,000 miles
The vehicle loses power when driving at highway speeds as shown by a severe reduction in RPM's--sometimes, as in this incident, the vehicle shuts off (stalls) without warning, which results in loss of power steering and brakes and is a dangerous safety situation in highway traffic especially.we have complained about this issue once before in may, 2015. There is a Chrysler recall for this exact defect; however, we are being told that our particular vehicle, based on VIN number, is not part of the recall, despite it being the model year (2010) and manufacture time range (Jan 2007 to June 2010) that are cited in the recall notices on the NHTSA saftercars.gov site.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #109

Apr 022014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Second complaint. The first paragraph listed is from first complaint with an update of a recent issue. *over the course of a few months, van would shut off while driving. Nothing would work, obviously, so I would have to brake and try to coast to the side of the road. Happened 3 to 4 times within a few months around April 2014. Friends received a recall notice regarding the ignition switch-they have a van like ours but a different year. We are not on the list for repair. Wanted to file a complaint so the company is aware of the situation. I did call Chrysler and speak with a customer service rep also. They took some information and made a case number for us. We are concerned this will continue to happen and don't want to put our family at risk while driving. We have two young children and want to make sure our vehicle is safe. Thank you for your time. *update-September 2015 I received a form from your office to provide additional information (reference 10727012). I will be mailing that shortly. However, this issue has happened again and we want to report it. Chrysler has closed the case and said it is out of pocket cost for us. They admitted that they have had complaints regarding our make/year from other customers. They are not being helpful. Our van shut off while driving on September 14, 2015 and September 15, 2015. Both times I was going around 30-35 miles per hour. Please help! we are worried about our safety and our children's safety! thank you!

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #108

Sep 012015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I am writing in regard to the wireless ignition module recall that affects my vehicle. I would like to lodge a complaint against the dealership: Mcgrath auto 1616 51st St ne cedar rapids, IA52402 sales:(877) 226-0908 service:(888) 903-7864 parts:(888) 903-7864 this dealership has* fixed this defect within a reasonable amount of time. We have called this dealership regarding this recall in late June and on July 15. Each time we were told that the parts would have to be ordered and we would be contacted when they were in stock. My vehicle has started exhibiting the symptoms of the defect associated with this recall and has started shutting off while we are driving the vehicle. We called the dealership today (September 4) to state that we had a safety issue and needed the vehicle fixed immediately. The dealership said they had the parts but requested we leave the vehicle with them all day rather than the 'one hour to complete' the recall notice states. Since we live approximately 30 miles from the dealership I asked for a loaner vehicle if we were going to be without our vehicle for a day and was told no loaner vehicle was available. I then asked for the next available appointment and was told they couldn't get me in for a week. We now have an appointment on September 11 at 1pm. I am concerned that my vehicle is going to continue to exhibit this defect while driving and put my safety and the safety of my family in jeopardy. I am appalled by the lack of urgency this dealership has exhibited in dealing with this recall on my vehicle and I would like them to be reprimanded. Thank you, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Central City, IA, USA

problem #107

Aug 262015

Town & Country

  • 142,122 miles
Lost vehicle electrical system when I went over a bump in the road, on highway us-1 in saint augustine, Florida. I pulled over and stopped the vehicle. Then restarted the vehicle and drove off. But this happened twice. Second time, I had to wiggle the key in the ignition, to get the ignition to start the vehicle again.

- St. Augustine, FL, USA

problem #106

Jul 122015

Town & Country

  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving at approximately 35 mph, the engine stalled. The vehicle restarted after each failure. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 63,000.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #105

Aug 102015

Town & Country

  • miles
I received a recall notice in the beginning of the summer (June) stating there had been a recall for my van which could result in the unintended shut off of my engine while driving. I have attempted 3 times now to make an appointment at my dealership (Chrysler corwin Dodge in fargo nd) and was told every time that they did not have the parts and were waiting on Chrysler to send more. They explained that Chrysler had so many recalls they could not keep up with the demand in parts so the dealership was unable to order them; they had to wait for Chrysler to send them. I asked if I could make an appointment have the parts held for me once they came in. Chrysler told me they were unable to hold the parts (although my recall notice stated to request the parts be held). What else can I do to fix this problem as our van is the main source of transportation for our family?

- Fargo , ND, USA

problem #104

Jun 242013

Town & Country

  • 45,000 miles
In June 2013 my engine stalled without warning. I lost power steering and power brakes. I was traveling <10 mph. I had another incident later that same year in October. The incidents were so random and I thought perhaps I didn't turn the key fob all the way after starting the vehicle via the remote start system. Again in 2014 it occurred several times, so I started trying to determine the common denominator, but could find none. The service station I brought it to couldn't diagnose or repair due to the inability to replicate the problem. In 2015, the problem became more frequent and today I am now experiencing this 2-3 times per day 3-4 times per week at speeds traveling up to 40 mph. I brought it to my local Chrysler dealership where I purchased the vehicle and after having my vehicle for 5 days they were unable to diagnose or repair due to the inability to replicate the problem. This has truly become a serious safety issue as I always lose power steering and brakes. Typically, I put my hazards on, place the vehicle in neutral, restart it, return to drive, and turn hazards off. However, I came very close to being involved in an accident when this occurred while I was making a left hand turn through an intersection. I am at a loss as what to do.

- Zelienople, PA, USA

problem #103

Jul 142015

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. While driving approximately 30 mph, the accelerator pedal extended to the floorboard without warning and the rpms increased. The contact depressed the brake pedal with both feet and the accelerator pedal returned to its normal position. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that there was carbon built up in the throttle body that needed to be cleaned out. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 76,000. Updated 09/21/15

- Plainwell, MI, USA

problem #102

Jun 282015

Town & Country

  • 86,400 miles
Vehicle shut off while coasting down our asphalt driveway. Key fob was not bumped and we have no other keys attached to the fob.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #101

Apr 022014

Town & Country 6-cyl

  • miles
Over the course of a few months, van would shut off while driving. Nothing would work, obviously, so I would have to brake and try to coast to the side of the road. Happened 3 to 4 times within a few months around April 2014. Friends received a recall notice regarding the ignition switch-they have a van like ours but a different year. We are not on that list for repair. Wanted to file a complaint so the company is aware of the situation. I did call Chrysler and speak with a customer service rep also. She took some information and made a case number for us. We are concerned this will happen again and don't want to put our family at risk while driving. We have two young children and want to make sure our vehicle is safe. Thank you for your time!

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #100

May 292015

Town & Country

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Chrysler Town and country. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 15 mph and attempting to stop, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure occurred on nine occasions. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V373000 (air bags, electrical system) but the parts were unavailable for the recall repair. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?